We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elounda Vista Villas
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We booked through last minute.com and stayed from 29/09/13 for 14 nights, requested a villa with a sea view which we got.
First off, we wouldn't say its suitable for families with small children/toddlers or elderly/disabled people due to the amount of steps inside and out.
The villas are situated on the bottom of the hillside off the main road into town and so there is a bit of traffic noise during the day but it's not intrusive and you can't hear a thing once inside the villa at night.
The villas are clean and bright with an upstairs terrace overlooking its own garden area and downstairs there is another terrace out from the bedroom onto the garden area. You can access the garden from the outside steps that lead down from the upstairs terrace. The stairs down to the lower level consist of a spiral staircase .
The views are amazing.
The kitchen is adequately equipped everything you need apart from a microwave.
The owner Sarah has told us that she is upgrading the entire complex this winter and it should be even more lovely.
Sarah was always around for any help we wanted, she was very helpful and happy to advise us .
On the first night we walked into elounda bay it took 15 minutes but there is a bus service that runs every hour.
A taxi costs 6 euros one way.
We hired a car at eagle car hire in elounda bay very good deal!
The villa was cleaned daily mon thru fri but not on sat or sun.
We had clean towels on each of those days and the bedding was changed every two days.
The owner and her staff could not have been more helpful.
There is a gang of the usual suspects going round the island entering hotels/apartments and stealing cash etc, this is happening all over the island and anyone going on holiday should not take unnecessary risks. Always lock your valuables away or keep them on your person, always make sure you'd doors are locked when you go out and at night, dont leave valuables laying around on view, you wouldn't do it at home!
Unfortunately one of the villas was entered into in the night and money etc was taken.
There are no security measures on site, the complex is open to anyone walking in!
Having said that we can only go on our own experience and would like to say we had a wonderful stay, it was very peaceful, relaxing and the weather was brilliant, elounda bay is beautiful and we shall be returning once all the renovations have been done.

Room Tip: Villa number 5 has fantastic views and is next to the owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doggy do O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at Elounda Vista Villas from 7-18 September 2013.

Firstly, we booked directly via emails exchanged with Sarrah who I have to say was very helpful. We had to pay a deposit of 150 euros and pay the rest by cash when we arrived. I would've preferred to have paid by credit card, but this was not an option.

After struggling to read the sign for the villas we finally arrived at Elounda Vista Villas slightly earlier than expected so our villa wasn't ready which wasn't a problem as that wasn't their fault, however, the pool/sea view villa I had requested and had been given confirmation by Sarrah that we would have that apartment had people in, so we were 'upgraded' to a bigger villa. The villa we were given slept 4-8 people, and it was huge. We had 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, an upstairs living room, kitchen and dining room. When the room was ready and we were shown around we were told that one of the bedrooms had been locked as we didn't need this room because there was only 2 of us, which seemed a bit unfair seeiong as we had been 'upgraded'. Sarrah showed us around and told us she was around 24/7 if we needed anything. I am upset that we weren't given the villa we requested, as the one we were given, had a lovely view, but not the view I wanted.

The villa was perfectly clean and tidy, we had everything we needed in the kitchen but everything was a little dated and it doesnt look as nice as it does in the photos. After taking my first shower, we realised there was an awfully strong fishy smell coming from the airconditioning, it was vile.

The day after we arrived i popped down to Sarrah to pay for the villa and also mention the smell we were getting, she wasnt there but her mother took the money from me and told me Sarrah would give me a receipt the next day. I never heard from Sarrah the next day or got a receipt from her, and seeing as her mother spoke very little english i figured it would be better to wait for Sarrah to speak about the smell. I saw her mother in passing on the Tuesday and asked for a receipt but she told me in very bad english that Sarrah was still in Athens and would give me a receipt one day during the week. We never got a receipt and we didn't see Sarrah once during our entire stay (we were there for 11 days).

Our bedding was changed every 3-4 days, and our room cleaned every other day. The bathroom is quite basic, but there was a massive hole in the floor with a very flimsy drain cover which i almost put my foot through on one occassion, we think this was what was causing the smell.

I am shocked to read of the review below about money being stolen, luckily we had a safe so we locked our money away, but I fear this could've happened to us if we didnt use the safe.

The villas are located a good 45 minutes walk into town - so you will need a hire car, or bring enough money for taxis to get into town during the evenings. A taxi costs 6 euros into town, but they won't bring you up the extremely steep hill to the apartments so you will have to walk that bit.

I wouldn't stay here again due to the location and the fact we were not visited once during our stay to ask if everything was ok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LO19012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here in August 2013. Initially the place was hard to find as the name at the front is not visible. First day was a nightmare as the air conditioning wouldn't work and was blowing hot air. The owner was trying to fix the problem himself without knowing what he was doing. He blamed the windows and doors and kept saying they should be closed. He refused to move us stating that all other rooms were full and by the end of the day he figured that he couldn't fix it and tried to call a repairer and ofcourse by that stage of the day he couldn't find anyone. Imagine a family with 2 young kids stuck in a sauna. The nightmare got worse, we sent our kids to our relatives staying next door as it was too hot in the morning we realised we were robbed of 2000 euro as we found a door which we didn't know existed unlocked behind the curtain opened. We then went to the front of the apartment and found the cleaner sweeping with my wallet at her feet at 7.30 am. We reported to police but we are sure that this was an inside job and the owners showed no interest.
There was no safe and when I asked the owner he said we should have asked for one which sounds quite suspicious..I mean can you really order a safe!! Strongly recommend you keep away from this accomodation!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 306Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarrah R, Owner at Elounda Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

As a business and as a family that serves and hosts clients for more than 25 years, we never felt the need to reply to any review concerning our business. After all, we also believe in the freedom of speech and the freedom to express ourselves. We always took very seriously each and every single one of those comments and always kept them in mind, in order to improve. However, it has been rather frustrating and unfair not only for our business but also for our family to be accused as thieves. Mr Raptis, the owner of the property, as a former chief of the police, took a lot of time to be part of all the police investigations that started out even without a formal lawsuit from the clients, and used his skills and experience to help the police to unveil the gang who targeted the whole area of Elounda. Just a reminder at this point, that the client also mentions the open balcony door. In 2013 it is at least dangerous and careless not to be extra cautious and not to follow some simple safety rules, not only in Crete but mostly in every part of the world. The client at stake never pressed any charges at the police and never sued anyone. If there was any suspicion from the clients' side about our involvement there would also have been a lawsuit against us. However, the client preferred to press charges through tripadvisor all "covered up" by the anonymity and the "veil" of protection that tripadvisor offers to people of that kind. Since there is no other way of protecting ourselves, we decided to press charges to the client at stake, for defamation, false accusations, and of course financial damage as well as moral damage. As far as Tripadvisor is concerned, we are planning of pressing charges for synergy, since it has been more than two months that tripadvisor is protecting and promoting on the web, behaviors and comments as such.
We feel sorry that for the first time since we started serving tourism, we feel the need for taking those actions in order to protect ourselves.
Our first and main goal will and always be to serve, protect and respect each and everyone that chooses EloundaVista Villas or any other property that the family owns and manages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Excellent week at Elounda Vista Villas,during June 2013!
Excellent design of the villas and pool.Very confortable villa with amazing sea view!
Excellent location between Elounda and Agios Nikolaos, where you will be able to find excellent beaches and entertainment!
Excellent place to start to travel inland South-East Crete...so you need a car!
Taking into account all these, to have..... a device for mosquitos, is a minor thing, that will make you..... happy!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tucu89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Accomodation good in terms of size and facilities but slightly tired

Cleaning equipment left lying in and around the pool

Pool backs on to main Elounda-Agios Nickolaos road which can be noisy

Owners insisted on cash payment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PrabbitManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pupucemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank sarahchrisjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarrah R, Manager at Elounda Vista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
0 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
0 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Stella Mare
Stella Mare
#1 of 1 in Plaka
42 reviews
0 mi away
Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
0 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Vista Villas

Address: 5 km outside the town of Agios Nikolaos | on the new belt highway connecting Agios Nikolaos to Elounda, Elounda, Crete 72124, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Elounda
Price Range: £60 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Vista Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elounda Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Vista Villas Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing