We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute bliss !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Absolute bliss !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here from the 1st May for two weeks in a luxury room in the Chenot building with sea view. We were in need of a rest and this hotel was perfect, excellent service, accommodation and food, a very well run hotel without being stuffy.
The room had a large bed, sitting area, plenty of wardrobes, mini bar, balcony with table two chairs and two deck chairs. The bathroom was spacious with marble walls, floor inset with wood, twin basins, jacuzzi bath, shower/steam room etc.
We paid for half board and in addition to the Artemis restaurant where we could choose from a menu or use the buffet we had an allowance against the menus in the other restaurants on site which we used.
Breakfast was lovely sitting partly outside with a view of the pool, a big thank you to Manolis Kurtis,
Panagiolu and Nicos who were all cheerful and excellent at watching what everyone needed, more coffee? it was there. The food is a hot and cold buffet with a chef cooking eggs, omlettes, crepes, waffles etc with lots of fresh fruit, cereals, pattiserie etc.
The hotel complex is like a little village some rooms like little villas with private pools, others with shared pools, some right on the edge of the water, just beautiful.
The beach is golden sand and perfect for little children, snacks can be ordered from your lounger by pressing a button or you can stroll to the jetty bar for a light lunch or the Kafenion (taverna),
you really do not need to leave this little bit of paradise if you don't want to.
My husband says that Georgious from the Kafenion (who is a lovely man) reminds him of Joe Pesce from the movie 'My Cousin Vinnie' so if anyone else can remember this film see if you agree.
We also walked round the grounds of the sister hotel, the Elounda bay Palace, which also looks nice with a few more sporting facilities and an indoor and outdoor pool which may suit families with children.
We also visited Santorini for a day, Knosos and of course Spinalonga - you must read The Island by Victoria Hislop before you visit here, it will mean so much more to you.
Santorini can be visited by catamaran from Iraklion in 2 hours, you need a car, or bus from the
port as it is a very steep winding road. We had a car and guide meet us which was great.
Knosos is very near Iraklion (1 hour by car)
Spinalonga can be reached by boat from Elounda but we went from Placa having read the Island.
Placa is a charming little place and the boat only takes a few minutes.

Can't wait to visit this hotel again, it is no surprise to hear that some families have been going for many years and the staff have seen their children grow up, they are so very welcoming.

Room Tip: Go for the best you can afford but all are nice, ground floor rooms/villas are often given to famili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VirgoQualitySeeker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for the review about your stay with us this May. We are pleased that you found our Mediterranean style the perfect backdrop for your holiday here exploring the mystical Island of Crete. It is our aim to provide all our guests with a taste of Cretan hospitality as there are excellent five starred hotels all over the world this is what makes the difference and keeps our loyal guests returning to us year after year. Our staff is dedicated to offering those who stay with us a truly Greek experience providing the little touches that you so enjoyed. Your kind comments have been passed on to the staff who will be delighted to read that they enhanced your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to the Elounda Beach Hotel.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    78
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
111
179
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel, staff, accommodation and food all perfect. We had a wonderfully relaxing week with fabulous aspects of the bay wherever you move around the grounds. Wonderful view of the sea while lying in bed!
Everything was just right: roses in the room and the bathroom, wine and fruit basket on arrival, lovely toiletries, bathrobes and slippers. We stayed in a sea view bungalow, an upgrade from a classic room, but not the most extravagant room by far - for those with greater ambition, you can have your own infinity pool.
Staff can't do enough for you; warm and friendly and efficient.
Food was fabulous, both the choice and quality.
We didn't move outside of the hotel grounds (there is enough space to walk all over without feeling the need to) as we were so knackered we just wanted to relax. The beach, the pool and the grounds are all beautifully maintained.
We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the best you can afford, and the bungalows are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HilaryGU25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Elounda Beach Hotel with the readers of the Trip Advisor website. It is a pleasure for us to learn that you had such a good holiday here with us and your kind comments have been passed on to the staff. Our aim is to making a holiday stay here at the Elounda Beach Hotel the stay that exceeds our guests expectations. With our unique location and the dedication of our loyal staff we are proud to be able to say that we have a 60% repeater guest rate and that our guests feel like old friends that are coming to stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Elounda Beach Hotel for another stay in the near future.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

From the moment you turn that corner from the top of the road, The bay of Mirabello and Elounda take your breath away. Have we staggered onto an Ancient part of Crete that seems timeless and so beautiful. The Elounda Beach Hotel, set in beautiful grounds amongst the backdrop of green and rocky mountains with the privates beaches of the resort. I have stumbled upon greatness. My Room a Deluxe- sea view with Private pool in the Chenot spa building. I've entered paradise surely. My bathroom could be on a luxurious Ship with it's bay window and wood. My shower a steam room, my bath a Jacuzzi, this surely as good as its gets. My bed moves, it vibrates, it has a built in massager plus it raises automatically with a control...WOW, this is what I call a hotel room, and furthermore the View is simply incredible. Oh yea I've got my own pool shared by 2 other Hotel rooms, with a pulsejet massager.

Have I tempted you yet ???

I am a 16 year Travel Industry Ambassador, and I only write genuine honest reviews, I can honestly say that if you want a Hotel with traditional values, Great local and Greek Food, Impeccable service, and a holiday you wont forget, you should stay here.

Don't believe the bad reviews, they are wrong, this is a great hotel with great staff, and really care about their hotel, as you will see, all the staff have been at this resort for many years, and for them this isn't just a job it's their home and way of life as well..

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms from 235-237-239 in the Chenot spa building have a private pool, and beds that m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thelastrealtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay with us at the Elounda Beach Hotel. It is so rewarding for us to read that you rated our service and hospitality so highly. You are correct in saying that our loyal staff regard the hotel as their home and way of life, indeed they are proud to be part of this hotel and enjoy showing each of our guests the Cretan hospitality that we are known for. The Elounda Beach is the original hotel in this area and unique in its location. The whitewashed buildings and bungalows set in the colourful Mediterranean gardens with the back drop of the turquoise blue of the sea enhances the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel. So now that you have found us we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Elounda Beach Hotel for another stay in this little corner of paradise.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Your "welcome back programm" for guest loyalty was perfect, from the begining to the end !!

Really, we apreciate !!

Above all :

- our exclusie assistance and private transfer (taking care about our lugage) in best cars and drivers so kind from the airport..

- The localisation of our room with special oversea view, all what we need in the room : fruit basket, nespresso coffee, towels, bathrobe, welcome products, extra shower and bath, magazine ordered

- The spa with efficient treatments and the best massage I had..

- The kindness and helpful mind of all your team, specially to your guest relations

- The laundry service, the turn-over service and housekeeping and butler also

- The Organisation of our transportation, renting a car, booking tickets...everything was perfect !!

- The situation, the sea, the swiming pool.. that was fun !

Last thing was the taking care of our chek-in in the airport of Heraklion. Amazing !

My husband was there for a meeting 10 years ago.

Please, be sure that if we can, we will come back under the same conditions !

kind and best regards.




   
Caroline HENRY
Professeur Hébergement
Lycée des Métiers Hôtellerie-Restauration Guillaume Tirel
235 -237 boulevard Raspail
75014 PARIS
01-44-84-19-00 // http://lyceeguillaumetirel.fr/
06-61-55-92-66

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinehenry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for the glowing review that you have written on this website concerning your experience of the Elounda Beach Hotel. It is our aim to make a stay with us the smooth and effortless holiday that is expected of a hotel with the high standards of the Leading Hotels of the World status. Our unique location with the crystal clear waters of the Mirabello Bay enhance the whitewashed tranquility of our hotel and colourful Mediterranean gardens, creating the perfect setting in which to relax and unwind. We shall be sure to pass on your remarks to our loyal staff who will be delighted to read that their efforts were appreciated. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future for another stay at the Elounda Beach Hotel.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is stunning! The grounds, pools and surrounding water all look like something out of a dream. When my friend and I arrived we were greeted outside by a member of the staff (I wish I remembered her name, she was lovely!) who took our names and instructed a porter to take our bags. We were then told that we were given a free room upgrade! The first woman introduced us to a staff member named Constantina (sorry if the spelling is wrong!) who was just as equally if not more friendly than the first woman. She showed us the grounds and to our beautiful beautiful hotel room that had a shared infinity pool! We actually hugged her because we were overwhelmed with how nice everything was (I'm usually a huge sceptic when it comes to a good deal). For the rest of the trip we enjoyed lounging on the sun loungers (which are the most comfortable I've ever been on!), swimming in the very calm, clear waters of their private beach, enjoying the salt water pool, and getting a massage from the spa with a voucher provided at check in. My friend and I only ate on the beach from the little menu they provide which was lovely, but we were very into exploring the towns so ate away from the hotel almost every night. The breakfast though is outstanding and worth waking up for! On our final day we had a late night flight and the hotel gave us a room to use after we checked out for showering and changing after using the beach. This was such a nice touch and something I've never experienced before. Usually when you check out that's it and I've never had a hotel bother to ask what time my flight is. I figured since we were checking out that the spare room they'd give us for the remainder of the day would be a dud but NOPE, they gave us an ocean front bungalow. It was INCREDIBLE, such a beautiful room, it made us feel like adventurers in our own private little home on the ocean. It was so hard to say goodbye, but I will definitely be back again some day! This seems like a hotel that everyone could enjoy as we saw all different types of travelers: couples, families, older, younger. I've found that usually nicer hotels treat younger or younger-looking guests with a lot of attitude and I found this hotel to be the exact opposite. My friend and I were mistaken for university students (ha!) despite being nearly 30, and yet this did not make anyone treat us differently from any of the other hotel guests, we felt very much at home and were able to relax. Everyone was lovely, friendly and very knowledgeable. Even the rental car people were nice! How does that even happen? I would also recommend if it's your first time in Crete to rent a car for the duration of your stay. We only rented a car twice, and looking back wish we had kept it the entire time we were there. It was so much fun driving around the island!
σας ευχαριστώ Elounda Beach!

Room Tip: Room with an infinity pool. The ocean front bungalows are amazing too, if you can spring for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindz720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of your stay at the Elounda Beach Hotel. The immediate difference that makes the Elounda Beach Hotel standout from the rest is the measure of hospitality shown to the guests from the very minute they arrive at the hotel. The welcome our staff provide for our guests and the care that is taken to ensure that all our guests feel at home in their holiday surroundings, is of the utmost importance and the basis of the whole Elounda Beach experience. We pride ourselves in being able to state that we have a 60% repeater guest rate at this hotel and this lends to the wonderful ambiance that our guests enjoy in the stunning surrounding of the hotel. We would look forward t o the opportunity of welcoming you again to the Elounda Beach Hotel for a future stay.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had been booked into the sister Hotel but this was closing on 9th October so they put us into the Elounda Beach. The setting is lovely and the rooms very pleasant with well equipped bathrooms. There is a housekeeping service twice per day although we did wish they wouldn't come in the evening at a variety of very odd times! The whole complex is a delight with wonderful beaches, excellent service and very pleasant and friendly staff. However, this Hotel is in a book of "Top Hotels of the World", (left in the room), and how it can claim this with its ancient, huge old TVs with poor reception and few English channels and, in places, quite tired decoration, we are not sure. The half board buffet was provided in the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel for the first five days and was excellent but what was provided at the Elounda Beach after that was on a very limited menu and, although it was good food, we agree with other reviewers that every sauce tasted the same! Our real complaint was with the prices. They tried to charge us EU 22 for two glasses of wine given to us with no real explanation and no prices shown, for the first two nights at the Elounda Beach "buffet" although finally knocked this off our bill when we complained. The wine prices were unbelievable: we paid EU 18-22 for half bottles of Cretan wine but imported wines were so outrageously priced that a bottle of Barollo was in excess of EU 400 and Chateau Neuf de Pape was EU 123. We appreciate all that the Greek economy has suffered but that's ridiculous! Coke cost EU 4 for the smallest bottle you have ever seen, when it was EU 1.20 in Elounda itself.

The Wifi suddenly disappeared after ten days: I rang reception and was given new codes but couldn't seem to get through to them that they really should have told us! Again, this isn't "top Hotel" service. The gym was quite well equipped but the air conditioning was insufficient: the place must have been unusable in July and August. Finally, the prices in the Spa were unreal! EU 85 for a manicure is crazy and, even with the voucher for EU 50 which they give each guest, still dearer than at home for the same thing. As for massages ... forget it!

Overall, a very pleasant stay in a really lovely setting. This is a good Hotel but does need to sort itself out a little: top Hotel charging outrageous prices and with updated facilities or excellent Hotel which people will want to come back to, charging realistic prices?

Thank you to all the staff though and especially the lady who cooks the wonderful eggs, etc. at breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RandBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion of the Elounda Beach Hotel with the readers of the Trip Advisor website. We regret that being upgraded to the Elounda Beach, which does not have a designated half board buffet restaurant with drinks included; you were not satisfied with the menus and buffets served in our a la carte restaurants. The local wines here at the hotel start at 22 euro a full size bottle, 12 euro for half size bottle and 7 euro by the glass. The other wines you quoted are the vintage years with the same wines from other years with more affordable prices also on the wine list. Our wine cellars here at the Elounda Beach are internationally acclaimed and have over 1100 labels of wines. Although perhaps the expectations of your holiday were suited more to our sister hotel, we are delighted to read that you overall enjoyed your stay. We would look forward to welcoming you to the Elounda Beach or the Elounda Bay Palace in the future.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Don't know what hotel some of the other reviewers stayed in but it wasn't this hotel. Most of the rooms in this hotel are outdated and the website pictures only show their 'de-lux' rooms not the actual rooms you stay in. The photographs of the inside must be the originals when it was built back in the seventy's notwithstanding the pool area which are a true likeness. The pool is un-heated so be prepared for a shock when jumping in. The food was well below average and the staff weren't up to much either!!! Take some good advice and give it a wide birth.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
As with all the reviews on this website we are aware of which of the guests have written them and when someone writes such a derogatory review there is always more behind the story than the immediate obvious dissatisfaction of their stay. We regret that we did not meet this reviewer’s expectations; however there are current photographs of all our accommodation types on our website with a good description of size and furnishings. The management and staff work hard to uphold the high standards that the hotel is known for and welcome all guests who stay at the Elounda Beach Hotel with warm hospitality.

sincerely
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.2 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#15 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
1.2 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
3.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas

Property: Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Elounda
#6 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#8 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Destinology so you can book your Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing