We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disinterested staff. Beware the yellow t shirt man.”

Vritomartes Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 117 Restaurants in Elounda
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disinterested staff. Beware the yellow t shirt man.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We decided to visit this place as it is a great central location. We arrived about 8pm and was met by a man who stated we would leave with smiles on our faces. To summarise...we didnt!
After sitting down, it wasnt long before a man in a yellow polo shirt appeared with a note pad to take our order. To say he was disinterested is an understatement. We ordered our food in what can only be described as awkward and intimidating circumstances. He was semi listening to us whilst barking orders at other staff who appeared not to be listening. Food and wine ordered, yellow t shirt man reappeared with two very grubby wine glasses but must have noticed our faces as he swifty took them away again. A few minutes later another staff member turned up with replacement glasses which to be honest could still have been cleaner. The starters arrived promptly and actually tasted ok abeit the presentation was lacking. One of the mains arrived soon after we finished our first course but it sat on the table whilst we wsited for the other. At no point did anyone ask us if the food was ok and the general environment felt uncomfortable. The bill arrived which we swiftly paid just to move in somewhere else. No tip given and no we wont be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DL4224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    68
    29
    31
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dreadful service and overcharged!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant for its location and was guaranteed by the gentleman at the door that we would leave with big smiles on our faces. We left with anything but smiles. Once seated we were ignored for 15 mins. When the waiter finally came he was rather scruffy, disinterested and really quite rude. He took our order whilst looking anywhere but at us. He never asked if we would like drinks, we had to shout him back to order a drink, which usually is the first thing you're offered. When asked what trimmings came with the steak we were told veg, salad, and potatoes. The meal arrived and was OK, not the best by far but was ok. After that we were ignored again until we asked for the bill. That was when the fun started. €121 for 2 steaks and 2 pasta's and one bottle of wine. No starters, no deserts. When questioned about the prices we were told that €18 was just for the steak and the veg, potatoes and salad were all €4 each extra, making the total price for 1 average steak meal €30. The house wine that we were told was €8 turned out to be in fact €31. We were told VERY sternly that we had not read the menu properly. When we did look again at the menu there was no mention that any trimmings were extra or how much the house wine actually was. After much debate and without explanation we were thrown a final bill of €104, which still didn't add up right with what we had ordered. We'd had enough by this point so we just paid and left very disappointed and definitely without smiles. We stayed in Elounda for 7 nights and found the people extremely friendly, the food delicious and the atmosphere and surroundings beautiful with the only exception being this restaurant. So, if you don't want to spoil an otherwise perfect holiday then avoid this restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metz, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“For the view only ...”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The food was ok but the service was slow. It is way too expensive given the amount of food, which was ridiculous. We were quite still hungry after our meal. Better try another restaurant in Elounda !

Helpful?
Thank Sixth_C13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level Contributor
251 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Food was good”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Visited this restaurant in October. Hotel's receptionist booked a table for us, so we came without reading reviews on Tripadvisor beforehand.

Location of the restaurant is one of the best in Elounda, I think.

Upon our arrival, around 7 pm, only 3 tables were occupied. 2 of them - by the locals, as far as I could judge by the language they spoke.

We asked the waiter, Andreas, if the meat dishes are especially good in this restaurant. Andreas gave a negative reply and gained our trust.

All his advices on the food were very good ones.

We had "small fried fish", mussels in white wine, goatfish, pizza, calamari grilled, desserts. Without wine, bill came at 100 Euros. Not cheap, but we found it appropriate for the food quality and location (Elounda).

I would visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexTrav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good authentic Greek cuisine”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

For the first time we have visited this place 7 years ago.. Since then we are their happy customers. Delicious fish and vegetables , the best waiter Nectarios. Each time we feel welcome and pampered. Sea views all around! This place is must for people and food lovers!:)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vritomartes Restaurant also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Vritomartes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing