We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from a week's stay at this hotel, our second visit, and are still charmed by it. The location is lovely, the layout and architecture of the hotel make you feel you are in a Cretan village. The service is wonderful, the staff very helpful. The food in the restaurants, The Old Mill and Yacht Club is superb. I especially like the relaxed atmosphere, the pool was never overcrouded and there is a small sandy beach area which was pleasant. Water sports are available from the beach.
Having read other reviews about this hotel, we did not experience delays with service on the beach, but thanks to the reviewer who pointed out there is no facility to make tea or coffee in the room we brought our travel kettle. I agree you would not come here for the gym, but there is a small one. Also in the sister hotel nextdoor there is a fabulous six sences spa to use, and we did.
We stayed in a lovely bungalow with pool and our grown-up childern in a large 2 bedroomed, 2 bathroomed suite in the main building both had good facilities and an excellent twice a day servicing.
We will be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms nearest the sea are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PMGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently returned from a 2 week vacation at Elounda Mare, which was our 8th visit to this most wonderful hotel. Its breathtaking setting and the excellent service we once again received from all the staff every day of our stay continue to be absolutely 5 star. It really is a taste of heaven on earth!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Conways85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just back from a Crete after spending a week with my wife and two daughters. We had a relaxing and rejuvenating time in this hotel, It is nicely thought out, and clearly well managed.
All the facilities (with the exception of the wee Gym that needs some TLC) met out expectations. The service is very friendly & efficient. Our rooms were refreshed twice a day, and the concierge staff were always very helpful when asked for advice about the local area.
The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. The food is excellent, we had the breakfast every day and few delicious lunches in the Yacht Club.
This hotel is the best one compared to its sisters nearby (in our opinion)

Room Tip: Both pool and beach are very quiet, so no need to book a room with a private pool. The main pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wolfhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I went on a 5 island 15 day vacation and I can say the last was the best. The service was amazing. The view and food was beyond my expectations. I would return again over and over. I can not say the same for some of the resorts. Thank you to the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puggleberner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Not quite sure how to write this review as I really loved the hotel but there were little niggles that could have made it so much better. We were upgraded to a room with its own pool, which was a lovely treat after a very warm welcome. The location is stunning and views breathtaking. The rooms are nice, clean and functional, although for me they were lacking tea/coffee facilities which as an early waker I like to read whilst taking in the wonderful view. I have to say we were disappointed in the some of the restaurants we tried. The breakfasts were nice, however the meal that we had in the Old Mill was not up to the standard it should be for the prices charged.
My other frustration was the pool area. There is a beach and pool bar but we would often go down the the pool in the afternoon to get shade and it is possible to get drinks/food there, however, everytime I had to go in search of someone to take and order as came to see if we wanted anything and the last drink took 45 mins to come. Just a little thing but something that could make it better.
Gym is small with no free weights or area for floor work
The staff are all really friendly and helpful We really enjoyed our stay and would probably go back but it was just a couple of things that would take it, in my opinion, take it from very good to excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our family stayed at the elounda mare for a week in June and we had a wonderful time in our stay:

Pros:
- Excellent service by all the hotel staff- the reception, the waitresses, the cleaning staff,etc. Everyone was extremely kind, willing to help and always with a smile.
- Beautiful large grounds with lavish tress, blossoming flowers and spacious lawns. Also, the views from the hotel of the bay are amazing.
- A very good private sandy beach with lots of sea beds around it. There is also a long stretch on the sea with trees and places to sit. Furthermore there is a nice seawater pool which is very quiet.
- At the "Deck" restaurant where both dinner and breakfast are served, the food is of high standarts- in the morning there is a large buffet and in the evening a 5 course meal , which is very elegant.
- Very quiet and calm atmosphere all around the hotel which is great for a relaxed beach vacation.
- the hotel is a 20 minutes walk or 5 minute drive from the nice village of elounda which has many restaurants and tavernas.
- Our room- a suite in the top floor had magnificent view and was quite comfortable. The bungalows with private pools look very nice.

Cons:
- In the suite, the the shower cabin was extremely small and you could barely move inside it.
- The extras in the hotel are all very expensive - for example a 750c bottle of water costs 7 euro! Greek salad costs 15 euro. At leasts, the hotel provides small bottle of water each day for each guests. This is why its recommended to eat and drink outside of the hotel, where the prices are much lower, and you have the opportunity to discover local food.
- This hotel is not well catered for younger people who search for parties, action and an active atmosphere.
- The gym is very basic- it contains only 5-6 stations.

To sum it up: I highly recommend the hotel, if you are looking for a luxury beach vacation, with great food and atmosphere were you can relax and pamper yourself

Room Tip: At the highest floor the rooms have great views.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank P1733TB_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had four couples share two, two suite rooms at the top of the hill, looking out to Santorini Island on the horizon. They were cool and comfortable, each pair with a salt water pool 20x25 to swim or cool off. The beach and rocks had places to dip into the Mediterranean as well as drink services/towels. The dining was good though resort-pricey, but the service was very good. We ate several dinners that were good to very good but at $150-250 per person.

Room Tip: Choose rooms 51-52 at the top of the hill for the views and breezes and still away from the main hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tremm298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.1 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
2.6 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
3.4 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel

Address: Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Elounda
#5 Family Hotel in Elounda
#7 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £212 - £675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its gracious and attentive service, this hotel is the embodiment of all-time-classic style and cultured luxury, where antique art and traditional architectural themes adorn all of its private-pool bungalows - each with its own terrace overlooking the Aegean Sea. Three fine dining venues reflect the Relais & Chateaux tradition of excellence, their culinary delights ranging from enticing lunchtime snacks to five-course dinners, with flambe and fish specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Mare Hotel And Bungalows
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing