We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place ever”
Review of Hiona Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elounda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hiona Apartments
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a wonderful place this is,right by the sea,whom a wonderful and kind family run it,new sun beds ,plenty of shade for my children food is great price,very clean,our rooms were so spacious we had two double bedrooms,10 minutes from the main square with everything in this was ideal.we can't fault anything from these appartments, was very nice and quite too,we will surely be booking next year we can't wait...
Well done Mano and Costa... For such a wonderful experience in elounda.... And also Arye and Tina you are simply wonderful... Keep it going

Room Tip: Room number 5, sea view with 3 yes 3 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Hiona Apartments are in an excellent location with the most wonderful scenery. They are typical of greek accommodstion owned by a lovely family who are very kind and welcoming. Apartments spacious with all that is required for self catering. Based 10 minutes from the centre of Elounda. There are lovely walks in the area and there is a beach approx 5 mins. away. A better beach is in the centre near the carpark. Sunbeds 2,50 eur Umbrella 2.00 eur. Keep the ticket and you can leave the beach and return any time the same day. The Happy train is recommended. I took the trip to Vrouhos, the scenery on the way is stunning. Cost 15 eur and leaves st 12.30 p.m. 3 hours. Trip to Spinalonga recommended 10 eur with 2 eur for entry. Very interesting and not to be missed. Best to go after 2 p.m. quieter, very busy in the mornings. Walks up to Pano Elounda and Mavrikiano Villages very interesting. Must visit The Hope in Mavrikianos, food excellent with the most stunning views from the terrace. Excellent holiday and will definitely return to Elounda.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 3 ground floor. Side sea view. Quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheShe53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We are late in writing this review through reluctance to criticise a place run by such nice people and in such a beautiful spot, but we have to agree with the negatives expressed by others, e.g.:
Hard, uncomfortable beds;
Less than thorough cleaning - particularly of the parts that really matter, i.e. toilet area and kitchen. No sign of any disinfectants or such being used. Toilet bins not emptied frequently;
Cramped and very basic rooms (even by Greek standards), with the small "wardrobe" in the cramped kitchen area;
No shade (umbrellas?) on the balconies, so unusable untill late afternoon;
Poor maintenance (loose taps, "tired" toilet brush, falling apart kitchen cabinets);
The sycophants who have written elsewhere do no-one any favours, we are sorry to say.
The Hiona needs some serious care and repair, after which there would be little reasons for complaints.
We are well seasoned travellers to Greece (for over thirty years) and know what to expect, but sadly the Hiona's negatives outweigh the positives.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank tirnan0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The best location in elounda, friendly and sooooo reasonably priced.
The owners are hospitable and helpfull, looking forward to going back next year, this time I will take a group of friends for a great relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Themiksta1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Returned from the Hiona (pronounced Shiona if you want anyone to understand where you are staying..Thomas Cook do not tell you this) Apartments in Elounda (by the way...look for the location on line and they all show some other apartments that are miles and miles away on the far east coast... Elounda is near to Agios Nicholos and Spinalonga), on the 15th October. We experienced some very windy days but we still managed to get out and about every day and it was still warm.
The Hiona Apartment that we stopped in was a two bedroom apartment that whilst basic, was adequate. The bedding was a bit sparse and the beds low and hard. No shower curtain but worse still, no mop to dry the floor and a poor bath mat that must have been there all season. If the owners would leave a Wizzy mop in these bathrooms, they would be kept cleaner and would not be slippy.....I skidded a few times and I hate seeing the floor dirtied by shoes when you need to use the loo.
The hot water system was prone to stopping altogether and at other times, it was that hot that it was dangerous ....a fine art to strike a balance.....a scalding if you were not careful.

The loo paper bin was only emptied every other day.....only 9 apartments , so would not have taken more than 10 minutes to empty each day. NO LOO ROLLS REPLACED...had to buy more at the supermarket....not what we are used to.

The staff were friendly enough, Manos, Helena, Tina and the cleaner/cook. Drinks and food not the cheapest but ok until we found the more reasonable places. The bar area and pool area small but fine for 9 apartments...not sure how they would cope with an influx of outside guests.

We arrived about 2 am and the rep. led us through a rabbit warren of alley ways and even through a restaurant, then told us there was only one room for our friends and we would have to stop with them until sorted the next day.....turned out she had taken the wrong details and we were able to find our room after standing there refusing to be put into one room. It also transpired that there was a simpler route BUT....other operators taxied their guests from a convenient hotel to nearby apartments. On our return, the coach parked over the road, loading the cases on the road side.....very dangerous. the old guy next to me had his case clipped by a car and was very lucky not to be run over.

This area is good for walks, restaurants and chilling out....for couples, not children. Would return but would probably choose different apartments.

Room Tip: Room number 5 has 3 balconies that have sea views and catch the sun at different times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just returned from beautiful Elounda perfect place for couples. We stayed at the Hiona and without doubt we stayed in the best apartment with lovely sea views. The down side was the cleanliness this included the toilet bin only being emptied every other day and towels and sheets changed twice in two weeks. The other thing was no toilet roll replaced during our holiday. We have stayed in many appartments in the Greek Islands but never had such poor service. Be aware the pool area(which is very small) is open to non residents so in the height of the season it would be difficult to get a sun bed. Manos and Elena and Tina are lovely but Costas the owner seems distant and penny pinching. Thomas Cook drop off point leaves an awkward walk to the Hiona and is on a busy main road. On our return pick up a man nearly got knocked over. A car clipped his case as he was waiting to put it on the coach. An accident waiting to happen. Will return to lovely Elounda but not the Hiona.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank susieque69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Not long back...miss it already ! Manos, is an excellent host, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nice clean rooms, good food at reasonable prices, and a welcoming bar, where you can sit, and sip a cold beer, and watch the turtles....Tina xx...... Elounda is an very good choice for all, families with young kids will like it here. Once again..thanks Manos....GREEN ARMY...!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilgrimgreenPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#13 of 35 in Elounda
686 reviews
0 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
2.5 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
1.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiona Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiona Apartments

Address: Elounda, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Elounda
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hiona Apartments Hotel Elounda
Hiona Apartments Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing