We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable two suite/pool rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
493 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Comfortable two suite/pool rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had four couples share two, two suite rooms at the top of the hill, looking out to Santorini Island on the horizon. They were cool and comfortable, each pair with a salt water pool 20x25 to swim or cool off. The beach and rocks had places to dip into the Mediterranean as well as drink services/towels. The dining was good though resort-pricey, but the service was very good. We ate several dinners that were good to very good but at $150-250 per person.

Room Tip: Choose rooms 51-52 at the top of the hill for the views and breezes and still away from the main hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tremm298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    67
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
85
209
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Having read fab reviews I was so excited to go with my husband. First impressions we were hooked. The pool suite was great. The staff couldn't do enough. We knew it was going to be a fab holiday.
Until day 3 of our holiday. Workmen working right outside our pool suite on the beach bar.As we looked down to see the poor bar man struggling to make drinks around them. What a complete mess. We went to enquire how long the workmen were going to be there. One day the manager said. Day 3! We were woken at 7am! By all the noise. Enough!! We thought. The managers response was it was out of his hands.... But out of politeness they would delay the work till next week as the complex is quieter. Thanks a lot we thought, so you upset our holiday. (Believe you me it wasn't cheap having a pool
suite)
His compensation was a free meal. No... We wanted a relaxing holiday. Hearing the sea lapping outside and banter from the other guests.
The work should've been done before hotel was open. That's what a proper manager would arrange?

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry_Maranghides, Manager at Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. L,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing our hotel as well as for your very good comments about our hotel and staff.
We are very sorry that you were disturbed by works early in the morning. One can always say that it is a sign of bad management to have disturbing works in early June and especially not informing guests properly. Upon your departure, I personally explained that there was a serious lack of communication that resulted to our hotel management not being properly informed about this work that had to be done by the contractor.
After your conversation with our Front Office Manager, as you correctly say, as soon as we knew, we stopped the works that were almost finished anyway.
The free meal offered was a gesture of good will and not a compensation. As you mentioned during your stay, you frequented a nice restaurant in the village and had not yet tried the awarded cuisine of Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux. We simply offered you this opportunity and we are sorry you have refused.
The compensation for the lost hours of your holiday can only be measured as such and, as I told you personally, we are willing to make it up on your next visit.
We do hope that you understand that this was a unique unfortunate incident and really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a wonderful and memorable holiday.

Harry Maranghides
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xave
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the Elounda Mare in May 2014. We initially came for 4 days and quickly decided to extend by another 3. We loved the place, scenery, service, beach, food, and bar that much. It's a place where you relax, enjoy the sun and sea. The service is one of the best I have received in any hotel. The staff will do anything for their customers. We love it, we love it, we love it and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xvallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel, the surrounding, the view over the Mirabello coast, the private swimming pool per room, the professional but friendly staff, amazing food, + comfort, organisation, quality...of a Relais & Chateaux; Wonderful souvenirs...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanislasbelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights in a two rooms villa with private pool.
The hotel is very Well maintained and the rooms are very clean, everything day very intensive clearing theof room, bathroom and poolside.
We had breakfast in the room outsider sitting long the pool and view over the Mirabello coast, wonderful! The weather in may was very good, we were always outsider, room nummer 1 had two trees excellent for thiers Natural shade. You Can enjoy the beach, you Can swim in the sea, you Can drive a jetski all withouten leasing the hotel, there is no road beween the hotel and the beach!
the hotel environment is green with beatiful Garden and all is Quiet. Staff is very helpful and discrete. We never had diner in the hotel, the restaurants are nice but we preferred some smaller restaurants in Elounda, Plaka and Agios Nikolaos.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ddmmBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

After quite a long winter, my partner pleasantly treated me to a last minute trip to Crete just this past week. Not researching anything about our hotel and not knowing what to expect, I was delighted as we pulled up to Elounda Mare! We were greeted by a very friendly man named Giannis and given champagne at reception. A young man from reception showed us to our room and I was immediately smitten! I LOVED the look of our two bathrooms (one with a toilet and bidet, the other with our airbath and shower), which surrounded us with marble (I believe) walls, flooring and counter space. Our room had a lovely Greek charm to it and our balcony had the best sea view I've ever experienced. Then my partner and I explored the grounds of the hotel, which were absolutely beautiful. Mazes of pathways lead us to the beach, where we found sun loungers and parasols dotted along the rocky coast for guests to use. The sun glistened on the turquoise sea inviting us to take a small break on the loungers. We happily obliged.

Every morning we looked forward to the lovely breakfast, featuring an array of choices. I particularly took to the Cretan Corner area of the breakfast buffet, devouring their lovely rice pudding nearly every day I was there. A champagne bottle is also available, allowing one to make the most amazing Mimosas (or bucks fizz) with fresh squeezed orange juice. The view from the breakfast deck, again, was mind blowing.

In addition to the loveliness of the hotel, was the staff. They did all that they could to please us. Their professionalism and poise shone through, even as I tried to engage the bartender into political debate. The dinner that came with our stay was absolutely devine. I am still dreaming about my muscle appetizer and fresh catch of the day.

I've traveled a lot and this hotel is certainly one that I would come back to. My partner and I are already planning when we to go back next and are even considering making it the place we tie the knot.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor, providing the best sea view I've ever encountered at a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teemu1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is all a bit strange!!!!!

Ok we are just about to go to sleep for our 2nd night. The staff here have been absolutely lovely, friendly and kind. We stay in a lot of 5* hotels, & this is all strangely eighties retro, but the bathrooms are modernised to a point and it's all v clean so I guess it's ok, if unexpected for 5*. But!!

- our 2 bed bungalow suite is nothing like the floor plan online. We've had to move the toddler in with us, as the 2nd bedroom is quite a way away! We have 2 suites basically with an adjoining door via the living area. I mean wel work it out, but if we'd had an accurate floor plan we'd have gone for something else or brought a monitor as our kids are little and we need to hear if they wake.

- the website doesn't tell you that to get to the kids ark ( all the kids facilities), the spa, the golf, any indoor pools ( I think you aren't allowed to most anyway), tennis court etc it is all a DRIVE away. Non of this is here. You have to tell reception you want to go with advance notice & they'll get someone to drive you there. I hope they have enough car seats for us?!!

- we've not had a turn down service for the 2 nights we've been here.. I asked a couple of staff who looked a bit perplexed but then apparently front desk said it must have been because we put the dnd on our door. Which wouldn't be so bad but we've only used it once for 10 minutes when we came out of our pool this morning and the cleaners came in anyway, they were lovely but even they said they took no notice of it, and said if we want some time to get changed it was fine but they'd be back in 10 minutes. But according to the website we'd get water for the kids etc

- website saId free welcome bag for kids....but we haven't got any welcome bag so far

-most of the resturants are shut!!!!!! Why do they not tell you in advance!!!

- this is not to moan at here as all hotels with private pools seem to be the same but our private pool is freezing!!! They are only allowed to heat it to 26degrees according to Greek law, I mean it's possible use ( bear in mind I'm here end of April) but not nice. I hope it's better later in the season.

I'll be back!!! I so hope holiday improves!! The people are so nice but I feel like I've been conned by the website.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Happyholidaysxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry_Maranghides, Manager at Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for your positive comments regarding our staff.
Regarding your remarks please allow me to respond the following:
Elounda Mare is the first hotel that had bungalows with private pools and has been recognised world wide with numerous awards and positive reviews for its unique charm and character. One of the main reasons of this recognition is because each of the 40 bungalows and suites with private pools have a different layout and decoration in order to give to its guests the feeling of visiting a "home away from home". In our website we do mention that there are differences between the bungalows. But after your comment we can make that even clearer, adding more floor plans, and thank you for this.
Regarding your comment that our kids club is on another hotel, please note that this is also mentioned in our website and we are sorry it has not been noticed. We will also try and make it clearer. The distance between elounda mare and our sister property is only 400 m and a car is always available for transfer.
Regarding the six senses spa: The main facility is at Porto Elounda. In addition, please note that there are treatment rooms within the Elounda Mare and is also possible to have in-room treatments.
Finally, please note that in our website we do mention the location of each restaurant. So we do mention that restaurants are located in different hotels. Obviously, when Porto Elounda is still closed, its restaurants are not in operation. Taking this opportunity, we would like to point out that even though Elounda Mare opened in early April before Porto Elounda, additional facilities such as the Six Senses Spa, the private Golf Course and the Kid's Ark were in operation, thus available to our guests from the first week.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review our property and for giving us the opportunity to reply to your remarks.
Best Regards
Harry Maranghides
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.2 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#15 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
1.4 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel

Property: Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Address: Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Elounda
#5 Family Hotel in Elounda
#7 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#9 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its gracious and attentive service, this hotel is the embodiment of all-time-classic style and cultured luxury, where antique art and traditional architectural themes adorn all of its private-pool bungalows - each with its own terrace overlooking the Aegean Sea. Three fine dining venues reflect the Relais & Chateaux tradition of excellence, their culinary delights ranging from enticing lunchtime snacks to five-course dinners, with flambe and fish specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Agoda so you can book your Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Mare Hotel And Bungalows
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing