We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place and beau views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
devon
1 review
“amazing place and beau views!”
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Elounda Blue Bay in Aug 08, i have been to crete a few times before (malia and ag nik) and felt that it would be nice to stay in a quiter part. Elounda is very quite along with plaka, but we hired a car for a few days which was very cheap. the receptionists were quite happy to help sort this out for us. By renting a car we were able to go to ag nik to the water parks which are so fun i have been to both of the big ones and would say water city is the best. drive into the mountains to the small villages which have wounderful veiws. However getting a cheap litle atos up that hill was a struggle but alot of fun! our room was right at the top of the resort which was fine for us at only 18 and 21 but i can see how older people could find it difficult as a full belly did make it harder. But the higher the room the better the view!
The beach is great to with a selection of activities to do we hired a pedalo which was lovely and also got taken out on a blow up thingy magigy! and for 5 euros you can get a boat ride to spinalonga i have been there befor but it was amazing to see it again (i would also recomend you read "the island" while you are there)
Now our room was nothing to shout about, medium sized, bathroom was abit messy but it satisfied our needs as a place to sleep and cool off. for those that spend their holidays in their hotel rooms then dont go here but you will pay more and lose the views. We ate out most nights with great resturants in elounda but the food in the hotel is fine is you just want to have a cold bite to eat! The walk to and from elounda is lovely at night the sound of the sea and the breeze. The staff were lovely and always cleaning. the pool was spotless i woke up early a few days and found them cleaning the pool every morning. all in all i think that Elounda Blue Bay is a lovely hotel that is 100% creten and a great holiday.

  • Liked — air con (FREE)
  • Disliked — flys
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippa12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    451
    159
    51
    16
See reviews for
100
1,083
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Fantastic holiday. The hotel is definitely a Cretan 4* so don't expect luxury, but if you want clean, friendly with the most outstanding views this is the place to come.

The staff were friendly and accommodating; the rooms, pool and poolside were spotless and the food extensive.

After all the talk of the 'steep hill' I was expecting a 20 minute climb to the hotel. completely untrue. The walk into Elounda is all completely flat next to the beach. the only hill is the driveway up to the hotel; yes it is steep but very short, I'm relatively fit but it took only 2-3 minutes to walk from the beach to the reception. It is a further climb if you stay in a room which is higher up but all of the rooms have a balcony and face out into the bay and the view is so stunning it is definitely worth it. If you have limited mobility just request a room lower down which is accessible by lift.

Elounda is gorgeous and Agios Nickolos is lovely too. Both are easily accessible by bus from right outside the hotel.

Hiring a car is easy and cheap: about £30 a day for a small car. we explored for a couple of days which was easy to do.

The biggest negative of the holiday was that they stopped serving breakfast at 9.30am. I am not a morning person and was here to relax, so having to set a morning alarm wasn't fun, but everything else was great and i wouldn't hesitate to come back.

PS. don't book your holiday through the Flight Centre. they book you no transfers and don't even let you know resulting in a £50 taxi ride each way!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the 9.30am finishing time for breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PRprofessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

The Elounda Blue Bay is an absolute joke and if you have booked to go to this hotel I would strongly recommend to cancel your booking as soon as possiable. The 4 star rating must of been obtained by some friendly gesture to the inspecter as ive stayed in far better 2 stars!!! But why do i detest this hotel so much? I shall state all the ordeals me and my friend went through.

The Room: The rooms are tiny, even including the bathroom! The balcony are anything but how they appear on the brosure, ours was unclean with a small table and chairs. The bathrooms were tiny you couldnt fit 2 people inside even if you wanted too and the bath... Unless you can fit inside a bath thats 3ft long and 3ft wide then I wouldnt even think about it. Upon arival our AirCon was broken and was leaking all over the electrics and after 2 false promises we finally was able to get someone up to look at it only to be told they couldnt fix it and they werent able to get it repaired because it was the last week of the season? No kettle, tiny tv and poor lighting. The bed is really hard aswell and I got a alergic reaction from the soap they use to clean the sheets.

The hotel itself: The reception area was keeped clean and looked nice however the same could not be said for the pool area. The pool is salt water and is not heated, and in 27 degrees the pool is STILL too cold to stay in for long. The pool was full of leaves / dead insects and was never cleaned. The hotel is ontop of a hill which at one point you wanna get on your hands and knees to climb, however you can get taxis to and from Elounda for 5 euros per way. The food? Cold, cardbored tasting and just so blant. The food is so horriable we ate out into elounda everynight no matter how tired we were.

The Staff: The reception staff are nice and helpful except the night man, who was asleep in the bar on the sofa when he was supposed to give us a wake up call / early breakfast! (We nicknamed him Manwell). The dining hall staff are unfriendly and never once have a smile on their face, no matter how nice you are to them. Infact, because I went on holiday with my best friend they assumed we were lesbians and gave us horriable looks! The Cheek! Were not lesbians but anyone from the gay community should stay far away from this hotel as you will be extremly offended by the staffs attitude.

The only good thing I will say is that the views were stunning. However was it worth the stay? No. Elounda itself is a lovely village and i would recommend it to anyone - Just dont stay in the Blue Bay as your holiday will be ruined.

  • Liked — The Views
  • Disliked — Everything else!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Meepmeep64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2008

We have just returned from our 2 week honeymoon which we spent at the Elounda Blue Bay. Having read some reviews prior to going away we were a little apprehensive as some had been very critical. We arrived in the early hours of the morning, following a transfer from Heraklion, which was not as bad as we had expected - it took probably an hour and a half and we had a fantastic bus and driver.
We were greeted at reception by a friendly porter who very clearly showed us where our room was situated, room 108, close to the main hotel itself.
The room we thought was quite good, probably not 4 * but certainly the best room we have ever had in Greece and the most important thing was that it was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was good. Also we had a lovely bottle of wine and a massive basket of fruit and flowers awaiting us.
After a few hours sleep we woke up to the most fantastic view from our balcony, which was one of the things that makes it an unforgettable holiday. The view to Spinalonga from our room was breathtaking.
The amazing views continued around the pool where we easily got sun loungers and enjoyed the beautiful weather.
Staff were friendly, although the hotel was lacking a member of the team with a lively personality who might have been able to get things going a bit better. But they were all very polite and pleased to help.
The food at the hotel was good, although the snack bar and drinks a little pricey - we had expected this though. The food in the restaurant was good but we preferred to sample the local food in the village which was always excellent.
The walk to Elounda was fabulous and it was not far at all, in fact it was very pleasant and we walked into the town usually 2 times a day. Taxi's were reasonable and handy late on at night after a few cocktails!
Bars in the village were brilliant, particularly would recomment Babel, where the staff were very friendly and went out of there way to accomodate their customers - they were lovely and we spent most nights there drinking cocktails.
Elounda was a lovely resort, small and friendly but with enough to look around. We had 2 weeks there and didn't go on any trips (except to Spinalonga which was well worth it) but were not bored at all.
Overall this was an amazing holiday (and honeymoon) and we were not in the slightest bit disappointed. I can understand why some people feel a little disappointed by the accomodation but it is not a bad hotel, it just lacked a bit of atmosphere. And the views more than make up for any of these things. It was clean and people were friendly and we would go back again tomorrow!

  • Liked — amazing views
  • Disliked — lack of atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank loobylou15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks-11th Sept- 25th Sept 2008.We have stayed in typically 4* hotels in Spain, Italy,Turkey,Madeira .etc ,so think we have a reasonable objective judgement of standards.Firstly, the hotel is not as bad as some of the reviews suggest and it is difficult to understand how anyone can call the food "vile" or the staff rude ,as neither is true.

Firstly ,the good points;the staff are extremely helpful, in Reception and the restaurant service is particularly efficient, the restaurant itself being airy inside and there is an outdoor area as well, with fantastic views.It is never a problem finding a table and nobody bosses you about.You can eat where you like.The food is very appetising-breakfast is the usual split between catering for those who like cold meats ,and the British taste for a hot breakfast--bacon ,eggs ,and so on. The bread is very varied and good.In the evening,there are salad dishes and hot dishes-fish and goulash-type meat dishes, with vegetables(aubergines etc) cooked greek-style. There is a special emphasis on fresh fruit. The selection of desserts ,though ,is very limited -ice-cream and a couple of sweet concoctions.The dinner does not cater for those who don't like salads/vegetables and who are expecting British style food (fish and chips,roast meat,sausages etc).This is probably the explanation for poor comments about the food.Everything is very well presented and the choice varies each night for the meats (chicken,pork,veal)

The views from the apartments,if you have a balcony ,are spectacular and the bedrooms are large,if somewhat spartan-rough concrete walls,painted white.There are T.V. , air-conditioning and an empty fridge ,which we found very useful, as there is no restriction by the hotel in bringing in your own wine etc.(this is much cheaper than buying drinks in the dining room which we felt was expensive.) The rooms are cleaned every day with towels and linen changed every two days.

The pool is saltwater but is very clean with plenty of sunbeds which are easy to access and again it has very striking views.

The hotel is extemely quiet ,as it is high up above the road running to Elounda ,which is a 20 minute walk along the seafront-a very pleasant walk. along a paved promenade.There is a bus stop virtually outside the hotel with buses going to Agious Nikolas regularly during the day.

Now for some of the "bad" points.

There is virtually no entertainment in the evenings ,only a "cretan"evening once every two Saturdays!. The bar area is off the main entrance-kind of open-plan-and totally lacks any atmosphere and there is constant very loud music ,which makes sitting in it an ordeal. Also there is no restriction on smoking. There are no other public areas at all,for example a lounge or Reading Room as in other hotels.One has to go into Elounda in the evenings and although the walk is pleasant going ,it is not so welcome coming back!! The buses stop running at 7.0 p.m. from Elounda . A taxi costs 5 Euros.The approach to the hotel is up an extremely steep driveway( 45 Degrees!) and there is a further equally arduous climb up to the apartments.This makes going to this hotel a definite no-no- to anyone who is physically unfit or infirm.This should be made clear in the brochure,which it is not at the moment.

The Manos brochure mentions a beach bar on the beach near the hotel,but this is just a small kiosk ,which shuts in the evening, so that's misleading too. The beach is small and shingly and there is a charge for sunbeds and umbrellas although it is the hotel's beach.There is no waiter service around the pool at the hotel itself.

The steep hill is also a very real problem on arrival,especially in the dark ,as there is no porterage service and one has to find one's own way up the hill and pull one's suitcases up too.We are fairly fit(in our 60's),but again this would be difficult (almost impossible) for anyone unfit or disabled. .

We found the bathroom rather small and antiquated ,with blackened grouting and tiles. Also, in Greece one is not allowed to put any toilet paper down the pan.There is a waste paper basket with a lid provided,but obviously this arrangement is not to everyone's liking!! We got round this by showering!!

We enjoyed our stay overall and would recommend it within the knowledge of the hotel's limitations The hotel though, can best be described as doing a good job with efficient staff , who have no say in its owner's policies.,but really it's in need of a total refurbishment. It is 3* at most ,but it's 4* status is presumably exaggerated by add-ons ,which are not really justified. For example ,the "gym" has equipment which is extremely basic,old, and there are wires attached to adaptors, trailing across the floor. We were told that the hotel is owned by an eminent Greek
surgeon .There is a magnificent new sister hotel( The Dome)at Plaka a mile away (5*)which he has just built,and he is intending to get round to the Blue Bay next!! We found two weeks a bit too long ,as there is a limited amount to do in the area without a car,but if you want a really relaxing holiday and are not expecting a luxury hotel it is ideal. It is unsuitable for anyone physically unfit,because of its elevated position or for anyone who wants a lively nightlife scene. Also, there is very little to recommend it to children--not even a play area ,although there is a small child's pool

We visited Plaka and Spinilonga, went on the two hour "train"journey--(This is a motorised "train"which runs regularly between Elounda and Plaka).We walked across the causeway to a small beach, went to Knossos( A bit disappointing if you have been to Ephesus or Pompeii.) The best trip was the Safari in Landrovers(book this at the shop in Elounda, not through your Rep as it is cheaper and they use the same vehicles and drivers!) Agios Nikolas is pleasant too.

I hope you find this useful! Guy/Myra Booth.Edinburgh

  • Liked — Clean bedroom,roomy.great view
  • Disliked — poor bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 6672340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We paid a fair amount for our holiday at the '4 star' Elounda blue bay hotel and were very disappointed when we arrived.

We had a very long journey and to be greeted with 2 sets of steep steps a 45 degree slope followed by 4 further sets of steps to get to our room (and drag our suitcases up) was not ideal. As we dragged the suitcases up we thought at least there will be a nice room waiting for us - how wrong we could be, room 521 was very basic (don't take any notice of the photos on their website - these are the superior rooms in the main part of the hotel), old wooden furniture, handles missing off drawers, tiny bathroom where the door only just clears the toilet and for the closing shot, an internal door (albeit locked) between ourselves and the room next door so we could hear every conversation etc.

We did indeed have a great view (the same view as you will see in pictures on the website)

The food wasn't amazing but it was nice and plenty of choice.
As Elounda is 1.2km away you have only the restaurant and snack bar or the little shop to get food from so very limited.

The slope up to the hotel was worse than that to our rooms.
We often past some english couples who were in the later years having to stop 2 or 3 times on their way up as it was such a struggle.
The beach was a private beach for the hotel and yet you still had to pay for sunbeds (6 euros for 2 beds and an umbrella)- regardless of this the beach is not great it is a mix between large pebbles and black grit, the water is clear which was nice.

Nearest good sandy beach was the other side of Agio Nico. Reception told us not to use the beach in Elounda itself as it was 'dirty'.
I would say that the staff in the restaurant and in the hotel are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are cleaned well.

Don't go here if you have leg or back problems/disabled/older as you won't manage the slopes and steps.

The ginger tom cat on site is friendly!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The accomodoation
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank harriet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elounda, Crete
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We booked our holiday in January 2008, and were all very excited about our holiday, some of the reviews prior to our stay at Elounda Blue Bay could put you off, as they werent very positive, but we had a fantastic holiday . The Hotel was lovely, set into the cliff, and as we stepped out onto our balcony the view was breathtaking, and unforgettable. The staff were all very friendly espically at the snack bar and main bar. The food was authentic and tasty with a wide variety of choice, 100% better than wehave stayed at, at previous half board hotels. The rooms were spacious and traditonally greek, and the pool area was clean, and tidy and the beach was nice and quiet. Elounda itself was lovely and much bigger than expected. I would reccommend this hotel, and am sure we will return for another visit in the future!!!!

  • Liked — The amazing Views
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fififairy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
1.0 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
412 reviews
2.1 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
685 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
227 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Elounda Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Elounda Blu

Property: SENTIDO Elounda Blu
Address: Agia Paraskevi, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#6 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#12 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Elounda Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR JOURNEY BEGINS NOW New concept, new services, new design Sentido Elounda Blu ... four star hoteling reinvented The "Sentido Elounda Blu Hotel", is situated in the international renowned hot spot of Elounda. The Greek islands' architecture is evident throughout Elounda Blu with earth colors that blend with the Cretan environment. The area's stunning views of the gulf of Elounda, the traditional town of Elounda, and the medieval castle of "Spinalonga" create an idyllic surrounding for a relaxing holiday. In front of the resort lies a sandy and well protected from the streams beach, that offers various choices to keep you by the sea water. The emphasis on the area's natural riches and the resort's services create an environment that fashions a vacation that must be experienced by all. Sentido Elounda Blu is a redesigned hotel with a brand new adult only(16+) concept that promises to offer a relaxing ambiance, with elevated services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your SENTIDO Elounda Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
SENTIDO Elounda Blu Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing