We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed at the Elounda Mare in July for the second time.
We were there for 9 days an this is not long enough.
Just as last year we can say that again we loved everything of this magic place, the staff, the service, the restaurants, the views, the clear sea.....
Again we had a beautiful bungalow with our own private pool in an excellent position with stunning seaviews. This was our favourite (nr. 12).
Yes it can be quiet at some times but that is why we love the place, please keep it this way!
We will return as soon as possible!
Thank you Elounda Mare once again!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hansenannicq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    70
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
92
228
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We travel widely and loved this hotel. The service level is very high. It is an individual place which is tranquil and discreet. Recommend a bungalow with private pool.
Mixture of ages and nationalities amongst the guests but what we found most interesting is that of the ones we encountered all had stayed several times before. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Having stayed in many Relais & Chateaux hotels across the world, we can honestly say that this hotel is not up to the usual standard.

We stayed in a sea view room in the main hotel. The room was shabby, dated and had exposed wiring directly above the shower. There was also a wide but shallow trough around the edge of the bath that filled with water after our first showers and then remained there throughout the rest of our 1 week stay. When we explained this to the hotel manager, she offered us an upgrade - at an extra cost! Given that the hotel was so overpriced anyway, we decided to stay where we were but the service adn the state of the room really out a dampener on the rest of our stay.

In terms of prices, it seems nothing has been adjusted to reflect the Euro. We were paying 19 EUROS for a very average Greek salad in the Yacht Club. We also had to send the Moussaka back twice as it was very dry. 22 EUROS for 2 small glasses of rose and 120 EUROS for 30 mins on a jet ski.

On the plus side, the reception staff were very warm and friendly and the Old Mill restaurant served delicious food (but this would be the only on site restaurant worth going to in our opinion - and be prepared to pay c. 100 EUROS per head).

Overall, we relied on the R&C brand and it's reputation to ensure us a perfect holiday but ended up being disappointed and feeling like we'd been ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank KV80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maranghides, General Manager at Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and for your comments that are always considered seriously. I would also like to thank you for your kind words regarding, our staff and the Old Mill restaurant. As a Relais & Chateaux property, cuisine is a very important factor for Elounda Mare and it always makes us happy when we guests enjoy and appreciate it.

First of all, we apologize sincerely about the problems you faced with the room. Any specific feedback about the “exposed wiring” (your room number?) would be appreciated. We never leave exposed electricity wires in our rooms. Eventually, they were music speaker wires that were left waiting for a defective speaker to be replaced.

Please note that the standard procedure in case a guest of ours faces a problem with the room is to change room, at least in the same room category, finding the best possible solution. I am very impressed and sorry that this procedure was not followed in your case and I could look into it if I had more details of your stay.

About the food and beverage pricing, please be assured that we have done a large survey and our prices are very competitive to other Mediterranean resorts.

As for the mentioned prices, we would like to rectify: A glass of selected wine does not cost 11,00 euros as you mention but 8,00 Euros and there are lower-priced options as well. A well-presented Greek salad at the Yacht Club does not cost 19 euro as you mention but 15 euros. A 3-course dinner at the Old Mill restaurant costs from 55 Euros per person depending on the chosen dishes and not 100 euros. The sea sports are run by a separate contractor. Indeed, the price for Jet Ski is 60,00 Euros per 15 minutes ride, this being an average price in the area.

Our prices in general have been lowered or kept steady for at least four consecutive years and we really cannot do anything more to balance the exchange fluctuations.

Finally, we thank you once again for taking the time to review our property and we remain at your disposal for any assistance in an eventual future stay that would rectify your opinion about us.

Yours sincerely,

Harry Maranghides
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Of all the places we have visited, Elounda ,the town had had the best of all the things we enjoyed from all the other places. the hotel was very nice, and is based for ones that want to come and relax, and still has opportunities for activites.

We enjoyed ourselfs to the inth degree!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grm688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Very disappointing stay. Kids club was located at the sister hotel and only accessible via car transfer. The so called hourly activities at the kids club is no more although stated differently on the website. Instead there was a water slide which can only be used under the supervision of a parent. Not very relaxing.
The food was very average and only one or two was open at the same time. The beach bar would shut early and was never lively.
The atmosphere was very sedated and the average age for guests was around 60( at least so when we were there)
Children weren't made to feel welcome and were shushed a lot and we have very polite children.
The kids menu was very poor and the main restaurant held the same menu as the room service menu. Not what you would expect from a five star hotel.
We ended up driving into elounda town where we could enjoy authentic mezzes and where the children could run with other children at the square.
We ended up spending every day at the sister hotel Porto elounda so we could be nearer the kids.
The atmosphere there was a bit more lively and the beach ideal for children. The beach bar service there was friendly and super efficient. Although the food again was poor and expensive. 23 euros for a club sandwich!! Anyone? Didn't think so.
What struck us most was the quietness. There was no music apart from at the gourmet restaurant. Guests there were generally unfriendly and people didn't seem to be interested in talking to other guest. A very old feeling hotel that felt more like a retirement home than a beach hotel.
On a positive. The cleaning staff were wonderful and the babysitter Katrina was amazing. We miss her!
The bar staff at porto elounda beach we miss as well other than that we are glad to be home.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DaneinFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry_Maranghides, General Manager at Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel as well as for your kind words about our staff and especially our Housekeeper Katerina who babysat your children.

We certainly feel very sorry that you did not enjoy the special atmosphere and services of our property, that we believe are obvious in our recently updated website. It is true that the distance of the kids club is not very clear and we are going to rectify this as soon as possible.

Many of your comments and observations are somehow correct. The Elounda Mare Hotel is a Relais & Chateaux property, since 1988, safeguarding a serene and peaceful atmosphere, focusing on relaxation, personalized attention and excellent cuisine.

Although we are not in a position to judge if our hotel is child-friendly, we will simply state two facts: Certainly our hotel does not specialize in families or have special facilities and activities for them on site. However, only within June, July and August 2011, we have welcomed back, or are going to till the 25th of August, over 40 different families with children who have chosen to stay with us again for their summer holidays. These families are repeat guests from 2 to 20 or more times. They certainly think our hotel is family friendly and the best choice.

The Elounda Mare is not a family resort but a holiday retreat. This is why we call it Hotel and not Resort, as in the case of our sister property Porto Elounda DE LUXE RESORT where the excellent and awarded Children’s Ark is located, as well as the magnificent Six Senses Spa, just 500 metres from here. Should you have expressed your preferences, we could have easily arranged to find suitable accommodation there for the major part of your stay, transferring you from Elounda Mare.

Thanking you again warmly for having chosen our property, even though our sister property proved to be the ideal choice, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Elounda S.A., at Porto Elounda DE LUXE RESORT, for your future summer holidays.

Yours sincerely,

Harry Maranghides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This hotel is amazing. From the moment you step through the doors, you feel enchanted. I felt like a celebrity from the moment we walked in until the goodbyes. Property is beautiful. Rooms are spacious and well laid out. The private pool was luxurious. I was there on my honeymoon and will sure to be back one day. My husband and I were the last guests at the hotel before the season shut down and every worker within the grounds bid their goodbyes to us. Very sweet. Thank you for a wonderful honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfriends00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We recently spent a 3 day long weekend in Elounda and stayed at this hotel. Gorgeous location, excellent food, and great staff. The private beach was clean and every so lovely. Coffees by the beach/pool were excellent. Quality resort. We had an breakfast and dinner inclusive deal. The breakfast was excellent, so much to choose from, especially for the health conscious. Not only bacon and eggs but much, much more. Cheeses, yogurt, fruit and lovely pastries. dinners were excellent again - had lots of salads to choose from and 2 options for main meal. Bottled wine prices were excessive especially since we know the local restaurant prices. 35 euro for a greek wine that costs 8 euro in the supermarket is excessive. I would have expected to pay up to 24 euro. We stuck to mineral water as did 99% of the other patrons. For a few drinks we opted out of the resort to local lounges with view with more logical prices on one night.

excellent location, magical and luxury. Although does need some refurbishing!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annoula1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.1 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
3.4 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel

Property: Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Address: Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Elounda
#5 Business Hotel in Elounda
#7 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#9 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its gracious and attentive service, this hotel is the embodiment of all-time-classic style and cultured luxury, where antique art and traditional architectural themes adorn all of its private-pool bungalows - each with its own terrace overlooking the Aegean Sea. Three fine dining venues reflect the Relais & Chateaux tradition of excellence, their culinary delights ranging from enticing lunchtime snacks to five-course dinners, with flambe and fish specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Mare Hotel And Bungalows
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing