We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be put off!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENTIDO Elounda Blu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't be put off!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks-11th Sept- 25th Sept 2008.We have stayed in typically 4* hotels in Spain, Italy,Turkey,Madeira .etc ,so think we have a reasonable objective judgement of standards.Firstly, the hotel is not as bad as some of the reviews suggest and it is difficult to understand how anyone can call the food "vile" or the staff rude ,as neither is true.

Firstly ,the good points;the staff are extremely helpful, in Reception and the restaurant service is particularly efficient, the restaurant itself being airy inside and there is an outdoor area as well, with fantastic views.It is never a problem finding a table and nobody bosses you about.You can eat where you like.The food is very appetising-breakfast is the usual split between catering for those who like cold meats ,and the British taste for a hot breakfast--bacon ,eggs ,and so on. The bread is very varied and good.In the evening,there are salad dishes and hot dishes-fish and goulash-type meat dishes, with vegetables(aubergines etc) cooked greek-style. There is a special emphasis on fresh fruit. The selection of desserts ,though ,is very limited -ice-cream and a couple of sweet concoctions.The dinner does not cater for those who don't like salads/vegetables and who are expecting British style food (fish and chips,roast meat,sausages etc).This is probably the explanation for poor comments about the food.Everything is very well presented and the choice varies each night for the meats (chicken,pork,veal)

The views from the apartments,if you have a balcony ,are spectacular and the bedrooms are large,if somewhat spartan-rough concrete walls,painted white.There are T.V. , air-conditioning and an empty fridge ,which we found very useful, as there is no restriction by the hotel in bringing in your own wine etc.(this is much cheaper than buying drinks in the dining room which we felt was expensive.) The rooms are cleaned every day with towels and linen changed every two days.

The pool is saltwater but is very clean with plenty of sunbeds which are easy to access and again it has very striking views.

The hotel is extemely quiet ,as it is high up above the road running to Elounda ,which is a 20 minute walk along the seafront-a very pleasant walk. along a paved promenade.There is a bus stop virtually outside the hotel with buses going to Agious Nikolas regularly during the day.

Now for some of the "bad" points.

There is virtually no entertainment in the evenings ,only a "cretan"evening once every two Saturdays!. The bar area is off the main entrance-kind of open-plan-and totally lacks any atmosphere and there is constant very loud music ,which makes sitting in it an ordeal. Also there is no restriction on smoking. There are no other public areas at all,for example a lounge or Reading Room as in other hotels.One has to go into Elounda in the evenings and although the walk is pleasant going ,it is not so welcome coming back!! The buses stop running at 7.0 p.m. from Elounda . A taxi costs 5 Euros.The approach to the hotel is up an extremely steep driveway( 45 Degrees!) and there is a further equally arduous climb up to the apartments.This makes going to this hotel a definite no-no- to anyone who is physically unfit or infirm.This should be made clear in the brochure,which it is not at the moment.

The Manos brochure mentions a beach bar on the beach near the hotel,but this is just a small kiosk ,which shuts in the evening, so that's misleading too. The beach is small and shingly and there is a charge for sunbeds and umbrellas although it is the hotel's beach.There is no waiter service around the pool at the hotel itself.

The steep hill is also a very real problem on arrival,especially in the dark ,as there is no porterage service and one has to find one's own way up the hill and pull one's suitcases up too.We are fairly fit(in our 60's),but again this would be difficult (almost impossible) for anyone unfit or disabled. .

We found the bathroom rather small and antiquated ,with blackened grouting and tiles. Also, in Greece one is not allowed to put any toilet paper down the pan.There is a waste paper basket with a lid provided,but obviously this arrangement is not to everyone's liking!! We got round this by showering!!

We enjoyed our stay overall and would recommend it within the knowledge of the hotel's limitations The hotel though, can best be described as doing a good job with efficient staff , who have no say in its owner's policies.,but really it's in need of a total refurbishment. It is 3* at most ,but it's 4* status is presumably exaggerated by add-ons ,which are not really justified. For example ,the "gym" has equipment which is extremely basic,old, and there are wires attached to adaptors, trailing across the floor. We were told that the hotel is owned by an eminent Greek
surgeon .There is a magnificent new sister hotel( The Dome)at Plaka a mile away (5*)which he has just built,and he is intending to get round to the Blue Bay next!! We found two weeks a bit too long ,as there is a limited amount to do in the area without a car,but if you want a really relaxing holiday and are not expecting a luxury hotel it is ideal. It is unsuitable for anyone physically unfit,because of its elevated position or for anyone who wants a lively nightlife scene. Also, there is very little to recommend it to children--not even a play area ,although there is a small child's pool

We visited Plaka and Spinilonga, went on the two hour "train"journey--(This is a motorised "train"which runs regularly between Elounda and Plaka).We walked across the causeway to a small beach, went to Knossos( A bit disappointing if you have been to Ephesus or Pompeii.) The best trip was the Safari in Landrovers(book this at the shop in Elounda, not through your Rep as it is cheaper and they use the same vehicles and drivers!) Agios Nikolas is pleasant too.

I hope you find this useful! Guy/Myra Booth.Edinburgh

  • Liked — Clean bedroom,roomy.great view
  • Disliked — poor bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 6672340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    422
    151
    45
    16
See reviews for
90
973
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

We paid a fair amount for our holiday at the '4 star' Elounda blue bay hotel and were very disappointed when we arrived.

We had a very long journey and to be greeted with 2 sets of steep steps a 45 degree slope followed by 4 further sets of steps to get to our room (and drag our suitcases up) was not ideal. As we dragged the suitcases up we thought at least there will be a nice room waiting for us - how wrong we could be, room 521 was very basic (don't take any notice of the photos on their website - these are the superior rooms in the main part of the hotel), old wooden furniture, handles missing off drawers, tiny bathroom where the door only just clears the toilet and for the closing shot, an internal door (albeit locked) between ourselves and the room next door so we could hear every conversation etc.

We did indeed have a great view (the same view as you will see in pictures on the website)

The food wasn't amazing but it was nice and plenty of choice.
As Elounda is 1.2km away you have only the restaurant and snack bar or the little shop to get food from so very limited.

The slope up to the hotel was worse than that to our rooms.
We often past some english couples who were in the later years having to stop 2 or 3 times on their way up as it was such a struggle.
The beach was a private beach for the hotel and yet you still had to pay for sunbeds (6 euros for 2 beds and an umbrella)- regardless of this the beach is not great it is a mix between large pebbles and black grit, the water is clear which was nice.

Nearest good sandy beach was the other side of Agio Nico. Reception told us not to use the beach in Elounda itself as it was 'dirty'.
I would say that the staff in the restaurant and in the hotel are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are cleaned well.

Don't go here if you have leg or back problems/disabled/older as you won't manage the slopes and steps.

The ginger tom cat on site is friendly!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The accomodoation
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank harriet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elounda, Crete
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

We booked our holiday in January 2008, and were all very excited about our holiday, some of the reviews prior to our stay at Elounda Blue Bay could put you off, as they werent very positive, but we had a fantastic holiday . The Hotel was lovely, set into the cliff, and as we stepped out onto our balcony the view was breathtaking, and unforgettable. The staff were all very friendly espically at the snack bar and main bar. The food was authentic and tasty with a wide variety of choice, 100% better than wehave stayed at, at previous half board hotels. The rooms were spacious and traditonally greek, and the pool area was clean, and tidy and the beach was nice and quiet. Elounda itself was lovely and much bigger than expected. I would reccommend this hotel, and am sure we will return for another visit in the future!!!!

  • Liked — The amazing Views
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fififairy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2008

The hotel is situated about 20 minutes walk from Elounda, up a short steep driveway from the coastal road and is built on a hillside. Its location offers spectacular views of Elounda in one direction and the island of Spinalonga in the other. The bedrooms are situated in small blocks built up the hillside but only a few are accessible by the lift the rest are approached by sloping footpaths and steps.
The hotel was very clean and tidy with plenty of cleaning staff in evidence throughout the day.
The swimming pool was well maintained and the (salt) water was both clean and warm.
The receptionists, dining room staff and bar staff were very friendly and had incredibly good memories of the guests' requirements.
The beach at Blue Bay was quite small but accommodated sunbeds and umbrellas and various water sports could be enjoyed.

  • Liked — The views of the sea
  • Disliked — Steep paths to the bedrooms
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HeidiYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

We had a lovely holiday at the Elounda Blue Bay. It was a very steep incline even to the reception but the views are spectacular when you get to your room. The rooms are basic (but it is Greece) but very clean. The food was good with many choices and ALL the staff could not be more helpful and friendly. The Manager went out of his way to help us when we had a problem with our taxi to the airport. We would DEFINATELY go back there.

  • Liked — The nice friendly relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — The steep incline to get to the hotel and rooms DEFINATELY not for unfit people
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreecefanSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

Please reconsider if you're thinking of staying here! The food is overcooked and is worse than aeroplane's food and the outside eating area is surrounded with wasp traps and therefore wasps so you have to eat inside which has dreadful music playing very loudly (even in the morning), the staff are very unfriendly, apart from the cleaners and the manager, the pool showers are broken, our balcony door was broken (and we weren't the only ones with this problem - very scary and sleep depriving!) and the climb up to our room was 20 minutes and the hill is SERIOUSLY steep. I just know that for the same amount of money you can do a lot better than here, please look around. We might have been the exception but I don't think we were.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the broken balcony doors and tiny tiny TV
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Annabelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

Having read some reviews just before we left we were slightly nervous of what we might find when we arrived just after midnight. The rooms (adjoined family rooms) were basic but clean. Located near to reception was great for the pool but we did have to put up with early morning rumblings of deliveries vans and late night coaches.The staff were lovely and the cleaners- they worked tirelessly, particularly round the pool.
Food (3 of us are veggie/fish eaters) was good, with a different choice every day at dinner.
The games room was basic, air hockey and a table tennis table in a basement but if you could face the climb, the tennis court at the top was worth it for the views alone.The watersports on the beach were efficient, run by a group of delightful experts (not cheap though).
So all in all-2 happy teenagers + 2 relaxed adults = great holiday!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — small inaccessible bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
23.2 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 38 in Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
2.4 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#10 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Elounda Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Elounda Blu

Property: SENTIDO Elounda Blu
Address: Agia Paraskevi, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#12 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Elounda Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR JOURNEY BEGINS NOW New concept, new services, new design Sentido Elounda Blu ... four star hoteling reinvented The "Sentido Elounda Blu Hotel", is situated in the international renowned hot spot of Elounda. The Greek islands' architecture is evident throughout Elounda Blu with earth colors that blend with the Cretan environment. The area's stunning views of the gulf of Elounda, the traditional town of Elounda, and the medieval castle of "Spinalonga" create an idyllic surrounding for a relaxing holiday. In front of the resort lies a sandy and well protected from the streams beach, that offers various choices to keep you by the sea water. The emphasis on the area's natural riches and the resort's services create an environment that fashions a vacation that must be experienced by all. Sentido Elounda Blu is a redesigned hotel with a brand new adult only(16+) concept that promises to offer a relaxing ambiance, with elevated services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your SENTIDO Elounda Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
SENTIDO Elounda Blu Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing