We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On Earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Heaven On Earth!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was a repeat visit to Elounda and the Elounda Mare. There are several 5-star properties in Elounda, but this is la creme de la creme. The luxury is understated but ever-present. The real thing that sets this resort apart from the rest is the unparalleled service. From our greeting when we arrived, complete with a glass of champagne and a warm smile and can-do attitude, to the upgrade to a sea-view suite, to the parade of gifts, we never felt more welcome. The staff is absolutely fantastic - Dimitris at the bar, Babis the sommelier (one of the best in Greece we are told, and we wholeheartedly agree), Katerina and Natalia at the front desk. There was nothing they wouldn't do to make our stay more pleasurable. We had wonderful spa treatments - the spa at the sister property Porto Elounda is world-class, delectable dinners at several of the hotel restaurants (The Old Mill deserves special mention - fantastic), and lovely, lazy days at the small but pristine private beach. The beach is a "blue star" beach, which means it wins awards for cleanliness. The water was so clear you can see straight to the bottom Imagine my surprise when I was wading chest-deep, and looked down in time to see a large octopus on the bottom, hightailing it away to deeper waters!! We also booked a private wine-tasting with Babis, which is a treat not to be missed if you are a wine lover. He is knowledgeable, warm, funny and interesting - we had a lovely and very informative sesson tasting wines from throughout Greece. There is nothing about this place that struck a wrong note. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We were in the main building rather than a bungalow - we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parismuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    71
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
99
234
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Elounda Mare is a great choice if you're staying in Crete. The rooms are lovely, the views terrific, and the service top notch. We also really enjoyed the included breakfast. It's clear that the staff really cares about the guests and will do whatever it takes to give you a great stay. It's also an easy walk to the nearby town of Elounda. It's not cheap, but it's not that much more expensive than nearby properties and well worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I visited for my first time Elounda Mare with my wife at late June 2013.
We shared a bungalow with a private pool.
The room and the bathroom was very comfortable and relaxing.
In our yard there was an olive tree which gave to us a natural shadow and a fantastic view.
Service of the hotel was excellent.
The main positive surprise was the food inside the hotel.
It was really gourmet. It is very difficult to find such nye restaurants in house of a hotel.
You have to try Old Mill Restaurant.
Breakfast was decent but it could be better.
The sea was really fantastic.
It was very clean and bright. Trust me about this because I visit every summer Mykonos and Cyclades.
The only negative point of our stay is that this hotel doesn't focus on fitness experience.
The gym is very basic to poor.
The tennis curt is very bad.
They could suggest places to run or to walk outside the hotel.
Definitely we will visit again Elound Mare.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, try a bungalow with private pool next to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexandrosAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Such a calm, peaceful ,luxury type hotel with the most amazing crystal clear (green-blue) colour waters ! Their restaurant OLD MILL awarded as I overheard (obviously why) with the most elegant service I have ever seen.Nice view from all the rooms, great pool and super super beach!

Room Tip: The private villas with the private beach...Luxuryyyyy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited 22nd may til 4th June this year- laziest holiday ever!!We had a bungalow with pool and found it increasingly hard to drag ourselves away from it! Hence we could have been anywhere in the mediterrean with a perfect view, lovely surroundings, excellent staff and reasonably good food! We had visited crete for our honeymoon forty years ago and had visited all the main attractions then- we did mean to retrace at least some of our steps but somehow never got round to it!! Its that sort of place!! The owner is , we were told , an architect and it certainly shows in the attention to detail in layout and design of the rooms and surroundings! This is a beautiful hotel! Breakfast was good and room service was excellent on the two nights when we wanted to escape a more formal meal. It was a pity that the Yacht Club was not open at night when we were there as I'm sure it would have been less formal and it is right beside the sea. However we did find the lunchtime food in the Yatch club a little bland at times- maybe just bad choices- also a few more lighter options would be good.
We arrived at about 2 in the morning and were greeted with a very welcome glass of champagne - finding our way back to the centre of the hotel next morning was a bit of a challenge! A little map or a guided tour next day would have been a nice touch! Tea and coffee making facilities would have been very welcome too as we didn't always want to make our way to the beach bar or lobby every time we fancied a cuppa! Room service is 5€ per order. We ate out a lot, partly because we were such recluses during the day and also wanted a more typically Greek atmosphere - there are some good restaurants in elounda- we really enjoyed kanalli which is a ten minute taxi ride away beside the bridge. The Cretan people are very hospitable and will arrive at the end of a meal with a free local sweet and little flask of raki- so hide the scales in your bathroom!!!!!
One little niggle was that when our travel agent booked for us thro Classic Collection we opted to pay considerably more for a cottage with a separate living room which we didn't get! When we asked the customer relations girl about this she said that what we had paid extra for was in fact the view which on reflection seems strange as most cottages seemed to have a good view! So if you particularly want a separate living area you should check this out beforehand. The customer relations girl told us travel companies were constantly making this mistake!! Seems a bit strange and plan to check it out with classic collection. Having said that the room was spacious with large very comfy bed and a little seating area and very tastefully decorated. Perhaps this all sounds a bit negative but these are just comments on what was an almost perfect experience! And we will be back!!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubblesandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed 29/4/13 to 9/5/13

This is a lovely quiet hotel which is very much up to its description and delightful to stay at. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times, and nothing was too much trouble for them to deal with. The gardens are full of interesting paths, and beautifully kept, with lots of flowers everywhere, and the views overlooking the bay superb. We were lucky in our stay to have clear blue skies at all times so enhancing the vista.

We stayed in one of the Superior Villas with a pool and small bit of garden, and generally the feeling was that we were totally secluded whilst having a beautiful view out to sea and along the coast. On arrival we had a fruit platter and a bottle of sparkling wine provided, which was nice.Two bottles of water were provided daily for our use, but as has been said previously, there were no Tea or Coffee making facilities in the rooms. We did ask at Reception, and had an electric kettle delivered for our use, but we had to obtain everything else ourselves, including buying a mug down the local supermarket! Large bottles of water there were only around 2 euros.

We had opted for half-board, and found that the main Deck Restaurant provided an excellent selection of food with plenty of choice from their special package meals, so there was always something nice to choose. However, drinking water with the meals were charged for, and quite expensive, pricing being very high. We would have though this should be included in the package as is normally provided with food in other hotels world-wide that we have stayed at, but I suppose this is a "European thing"!

Bar drinks, I'm afraid are the same, with cocktails costing 11.40 euros each, which for their size is excessive, considering they are usually mostly ice cubes. These are by far the most expensive we've ever had to pay anywhere in the world.

A nice touch provided at the Restaurant was a birthday cake for my wife on her special day - many thanks for that. Also, unexpectedly, we found that we were staying at Crete's Easter celebration, so a traditional basket of breads and coloured eggs were left in our room - another great touch.

In all though, a delightful stay, and thanks to all the Management and staff for making it so nice.

Room Tip: A Villa with pool is nice. Ours was no.3 on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJCwll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed in a 2 BR superior bungalow our own saltwater pool. The accommodations were as excellent as advertised. We loved having our own pool, the main pool, a sandy beach and a stone patio right on the water to choose from each day. You don't necessarily want to leave the resort! The staff, especially the breakfast host and his team and the front desk folks, were all attentive and made us feel welcome. The breakfast buffet was varied and very good. We would absolutely stay here again.

The hotel is 10 minutes south of the town of Elounda but it's easy to get back and forth. The only real negative is the outrageous pricing for dinner at the restaurants. You can eat better food for a more reasonable price in Elounda.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7thinnstrtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.1 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
2.6 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
3.4 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel

Property: Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Address: Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Elounda
#5 Business Hotel in Elounda
#7 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its gracious and attentive service, this hotel is the embodiment of all-time-classic style and cultured luxury, where antique art and traditional architectural themes adorn all of its private-pool bungalows - each with its own terrace overlooking the Aegean Sea. Three fine dining venues reflect the Relais & Chateaux tradition of excellence, their culinary delights ranging from enticing lunchtime snacks to five-course dinners, with flambe and fish specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Mare Hotel And Bungalows
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing