We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”
Review of Elounda Bay Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elounda Bay Palace
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

we've been to many luxurios hotels for summer and winter, but this magnificent hotel run by Mr. Manolis is the best we've been to in many years.
we got the most beautiful suite, nothing was missing,everything has been thought about, the food was deliciaus , the cleanliness , the pool the beach and the top of evertything a welcoming stuff always with a smile.
i can't think of one thing that was'nt perfect exept for having to leave.
this was a trip to heaven and back.
next year we come again

levy . D.
04 october 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank levy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

It is a pleasure to read that you so enjoyed your stay with us at the Elounda Bay Palace hotel and we would like to thank you for sharing this with the readers of the Trip Advisor website. The only good part about leaving the Elounda Bay Palace is that you can be assured that you will always be welcomed back, like so many of our loyal guests, as an old friend. Our staff works hard to uphold the standards of the hotel and is proud to provide the friendly and professional service that our guests anticipate when making their reservations. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for Elounda Bay Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent a week at the end of September and found the whole experience exceeded our expectations. This was helped by being upgraded to a bungalow with private pool which allowed us to completely chill out in temperatures reaching 30 degrees. The food at the hotel was excellent and the location was dramatic with mountains all around us. It was also not too far to walk into Elounda (about 20 minutes) to sample some of the local Tavernas, we would certainly recommend The Ferryman. Overall experience was excellent which gave us a completely relaxing week.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for writing a review on the Trip Advisor website. We are delighted that you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of the Elounda Bay Palace. Our staff works hard to provide the kind of ambiance where our guests can unwind from the first day. The chefs in the restaurants create a wide variety of dishes to suit all tastes. The location of our unique hotel makes the Elounda Bay Palace one of the top destinations in Greece and we look forward to welcoming you again for a future stay.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Lovely hotel fantastic staff our only gripe is the evening buffet was not good and in our last week the hotel was closing down !!do not go in the final week !!
now for the good points our room was lovely we had a garden room which was lovely the maids were brilliant we even got a little present from our lady never ever had this before!! All the staff were just lovely . We will be back in the spring we loved it thank you to you all at the Elounda Bay see you soo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We regret if you found the last week at the hotel lacking in any way as with the facilities of both the Elounda Beach, as well as the Elounda Bay Palace, for you to choose from the range of venues and activities, are very varied. Our loyal staff is always on hand with their own special brand of Cretan hospitality and many of our guests return for the friendliness and warmth of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you in the spring and thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for a week end of Sept early Oct and were very impressed with Elounda Bay Palace. Prior to our departure from UK we very nearly cancelled this accommodation due to the incredibly negative reviews on this site. We decided to upgrade our original garden view to a sea view room and this proved a wise decision as the view of this beautiful bay is amazing. We found the food was excellent for buffet and had a wide choice and themes daily - we had half board plus option which included drinks with your evening meal, the local house wine was quite quaffable too.
Guests were mainly British and Russian and this was fine - we met a lovely Russian couple on honeymoon who were a delight practising their English on us! So all in all a lovely hotel in a super part of Elounda with good food, excellent staff in all areas and of course having that crystal clear water to swim in made it a lovely weeks break in the sunshine.

Room Tip: Sea views are worth the extra
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheshirecatz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for writing this review on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately so many people are swayed by one of two poor reviews and it is always those few that the holiday did not live up to their expectations that unfailingly write on this site. However as you discovered the majority of our guests have a wonderful holiday and we are proud to be able to boast that our repeater guests rate is over 40% at the Elounda Bay Palace. Thorough out the season we maintain a good balanced international guest mix and find this works well. We have the hotel under constant review and are always listening to our guest and revising what is popular to cater for and anticipate our guests’ expectations. We look forward tow welcoming you again to the Elounda Bay Palace for another relaxing friendly luxury holiday in our unique surroundings.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Elounda Bay Hotel in September 2013 for 7 nights, half board. We actually tried to book into the Aquila Hotel a couple of miles away where we had friends staying but they were fully booked. Which, turned out to be much more to our advantage! We got to check out both hotels, and we think we had the best one! Elounda Bay is much more spread out and although both hotels were running at full capacity, ours didnt feel like it. We had much more room around the swimming pool areas and in the restaurant etc. Even needed a ride on the golf car to get to the spa for manicures, as it was too far to walk!
The meals were simply the best buffet food I have had in a hotel, and we were very impressed at the standard of service and quality of food - a huge array of all sorts of different food. Our room was (if my memory serves, number 8) very comfortable, had: air con / a nice bathroom / a tv with english channels / sunbeds on the patio / table and chairs just outside on the patio too / dinner and wine in our room on arrival to hotel (which was nice, given we didnt arrive until 1am despite it being an afternoon flight - and our 1st package (jet2) holiday!). By the way, the transfer by coach was a little too long (2 hours) so if you can afford to book private transfers, I would recommend. Only thing I didn't like was, not having tea/coffee facilties, despite their being a minibar / fridge. We informed the hotel of this in our review at the end of our holiday, only to be told that this facility does exist if you ask...a bit weird, but ok. will remember to ask, if I return!
Pool staff were friendly and areas were well managed and the bay itself is beautiful. Overall we were impressed with everything. Only thing I would say is, I wouldn't grade the hotel/holiday as 5 stars, more 4 or 4.5. If we do ever return to Crete, I wouldnt hesitate to book the Elounda Bay again.
Thank you for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TazzieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Elounda Bay Palace. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to compare the Cretan style hospitality offered by our hotel with other hotels in the area. As the hotel is set in mature Mediterranean gardens and you are invited to use the facilities of both the Elounda Beach and the Elounda Bay Palace, the feeling of spaciousness is one that is never lost even when both hotels are at full capacity. We look forward to welcoming you and perhaps with your friends again to the Elounda Bay Palace for a future stay.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Ourprevious review of this hotel was in the early days of their trial association with Robinsons and was very unfavourable in respect of how this association had changed the hotel ambience compared with earlier visits we had enjoyed, e.g. loud music late into the night, entertainment staff reminiscent of a third rate holiday camp. Because of this we decided with considerable regret that this hotel was no longer for us. Happily, whilst in Elounda earlier in the year we learnt that the Robinsons association had been ended albeit some good features had been retained. On this basis we booked to stay for a fortnight and are very pleased to say that we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing and the staff ever willing to assist; it was a pleasure to see so many familiar faces. There was late night music at the beach bar but this was never at a level to prevent us getting a decent night's sleep. We had a couple of minor issues with our room, e.g. failed light bulb, but these were quickly sorted. Will certainly consider returning in future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChocDocMonmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

It is with pleasure that we read that you remained loyal to the Elounda Bay Palace for your annual holidays. Thank you for your review informing us all of the wonderful relaxing holiday that you were able to enjoy again with us this year. We are delighted that we have been able to provide once again the Cretan paradise that all our guest have come to expect from the Elounda Bay Palace and our management and staff have have been overwhelmed at the kind comments and remarks made by the guests who have stayed with us this year. We take all the suggestion of our guests in to consideration when we reassess the hotel during the winter and make the changes and renovations necessary for the coming season. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Elounda Bay Palace for a future stay.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We are really puzzled by the negative reviews of our favourite September escape - is there maybe a hotel with a similar name which these people have visited? The Elounda Bay Palace has, for us, everything needed for a fantastic holiday. We have stayed at this hotel for many years now and have never returned home without pleasant memories. The hotel itself is built in traditional Cretan style and the view from our normal accommodation (sea view room) is truly amazing - we have travelled widely and still think the Elounda Bay has the most stunningly beautiful location possible. The hotel has an air of relaxed sophistication, whether one is lazing in the extensive gardens or on the beaches (2!), drinking in the bars, eating in the restaurants or enjoying more active pursuits. In particular, the Thalassa restaurant is superb - you really cannot beat dining on lobster linguini with delicious local wine at the water's edge with great service and sophisticated musical entertainment! The hotel even supplied a full moon - what a way to celebrate an anniversary or similar event! As we say, this hotel has it all but the greatest asset must be the management and staff - without exception everyone is so welcoming and helpful. We have made many true friends among those working in the Elounda Bay over the years but nothing is too much trouble whether you are on your 26th visit or your first! We found the service to be super-efficient this September, more remarkable given the healthy occupancy of the Bay. We do, of course, intend to return to our Cretan paradise in 2014.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NANDBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your holiday experiences with the readers of the Trip Advisor website. The opinions and suggestions of our loyal guests who return year after year are an important asset to us in assisting us to improve and change the hotel and its services to provide the holiday experience that our guests come to expect. We have the added advantage of our unique position in the Bay of Mirabello and with our sister hotel the Elounda Beach Hotel command over 1000ms of water front position. Our 40 years of Cretan hospitality has charmed many guests who made the hotel and staff their home away from home and they are able to relax from day one of their holidays knowing that we are there to take care of all the detail. Indeed the hardest decision to make is choosing the dining venue each evening. We are looking forward to welcoming you next summer and catching up on all your news.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
2.2 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.8 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
1.0 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
430 reviews
3.0 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Bay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Bay Palace

Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#9 Family Hotel in Elounda
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £128 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Bay Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Elounda Bay Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Elounda Bay Palace Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing