We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable day”
Review of Flowers of Crete

Flowers of Crete
Ranked #6 of 12 Tours in Elounda
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Day trips and holidays in all parts of Crete to discover rare and beautiful wild flowers in idyllic locations far from the beaten track, with artist and writer Julia Jones, President and Founder of the charitable trust Flowers of Crete,dedicated to protection and conservation of the native flora of the island. Trips can be tailor made for guests preferred interests and abilities. Choose from high mountains, sacred caves, Minoan shrines and sanctuaries, remote tavernas, wild flowers, birds of prey and much more. Experience secret and wonderful areas that most people will never get to see. Please enquire for more details. Although based in Elounda, mountain trips are offered all around the island. Please ask for details.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unforgetable day”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I spent the most wonderful day with Julia in her jeep, we enjoyed it so much that the time just flew away. We were collected from our accomodation and returned there at the end of the day which was great. We had coffee and lunch in some lovely little tavernas and visited places during the day, including a lovely little church that we would never have found by ourselves.

Julia is the most wonderful guide and as it was only the three of us there was no pressure to move on or go where we would have struggled to walk which made it such a relaxing day. She is extremely knowledgable about the local area and of course the flowers. If we spotted something which interested us such as a bird of prey or a goat up a tree(!) she would pull over so we could try a take some snaps, etc.

The whole package of the day was so wonderful that we cannot recommend it enough!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An amazing day with fine company”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We went on two trips with Julia and I have to say, despite the weather not being good we had an amazing time. Julia takes you to places you would not otherwise get to see. Her knowledge is encyclopaedic, but she tailors the trip to suit all levels of knowledge.
I must say, we have been on many excursions in Greece over the years and this is by far the best. Julia is easygoing and completely passionate about what she does. We saw rare flowers. Minoan sacred sites, Minoan pack routes, ancient Byzantine churches and breathtaking mountains and plains, some of which were awash with colour. Julia knew the names of everything we saw and had botanical information to share.

We also had a good amount of stop offs and ate delicious horta pies by a deserted beach. Julia must be a regular feature in the remote villages, as she is known to everyone she meets and greeted like a close friend. She is welcoming and great company and a very special person. I would say the most important thing we learned was the amount of biodiversity there is on Crete, but you just have to look in the right way.

We are already considering going back to Crete next year with the intention of doing all the other trips. I cannot recommend these trips enough for anyone interested in nature and seeing the real Crete. With that in mind, it's also worth noting that the trips we went on would be suitable for those who may find long walks and treks difficult. Julia paces the trips according to whoever has the pleasure of her company and additionally, she does this with the itinerary for the day too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank johnnykunst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Flower hunting in Crete”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

If you plan to visit Crete, and wish to spend a wonderful day seeing the indigenous flora amid stunning mountain scenery, then contact Julia Jones at Flowers of Crete, who will take you on a personalised tour, and share her expert botanical knowledge with you. By the end of the day, you'll be firm friends with Julia, and her quirky jeep "Colin"!

Helpful?
2 Thank Goff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“flowers of crete Elaunda”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The most exciting and memorable day for myself and my wife during a marvellous fortnight in Eastern Crete in early April - roads up to mountain villages we would not have dared to attempt in our hire car, at least 7 different species of orchids, Minoan tombs, a remote Byzantine church ,an excellent taverna lunch and amazing landscapes - with Julia replying vividly and knowledgeably , to all our accumulated questions on Crete - ranging from its flora and fauna to health and education issues ! Excellent value for money and not to be missed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltwood345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Melford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A heavenly day spent with Julia and the flowers of Crete!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Peter and I had such a wonderful day with Julia high up in the mountains away from the hustle and bustle of Cretan life. We saw the most amazing flowers and butterflies that we would otherwise have never seen if we had been on our own. Thank you Julia for making our stay even more special. We look forward to coming again - can't wait!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndyloo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flowers of Crete also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Flowers of Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing