We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our family stayed at the elounda mare for a week in June and we had a wonderful time in our stay:

Pros:
- Excellent service by all the hotel staff- the reception, the waitresses, the cleaning staff,etc. Everyone was extremely kind, willing to help and always with a smile.
- Beautiful large grounds with lavish tress, blossoming flowers and spacious lawns. Also, the views from the hotel of the bay are amazing.
- A very good private sandy beach with lots of sea beds around it. There is also a long stretch on the sea with trees and places to sit. Furthermore there is a nice seawater pool which is very quiet.
- At the "Deck" restaurant where both dinner and breakfast are served, the food is of high standarts- in the morning there is a large buffet and in the evening a 5 course meal , which is very elegant.
- Very quiet and calm atmosphere all around the hotel which is great for a relaxed beach vacation.
- the hotel is a 20 minutes walk or 5 minute drive from the nice village of elounda which has many restaurants and tavernas.
- Our room- a suite in the top floor had magnificent view and was quite comfortable. The bungalows with private pools look very nice.

Cons:
- In the suite, the the shower cabin was extremely small and you could barely move inside it.
- The extras in the hotel are all very expensive - for example a 750c bottle of water costs 7 euro! Greek salad costs 15 euro. At leasts, the hotel provides small bottle of water each day for each guests. This is why its recommended to eat and drink outside of the hotel, where the prices are much lower, and you have the opportunity to discover local food.
- This hotel is not well catered for younger people who search for parties, action and an active atmosphere.
- The gym is very basic- it contains only 5-6 stations.

To sum it up: I highly recommend the hotel, if you are looking for a luxury beach vacation, with great food and atmosphere were you can relax and pamper yourself

Room Tip: At the highest floor the rooms have great views.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank P1733TB_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had four couples share two, two suite rooms at the top of the hill, looking out to Santorini Island on the horizon. They were cool and comfortable, each pair with a salt water pool 20x25 to swim or cool off. The beach and rocks had places to dip into the Mediterranean as well as drink services/towels. The dining was good though resort-pricey, but the service was very good. We ate several dinners that were good to very good but at $150-250 per person.

Room Tip: Choose rooms 51-52 at the top of the hill for the views and breezes and still away from the main hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tremm298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Having read fab reviews I was so excited to go with my husband. First impressions we were hooked. The pool suite was great. The staff couldn't do enough. We knew it was going to be a fab holiday.
Until day 3 of our holiday. Workmen working right outside our pool suite on the beach bar.As we looked down to see the poor bar man struggling to make drinks around them. What a complete mess. We went to enquire how long the workmen were going to be there. One day the manager said. Day 3! We were woken at 7am! By all the noise. Enough!! We thought. The managers response was it was out of his hands.... But out of politeness they would delay the work till next week as the complex is quieter. Thanks a lot we thought, so you upset our holiday. (Believe you me it wasn't cheap having a pool
suite)
His compensation was a free meal. No... We wanted a relaxing holiday. Hearing the sea lapping outside and banter from the other guests.
The work should've been done before hotel was open. That's what a proper manager would arrange?

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry_Maranghides, Manager at Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mr. and Mrs. L,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing our hotel as well as for your very good comments about our hotel and staff.
We are very sorry that you were disturbed by works early in the morning. One can always say that it is a sign of bad management to have disturbing works in early June and especially not informing guests properly. Upon your departure, I personally explained that there was a serious lack of communication that resulted to our hotel management not being properly informed about this work that had to be done by the contractor.
After your conversation with our Front Office Manager, as you correctly say, as soon as we knew, we stopped the works that were almost finished anyway.
The free meal offered was a gesture of good will and not a compensation. As you mentioned during your stay, you frequented a nice restaurant in the village and had not yet tried the awarded cuisine of Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux. We simply offered you this opportunity and we are sorry you have refused.
The compensation for the lost hours of your holiday can only be measured as such and, as I told you personally, we are willing to make it up on your next visit.
We do hope that you understand that this was a unique unfortunate incident and really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a wonderful and memorable holiday.

Harry Maranghides
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the Elounda Mare in May 2014. We initially came for 4 days and quickly decided to extend by another 3. We loved the place, scenery, service, beach, food, and bar that much. It's a place where you relax, enjoy the sun and sea. The service is one of the best I have received in any hotel. The staff will do anything for their customers. We love it, we love it, we love it and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xvallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel, the surrounding, the view over the Mirabello coast, the private swimming pool per room, the professional but friendly staff, amazing food, + comfort, organisation, quality...of a Relais & Chateaux; Wonderful souvenirs...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanislas360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed four nights in a two rooms villa with private pool.
The hotel is very Well maintained and the rooms are very clean, everything day very intensive clearing theof room, bathroom and poolside.
We had breakfast in the room outsider sitting long the pool and view over the Mirabello coast, wonderful! The weather in may was very good, we were always outsider, room nummer 1 had two trees excellent for thiers Natural shade. You Can enjoy the beach, you Can swim in the sea, you Can drive a jetski all withouten leasing the hotel, there is no road beween the hotel and the beach!
the hotel environment is green with beatiful Garden and all is Quiet. Staff is very helpful and discrete. We never had diner in the hotel, the restaurants are nice but we preferred some smaller restaurants in Elounda, Plaka and Agios Nikolaos.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank ddmmBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

After quite a long winter, my partner pleasantly treated me to a last minute trip to Crete just this past week. Not researching anything about our hotel and not knowing what to expect, I was delighted as we pulled up to Elounda Mare! We were greeted by a very friendly man named Giannis and given champagne at reception. A young man from reception showed us to our room and I was immediately smitten! I LOVED the look of our two bathrooms (one with a toilet and bidet, the other with our airbath and shower), which surrounded us with marble (I believe) walls, flooring and counter space. Our room had a lovely Greek charm to it and our balcony had the best sea view I've ever experienced. Then my partner and I explored the grounds of the hotel, which were absolutely beautiful. Mazes of pathways lead us to the beach, where we found sun loungers and parasols dotted along the rocky coast for guests to use. The sun glistened on the turquoise sea inviting us to take a small break on the loungers. We happily obliged.

Every morning we looked forward to the lovely breakfast, featuring an array of choices. I particularly took to the Cretan Corner area of the breakfast buffet, devouring their lovely rice pudding nearly every day I was there. A champagne bottle is also available, allowing one to make the most amazing Mimosas (or bucks fizz) with fresh squeezed orange juice. The view from the breakfast deck, again, was mind blowing.

In addition to the loveliness of the hotel, was the staff. They did all that they could to please us. Their professionalism and poise shone through, even as I tried to engage the bartender into political debate. The dinner that came with our stay was absolutely devine. I am still dreaming about my muscle appetizer and fresh catch of the day.

I've traveled a lot and this hotel is certainly one that I would come back to. My partner and I are already planning when we to go back next and are even considering making it the place we tie the knot.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor, providing the best sea view I've ever encountered at a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teemu1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
0.1 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
33.9 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,775 reviews
3 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel

Address: Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Elounda
#5 Business Hotel in Elounda
#7 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £196 - £810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its gracious and attentive service, this hotel is the embodiment of all-time-classic style and cultured luxury, where antique art and traditional architectural themes adorn all of its private-pool bungalows - each with its own terrace overlooking the Aegean Sea. Three fine dining venues reflect the Relais & Chateaux tradition of excellence, their culinary delights ranging from enticing lunchtime snacks to five-course dinners, with flambe and fish specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Mare Hotel And Bungalows
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing