We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Elounda Bay Palace”
Review of Elounda Bay Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elounda Bay Palace
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful Elounda Bay Palace”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Amazing hotel......solo holiday for me so single room.Do we apy more for a smaller room? I think so!!!

The grounds are superb....the pool and beach superb. The indoor pool was lovely. The restaurant and food superb. The breakfasts were particularly lovely as they were on a terrace with beautiful flowers and a wonderful view.

The village of Elounda is pleasant and also the island of spina longa is worth a visit.

I would love to go back.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirstyskennelmate100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    193
    74
    33
    26
See reviews for
172
344
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

When we arrived at the Elounda Bay Palace, admittedly late afternoon, our suite wasn't available and we were fobbed off with two rooms and a promise of it all getting sorted out in the morning, which to be fair it was. We had a wonderful suite great view and all the elements promised. The food was excellent, not a lot to say about the fantastic position with a private pool and amazing vista......its a great vacation spot. To make up for the initial problems.......we did get an upgraded private suite. Smiles all round!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank radw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela k, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you did not receive your booked accommodation upon your arrival at the hotel. There were exceptional circumstances at this time involving other guests who were due to depart hence you being accommodated in an alternative for your first night. I sincerely hope, and see from your review, that this did not spoilt your holiday with us. We are promising even more this year at the Elounda Bay Palace with the introduction of spa facilities, sports and a general wellness concept for all our guests. So we hope that we will be able to continue to provide an exciting holiday experience and obtain smiles all round. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Elounda Bay Palace for another holiday in the near future.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham,Uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I have visited & stayed at this hotel many times .I have just returned from a few days their.The success of this hotel for me are the staff ... they are all so freindly & really totally awesome.We stayed in bungalow's 74 & 75 ... discreetly private but not over the top price wise. i have noticed reviewers have critised the drink prices ... come on !! The sail bar must have the best position for a bar anywhere in the world plus the prices have not gone up for 4 years ... with the problems economically in greece at the moment ,i think that is good.
I must mention by name some of the staff .. Renata from guest relations... Dimitri ... food & beverage manager ... always around sorting problems out .. George ... Maitre d at the tavern & thallasa restaurants .. top venue's.
This hotel is a little gem

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank firefly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thank you for writing this report on Trip Advisor. It sums up just the just the atmosphere we try to create for all our guests whilst enjoying the unique surroundings and the Mediterranean setting of the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel. We have passed on your kind words about the various members of staff who were all delighted to have been remembered by you. The hotel and its loyal staff will be waiting to welcome you again to Elounda for another holiday in your ´little gem´ of a hotel.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Holiday started well with v good cold colaltion awaiting our late arrival. Finished well with free use of room between check out from our room and departure for airport. Period in between was good with friendly staff, good surroundings including private beach, plenty of sun chairs/umbrellas and lots and lots of sun. Others have commented on drinks prices so no more here. However, an easy walk into Elounda and lots of bars/cafes/restaurants to choose from. Our favourite for an excellent coffee or snack lunch was delMarr on the sea front on way into Elounda. Also, for sandwiches an excellent baker across road from hotel entrance and slightly towards Elounda.

Room Tip: Well worth paying for garden/side sea view as against mountain view (though that is still OK)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChocDocMonmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
A holiday at the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel starts off upon your arrival where our staff will be waiting to greet you. One member of our concierge team will be allocated to you through our your stay and be on hand to assist you in making your holiday one to remember. Elounda is a unique destination set in a bay with an outcrop of islands; it is in one of these bays that the Elounda Bay Palace nestles with its private beaches, whitewashed bungalows and colourful gardens. Only a few minutes walk away from the fishing village with its square in the harbour, full of life. We promote the tranquil sun drenched lazy days of the Cretan Island to relax and refresh with a hint of the exotic with our sundowner cocktails and the brightly coloured hibiscus flowers that adorn the pathways through the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Elounda Bay Palace for a future stay.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkhall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

For a first visit to Crete my wife and I decided on the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel on the eastern side of the Island located on the outskirts of the former fishing village which has many small fishing boats still in evidence around the harbour which is fringed by nice restaurants bars and greek supermarkets.
We booked through Thomsons and had a sea view room which overlooked the gardens and sea front across the bay to the neighbouring small island.
This hotel is indeed luxury with beautiful gardens right on the sea shore and designed with privacy in mind. The architect of this place knew what he was doing -absolutely beautiful.
Internally the finishings are to a high standard and the food is what you would expect from such a place. The staff cannot do enough for you but still respect your privacy. This hotel sits alongside the elounda Beach its sister hotel which is also to a very high standard and has child facilites in the grounds
I made use of the onsite PADI dive school and had six dives in the company of Mike a very experienced diver and a great character. Thanks to him for my longest and deepest dive in the crystal clear waters of the Med
If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a hotel of high standards in appearance standards and setting then this is the place. Go On Spoil Yourself. In my opinion this palce is 'Simply The Best'

Room Tip: Have a good look at the hotel internet site and go for a room with a sea view which tend to be eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Elounda Bay Palace on Trip Advisor. The island of Crete has a wonderful and quite unexplored undersea life, which our dive team is on hand to show divers of every experience. They cover a wide range of diving expertise from the real beginners to experienced divers who are interested in the undersea world around Crete. As the hotel is in its own secluded bay it is ideal for those who have not tried scuba diving to have a go, just as the many wrecks and undersea ruins are an attraction for the more experienced divers. For those who prefer more of a gentle swim our two beaches, indoor and outdoor pools offer the ideal way to cool down from the heat of the day and as the sea is lit from under at night, a wonderful glowing background to our bars and restaurants at night. There are many places of great historic interest here on Crete and with the mystic legends adding to the aurora of the island we are sure that you will be tempted to return for a future holiday.


Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

History: I arrived in Elounda after travelling Crete for 3 days, and turned up without a reservation to be greeted by a rather cautious lady called Maria (or Marie?) who was the front of house manager. I admit i looked a bit dodgy in shorts and tank top and scruffy. She took my money upfront, and someone showed me to my room - it didnt have such a great view as was far down the end of the corridor, so I asked if there was a nicer room further towards the main building as my girlfriend was due to stay two days later with me. From this point on, the staff were excellent. Maria kindly organised a free drink in the lovely Sail-in bar, and I waited about 30 mins for a room. The new room was far nicer, with better view.

The next 4 days were great, the food was excellent. We ate in the Al Acarte which is just so lovely, and the live band play some great music, so good we actually danced after dinner. Its a truely beautiful spot, and they light up the sea so its really nice. Maria was very accomodating and she kindly organised some nights B&B and some room only. On my last day, we were due to fly back late in the evening, so the team (Maria and Victoria) very kindly allowed us to use another room at the back of the hotel, for free. This was extremely good service, and allowed us to freshen up before our flight.

Loved the hotel - its original white walls, old flag stones, and fantastic lighting at night. The beach is lovely, private, and quiet. Staff are very nice, very friendly.

THE ONLY downside - WIFI - you have to pay for it. Was gutted to be honest, its something like 4 euros per hour. I can afford it, but refused to on principle when virtually every bar in Elounda offers free Wifi. You can use one of three free computers in the hotel lobby but they are pretty old and slow and some sites are not accessible. I previously stayed in the Amathus Beach hotel in Paphos (a fab hotel) and a couple of years ago they installed WiFi that actually reaches to the beach, for free. In the modern era, with iphones, skype, and businesses run online (like mine), being able to access the internet from the sail-in bar, beach, or grass would have been much better.

Thanks for a great holiday with lovely staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Just back from a week in the Elouda Bay Palace. Lovely setting and attentive staff throughout the stay. A special mention to Nicos in the sail in bar, great cocktails and music, lovely guy! Ate in the ferryman a few nights in the town, food as good as ever!!

Room Tip: a room with view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annebelfast24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
2.2 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
3.0 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Bay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Bay Palace

Property: Elounda Bay Palace
Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#9 Family Hotel in Elounda
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Bay Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elounda Bay Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Elounda Bay Palace Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing