We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wondefull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply wondefull”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just back from a Crete after spending a week with my wife and two daughters. We had a relaxing and rejuvenating time in this hotel, It is nicely thought out, and clearly well managed.
All the facilities (with the exception of the wee Gym that needs some TLC) met out expectations. The service is very friendly & efficient. Our rooms were refreshed twice a day, and the concierge staff were always very helpful when asked for advice about the local area.
The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. The food is excellent, we had the breakfast every day and few delicious lunches in the Yacht Club.
This hotel is the best one compared to its sisters nearby (in our opinion)

Room Tip: Both pool and beach are very quiet, so no need to book a room with a private pool. The main pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wolfhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    67
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
85
209
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.S. Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I went on a 5 island 15 day vacation and I can say the last was the best. The service was amazing. The view and food was beyond my expectations. I would return again over and over. I can not say the same for some of the resorts. Thank you to the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puggleberner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Not quite sure how to write this review as I really loved the hotel but there were little niggles that could have made it so much better. We were upgraded to a room with its own pool, which was a lovely treat after a very warm welcome. The location is stunning and views breathtaking. The rooms are nice, clean and functional, although for me they were lacking tea/coffee facilities which as an early waker I like to read whilst taking in the wonderful view. I have to say we were disappointed in the some of the restaurants we tried. The breakfasts were nice, however the meal that we had in the Old Mill was not up to the standard it should be for the prices charged.
My other frustration was the pool area. There is a beach and pool bar but we would often go down the the pool in the afternoon to get shade and it is possible to get drinks/food there, however, everytime I had to go in search of someone to take and order as came to see if we wanted anything and the last drink took 45 mins to come. Just a little thing but something that could make it better.
Gym is small with no free weights or area for floor work
The staff are all really friendly and helpful We really enjoyed our stay and would probably go back but it was just a couple of things that would take it, in my opinion, take it from very good to excellent!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our family stayed at the elounda mare for a week in June and we had a wonderful time in our stay:

Pros:
- Excellent service by all the hotel staff- the reception, the waitresses, the cleaning staff,etc. Everyone was extremely kind, willing to help and always with a smile.
- Beautiful large grounds with lavish tress, blossoming flowers and spacious lawns. Also, the views from the hotel of the bay are amazing.
- A very good private sandy beach with lots of sea beds around it. There is also a long stretch on the sea with trees and places to sit. Furthermore there is a nice seawater pool which is very quiet.
- At the "Deck" restaurant where both dinner and breakfast are served, the food is of high standarts- in the morning there is a large buffet and in the evening a 5 course meal , which is very elegant.
- Very quiet and calm atmosphere all around the hotel which is great for a relaxed beach vacation.
- the hotel is a 20 minutes walk or 5 minute drive from the nice village of elounda which has many restaurants and tavernas.
- Our room- a suite in the top floor had magnificent view and was quite comfortable. The bungalows with private pools look very nice.

Cons:
- In the suite, the the shower cabin was extremely small and you could barely move inside it.
- The extras in the hotel are all very expensive - for example a 750c bottle of water costs 7 euro! Greek salad costs 15 euro. At leasts, the hotel provides small bottle of water each day for each guests. This is why its recommended to eat and drink outside of the hotel, where the prices are much lower, and you have the opportunity to discover local food.
- This hotel is not well catered for younger people who search for parties, action and an active atmosphere.
- The gym is very basic- it contains only 5-6 stations.

To sum it up: I highly recommend the hotel, if you are looking for a luxury beach vacation, with great food and atmosphere were you can relax and pamper yourself

Room Tip: At the highest floor the rooms have great views.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank P1733TB_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
498 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had four couples share two, two suite rooms at the top of the hill, looking out to Santorini Island on the horizon. They were cool and comfortable, each pair with a salt water pool 20x25 to swim or cool off. The beach and rocks had places to dip into the Mediterranean as well as drink services/towels. The dining was good though resort-pricey, but the service was very good. We ate several dinners that were good to very good but at $150-250 per person.

Room Tip: Choose rooms 51-52 at the top of the hill for the views and breezes and still away from the main hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tremm298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Having read fab reviews I was so excited to go with my husband. First impressions we were hooked. The pool suite was great. The staff couldn't do enough. We knew it was going to be a fab holiday.
Until day 3 of our holiday. Workmen working right outside our pool suite on the beach bar.As we looked down to see the poor bar man struggling to make drinks around them. What a complete mess. We went to enquire how long the workmen were going to be there. One day the manager said. Day 3! We were woken at 7am! By all the noise. Enough!! We thought. The managers response was it was out of his hands.... But out of politeness they would delay the work till next week as the complex is quieter. Thanks a lot we thought, so you upset our holiday. (Believe you me it wasn't cheap having a pool
suite)
His compensation was a free meal. No... We wanted a relaxing holiday. Hearing the sea lapping outside and banter from the other guests.
The work should've been done before hotel was open. That's what a proper manager would arrange?

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry_Maranghides, Manager at Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. L,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing our hotel as well as for your very good comments about our hotel and staff.
We are very sorry that you were disturbed by works early in the morning. One can always say that it is a sign of bad management to have disturbing works in early June and especially not informing guests properly. Upon your departure, I personally explained that there was a serious lack of communication that resulted to our hotel management not being properly informed about this work that had to be done by the contractor.
After your conversation with our Front Office Manager, as you correctly say, as soon as we knew, we stopped the works that were almost finished anyway.
The free meal offered was a gesture of good will and not a compensation. As you mentioned during your stay, you frequented a nice restaurant in the village and had not yet tried the awarded cuisine of Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux. We simply offered you this opportunity and we are sorry you have refused.
The compensation for the lost hours of your holiday can only be measured as such and, as I told you personally, we are willing to make it up on your next visit.
We do hope that you understand that this was a unique unfortunate incident and really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a wonderful and memorable holiday.

Harry Maranghides
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xave
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the Elounda Mare in May 2014. We initially came for 4 days and quickly decided to extend by another 3. We loved the place, scenery, service, beach, food, and bar that much. It's a place where you relax, enjoy the sun and sea. The service is one of the best I have received in any hotel. The staff will do anything for their customers. We love it, we love it, we love it and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xvallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.1 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#14 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
3.4 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
3.0 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel

Property: Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Address: Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Elounda
#5 Family Hotel in Elounda
#8 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its gracious and attentive service, this hotel is the embodiment of all-time-classic style and cultured luxury, where antique art and traditional architectural themes adorn all of its private-pool bungalows - each with its own terrace overlooking the Aegean Sea. Three fine dining venues reflect the Relais & Chateaux tradition of excellence, their culinary delights ranging from enticing lunchtime snacks to five-course dinners, with flambe and fish specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Destinology, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Mare Hotel And Bungalows
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing