We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - August 2014!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kavos Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

After spending quite a long time looking for a late deal, my friend and I came across the Kavos Bay Apartments- it was an excellent price but we weren't sure on how good it would be. Having both stayed in Elounda and Agios Nikolaos previously we knew we liked the area so thought we'd book it!

We were very happy with the room, balcony and especially the view- straight down to Spinalonga and across the ocean- beautiful! The pool bar area was nice and the shop is very reasonable. Also, Janie was always cheery and happy to help. The pool is small, but there were plenty of sunbeds and you have a good view.

There is a bit of a hill up to the apartments, but there's a staircase half way up if you're struggling. It's about a 10-20minute walk to Elounda (depending on your pace). Finally, the transfer is about two hours so get some water at the airport and enjoy the view.

I would really recommend these apartments and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from 2 fantastic weeks at Kavos Bay Apartments. My wife,three teenage daughters and I stayed in a two bedroomed apartment with excellent views of Spinalonga and the Olous penninsula. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean with the bed sheets and towels changed regularly. The pool, although small was never crowded and like everywhere else was spotless! The small shop/cafe was stocked with all essentials and very reasonably priced. As mentioned by others, Janie and all the other staff could not have been more helpful and are willing to order pizzas, book taxis and restaurants. Just to the left of the apartments, you can hire reasonably price motor boats/pedalos from Spyros (Janie's son), this was a a great way to spend a few hours! Whilst Elounda has many lovely tavernas, it is well worth walking up to Pano Elounda where a tradional Cretan taverna, "Karambakios" is well worth a visit. We hired a small car from Olous Travel in Elounda which was very well priced and provided an excellent service. All in all we would thoroughly recommend Kavos Bay Apartments.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

As a busy teacher and civil servant, myself and my best friend, both in our early 30s, were seeking a relaxing fortnight in a quiet resort in Crete. We have just spent the most glorious fortnight at Kavos Bay in Elounda. We arrived very late at night and were very grateful to find a large bottle of water waiting for us in the fridge - a lovely touch :) When we opened the doors the next morning, we were absolutely blown away by the magnificent views over Mirabello Bay! We ate our breakfast on the terrace every morning, watching the boats making their way across the bay to Spinalonga...just beautiful! The apartment was everything we expected and then some. We have stayed in many greek apartments before but Kavos Bay beats them all hands down. We were allocated room 11 and it was a perfect size for the two of us. Lovely comfy beds, a large wardrobe, a dressing table with a huge mirror (complete with hairdryer), a table with two chairs and a perfectly adequate kitchen (two cooking rings, kettle and toaster). We didn't cook during our two week stay as we wanted to sample local Cretan cuisine so ate out every night! The bathroom was great - bath with hand held shower, hot and cold water day and night. Unlike other greek apartments we have stayed in, there was no leakage from the shower -a big plus!!
The complex itself boasts a shop within reception and we found it to be topnotch for daily essentials - 6 bottles of water for 2 euros, beautiful wine for under 3 euros...the wine is amazing!!! Manning reception during the day is the wonderful Janie, as mentioned in other reviews, Janie welcomes you with the biggest smile everytime you see her and is so helpful! She is an absolute credit to Kavos Bay and we look forward to seeing her again next year! The apartment was cleaned everyday, apart from Sunday. The cleaner did a marvellous job and always had a smile on her face!
The swimming pool at the complex is fantastic, enough sunbeds for everyone and the views from the pool are exceptional. How lovely it was to read "The Island" with Spinalonga within my view!
As others have said, the village of Elounda itself is approximately 20 minutes away and the walk into the village is certainly not a chore. Approximately 10 minutes away from the apartments is a little supermarket, run by the loveliest man! He stocks all the essentials. Just across the road from the supermarket is a super little beach, which never got crowded. We preferred this beach to the one opposite Kavos Bay, which tended to get very crowded. Stroll along for a further 10 minutes and you reach the centre of Elounda where gastronomic delights await you! We ate at Porto Rino twice - the best pasta and pizza we have eaten outside of Italy. Friends bar is fabulous – the best Mojitos we have ever tasted!
Catch a boat to Spinalonga as early in he morning as you can - the intense July sun nearly killed us!! Catch the "Little Train" on a three hour excursion up the mountains - our guide, Anneta, was very knowledgeable and provided excellent commentary on the trip. The views over Spinalonga, Plaka and Elounda from high up in the mountains were gorgeous!
We loved every single moment of our holiday and are booking as soon as possible again for next year - we don't want to miss out!
Thank you to all the wonderful staff at Kavos Bay for an unforgettable two weeks! Ella and Jan (room 11), Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank EllaCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned from an idyllic week at the Kavos Bay.
We arrived during the night to find the key in the door and a bottle of water inn the fridge for our arrival. Upon waking we found the room to be immaculate, everything you need is there in the kitchen along with adequate storage for clothing etc. the shower was great and hot water always available. Upon opening the balcony doors I couldn't of been happier.......the view certainly made up for the hellishly long transfer. I was gob smacked and could've happily stood there all week.
Our room was right next to the pool which I really liked, it was so handy.
Janie in reception was an absolute credit to the apartments, she was always there with a smile and friendly word and couldn't do enough for you. The reception area also houses a small shop, with prices similar to the supermarkets, some things were even cheaper.
The pool area was small but perfectly formed and cleaned every evening. We were there when all apartments were full and never had a problem getting a sunbed, in fact most days I was on my own until about 11-12 o clock which was lovely.
The setting itself is a 30 min walk to the left into Elounda or an hours walk to the right to Plaka, both are lovely scenic walks and don't seem to be any distance at all. We ate in both resorts and we're impressed.
We done the trip to Spinalonga which I insisted on doing, however after watching the endless stream of boats going over we decided to be taken over by speedboat to avoid it being packed. We used the speedboats which are just down to the left of the hotel. It cost 50€ and they came back for us a mutually agreed time. We went over at 4.30pm and virtually had the island to ourselves. I'm glad we done it this way as it's not a big place and extremely hot.
Only downside I can think if to this place is the long transfer, it killed me, but like my title says, all good things come to those who wait and this was certainly true of Kavos Bay.

Room Tip: We had room 7 right by the pool. Fab views and ideal location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank minxtress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was at the Kavos Bay apts the same week Ly71 was... And she has beaten me to the punch :)
We have been coming to the Elounda area for over 16 years ... Various places and styles of Accomodation.
The Kavos Bay apts are exactly as Lyn describes... Close enough to Elounda that the stroll in is always a pleasure but far enough away that it is a tranquil paradise for those that seek peace and quiet despite it being above the main rd !
Our room was larger than we expected Was cleaned six times during our seven day stay and had everything we required and more.
Towels, hand and Bath were changed along with bed sheets and pillowcases... Something that has not happened at other places.. The place was spotless.... So much so that we tidied up and put the rubbish out as we left . Felt the right thing to do.
Beware the hot water in the morning... It was blisteringly hot ! Not a complaint. But please watch out.
Overall ... Lyn covered most bases... These are lovely apartments... With really friendly owners and staff who are so helpfull... The owner gave us a brand new Hairdryer when we couldn't get ours to work.. No fuss. No bother and done with a smile and an apology .
They may seem Budget... Based on prices via Olympic Holidays... But believe me you will enjoy a
Five Star Holiday here .

Room Tip: If you want Wi-fi. Request a room that the on site Wi-fi covers. We were in room 14. ( perfect vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Simon-Gtr-Mancheste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband & I have just returned from a week long stay in beautiful Elounda. We booked through Olympic holidays & chose to stay at Kavos Bay apartments. They are situated about 15 minutes walk from Elounda centre on the road towards Plaka but wow, what a view while you saunter along - just stunning. Kavos Bay was just fab - we had a studio apartment which was a good size & although the apartment was basic it was immaculately clean. I always take disinfectant wipes & give the kitchen & bathroom a going over when we go on holiday but no need here - everything was sparkling clean. Hand & bath towels were changed every other day. The cleaner works so hard & does a fantastic job. The accommodation may be basic but the views are 5 star - I nearly cried when I opened the balcony door - I could've spent the entire week just sitting there! The pool is small but lovely and is never too crowded. We spent one day by the pool & we were the only ones there - it was like our own private pool! Even on days when a few families were using it there were always spare loungers stacked up at the side so plenty for everyone. The on site shop is great for the necessities - wine, milk, wine, bread, wine, water - did I say wine (big bottles of Greek wine for less than 4 euros - I was so happy!) Really cheap - I actually found this wee shop to be cheaper than the shops in Elounda. You can also get a full English breakfast here (they serve it all day) if you want to fill up before you head out for the day. Staff here are just lovely & so welcoming - a big shout out to the fantastic Janey - she brightens up your day with the biggest smile ever. There is a little beach just across the road but it is very shingly & we preferred to walk to the beach in elounda which was kinder to the feet. Just take a pair of water shoes though & you'll be fine on any of the beaches. You must visit Spinalonga while there - tickets are 10 euros each (adult price) & 2 euro admission fee each once you arrive at there. This island is well worth a visit but go early as it gets really crowded later in the day.

Overall, we loved Elounda - fab people, great places to eat & wonderful atmosphere. Kavos Bay is a little gem with the most amazing views you could ever wish for - thanks to everyone there for our wonderful holiday. Hope to be back again x

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Lyn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for 1 week in August 2012 with beautiful weather- not a cloud in the sky. The pool is quite small and we had worried at first that it would get crowded, however this was not a problem at all. Apartments are basic but comfortable and very clean. As some reviewers have stated there is a steep hill to reach the apartments...this is worth it for the fantastic view!
There is a bit of a walk into Elounda, which we enjoyed every night, it is well-lit and paved but if you find walking a problem this may not be the place for you. Having looked around Elounda at the SC apartments offered by other UK tour operators (we travelled with Olympic) I would always choose Kavos Bay if we were returning to Elounda, in fact I tried to book for 2013 but the place was full!
If you are planning a holiday to Elounda and want a good base from which to explore Plaka also, Kavos Bay is spot-on. In terms of eateries, Paradosiako and Vritomartes were our favourites. Paradosiako is extremely reasonably priced, very friendly staff and amazing Greek food. Vritomartes is very romantic on the water and does a lovely lemon sole.
We hope to return to Kavos Bay again, if only we could get booked in!

Room Tip: Our apartment was no.20 which was very quiet and had a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annamorgaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.8 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
1.5 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#21 of 35 in Elounda
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kavos Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kavos Bay Apartments

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Elounda
Price Range: £41 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kavos Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kavos Bay Apartments Hotel Elounda
Kavos Bay Apartments Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing