We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, great service, lovely food - fantastic holiday!”
Review of Elounda Bay Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elounda Bay Palace
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful 10 day holiday at the Elounda Bay Palace. The hotel is in a beautiful setting with lovely landscaped gardens and directly on its own private and peaceful sandy beach. Although we had hired a car to see more of the island, we always came back to the hotel beach afterwards as it was the cleanest and sandiest that we saw anywhere - with the added bonus of free sunbeds and parasols! The food is absolutely fantastic with a huge amount of choice for both breakfast and dinner. The Mountain/Garden View rooms were slightly dated, but were extremely clean with a highly efficient twice daily maid service. We did however catch a glimpse of a Sea View room which appeared to have been more recently refurbished. Having read other reviews before we left, we were slightly concerned at the comments referring to unhelpful staff, but we found this to be entirely the opposite. Every member of staff we came into contact with was friendly and helpful, including the Receptionists, Restaurant Staff, Chefs, Maid Service and Guest Services. The only negative comment that we can agree with is the very high cost of wine and drinks. Although we occasionally had the odd glass of wine at dinner (cheapest house wine was 7 Euros a glass), we generally bought our own wine at the supermarket and drank it on the balcony before/after dinner! The cost of drinks meant the hotel bars very quiet in the evenings as guests either went out or back to their rooms.
We would highly recommend this hotel and had a fantastic holiday - many thanks Elounda Bay!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t8acy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RassoulisM, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2010

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful holiday with us here at The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel.
Reviews like yours are a reward for the years of refining the hotel and it´s hospitality to meet all our guests´expectations. Our staff take pride in working for the hotel and regard it an honour to be able to give our guests a little of the famous Cretan hospitality. The unique position of the hotel, on the sea surf, surrounded by the hilly olive groves of the Cretan countryside, with its own natural sandy beach, make the ambience for your holiday experience here second to non.
We take all the suggestions and comments made by our guests in to consideration when changing policy in the hotel. In the weeks to come on our website you will be able to view all of the facilities and restaurants with their menus and prices. Plus any special events that we have planned for the future are regularly updated and will be posted on the website.
We look forward to welcoming you again to The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2009

It seems that A.Papandreou, during his many and long summer visits in Elounta, manage to leave behind some of his “know-how” to the staff of Elounta Bay, right before he died.
When A.Papandreou’s and his government were verbally accused of stealing money from the state, they never apologized, they continue stealing and they made fun of all Greek citizens for more than 20 years . If you visit the hotel and happen to “lose” something, you will find that the resemblance between the attitudes of the ex – long gone- president & the hotel’s personnel is vast.
Finally, it appears that paying an immense amount of money for a sea view bungalow and an average room service (still tipped generously), doesn’t prevent most of the hotel’s employees to treat you rudely and sarcastically.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lolaseit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RassoulisM, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2010

Dear Reviewer,
It is the policy of The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel to be managed according to the guide lines set out by The Leading Hotels of the World group, of whom we are proudly a member. Therefore, I find your comments referring directly to the hotel staff unacceptable and clearly very misguided.
If indeed you had misplaced something during your stay at our hotel, then according to policy, your reported loss would have been immeditately dealt with by the guest services department and the matter resolved or compensated to the best of our ability.
As to your finding our staff ^rude and sarcastic^, I can only hope that this was a misunderstanding on your part, for which I am truely sorry.
The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel can boast a repeater guest rate of over 45% and this verifies that your experiennce during your holiday is by no means the norm for guests staying at our hotel.
I sincerely hope that you will give both my staff and the hotel an opportunity to welcome you again to The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel and that your re-newed experience would change your opinion of the hotel, Elounda, Crete and the Greek people alike.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

With the price comes an expectation for quality. That falls well short of the expectations. The rooms are pleasant but really nothing special and the service is extremely slow and with a touch of annoyance on everones face as if they are doing you a favour. They often forget what you asked them for and 20 minutes later after you waited you ask again.

The hotel is also at a location on the island thatgets extemely hot and uncomfortable even in July when we were there.

There is also an obvious need for some renovation in the facilities. We had a pleasant holiday but we really expected much more!

I am not sure if I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bdonholidayopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RassoulisM, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2010

Thank you for your review of The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel.
I am saddened that your holiday experience did not meet up to your expectations.
The hotel lies on the north-eastern side of the island and in it´s hottest months of July and August, the temperatures may well reach into the late 30´s. For this reason the hotel is fully airconditioned so as to make the guests as comfortable as possible. It is always wise to stay out of the midday heat and enjoy a siesta.
The hotel is built to resemble Cretan architecture so as to blend in with the local area. Having said this, the essence of luxury and opulence has been the theme through out the hotel.
The hotel is refurbished in parts every winter when a full evaluation of the hotel and it´s facilities is carried out and the necessary work done.
The staff are trained to the highest standard but work in a relaxed manner so as not to disturb the ambience of the hotel. If any misunderstanding was experienced between yourselves and any member of my staff then I sincerely apologize.
I would relish the opportunity to welcome you again to The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel and to be able to change your mind by living up to those expectations.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We just got back from a four nights stay at the Elounda Bay Palace. I must say that we were afraid to be disappointed, since our original destination of travel was Thailand...but Elounda Bay Palace was a total surprise to the best.

The hotel is realy beautiful, probably the most beautiful we've ever been to, the staff is exceptionaly friendly (I must mention Maria here), and very clean. The service is 5* for sure. The only thing I did not like was the room, which was a bit small and I cannot say it was 5*.

Overall, we had a really wonderful vacation, very relaxing, we felt very pampered by the staff, and we would probably come back. ?If you're looking at the picture, please note that this hotel is much more beautiful in reality.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RassoulisM, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel.
The hotel´s location is unique and this is what lends to the natural beauty of the hotel. The blues of the Mediterranean sea, whitewashed bungalows, colourful gardens that drift down to the hotels creamy sandy beach cannot be imitated wnywhere.
An evening sitting enjoying wine with your meal overlooking the full moon on the quiet sea is an unforgettable experience and that is what we are all about.
A touch of elegance, from the mythological Greek Gods of old, blend in to the ambience, which goes to make this hotel so special.
Our highly trained staff, keep up the image of the hotel by ensuring it´s cleanliness with a pride in what they do. The Cretan hospitality and friendliness make every guest feel relaxed and welcome.
I look forward to welcoming you to The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

We spent ten pleasant days here in June, having stayed in its more luxurious sister hotel , the Elounda Beach, on an earlier trip. We chose the Bay because the rates in the Beach had escalated alarmingly, making it suitable only for Russian plutocrats and recipients of huge city bonuses!

Both hotels are in an incomparable natural setting but whereas the Beach has an aura of class, which you generally experience in a true 5 star hotel, the Bay, despite its good food and helpful staff , feels like a package tour hotel and is rather cramped with absolutely no feeling of exclusivity. That is fine if that is what you want, but please do not expect anything approaching a 5 star hotel in the international sense, though it may well have 5 Ts or whatever in tour operators' brochures.

It is a very good package tour hotel, however, in a wonderful setting. The rooms are well appointed but generally small and dated - even the refurbished ones are nothing great. The bathrooms are, strangely, often large and comparatively luxurious. The hotel's grounds are small compared with those of the Beach Hotel and because of the room density, you easily feel on top of the other guests. I daresay it depends on what you are used to and the sort of hotels you judge it against.

Drinks and extras are colossally expensive so if you decide to go there, stay on half board, have a big lunch for the half board element and go out for dinner. Tryst , a restaurant run by a lovely Scots couple, situated very conveniently just 100 yards along the road to Elounda from the hotel is a strong recommendation for dinner. You could probably eat for a week there for the price of one slap-up meal at the hotel!!! The food is excellent too!

It is worthwhile having an overpriced drink in the Sail- Up bar as its setting is so lovely! Apart from that, we just brought our own decent champagne with us to drink on our terrace!

All in all we had a good time with the above reservations.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Arabella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RassoulisM, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2010

Thank you for the review that you have posted on Trip Advisor after your stay at The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel. The hotel is next to it´s sister hotel The Elounda Beach Hotel and is managed along similar lines. We have tried to keep the traditional Cretan style and ambience when implementing any changes. The architecture of the hotel blends into the countryside and the hotel nestles in its own natural bay. The dedicated staff go out of their way to make all our guests feel special and it s their aim to know all the guests at any one time. This is a feat that they genuinely succeed in doing and it is a tribute to them that so many of our guests contact the hotel directly when making their reservation. The hotel has many facilities and with the choice of both the beach and main pool surrounded by the gardens there is always a quiet spot to be found for those who value their privacy.
The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel has a long tradition of being a family holiday resort with lots of fun and activities for all. There are a great range of dining venues between the two hotels and bars with stunning views set above the sea. The pricing policy of the hotel is under constant review and within the standards set by other 5 star resorts in Europe and world wide. There are venues for all tastes and pockets. We not only provide European wines but very good local wines at competitive prices. As this review is several years old it is now not correct in stating that the bars are over priced.
Although we recommend that our guests try the local tavernas in the villages, they cannot be compared to the service and quality of food that is served here at the hotel.
Perhaps you will be tempted to return to Elounda and we can have the honour of having you as a guest at The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel again, in which case you will be able to see first hand the changes that have been made.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

Returning to Elounda Bay Palace after 6 years we wondered if the hotel would still be as good. We need not have worried. The hotel is one of the best we have stayed in. The staff are all extremely friendly and very helpful. We had a side sea view room which was excellent. Maid service twice a day. We were on half board. The food at breakfast and evening was excellent with plenty of variety, including champagne at breakfast. The grounds around the hotel and its sister hotel the Elounda Beach next door are very well kept. The only thing that let the hotel down were its drinks prices. These were at least 50 per cent too expensive. We did point this out to the Manager and he informed us that it was under review at the next meeting of the owners of the hotel. As I think has been mentioned in other guest reviews it would have been nice to stay in the hotel in the evening for a drink rather than having to go into the town of Elounda. One other thing to bear in mind if you are going to this hotel during late September into October is that the hotel sometimes has conferences or as when we were there a Coca Cola convention when 400 greeks, mostly familes, invaded the hotel. They were very noisy and seemed to completely take over the hotel. At least they were only there for two nights. Most guests did complain and were offered 40 euro each towards a meal in one of the a la carte restaurants, On the whole a hotel well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Stephanie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RassoulisM, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2010

Thank you for your review about your stay at The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel. As you pointed out, the drinks prices in 2008 were under review and changes were made by the management, to the pricing policy. It gives the hotel a lovely atmosphere to have our guests enjoying their evenings either in the lively lobby bar or in the Sail In jetty bar. There is such a wide range of restaurants and bars in both The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel and it´s sister hotel The Elounda Beach Hotel that they need not leave the resort. Having said that, we do encourage our guest to try the local tavernas and to visit the local villages. The hotel keeps the traditions of its country and Cretan hospitality is known the world over. Our guests feel that they are returning home when they come back every year and see the same staff who were so welcoming on their previous visit.
The aim of our hotel is to provide a relaxing haven for our busy guests, a place where they can be taken care of and rejuvenate. The timeless Cretan atmosphere soothes the soul and ensures our guests get the break that they have been so looking forward to.
We look forward to welcoming you again to The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Upon arrival at the hoel we were meant at the front gate and escorted in by a lovely girl from guest services. The room was slightly dated (side sea view) however it was clean and perfectly habitable for a week stay. The complex itself is lovely, clean and the facilities are excellent. We used the place as a holiday to just chill out for a week and that is exactly what it delivered. However as everyone else has mentioned the drinks are outrageously expensive. 25 euros for a glass of champagne and I'm sure that it was the cheapest. The cheapest bottle of wine is 30 euros and a beer is 8 or 9. The hotel management are missing the point of if their margins were lower they would get more profit simply because people would stay longer in the bars. Guests generally had a glass of something and then went up to their rooms (where they hoarded their own bought wine) or went into town.It is a shame as the bars/restaurants are fantastic and the views are lovely. Other reviews have also said that you should expect to pay 5* prices however I've been in other 5* hotels around the world and yes drinks are expensive and can go to ridiculous amounts however there are also drinks that are more reasonable and guests don't feel as though they are getting totally ripped off.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plainchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RassoulisM, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2010

Thank you for your review. The pricing policy of The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel is in keeping with the other 5 star resorts in Europe but having said that we have the prices under constant review. It is important to the management to keep our guests happy and relaxed when on their holidays, so any suggestions made as to how we can improve are considered and acted upon. This report is now several years old and os there have been many changes tot he hotel. The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel is a family 5 star resort with a wide variety of both dining venues and facilities to ensure that all the family is entertained. The hotel has a renovation programme, which is implemented during the winter when the hotel is closed and the rooms and public areas of the hotel are assessed. The aim of the staff is to make all our guests feel welcome and with their high standard of service succeed in giving the hotel a friendly relaxed holiday mood ambience.
We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you again to The Elound Bay Palace Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
2.2 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
1.0 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
449 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Bay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Bay Palace

Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Elounda
#9 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#12 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £124 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Bay Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elounda Bay Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Elounda Bay Palace Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing