We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT RESTAURANT”

Thea Family Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 119 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: 900 Meters From The Square Of Elounda On The Main Road To Agios Nikolaos Walking Time 10 - 15 Min. Distance from hotels Elounda Bay palace 5 min walk. Elounda Beach hotel 10 to 15 min walk. Elounda Mare hotel 15 to 20 min walk. Porto Elounda Mare 25 to 30 min walk. Elounda Domus 5 klm(taxi required) Elounda Blue Palace 6 klm (taxi required).
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT RESTAURANT”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The food was exceptional and the staff so friendly. The owner of the restaurant went out an caught fish for us as we were returning to the restaurant to enjoy another meal The chef even came out the kitchen to chat and have a drink with us.
Go and enjoy the delicious food and the friendliness, great customer service

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cathy_obyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    74
    14
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Been to Elounda many times but first visit to Thea, very good. Proper table linen, bread was toasted and came with garlic dip, tzatziki and tarama, breadsticks and some of those hard rusk things that break the teeth, but you can just ignore them! Anyway, bread was excellent and a little bit more interesting than the usual. Ditto the greek salad ('with a twist'), chunks of feta rolled in sesame, topped with yogurt, absolutely lovely. Very generous dish of meatballs were herby and delicious, octopus stifado scored 4.5*, I found the octopus a bit chewy but know this is the nature of octopus, partner enjoyed it. Local wine excellent, offered a mini baklava pud and raki. For E43 this was one of our best meals this time round. Service was just as it should be, friendly but unintrusive. Suggest everyone gives Thea a whirl.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chocsEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Special last night”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Went to Thea on the last night of my mums 70th birthday celebrations. I went ahead and told Manolis it was my mums 70th. When she arrived he greeted her with bithday wishes and a glass of champagne on the house and played happy birthday which was a lovely touch. The food was delicious and reasonably priced however my mums pork was dry and she didn't enjoy it. We pointed this out to Manolis who couldn't be more apologetic and took the meal off the bill. He brought her an amazing chocolate cake with a sparkler and a litre of wine on the house and joined us all for a drink. He truely made the end to a great week very special and I certainly hope to return to his restaurant soon.

Helpful?
2 Thank debbiefrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fab”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

we walked up to this restaurant, and it was well worth the walk.The food was excellent, as was the service. We had the full three courses and got complimentary wine. You have got to try this place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jestville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We love this restaurant with its beautiful food and warm welcome. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly The food is of the highest quality yet not too expensive. The place is spotless so no hygiene worries here. It is well worth the short walk out of the village or a taxi ride.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hazeldallimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thea Family Restaurant also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Thea Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing