We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this tranquil and luxurious resort and we'll certainly go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We loved this tranquil and luxurious resort and we'll certainly go back!”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at Porto Elounda for a week in mid May and weren't sure what to expect as reviews were very different, but we had a wonderfully relaxing and peaceful holiday. The service was excellent and our room was extremely comfortable (great bathroom, very comfortable bed, wonderful view and our own private plunge pool). The main restaurant in the Porto Elounda hotel itself (there are two other hotels which are part of the resort) is good, particularly the breakfast buffet, but if you want a change of scenery there is plenty of choice within the resort either at the beach taverna or in the Elounda Mare or the Peninsula hotels, both of which have their own elegant restaurants and bars - there is something for every taste.

The Six Senses Spa is absolutely not to be missed and must surely be one of the best anywhere - a huge range of treatments is available, or you can just go and relax in their wonderful salt water "thalassotherapy" pool.

There are a few small "boutique" shops in the resort, but you will also find a couple of mini-markets within 10 minutes' walk, which are much better value.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel and resort to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday with a certain amount of luxury.

The only important piece of advice I would give is to make sure you negotiate your transfer from airport to hotel before you go as this can be a very expensive business!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qwenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    143
    68
    20
    14
See reviews for
236
187
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Since I always use the trip advisor in order to read what activities there are in a hotel I have I decided to visit, i thought i should give some tips to the readers which have chosen the porto elounda. First of all you must visit the spa, even if you are not into spas or you are staying in another hotel in the area try to visit it even just to have a look. The decoration, the view, the treatments are really amazing.Then try to go to Spinalonga, which is a small island near the hotel that has a Venetian castle on it. Spinalonga is very famous in the UK from the book "The island" so if you have read the book you have one more reason to visit it. For dinner you must visit once the Elies restaurant of the hotel. It is located by the beach , around olive trees and it has the most delicious traditional Cretan food. I really enjoy the way they serve the starters, that come in small plates and they place them in the center of the table. Also both Ag. Nikolaos and Elounda town have very nice tavernas and they are just 10 minutes away. Finally if you want to learn how to golf the coarse of the hotel is perfect. I took my first lessons there and it really helped me a lot, since it is a 9 hole. Overall porto elounda is a very nice hotel and if you decide to visit you will for sure discover and enjoy many other things apart of the ones I wrote about.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This was our fifth trip to Porto Elounda...we're a bit embarrassed by that as we like to go to different places every time but allow oursleves one little indulgence and Porto Elounda is it. It's hard to pinpoint just one aspect that we love...it's the view as you come into the lobby, the beautiful infinity pool and spa and the sense of contentment it gives, the cool whitewashed rooms, the crystal clear water at the beach and the views over the bay. This time however, on arrival we were upgraded and whisked off to the Peninsular because the management throught we would be more comfortable there due to the presence of a large conference party that would have been noisy and disruptive. Wow - I'm very glad they did because that conference sure was noisy and I think if we had been based at Porto I miught well have been frantic - morning through to 1.30 am loud music at the beach area ,megaphone announcements and Eurodisco . I don't think I'll risk booking out of school holiday times again.... Although the weather wasn't as great as other times we have been to Crete we still managed to have a wonderful break and this time it was because we felt so looked after by the wonderful staff both at The Peninsular and Porto. As always, can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chantelle1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I spent 3 nights in Porto Elounda hotel in Crete with my wife and a 14 years old son.
the service is perfect.! the stuff is professionl and very helpful all the time.
the breakfast and dinner were very good, very rich and tasty. (the manager of the dining room is very kind and has a "shining" personality)
the room is a common hotel room but with perfect view of Elounda bay and the island of Spinalonga. there are better rooms in this hotel (but the price is higher . . . )
only the 3rd bed, of the teenager boy, was not comfortable, even we ordered a room for 3 adults.

Room Tip: if you come with children take a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscar1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Our travel agent Cally at Cloudtours.com insisted we stay at the Porto Elounda DeLuxe Resort during our 2 week travels throughout Greece and Istanbul. We usually do not relax or take chill time during a trip but she insisted and it was fantastic!! The staff was fantastic, the views beautiful, the Spa was really terrific and the half board (breakfast and dinner) was fantastic - a lot of local foods to have. We had the best time and wished we had stayed more than 3 days!!

Room Tip: room with a private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patnorthcarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This is a wonderful hotel. The service is excellent without being too intrusive. Only disappointment was that as it was relatively low season not all restaurants were open. The weather let us down a little but cant blame the hotel for that even though they kept apologising profusely for it !
We had a minor complaint on arrival as we were put in a room with a connecting door which as usual leads to absolutely no sound proofing and we were next door to a toddler - however our request fro a change of room was met within the hour and a bigger nicer room too although still with a connecting door but they aimed not to move in any neighbours with young children and they kept their promise! All in all the staff cant do enough for you - they go out of their way to make your stay happy and relaxing. We will definitely go back again.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LStoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I chose this hotel because it was more suited for families than couples. The hotel it beautiful, immaculate gardens and pools and a fabulous private sandy beach. Room very spacious and very clean, we had a deluxe room on the 5th floor. Food fantastic and staff very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Kids club the best we have ever seen, we could not take our 5 years old son from there.
All in all a perfect hotel. Very glad we chose it and will definetly go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimLecT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
0.7 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
2.8 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Elounda
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#9 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#12 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only golf-and-spa resort on Crete is a whole world on its own, with the "World's Best Spa" according to the Sunday Times' "Travel" magazine 2007. Rooms and suites all have panoramic views of the bay of Elounda over the green expanse of the golf course's 9 holes. Children are particularly well catered for, with a dedicated facility offering indoor and outdoor play areas, a lawn-laid olive-grove, a water-park and a sports field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Destinology, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Elounda Deluxe Hotel Elounda
Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing