We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of a dream!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were absolutely ecstatic. The welcome was warm, the service unparalleled, the superior spa villa in which we stayed - something I couldn't have dreamed up. Immediately upon opening the gate to the personal villa, complete with sauna, steam room, personal pool and jacuzzi, treadmill, weights, bike...we knew that our three days for our honeymoon had been made. The staff left nothing to be desierd. The food, absolutely wonderful. Room service and personal lunches on the terrace will be a memory I'll keep for a lifetime. I left feeling relaxed, tanned, fresh, and ready to start our new life as a married couple. I STRONGLY recommend Elounda to anyone who has any doubts as to where to stay while visiting Crete. I can't wait for our anniversaries as we plan to come back! And in the future with the little ones :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moustakas, Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor and for sharing your lovely photos.
We are delighted that you had a great honeymoon stay with us in one of our Deluxe Spa Pool Villas! We wish you all the best for your new life and we look forward to welcoming you back,

Best Regards
Aris Moustakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

Having just returned back to our home in Chania I felt compelled to write immediately about our stay at the Elounda Gulf Villas.We were celebrating a special event for us,and from the beginning we were treated like royalty.Upon booking I did mention that it was a special occasion,but never did I expect to see a bottle of very expensive and complimentary,champagne,chilled and waiting for us upon arrival in our suite.Thank you so much.Our suite was not a far walk from reception,where we were greeted by the most warm and friendly Louise,Katerina and Julie who could not do enough for us,but that was not enough,a buggy took us to our suite and our luggage arrived no more than 5 mins later.Attention to detail has no boundaries at Elounda Gulf.Our suite was to say the least amazing with maid service and clean linen every day,even though our stay was only for 3 nights.We enjoyed dining at the Argo Restaurant and have to say it was a gastronomic delight.I feel a special mention needs to be made to the more than attentive staff who attended to us throughout our stay.Firstly Clio who works the day shift whose infectious smile brought a wonderful start too our day and nothing was too much trouble and taught us that our OUZO's always have to be accompanied by a meze.Thank you we will always remember this,and the world needs more people like Clio.And to Yannis,thank you too.Also to our evening bartender,who wore black,but can't remember his name we thank you and if you are ever in Chorafkia come and find us.Elounda Gulf Villas is an amazing place for anyone to visit within easy travelling distance of the lovely town of Elounda with it's lovely local tavernas,harbour and shops,maybe a car might be necessary sometimes.There is not a lot more to say now,apart from thank you to all concerned at Elounda Gulf Villas who gave us the most pleasurable and enjoyable time and I apologise now for anyone who I might have missed out in our thanks,but we will return soon to see you again.Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Alexandros Suite which had one double bedroom with en-suite bathroom a bath and sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moustakas, Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you chose Elounda Gulf Villas for the celebration of your 30th Wedding Anniversary and we are all so happy that you had a memorable stay with us!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us in Tripadvisor and letting others know.
We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcome you back in our boutique Villa-Hotel,

Best Regards
Aris Moustakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We returned to Elounda Gulf Villas and found it as magical as ever. The location and villas are stunning. The restaurant service was excellent. Food could not be faulted. And the staff make everyone feel at home.

Room Tip: If staying in a villa the size of pools and the outlook varies so do make sure that you choose the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moustakas, Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Mrs. Louise,

It is indeed a great honor for us to have you, returning guest of us, back at the Elounda Gulf Villas this May!

We are all so happy you enjoyed your return stay with us and we greatly thank you for sharing your experience with us at Trip Advisor web site!

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Best regards from Elounda,
Aris Moustakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We treated ourselves to a week's luxury in one of the "basic" suites and couldn't really have wished for a better result (occasional weather notwithstanding). Beautiful, spacious room, nice quiet pool area next to the restaurant, and friendly staff throughout.

Our visit was out of the main season so we were not able to sample both restaurants, which was initially a little disappointing as this was not mentioned anywhere in advance, however in addition to all of the great local tavernas the main Argo restaurant in the hotel does offer fantastic food (and excellent wine) so really we had no complaints.

Not cheap, but still excellent value, we would definitely consider a return here next time we have saved up for a holiday splurge.

Room Tip: We had a quick look around one of the "basic" villas before leaving and this looked great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moustakas, Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for the time you devoted to share your experience at our boutique Villa-Hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and our Suites were up to your expectations and beyond! We will be more happy to welcome you back in the future,

Best Regards
Aris Moustakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Never before have I written on Trip Advisor but having returned from the most amazing ten day holiday I felt compelled to write as this place really deserves a special mention.
As a recently married couple my husband and I were looking for a honeymoon destination that would allow us to feel secluded but would also allow us to not be too far removed if we chose not to be. The Elounda Gulf Villas could not have been more perfect.
With the exception of the cows in the field opposite we were the first guests of the season. We arrived to be greeted by the lovely friendly Louisa who could not have been more accommodating and helpful, this continued throughout our stay whereby we were advised of places to visit and things to see. We were shown to our suite and greeted by a complimentary bottle of champagne which was really appreciated after a busy few weeks and to a suite fit for a king and queen, we could not have been happier.
The suites are ample in size, the décor is extremely tasteful and the bed was amazing complimented further by clean sheets on a daily basis. We also had the most amazing view of the sea from our balcony. The infinity pool allocated to the suites overlooking the sea was idyllic and never crowded and we were thoroughly spoilt throughout the day by the extremely friendly restaurant staff who could not have been more accommodating. Cleo, who works the day shift deserves a special mention, possibly one of THE most delightful people to have ever met, we wanted to steal her and bring her back to England! There should be more people like her in this world, she is infectious, nothing was too much trouble and we were always greeted by her beautiful smile.
The food in the Argo restaurant is to another level all credit to the chefs and the meals that we had here were amongst the best that we have ever eaten. We also spent many nights propping up the bar where we met the equally delightful Christos, what a thoroughly marvellous guy not to mention the most fantastic cocktail maker; we very much miss our time with him now that we are home. We visited the island of Spinalonga and would definitely recommend the tour operated from Babel bar in the centre of Elounda. Victor the tour guide is the most compelling story teller and had all four of us on his tour in tears his story was so touching. Plaka is also a must for an evening meal, the views of Spinalonga from here are spectacular.

All in all, we could not fault this place, the staff in particular, just flawless. There are comments in relation to the WIFI however we did not have any issues with this; we found it to be very effective.

On behalf of us both, thank you all at Elounda Gulf Villas for making our honeymoon so special. We would love to return next year… maybe with a new addition!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moustakas, Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you so much for your great review on Tripadvisor! We are delighted to have you as our first guests of the season and we are all so happy that you had a memorable honeymoon! Thank you for your wonderful comments for our staff. We will be more than delighted to welcome you back next year for your anniversary! And as you say ...with an addition!!!
Wishing you all the best for your married life and look forward to welcom you back!

Best Regards
Aris Moustakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

first class service, stunning views, superb accommodation and excellent food. O and the barman makes a mean mohito too! This is heaven on earth. If you need to relax and unwind, be pampered and spoilt then I dont think there is a better place! Plenty to do in the local area too (if you can tear yourself away from your sunbed) although a trip to spinalongha is an absolute must. I was a lone traveller on this occassion (my children havent forgiven me yet!) but I never felt uncomfortable or conspicuous. I was surprised that most of my fellow guests were English too. I saw a comment about the wifi being slow - I also worked, albeit reluctantly, but found the wifi to be excellent in both the villa and the public areas. I was lucky enough to stay in a presidential spa villa with my own private pool, however the main pool was never crowded (this is for the suites) and I would have been as happy to use this. The food also deserves a mention, both the breakfast and the evening meal were fine dining indeed.
What more can I say? If you are looking for an amazing holiday then dont hesitate to book! I for one will be looking to return next year with my family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moustakas, Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our Presidential Spa Pool as well as the views over our hotel and the mean mojito of our barman! We thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back with your family next time. No need to wait for next year, we would be so happy to welcome you back this season!

Kind regards
Aris Moustakas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at this excellent hotel for the first time in 2009 and since then wevisit every summer.The last summer we took my parents with us so they booked one suite nad my family as usualy one villa with private pool. All the rooms of the villa are bright,big and the pool area has stunning sea view. We choose Elounda Gulf villas for our summer holidays because offers real luxury and quiet atmoshere with excellent services. The staff is always happy and smiley especial Clio in the breakfast time ,Ilove Clio is so sweet. The food at Argo restaurant is very good and at Dafni is realy excellant. The wine list includes a lot of Greek wines with good value for maney. The only negative coments I hacve to mention is the low speed of wi fi . My husbent complains about it because he works during the holidays .We have book our villa Limnes for the comming summer , our children are very happy , they are fund of the private swimming pool of the villa.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raluca r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moustakas, Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a review on Tripadvisor.
We are delighetd that you and your family had a lovely stay with us in August and you liked the Villa and the Suite you were allocated. We are sorry that wi-fi was not up to your expectations, we are working on the network and during your forthcoming stay it will indeed be quicker. We look forward to welcoming you back in our Pool Villa Limnes this summer.

Best Regards
Aris Moustakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.5 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
0.8 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
3.7 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Elounda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £149 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Gulf Villas Hotel Elounda
Elounda Gulf Hotel
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing