We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porto Elounda Golf and Spa… So inspired to share impressions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Porto Elounda Golf and Spa… So inspired to share impressions”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Porto Elounda Golf and Spa…first of all I would like to mention the side of the mental rest you can get there.. Everything is so special, even the air around))!!! You can finally get relaxed, you can finally find a real harmony - inside and outside. By the way, about outside: was so nicely surprised that the main restaurant has been totally reinvaded with a new amazing area over the pool and by the beach a new lounge bar has been created next to the pool.. So it gives more opportunities to feel the comfort.. I mean, to feel the care and the art of the high class service for each person who came there to claim only one aim - just like me - to have a rest. Actually it is always great to see that even in the time of crisis, people are investing means and ideas to make the life of others more beautiful, more full with impressions..This resort always gives me the best impression and inspiration..So, when i am returning back from this heaven i feel myself completely full with the new energy…And probably it is the reason why I always want to come back to Porto Elounda.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atihanovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    139
    66
    19
    14
See reviews for
230
182
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was honestly the best holiday of my life!! The hotel is fantastic: wonderful rooms, super friendly staff, great service and the place includes just about anything one might need: breath-taking location (golden beaches, crystal waters, not to mention the intoxicating smell of the pine trees), divine food, every activity in the book with top of our list the best spa we've ever been to (seriously, it's worth going there just for this) and an excellent care center for the kids!! The cherry on the cake? We got to spend our holiday right next to the Red Hot Chili Peppers, our favorite band!!!!! And we did not just catch a glimpse through their private fence: they were everywhere next to us, from the beach to the restaurant!!! Can't blame us for being super excited...!!!! And really. What's so amazing about Porto Elounda is that the crowd, from the most sophisticated or VIP people to us families with kids coexist in the most harmonious environment without ever, not even for a minute, feeling be don't all belong there together. This trip changed me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zofkita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It is probably a GOOD overall, but the 3 dots just says average.

Had 10 nights at Porto Elounda; and at this stage must state I have no problem paying for quality........however. First the good points - Rooms were spacious and beds very comfortable, although typically Cretan/Greek and therefore a bit sparse. Hotel staff were very courteous and the maids/room service with bed linen changed everyday and towels whenever necessary (bathroom and beach). Rooms very clean - so very good from that point of view. The facilities from the brochure look impressive and sell you the whole 5 star thing, but in reality the 3G Arsenal Soccer School at 30 Euros per hour ensured all the children who might have gone did not and for most of the day the pitch was empty as the soccer school took appointments from 5pm onwards. In the meantime the pitch was free with no one using it, but lots of other families with boys (mostly) just wanting to have a game together (as they do when they are making friends on Hols). Despite enough space to play on grassy areas around the pool/beach area the hotel would not let the boys do that (which I understand as there are others to consider) but would only let them on the 3G pitch which they wanted to charge 30 euros an hour (to use a facility that was mentioned as a brochure as a feature you'd think was inclusive given the cost of the hotel which is by no means cheap). Again the slides in the kids club which were mentioned in the brochure as somewhere the kids could play were chargeable at 30 euros per hour (unless you went from 10-1130) which is when you have just had your breakfast so not at all child-friendly needless to say, it was empty most of the day. Milkshakes at nearly 7 euros each, a chicken salad at 18 euros for lunch, with barely a breast in it. We have bed and breakfast tarrifs at most hotels we stay in , as we like to see the places we are going to visit and eat out at night or go out for the day, but usually stay in a night or two in our break in the hotel. There was no way I was going to be ripped off. And for those of you who are reading this, and maybe doubting what i have written; I have stayed in many places more expensive and less so, but I think 5,200 euros for B & B is alot to pay for not being totally satisfied, that is why i hope my review is useful and truthful. Elounda Town and Agios Nikolaos were lovely places to eat, we didn't have a bad meal, and the Greeks are great family people. Thank goodness we had a car!! I am afraid the Porto for me needs to brush its act up if it is truly going to call itself 5 star (although it actually has 6 on its logo - what a cheek), and be straight about it's facilities and say they charge for them, etc., as many other hotels of similar and better stature do not.

Room Tip: Most rooms face East and all have lovely views, I would stay on the tope floor as there is a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank matt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EloundaSA, Public Relations Manager at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review porto elounda Golf & Spa Resort and for your very positive comments regarding the rooms, the service and the facilities of the resort.
Regarding your main remarks please note that, 5200€ was the cost of staying for 10 days in a 2 bedroom suite, with 2 master bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, a living room and a private pool.We can assure you that the price is a very competitive price as are the prices of food and beverage.Regarding your comment about the soccer field camp,please note that it has been build with the highest of standards and its maintance cost is very high.The cost to rent the whole field is 30€ for up to 10 people, which we feel is not that expensive since it is 3€ per person.Regarding the waterslides please note that as from this year a London based company, World wide kids, has taken over the operation of our kids club entertaining kids from 6 to 12 years old for free. We felt that they where so many activities that one and a half hour of free use of the waterslides was enough, but after your remarks we are now operating the waterslides from 10:00 am to 13:00 pm.
Finally please note that the logo of porto elounda doesn't have any stars but two small waves,a blue one and a green one.
After clearing the air we do hope to welcome you back at porto elounda Golf & Spa resort in the near future.
Best Regards
Ilias S. Kokotos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We have just enjoyed a relaxing break at this hotel in a room which has direct access to a shared pool. I must start by admitting I am very fussy. The bed was super comfy and the room had a huge flat screen TV and DVD player which we enjoyed watching some DVD's we had brought with us. There was a comfy 2 seater sofa and table with fresh flowers and fruit plate. Good sized mini bar. Huge bathroom with slipper bath, separate shower, WC and bidet. Also his+hers sinks and grey marble floors , counters and walls.
The room itself felt very luxurious as did the public spaces. There is a nice selection of vintage type furniture and curios as well as nice art on walls and colourful gardens.
The service was fantastic from start to finish. Even when I got stroppy with the pool guy who was politely telling me that I couldn't sit in the private area. There are a range of visitors from late 20s to extended families and retired couples.
When on the beach we noticed that the Russian guests often drew attention to themselves shouting on mobile phones for hours on end or smoking extremely stinky cigars.
In the spa we had great massages and enjoyed the gorgeous facilities and peace until a group of 4 drunk young Russian 20somethings came in with a 1.5 litre bottle of vodka and cavorted around taking photos, being loud, posing and falling over. A very polite member of staff eventually came over and told them they couldn't bring their own glass vodka bottles to the poolside. We decided to come back to the spa another day when it was more peaceful.
The views of the sea and islands are lovely from our room and the communal areas. The breakfast was delicious and had a varied selection. We went to the neighbouring Elounda Mare chateau+relais for dinner a couple of nights and really enjoyed the great service, food and ambience there too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

just returned from a week vacation at Porto Elounda and can I'm still wondering whether the hotel deserves his 5-Star.

Pros:
- Good location
- Nice beach and pool setting
- Kid friendly: Chidren's Ark area and personnel were very nice
- Rooms: nicely sized and setup. There could use a bit of refreshment though

Cons:
- food options: While I understand that the high season has not kicked in yet, a lot of restaurants are partially or completely closed leading to a limited offer. For example for lunch, the only option (except the beach bar which offers a Club Sandwich for 18 euros) is the Italian Restaurant which is also a bit steep despite offering quality food (same for all the restaurants incl the buffet)

- Pricing: this was the kicker for me. 6.5 euros for a bottle of water (Evian?!), 2.5 to 3.5 euros for (very) small Diet Coke. Food was also overpriced. People are better off taking a cab or driving to Elounda a grab a meal there.

Lastly upon check out, my bill could not be closed until the mini bar has been checked without relying on the customer's word (they were really really insistent on this). Hotel management even sent on of their associates to make sure I said the truth. It's the first time in 10+ years of travel that I come accross such a situation which was truly unacceptable.

Overall, the nice experience was offset by the hotel penny-pinching policy. I do believe that they would benefit from lowering their food and beverages prices

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EloundaSA, Public Relations Manager at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to review porto elounda Golf & Spa resort, and thank you for your very positive comments regarding the location, the private sandy beach and pool area,the Kids Ark area and our staff. Thank you also for your positive comments regarding the size and setup of the rooms.
Regarding your comments about lunch please note that we offer 5 different options: The restaurant,the snack bar,the beach menu,the yacht Club restaurant at the elounda mare hotel as well as room service. Regarding prices, we offer snacks from 7€ and a lunch menu which has starters from 9€ and main courses starting at 18€.An Evian bottle of water costs 6,5€ while in other resorts in the Mediterranean the price is above 10€ but we also offer the option of an non branded local mineral water at the price of 4,7€.
Once again we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property,for your positive comments and for giving us the opportunity to reply to your remarks.
Best Regards
Ilias S. Kokotos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

1/ Setting and landscape are beautiful ; Rooms are ok

2/ The hotel management does not organize peaceful areas for adults; Families with todlers can go where they want in the hotel, pools,beach , gardens; Nice beach and garden but ruined by children noises.

3/ Restaurant by the beach does not meet today's clients expectations : very limited selection, very expensive, same menu for years. bland and starchy food. After two days , we had no other choice than to leave the beach and to drive to an outside restaurant.

I would invite the hotel managers (and owners) to visit other resorts , particulary in the far east and to revisit their hotel organization.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John52France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EloundaSA, Public Relations Manager at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort.
Thank you also for your positive comments and your remarks.
Regarding your comment about kids and toddlers please note that during the period you stayed with us (May 2013) 83% of our guests were couples, during school holidays this percentage of course changes, but porto elounda has one of the largest kids clubs in Crete which is over 4000sqm with indoor and outdoor areas,waterslides, an Arsenal Soccer School Camp, which as of 2014 will be operated by London based specialist company, World Wide Kids.
Regarding your remark that we offer our clients only one option for lunch, please note that do offer four more options:Lunch at our sister property Elounda Mare hotel, a snack bar, a room service menu and a beach menu which guests can find at the umbrellas of our private beaches. We are really sorry if all these options were not communicated to you.
Thank you once again for giving us the opportunity to reply to your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to porto elounda Golf & Spa resort
Best Regards
Ilias Kokotos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here for 8 days in September 2013 and loved it! The staff were all very helpful and the locations and scenery was amazing! Beautiful room - we had a private pool and used it often (though the water was cold). Really enjoyed the food at the resort, though we did eat in town often.

The beach was very nice. There were a lot of children but it didn't bother us. We also booked a private yacht which was one of the highlights of the trip, they do group trips as well which I would highly recommend. As the rest of the reviews indicate, the spa is spectacular!

Overall we couldn't have picked a better place to spend our honeymoon and will definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
0.7 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
0.2 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
3.6 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Elounda
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#9 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#12 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only golf-and-spa resort on Crete is a whole world on its own, with the "World's Best Spa" according to the Sunday Times' "Travel" magazine 2007. Rooms and suites all have panoramic views of the bay of Elounda over the green expanse of the golf course's 9 holes. Children are particularly well catered for, with a dedicated facility offering indoor and outdoor play areas, a lawn-laid olive-grove, a water-park and a sports field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Expedia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Elounda Deluxe Hotel Elounda
Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing