We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rose fingered dawn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Having read some reviews just before we left we were slightly nervous of what we might find when we arrived just after midnight. The rooms (adjoined family rooms) were basic but clean. Located near to reception was great for the pool but we did have to put up with early morning rumblings of deliveries vans and late night coaches.The staff were lovely and the cleaners- they worked tirelessly, particularly round the pool.
Food (3 of us are veggie/fish eaters) was good, with a different choice every day at dinner.
The games room was basic, air hockey and a table tennis table in a basement but if you could face the climb, the tennis court at the top was worth it for the views alone.The watersports on the beach were efficient, run by a group of delightful experts (not cheap though).
So all in all-2 happy teenagers + 2 relaxed adults = great holiday!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Benjikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,138 - 1,144 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Elounda Blue Bay in July 2008. We had a fantastic time. Very relaxing, exactly what we had wanted. The views from the hotel of Spinalonga are amazing. The rooms are clean and acceptable. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. We loved the standard of food in the hotel, we were in Egypt in February this year and the food was much better in the Elounda Blue Bay. The resort and hotel is quite expensive - more expensive that average Greece, but this may also be because of the poor exchange rate of the Euro. The restaurants and bars in the town are great, again expensive but well worth the standard of food. Overall we had a great holiday and would definitely return to Crete, Elounda and would recommend the Blue Bay Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleMissPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

This hotel was good, and really ticked all the boxes any regular holiday go-er would have - very clean, simple Greek room, comfortable, fabulous views of the Bay, private little balcony, good access to Elounda and Plaka. Pool ideal for lazy days reading a book and sipping a beer..... Breakfast absolutly fine and dinner, better than I had expected having never done a half board holiday before. We booked through Expedia and it was definitly worth paying the marginal supplement for a private transfer - who wants to wait around for a coach late at night when you arrive???!!! Very good hotel for the money. Go, enjoy the sunshine, wine is a bit toxic but beer good!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurenkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Ok, where to start really. My boyfriend and I travelled to Elounda in June. We arrived in Crete very early in the morning, and were transported to the hotel by coach, It was an absolute nightmare trying to get Thomas Cook to tell us what coach we needed to get, they shuttled us form one rep to another until we were given back to the first rep we saw and got a seat on a bus.
The first thing I can say is don't book through Thomas Cook if you can help it as their customer relations really isnt very good at all!

The coach journey to the hotel was pretty awful, it took 2 and a half hours to get there, we were the last drop off after about 20 others! Thankfully though, the coach driver did drive up the drive to the reception. The hill up to the hotel reception is horrendous, and we were glad we didnt have to drag our suitcases up it too!
The staff on reception were friendly and curteous.
Our room was alright, pretty average, but it was clean which was the most important thing. The bathroom however leaves much to be desired and the beds are very hard!

We were lucky enough to be given a room next to reception so we thought our view would be compromised. But we woke up the next morning and were amazed by the view out of our terrace, it was absolutely breath taking.

Breakfast at the hotel is pretty good, theres loads on offer and enough choice to satisfy everyone. The other meals however aren't as good. We found most of the food wasn't hot at all, the choice was abismal, and it took a very conscientious person to work out what the things are in the first place! The lunch menu at first glance seems great, however when you finally have your order taken and the food arrives, its pretty mediocre, and not nice at all.

Elounda itself is a lovely place, the town doesn't have much in it, but its nice if you're looking for a quiet week away. For a more authentic evening out, visit Plaka. Its got gorgeous views of Spinalonga and even more gorgeous fresh fish restaurants. Watch out though, they're very pricey!

Finally, the beach at the hotel is quite nice. We personally preferred it to the beach in the town as it was quieter, had lots more fish to view when you're snorkelling and the little watersports centre was great! if you want to visit Spinolonga without a tour guide, go with the guys from the centre on the beach, its cheaper than in the town and you get to ride a speedboat! they give you an hour on the island which is more than you need really.

Overall, Elounda is a very pretty place, its perfect to go for a quiet relaxed week away. The hotel isn't great at all. Its definitely not 4* as it says it is. The views however are stunning.

We enjoyed the week but wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RhianSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

I agree with everything kirstdav wrote. No way should this be a 4 star hotel, even by Greece's standards. We looked into things before we left, was aware of the steep hill, so requested a room not too high up. I'm so glad we did this. The standard of the room was very poor, the toilet was broken and the toilet seat kept falling off.

Drinks and snacks was overpriced. Staff was not very friendly except for the Cleaners who always smiled and said hello.

Elounda itself was a nice place and the walk down from the hotel to the centre was really nice. Ag nik was nearby and worth a visit, Plaka I thought was very disappointing.

I would recommend Elounda but I'm sure there's better hotels to stay at for the same price.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lewis710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Had a fabulous stay in Elounda at the Blue Bay Hotel. Nicely situated just out of town (so it was quiet at the hotel - the walk to town is maybe fifteen minutes on the trot, twenty to twenty five if you're strolling). The hotel has unbelievable views of the bay, Elounda and Spinalonga. A full on breakfast and dinner that was quite tasty (though, no one could eat that much food when it's so hot but it was nice to know it was there). Fabulous service and accommondatingly friendly staff all around, not only at reception but also breakfast/dinner wait service, barman and the cleaning staff was smiling and lovely. Indeed, the cleaning staff arranged our nightclothes (that we'd left strewn around) in creative folded ways that was a nice 'hello' when you got back to the room after exploring. Decent cocktails at happy hour. A well-stocked shop just across from reception with a very friendly proprietress. A beach at the bottom of the hill not a minute walk from the hotel which had water sports, Also a nicely laid out and clean pool area at the hotel with the same stunning views. The towels were lush (but bring your own beach towel for the pool). The rooms were dilligently clean. It wasn't exactly the height of luxury and a bit tired all around but you don't go to Elounda to hang out in your hotel room or the lobby. The beds are hard and they have weird times for breakfast and dinner (7:00 to 9:30 a.m. and p.m. which necessitated us having to set an alarm - on HOLIDAY!). We were two adults, needing two beds and they put us in a double room. We asked to change and they accommodated us within a few hours when a room was free, doing their best to make it convenient for us and putting us in a room with a huge bed and a tiny baby bed. We figured out the huge bed was two singles, pulled them apart and the maids kicked in and made our beds separately. By the end of the week, we'd chatted with the staff enough that we felt right at home. Don't be put off by the reviews of the steep hills up to and steps and around the hotel - yes, there is a steep hill and lots of steps but it is a VERY short hike up too the hotel and when you know what your view is like, you won't mind it OR the steps. Elounda itself is lovely, lots to do, nice shops, very friendly people, great food and a lively nightlife (but not THAT lively - lively enough to be fun but without any of the drunken fervor of some of the hot spots for younger folks). Definitely worth the meagre pennies it cost to stay at the Blue Bay and I'd go back in a FLASH.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitClevedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

My husband and I have just returned from 2 weeks at the Blue Bay hotel. We were a bit concerned by some of the reviews we had read before going but hoped we would have a better experience. We both tried very hard to like the hotel but by the end of the two weeks it just hit rock bottom in my estimation. The pluses are an absolutely fabulous location in terms of views and a wonderful lady called Bernie in the "spa" who gives great massages and reflexology!
Unfortunately though these good points were, for us, seriously outweighed by the poor service by nearly all the staff in the hotel who didn't seem to care if you were ok or not. The most irritating was the wine waiter in the restaurant who, unless you were ordering the terrible bottles of wine on offer for £15, pretty much couldn't be bothered to serve you a drink. The rooms were very basic and need updating (as does the rest of the hotel) with rock hard beds, the food is very basic and along the lines of canteen food and though you can get an ok salad this does become a bit repetitive so we ended up eating out most nights. The bar in the evening also has absolutely no atmosphere and so we would go into Elounda itself each evening which is quite a trek and it would have been nice to have been worth staying in the hotel some evenings.
Elounda itself is a lovely little resort with fabulous weather pretty much all through the holiday season. There are some lovely Taverna's and bars (Megaro's and Babel were our favourites) serving great food although beware that seafood is really expensive if you want fresh. It's about a 20 minute walk from the hotel along the coast which is quite pleasant and a taxi is only about five euros if you feel too lazy/hot.
While I would recommend the resort I really wouldn't recommend the hotel. It's not four stars and does not reflect it's website at all and I would suggest finding somewhere else to stay. As a final note I would also add that its at the top of a very very steep hill and all the bedrooms go up in levels into the mountain - some are a massive climb and so if you are not that able bodied you will struggle massively!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirstdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
23.2 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
268 reviews
102.1 mi away
Santa Marina Plaza
Santa Marina Plaza
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
437 reviews
2.2 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Elounda Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Elounda Blu

Address: Agia Paraskevi, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#3 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £57 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Elounda Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR JOURNEY BEGINS NOW New concept, new services, new design Sentido Elounda Blu ... four star hoteling reinvented The "Sentido Elounda Blu Hotel", is situated in the international renowned hot spot of Elounda. The Greek islands' architecture is evident throughout Elounda Blu with earth colors that blend with the Cretan environment. The area's stunning views of the gulf of Elounda, the traditional town of Elounda, and the medieval castle of "Spinalonga" create an idyllic surrounding for a relaxing holiday. In front of the resort lies a sandy and well protected from the streams beach, that offers various choices to keep you by the sea water. The emphasis on the area's natural riches and the resort's services create an environment that fashions a vacation that must be experienced by all. Sentido Elounda Blu is a redesigned hotel with a brand new adult only(16+) concept that promises to offer a relaxing ambiance, with elevated services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SENTIDO Elounda Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
SENTIDO Elounda Blu Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing