We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poppy's”
Review of Kafenio Paparouna - Poppy's - CLOSED

Kafenio Paparouna - Poppy's
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“poppy's”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

this is great - we visited on stormy day and 28 eu we could eat it all - the tigana is to die for sorry for the spelling - you'll know the dish we mean

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not one for us”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Really looked forward to eating here after reading previous reviews, unfortunately it started badly, we sat at a table and were promptly ignored for 5 minutes, staff were sitting nearby, the place was fairly quiet at the time, I was on the point of leaving when we were acknowledged and given menus.

The food we ordered was only fine, reasonably priced though, in a good location but we did not return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Latchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Charming & traditional”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were staying next door but one to this little place and decided to give it a whirl - it always looked busy when we'd passed by on previous evenings. It has a really nice feel to the place and the menu, whilst not extensive, has been done well - offering meze dishes to be shared which is great because you get to try a little bit of everything. The food tasted great and as previous reviewers have commented has a really nice relaxed atmosphere. There were a lot of what appeared to be local Greek people dining here too which I think is a measure of how good it is.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traditional and friendly”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Visited for first time this holiday and was pleasantly surprised. Excellent food at very reasonable prices. Would visit again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kazza402k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crete
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“My small personal Paradise”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Now, when i think of happiness and of relaxation my mind comes to this place. I ve known Paparouna for about 4 years and its always connected with very happy moments of my life. I ve had my 20something birthday celebrated here, i ve had tens of beers shared with friends and boyfriend at its tables and its a place i really really love!
The place is really magical with its blue and white colors and our favorite greek music and its marvelous food (one should definitely try the saucage and horta)! The owners are so friendly and really give their heart to this place!!! Thank god for us!!!
* Visit the place at sunset, you ll have the most romantic evening ever!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank psixitaxidiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kafenio Paparouna - Poppy's also viewed

 
Plaka, Elounda
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing