We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing villa, great hospitality”
other travellers have booked this property
Elounda Solfez Villa at Dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elounda Solfez Villa at Dusk
Spinalonga, inspiration for Victoria Hislop's best seller 'The Island' The pool with a Blue view!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Elounda Solfez Villa at Dusk
Spinalonga, inspiration for Victoria Hislop's best seller 'The Island'
The pool with a Blue view!
Elounda Solfez Villa
Elounda Village
140 sq.m. Terrace with BBQ
Agios Nikolaos nearby city (10km)
Blue Sky...
Top floor Bedroom
Living room with modern amenities
9 - Hole Par 3 golf course nearby
Top floor Bedroom with private Balcony
Relax in Privacy...
First Floor bedroom
Almyros Beach with a fresh river pouring into the sea (12km)
First floor bedroom with single beds
View from the pool
First Floor bedroom, direct access to the pool
Privacy guaranteed...
Fully equipped Kitchen
Crop from our Bio - Garden
Living room with operating fireplace
The Mystique of Mirabello Bay and the Cretan Sea
Relax all you can...
Elounda's Canal
At least on vacation...
Kalo Horio beach (15km)
Our Herb and flowers garden
Small scale events, like vows renewal...
Electronic Safe
Washing machine and dryer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jxmatthew...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing villa, great hospitality”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The villa was fantastic, facilities as advertised, the view was incredible and our host Hippo was very welcoming and helpful. It was great value for money all round and we'd definitely recommend it to others.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieKen...
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Villa; Stunning HD views; Exceptional, friendly Service. What are you waiting for?!”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

There's a song by 'Faithless' called 'Feelin' Good'. It opens with the line 'I want the view from the top of the hill, give me the view from the top of the hill'. I sang it to myself every morning when we opened the shutters at Villa Fa to reveal the stunning HD panoramic view of Mirabello Bay, stretched out like a picture postcard. It's the best view in Elounda and a view could never become tiresome. The colours of the Cretan sea changing throughout the day as the sun curves across the sky, painting the rocks red in the evening. Watching the yachts, tall ships, jet skis and fishing boats weave patterns with the white wakes they leave behind and just to the left, the majestic mountains of Eastern Crete rise from the sea.
What I'm trying to convey is that Villa Solfez was good for the soul. We travelled as a family of five and arrived to a warm welcome from Hippo, our host. Hippo could not have done enough for us throughout our stay. He brought us fresh fruit, cleaned the pool every day, advised us where to eat and came to say goodbye when we (very reluctantly) left to travel home.
The villa itself is beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. Maids arrived every other day to clean, change towels and make the beds. Well appointed too, there was nothing we felt was lacking. It had everything we needed and felt like home straight away.
The outside living areas are designed to make the most of the superb views on every level. We breakfasted each morning on the balcony and enjoyed the Charcoal BBQ by the pool.
The villa was such a place of calm relaxation that we spent our entire first week there, only leaving to eat in the evenings!
The infinity pool provided welcome refreshment when a break from sunbathing was needed for the adults. The kids splashed and played in the pool from morning until evening. They loved it!
When we did eventually venture further, we found some real Cretan gems. Almyros beach, Agia Fotia, Fourni village and Spinalonga were all highlights. Elounda itself is a beautiful place with a picturesque harbour full of tiny blue and white painted fishing boats. We found some great places here to eat and relax in the evenings.
From our first enquiry to Nikolas the owner, to our departure home, we have found the team behind Elounda Solfez Villas to be friendly, helpful and attentive. They truly thought of everything and made our holiday experience relaxed and carefree from the moment we booked! Providing us with arrival and departure details, car hire recommendations, things to do and see, where to eat all made for a completely stress free holiday.
When you find a piece of paradise and have experienced something so wonderful and good for the soul, it's tempting to keep it to yourself!!
Having resisted the temptation, I cannot recommend Elounda Solfez Villas highly enough. This villa represented fantastic value for money. If you're looking for a place to unwind, relax and forget about the daily grind, then this is it. You will leave refreshed, inspired and transformed - Value for money doesn't really come into it - our experience was priceless!

Thank you Nikolas, Hippo and team. We can't wait to return :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Steep road access (but this is typical in Crete)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is wonderful!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spend an absolutely wonderful week here. The villa is fabulous and is well maintained, with an amazing view and wonderful pool. Nikolas was very attentive and provided excellent support and service throughout our trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuzana T
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our best holiday”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for nice villa maybe two months... when we finally found this offer we could not believe that for such a price we could get such a nice place. However the pictures and reality is not the same. Reality is even much more better... Once you enter and see this amazing view to whole Elounda from your infinity pool - it is just amazing.

Long time before the holiday we were wondering whether it is not better to go to nice
hotel with full service, however now we do not regret it since in villa you have your privacy and Nikolas helped to us anytime with anything we wanted. I really appreciate that anytime we called him he came to our villa and bring to us anything we needed. In addition, every second day there is cleaning service and every day they clean pool.

We stayed in three floor villa for 6 people - every floor has own terrace. I would really recommend this villa to everybody - families or group of friends. I am sure you will not regret this.

We had wonderful time in villa and we would like to thank you to Nikolas for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sha623
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our review differs to the others as unfortunately we had to cut short our stay and return to the UK as our daughter became very sick. After months of looking forward to this trip, our daughter became unwell a few days before we left London. We thought she was recovering and would "turn the corner" in Crete, but she didn't.

We stayed 5 days out of our 14 planned, but that was enough time to give this gorgeous place 5 stars! First impressions: steep road was absolutely manageable - we even got into 2nd gear once or twice! Also, as others have mentioned, the villas DO look exactly like the photos. We spent most of our 5 days staying at the villa (due to sick child) and our other two children didn't leave the pool, except to let the daily cleaning take place (always at the end of the day), then were straight back in!

The cleaning of the villa (3 times a week) was also very welcome - changing all the linen felt a bit like a hotel service!

We really enjoyed having the two outdoor areas to eat - just outside the living room/kitchen (good for breakfast) and by the pool. We literally couldn't get much else in the fridge when we arrived as it was generously packed full of fresh food.

During the day, the view was fantastic, but for us the villa was spectacular at night. Firstly we were mesmerised by the colour of the moon rising - starts bright red, then turns bronze before becoming the usual pale yellow. We also used the BBQ most nights - brilliant. This along with the terrace/pool lighting made the outdoor space very special. We star gazed each evening (not possible in London!) and along with the view of Spinalonga lit up, we didn't want to go inside at bedtime!

Probably what make our experience different is that we had fantastic customer service in a "crisis" situation. Hippo was amazing! Upon our request to find a doctor to see our daughter, he made a phone call and within 30 minutes a lovely doctor arrived at our villa, speaking perfect English and giving sensible advice. Unfortunately, our child's condition continued to deteriorate and we made the difficult decision to change our flights and return home. We then had a computing nightmare trying to print our boarding passes at short notice, which saw Hippo going flat out to help us on a public holiday long weekend late in the evening. He was a huge star and by some miracle produced our 5 printed boarding passes at 10 pm for us to fly the following morning. I can't express enough how grateful we are to him - he really went out of his way to help us. For us, he went beyond the call of duty - our problem became his problem too.

We left Elounda very sad but knowing it was the right thing (our daughter was admitted to hospital once home). On our return we received an Email from Nikolas offering us a complimentary stay at the villas in the future to use up the 9 nights we didn't use! I can't think of customer service that compares to this anywhere else that we have been in 15 years of taking holidays as a family. Thank you Hippo and Nikolas!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An amazing location and resort!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place was everything we had hoped for. The food was amazing, very Greek with lots of choice. The road to our apartment was steep so if you have mobility issues this isn't the place for you! Our 3 children had a great time at the pool and the games room. We hired a car which made our holiday as we could explore further afield. We did discover a lovely water sports place about 10 mins past Agios Nic which our children loved and the beach was lovely. (Much better than the local Elounda water sports and cheaper). We did try the Elounda once and almost got run over by the ferry that goes to the lepar colony!! The apartments were basic but clean and we had an amazing view of the sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and terrace
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_A_Shah
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Elounda”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent welcome and great view and own pool is fantastic. Great place for families and groups. Thanks to Hippo.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing