We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, beautiful surroundings, amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My partner and I travelled to Elounda Blu, Elounda, Crete in September 2012 for our honeymoon.
After reading a few dubious reviews - although we couldn't find many reviews - we were a little apprehensive prior to our arrival. We need not have worried in the slightest. When booking we mentioned that it was going to be our honeymoon and we were greeted by congratulations at reception, gorgeous flower petals in the shape of a heart on the bed, a bottle of wine and a basket of lovely fresh fruit! A lovely surprise!
We had booked a junior suite with a private pool. The accommodation was lovely and spacious, having been recently refurbished, with two bathrooms (plus a random bath tub in the living area - bit strange?!), air-con, two balconies - one off the living area, one off the bedroom and then our own private decked area next to our pool. Although the pool wasn't massive - you couldn't swim lengths, it was perfectly adequate for our relaxing break - a dip to cool down as and when we liked without having to reserve sunbeds in a morning! We were lucky as our pool was not over-looked by anyone - a few of the others were - we could see as we were on the fifth floor of the hotel.
The room was cleaned daily - the maids were always smiling, and our towels were changed daily too. Our private pool was cleaned every-other day. The whole hotel - restaurant, reception and pool areas were always immaculate.
We were staying as all-inclusive guests. The food was varied and the hotel had different themed nights throughout the week. We have quite simple taste in food - so maybe didn't try as much of the local food as we could have done, it all looked lovely. During the day, you could get a snack by the main pool bar, although these weren't fantastic - if you didn't fancy a big lunch the grill bar wasn't included in the all-inclusive, so we paid for this on one of the days.
If we had to whinge about something it would be the trek up to our room. As the hotel is built into the side of a hill the rooms are staggered up the hill. We were at the very top on the fifth floor, and although it did get a little easier throughout the week. (On arrival this wasn't an issue - our luggage was carried up with us on a golf-type buggy!) Although the views were breath-taking, so worth the climb. So it did mean that we stayed in our suite and by our own pool more than we probably would have done if we hadn't of been such a distance from the main hotel area. This also meant that we couldn't take full advantage of the all-inclusive drinks - this was our main disgruntlement really! We couldn't just nip to the bar in the afternoon! We bought drinks from the very handy on-site shop downstairs in the hotel but we did go for a walk mid-afternoon each day and have a few drinks before returning to our suite. The all-inclusive allowed one meal in the a-la-carte Asian restaurant, which we decided to save for our last evening in the hotel. It was absolutely lovely, the food was prepared and cooked freshly by the Asian chef in front of you as you dined by candle-light - very romantic (although it was a little windy eating outside on our evening of choice!). In the evenings the hotel entertainment was adequate. We walked a couple of times into the town of Elounda - about a 15-20 minute walk, where it is a little more lively and there are souvenir shops, lovely bars and restaurants - plenty of fresh fish restaurants from the fishing boats going out in the day! If you like excursions, there are plenty on offer. We booked to go to Spinalonga - the old lepper colony island - which you could see from our room. The trip included a boat excursion, a BBQ in a sandy cove and then a tour around Spinalonga, returning to go into Agios Nikolaos town for an hour or so and then back on the boat. This was a little disappointing for us - the boat was really crowded and there was no where to sit. The majority of the day was spent on the boat with very little time on Spinalonga. It worked out at about £35 each for us for the trip - when they were offering exactly the same trip from Elounda town for a fraction of the cost. If we had been staying longer I think we would have made our own way to the island and spent longer there as it was really interesting, although we decided to trust our rep and go with the tour operator - we won't make this mistake again - over-crowded and over-priced.
On one of the days we visited the beach - directly in front of the hotel. The beach is quite pebbly but the sea is gorgeous and clear with loads of tiny little fish swimming around your feet as you paddle! Free sunbeds are in situ and there is also a beach-hut bar serving snacks and drinks included in the all-inclusive - we were very impressed with this and the girl serving there was very helpful and polite. All of the staff were very friendly and polite in the hotel. They remembered your drinks of choice in the evening - all included in the all-inclusive - and couldn't do enough to help you enjoy your stay. This holiday was superb value for money and suited our needs for a lovely relaxing couples break perfectly, we would love to go back - maybe for an anniversary in the future.

Room Tip: the hill is a very steep climb so request a lower room if you're not good with climbing steep sl...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
There are newer reviews for SENTIDO Elounda Blu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

885 - 891 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

Had a lovely holiday here. We had no problems getting loungers by the pool and spent a lot of time sunbathing and reading here.
Food was very good - we really enjoyed the local salads. We were half hoard, and we either had an ice cream or a sandwich at lunchtime.
This was our first holiday without children since our honeymoon and we liked the fact that there were not children in the hotel.
We took full advantage of happy hour in the bar.
The only downside was that the cost of water with each meal was high. We might have been better going all inclusive, but I suspect that we would have piled on the pounds if we had.
We used the spa twice. It was reasonable value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank GrahamN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed here in September for 1 week, the hotel itself was lovely, the people that worked there were friendly also. The hotel is up a hill so if you have walking difficulties this hotel may not be right for you. The rooms were nice, ours had a beautiful view. Our room was up another hill but for us it was worth it for the stunning views. The food was good we didn't have a bad meal whilst we were there.
Would definately return again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Bex71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

A great little hotel, not for the faint-hearted as it has a very steep climb up to the building itself, but the view from the pool area is stunning. Elounda Blu is far enough out of Elounda to be peaceful but close enough for a gentle after dinner stroll into town, where there are lots of great bars. Miakoda halfway down the coast road should not be missed, great Mexican food and excellent company. The best bits of the stay were Mondays, when Michael entertained. Acoustic guitar and then some fabulous reggae, very hard not to get up and dance. He also played at Miakoda on Thursdays and we made the effort to go there too. Not to be missed, and such a refreshing change from the kind of entertainment most hotels offer, boring and outdated, like a Greek version of Chas and Dave. Will be back!!

Room Tip: Away from the pool area and reception, but too high up and you'll need a donkey!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank catw0man55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

A great hotel, friendly staff, clean property throughout. Don't stay if you have any trouble walking though, as access to most of the rooms is via steep paths. On the other hand, great if you want a fantastic view of Elounda Bay and some peace and quiet! The setting for the hotel is good, the area feels safe and the hotel is located on a bus route, so visits to nearby towns and cities isn't an issue.
I hadn't stayed in a 'couples only' hotel before and it was lovely, though I'd plan to have some evenings away from the hotel if staying again to add some variety..
Make use of the spa as the treatments are well worth the money. The therapists there are better than many in London. Also, the private beach is really good and the sea is beautifully clear and good for swimming.
Overall, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Beeb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Visited for a week in October with my wife and two very good friends. The hotel was everything we expected and more, the staff were all friendly with one or two going the extra mile to ensure we had a great time (Natassa kept us in drinks all week!). Took a walk to Plaka with the idea of going to Spinalonga and on the way found a man offering speedboat trips, we arranged to go to Spinalonga and then be dropped at Plaka afterwards and this didn't cost any more than the larger boats! - Evening entertainment was varied and we met some wonderful people, in particular we enjoyed the Disco night as the DJ quickly found his target audience then kept the theme going for 3 hours, must admit to being a tad tired at the end of the night with so much dancing!! We were all inclusive but used the offer of a sandwich/bagette at the Beach Bar or Pool Bar instead of eating an additional meal, the food on offer was varied and every evening there was something for everyone's taste. Would I return - YES, Would I recommend - YES

Room Tip: We asked for 'lower rooms' as the hills are steep and I have asthma, the request was accepte...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Impey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Even before we arrived at the hotel we were overwhelmed with the views and weren't disappointed when we arrived. The view from our room was restricted by the neighbouring hotel but nonetheless we could see the sea and passing boats
The room was quite basic with completely blank walls which made the room feel a bit 'cold' and empty. This could easily be remedied by paintings
The staff were very accommodating most of the time. Poor Mary at the pool bar is overworked though and she needs help to run an efficient service. Restaurant staff were a little too keen to clear plates sometimes resulting in losing my supper! Hot drinks were heavily overpriced in our opinion. It often felt like we were paying for the all inclusive guests! Reception was well maintained and bar staff were pleasant and accommodating with our requests
Food was varied. The buffet was not varied enough and we returned to a very similar offering night after night. The lunch buffet is not worth going all inclusive for. It's like a sample of dinner dishes waiting for you.
Overall we had a lovely holiday and enjoyed the varied facilities. Perhaps a rethink on drink prices (steep spa prices too for that matter) and decor would push this hotel into the 'Outstanding' category.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bitdifferent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
0.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
1.0 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
430 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
1.8 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
707 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Elounda Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Elounda Blu

Address: Agia Paraskevi, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#12 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £71 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Elounda Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR JOURNEY BEGINS NOW New concept, new services, new design Sentido Elounda Blu ... four star hoteling reinvented The "Sentido Elounda Blu Hotel", is situated in the international renowned hot spot of Elounda. The Greek islands' architecture is evident throughout Elounda Blu with earth colors that blend with the Cretan environment. The area's stunning views of the gulf of Elounda, the traditional town of Elounda, and the medieval castle of "Spinalonga" create an idyllic surrounding for a relaxing holiday. In front of the resort lies a sandy and well protected from the streams beach, that offers various choices to keep you by the sea water. The emphasis on the area's natural riches and the resort's services create an environment that fashions a vacation that must be experienced by all. Sentido Elounda Blu is a redesigned hotel with a brand new adult only(16+) concept that promises to offer a relaxing ambiance, with elevated services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SENTIDO Elounda Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
SENTIDO Elounda Blu Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing