We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kavos Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We visited the Kavos Bay Apartments for two weeks in July it's taken me a while to get round to writing this as I really want to do Kavos Bay Apartments and Elounda justice.
The apartments are lovely, functional and immaculately clean. The complex itself is made up of small apartments laid out in lovely grounds which are well kept and looked after. The main reception area provides snacks, drinks and basic food and drinks. Firstly we noticed unlike most places the cost of items in the shop are only a few cents more than in the main supermarkets which is really refreshing. Anna who manages the morning/early afternoon shift is incredibly knowledgeable about the local area and can advise you on pretty much anything.
The swimming pool is small (filled daily with water pumped up from the sea) but the pool area has a shaded seating area and plenty of sunbeds. There is also free wifi in the reception area which extends up as far as the pool.

The only slight criticism I would have is cooking for four in the apartments is nigh on impossible with one saucepan and one frying pan. Creativity is a must however the fridge is large and storing food for breakfast/lunch is really not a problem. Buy your water in the reception its 2 euros for six one litre bottles and never worth dragging it from town or up the slope to the apartments.
The complex was wonderfully quiet in the evenings and sleeping may only be a slight problem due to heat, the odd mosquito (we had a few bites but nothing major though I would advise taking repellent especially if you are prone to being bitten) and change over day when new guests arrive (Tuesday and Friday) can be a little more noisy than usual owing to late arrivals and also the noise carries around mostly because its just so quiet.
Every room has a sea view of Elounda Bay and up to Spinalonga Island, I wont repeat what's previously been written about the trips to Spinalonga other than to note there is very little shade here and nowhere to buy a drink it looks like there used to be a small cafe on the Island but its now closed, take plenty of water.

Elounda itself is relatively small, its a fifteen to twenty minute walk along the bay its a beautiful walk day or night although we were there for two weeks we were beginning to tire of it by the end. There are a few supermarkets in Elounda but the best one we found was a couple of doors up from The Eden bar where Manos will delight you with beers, cocktails and on weekends Thai food cooked by his wife. During the day his sister runs the bar and nothing is too much trouble for her.
Food is really reasonably priced pretty much everywhere Despinos the first restaurant you will come to on walking from the apartments towards Elounda is probably the best value for money with the best food. Into town Ellies Place does amazing "Gyros" chicken or pork in a pitta bread with salad and chips for 2.50 euros, if you so desire a full english breakfast with a large orange juice for 4 euros and Ellie is lovely nothing too much trouble.
The Porto Rino Taverna has amazing pizzas and pasta with the biggest portions incredibly good value. Ashamedly I have forgotten the name of the restaurant we found to be the best however if you are walking to town its the place immediately before the Mexican restaurant on your right. The mixed grill for 12 euros feeds two people easily, its great Greek food cooked simply and well. A litre of house wine for 5 euros certainly helps the walk home! At the beginning and end of nearly every meal we were given complimentary appetisers, fruit, cakes and Raki (the local drink). The Ferryman is absolutely amazing a modern twist on traditional Greek food, but it gets very busy here so you need to book.

Top tip do your shopping after your evening meal the supermarkets stay open really late then get a taxi from the main square back to the apartments it will cost you 5 euros but worth it to have all your shopping transported back for you.

We hired a car from Olus travel in the main square, we didnt want anything fancy and three days hire was £115 euros. It was a very basic car that had seen much better days BUT we weren't worried about any little scratches (you may well be forced into hedges). Also we booked at the same time for the water park and had a free ticket ( if you buy three the fourth is free) which was great.
The water park is a great day out (beware of mosquitoes here) they say you cant take your own food in but everyone seemed to be enjoying picnics however the food is pretty reasonably priced in their own cafe/restaurant. Queueing for rides wasn't too bad but we did visit in slightly off peak season. Also be aware that Health and Safety isn't quite up to UK standards nevertheless its a great day out.
If you are visiting for two weeks I'd say the car is a must you can just head off in any direction and find beautiful tavernas, monasteries, churches and all manner of wonderful historic sights which are all marked clearly on the roads.

The beach in Elounda tends to be stony and gritty rather than sandy but travel a few miles towards Agios Nikolaos and you will find sandy beaches aplenty. Be prepared to pay 2.50 euros for a sunbed and 2 euros for an umbrella wherever you go. Agios Nikolaos is a bigger town with more tourist type shops and again bars/restaurants/cafes. Also slightly bigger supermarkets offering a wider choice.
Its useful to note also there are only two cash points in Elounda they tend to get emptied by a Friday and may not be refilled until Monday, the nearest cashpoint then is Agios Nikolaos. Most places however do take cards and on the one evening we visited a cash only restaurant they were happy for us to come back and pay the next day!

Plaka turn left out of the apartment drive is completely different to Elounda, there are many smart hotels as you walk up the coast, its a good hours walk from Kavos Bay here, we never really managed to get to grips with the buses as they seem to come as and when they feel like turning up. Plaka is geared more towards the top end of the holiday market and eating here is lovely but will add extra euros to your bill. There are some incredible shops here selling local gifts and all manner of things, jewellery and beautiful pottery. Its worth a visit but after the simplicity of Kavos Bay and Elounda I have to say we found it a little pretentious, worth seeing from here is Spinalonga illuminated at night. Also all of the watersports seem to be coordinated from the beaches here, expect to pay 15 euros per head for ten minutes of being dragged round the bay on sofa's or rings, or waterski if you prefer for 20 euros.

Crete is beautiful, its people warm friendly and welcoming stay away from Malia - the Greek people take their children there to show them what will become of them if they dont do well in school or drink too much that speaks volumes to me. This had to have been one of my most memorable holidays in exquisite surroundings. I'd recommend anyone with a family or couples to go here for pure relaxation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank celynwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Kavos Bay Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Myself and 2 children stayed here in August the views are fantastic we loved the location as its around 15 minutes walk to Elounda along a flat path I would recommend a torch at night. The staff are very friendly and speak good english. The accommodation is clean and basic typical Greek, there is a basic shop onsite or a small supermarket along the road. What you get in your room fridge freezer, kettle, toaster, plates and cups, a small two ring table top cooker, a hand towel each person 1 toilet roll and a hair dryer if you require air conditioning its 50 euro we didn't bother as I don't mind the heat. The play ground ? is only a slide and a table suitable for a 2 year old but I would not recommend it as it looked more like an after thought than a planned play ground. The swimming pool is small with free sun beds and fantastic views my children had a great time. There is lots of place to eat out we tried a different place every night and found them all good. The beaches are ok in Elounda sunbeds 2.50 euro umbrella 2 euro. The beach in Plaka is much better it cost 7 euro in a taxi. We went on the boat trip to Spinalonga 10 euro adult 5 children it was very enjoyable. Would I go back again yes the price we paid was excellent value hope this review is of some help to anyone booking a holiday

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nateby-inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Visited here for two weeks in August and enjoyed it and relaxed so much that we've already booked for another two weeks next year!

I've rated the apartments as excellent which for us they are. We are both in our 50s (although I won't be for much longer!) and appreciate the peace and quiet. Not saying it is ideal for everyone. If you have children or like the night life you may find it a bit too quiet and remote.

As other have said first thing to remember is that this is not a 5 Star hotel. We've travelled to Greece several times and have adjusted to basic facilities. Our main considerations are that the accomodation is clean and that there is air conditioning! Kavos Bay fulfils both of these conditions - yes a/c is extra but we have found that is normal throughout Greece.

We travelled with Olympic.Elounda is a long transfer 2 hours and Kavos Bay seems to be the last drop off. This is a bit of a pain particularly if you make use of any of the organised coach tours - effectively you travel for two hours before the tour starts and another two ater it finishes! Having said that the tours we took were worthwhile but next year we will just hire a car and find our own way. (Roads, incidentally, are pretty good particularly the main highway to Iraklion). However, the upside is that you are in one of the less commercialised resorts in Crete.

Kavos Bay is located about 20 minutes walk from Elounda centre ( a very pleasant walk) and about 10 minutes from the excellent (and very reasonably priced) Despina Restaurant. There is also a small but well stocked mini market en route. The mini market at the apartments is useful but, understandably, not extensive.

Pool are is fine for what it is. Adequate loungers and just what you need after a hot day's sightseeing. OK not enormous, but again does the job.

We actually found the aprtment larger than some studios we have had in other parts of Greece and the kitchen area was more than adequate.

Yes, the towel situation can be irritating but towels dry so quickly it wasn't a major issue. We bought a couple of cheap and tacky beach towels from the market to supplement thoise provided!

But the bottom line is that for the views from our terrace across the Gulf of Korfos to Spinalonga I'd stay in a tent (although my wife probably wouldn't go that far!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

With Olympic holidays we arrived (the last drop off) at 8am after setting off the previous night.

The view over the bay to Spinalonga is glorious, particularly with the sun coming up. The best thing about our studio was the view & the comfortable bed up on a mezzanine floor,with large window overlooking the sea however the staircase up to it is steep with narrow, open treads & a rather rickety bannister.
We are used to basic Greek accommodation but felt that the kitchen area & bathroom are long due for a makeover & all the hard work of Anna the housekeeper (the only member of staff?) can't fix the quite poor standard of upkeep. Also as others have remarked only 2 hand towels are provided for the week.
The pool & surrounding area is very nice, quiet with more than enough loungers & umbrellas.
There are a few basic groceries, drinks & ice creams available in reception.
There is a small, gravelly beach 2 minutes away with sunbeds & umbrellas near the bus stop.
The walk into Elounda along by the sea is a very pleasant evening stroll to an excellent choice of restaurants. Do your shopping after your meal & get a taxi back for 5 euros.

This is not a negative review as overall we really enjoyed our holiday but must say could be much better with a bit of work.

We were also unlucky enough to experience 4,apparently planned, powercuts, on different nights lasting into the mornings. Only the main commercial centre of Elounda was not affected.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

we have just got back from a 2 week stay at kavos bay and absolutely loved it.
was a little worried after the one earlier review which down graded its star rating a little but I was more than happy with the accommodation.

we had a 2 bedroom apartment with a door leading out of each onto a huge balcony literally 40 metres from the sea with a stunning view of spinalonga. there was a spiral staircase leading to a kitchen diner and bathroom. As someone earlier has mentioned about the safety of the stair case with kids I would like to update. We have 4 year old twin girls and though I was initially daunted we warned them to take the stairs very carefully and they were fine with them, there is a gate at the top and we placed a coffee table up against the lowish banster to deter leaning over. OK so I would maybe have not been happy if I had a toddler but for kids of their age and above it was fine.

In the kitchen we had a large fridge freezer, double hob, toaster and kettle, plenty of plates, glasses, mugs and cuttlery, only cooking items a frying pan and a large pan. enough if like me your self catering is breakfast and lunch and not attempting a 3 course meal.

Bathroom was a hose yourself down shower but was powerful, right temperature and had a shower curtain.

beds and towels were changed 4 times in the fortnight, yes they are only hand towels so we took our own having known this, no issues!

apartments were cleaned beautifully everyday and bins empties, beds made etc.

The pool area was quiet and hardly ever saw more than 2 other families around it, this was our only fault really that there were no other kids for ours to play with this is very much a couples or older families place to stay. The reception offers a comfy sofa and decking area to sit with a library of books and a mini shop with many essentials and a fridge of pop and beer, wine also available ...if it is not manned a honesty policy is operated where u write an IOU.

The walk into ELounda was a little longer that we expected but as we had 2 little ones in tow that is probably why it took us a good half an hour.

over all I loved kavos bay and would return in a heart beat but would be more likely to pick somewhere with a bit more action for the kids.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just back from a week at Kavos Bay and really loved it. I can see from earlier reviews that those with families or a bit older found it a bit disappointing but have to say for us (a couple of friends in our 30s) it was perfect.
The view from our studio apartment was just fantastic, we weren't expecting it at all and spent every morning and evening enjoying the beautiful sea view across to Spinalonga or down to the town. The room was basic, as we expected, but very clean and a good size. We've stayed in lots of places in Greece so knew what to expect from the bathroom and self catering facilities and these were of as good a standard as to be expected for the money. The room was cleaned every day (except Sunday) but yes, do take extra towels with you as the ones supplied are only small.
The pool is only small but it's great for a dip - we particularly liked having it to ourselves after walking back from the beach at the end of the day - but didn't spend all day poolside at all.
The walk to & from Elounda takes about 15 mins but it's all along the waterfront so hardly a chore and felt safe night and day. I would advise having a torch or something though just for a few of the bits of road between street lights, not much at all but after a couple of drinks maybe best to be on the safe side!
Elounda itself was fantastic, perfect size for us with a good selection of restaurants and bars (I'll review a few seperately). The beach is good too though stoney in parts if that bothers you.
I'd definitely go back to Kavos Bay, all the staff we found friendly and you really can't beat the view.

Room Tip: We were in room 3
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idlean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

To start with, this is not a 5 star hotel, it is a 3 star self catering apartment complex. It is basic and the a/c is £50 a week extra.

The location - great. The walk into Elounda is 15 minutes but is pleasant even in the heat mainly due to breeze. It is not noisy and close to the beach ( ok you have to pay £6 for 2 sunbeds and a umbrella but that is nearly everywhere)
The views are great and spinalonga is worth a trip, maybe direct at the port as the extras you get with the Olympic trip are only lunch and a small beach. We also hired a car and went to Knossos, which is smaller than we thought but the guide made it ( do haggle on the price for the guide)

The complex - basic but kept clean. Ok the rooms are dated compared to the uk but if like us you need to sleep shower and maybe breakfast they are ideal. They are kept clean by Anna, who is a star. We had 2 rooms and apart from a below par a/c in one of them, everything worked. The little shop on site has basic stuff but is cheap for the essentials.

The Pool - ideal in the heat! It is elevated so the breeze does help, there is shade available but sun throughout the day. It is small but was hardly ever packed during our week and you can just about get wifi there. The shaded area is ideal for surfing the web whilst cooling down, especially catching up with the Olympics :-) we did spend a couple of very chilled out days around the pool.

Elounda - nice place and very friendly with plenty of restaurants, we walked to the headland and also back from Placa. As above we had no issues with the walk but a taxi is only £5 each way if you are a tad merry after the free drinks you will get after dinner or after a few drinks from the bar.

General - the trip from the airport on the transfer is long and you will probably be last. We got a cab back for £65 organised through Olympic which was far better. There was 4 of us and had no problem with luggage as it was a nice new merc S class. Our rep, Jimmy, was really helpful and nothing was too much trouble. He is very approachable and knowledgeable, another asset to the complex!

Summary - friendly, great location, basic but clean, if you are wanting to chill and don't mind a walk to town each day, it is certainly worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sulshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.8 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#20 of 35 in Elounda
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
1.7 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kavos Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kavos Bay Apartments

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Elounda
Price Range: £41 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kavos Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kavos Bay Apartments Hotel Elounda
Kavos Bay Apartments Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing