We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a 10th anniversary indulgence at the Elounda Gulf Villas and Suites. We may never recover from the sheer beauty of the hotel and the efficiency of service. We would go back in a flash. We had initially booked a suite, hoping for a sea view. When we arrived close to twilight, we were taken to an upgraded suite, a lovely two-bedroom unit, beautifully furnished with 2 large bathrooms, tasteful details, and a welome tray of wine and fresh fruit. We were happy, but somewhat concerned about the less than efficient air conditioning that didn't seem to offset the punishing Greek sun. We discovered the next day that we had set the air conditioning incorrectly. Our first morning at the communal pool--well designed, set in front of the bar and restaurant at the end of a large patio--the manager approached to greet us. Asking if we were happy we eagerly said yes, and then inquired where the best beaches in the area might be. He then offered to upgrade us yet again, this time to one of their superior spa villas, with its own private pool. His point was that once ensconced we would never desire to leave for a beach. He was right. Staggered by this gesture of hospitality, we moved up the hill. Our two-story villa included a steam room, gym, large open bathroom, jacuzzi, sauna, lovely furnishings, and so on. The pool area itself was nothing short of spectacular--overlooking the gulf and the Elounda coastline, with the sun and sea spread out before us as if we were the gods themselves. Service was impeccable. We ate our breakfast outdoors every morning on a beautifully prepared table by our pool--white linens, fresh roses, lovely stemware, baskets of fresh pastries, juices, a newspaper delivered daily... every conceivable need was met with grace and courtesy. We felt pampered, lucky, and deeply appreciative of the opportunity to celebrate our happiness in such surrounds. We dined at the poolside restaurant three times, each time being treated with superb food and gracious service by the charming wait staff. We travel a fair bit and like to pamper ourselves, but this Cretan visit was by far the most luxurious and wonderful of all our experiences to date. One visitor on this site has complained about the view from the communal pool. Although the view is somewhat marred by a relatively unattractive hotel below, as well as by telephone poles, the setting is still wonderful, and the sea quite in evidence. Best of all is that everywhere on the grounds you can feel a quiet, elegant dignity that calms you right down. Thanks to all the staff and especially to Aris Moustakis, the hotel manager, for overseeing our visit with such generosity. You are running a great destination and we hope to return sometime soon.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank Raisinbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2008

We stayed here for one week. We had booked a suite, but were quite disappointed that it had no sea view, even though the furnishing and equipment were first class, We did look at another suite but were then offered a villa at a further 100 euros per day. We took this and did not regret it. The accommodation had a brilliant view over the bay and a super small pool.

As has been said before the staff were excellent and could not have done more to make our stay comfortable. The service at breakfast and the quality of the food was very good,.

The buggies to take one up the steep hill to our villa were always available and the staff at reception were always very helpful and professional.

Taxis were always needed to visit the town and this could sometimes be a bit of a pain. We did like the town which was quite lively and had good restaurants. We preferred it to 'Ag Nic'.

Really the summing up says that this is top-class accommodation but you must spend enough to experience the villas rather than the suites.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lacolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Why 2 stars?

If you like to be secluded with some friends in a beautiful villa, this place could be for you. The villas are placed high on the hill with beautiful views. Room Service and food are OK, but not great.

If you want to be part of the group scene at the community pool, I would think again. The community pool is much lower with views that leave one speechless with shock. The view features telephone poles with lots of wiring, an average hotel in front and a construction site on the side (check out the photos that we posted). If pristine views are important to you, I wouldn't recommend it. Of course, their brochure only shows the view from the villas and not the nightmare below.

For my wife and I, this holiday was an expensive disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ac838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

We booked these villas as we wanted something special which was 'child friendly' as we travelled with our 4 year old daughter and baby of 8-months. The write-ups and brochures were misleading in that the villa we received was what I would class as shabby chic. The smallbone kitchen that I read in one article might be in one of their villas, but it certainly wasn't in ours... think more caravan kitchen!

The outside area was great and the pool perfect for gazing to sea, however we had a very excitable 4 year old who was singing in the pool and our not very nice neighbor shouted very rudely to shut her up. No pre-warning just a deluge of abuse (couldn't see him). She stopped when we asked her to be a little quieter, but we then got a call from reception to keep the children 'quite'... NOT A CHILD FRIENDLY PLACE. Our daughter then asked if it was ok to speak as the yelling had frightened her.

The bedrooms were again visably ok to look at but distressed. The one thing that really annoyed me was that there was no blackout blinds in our bedroom, therefore if we were not woken by the baby it was the bright sun shining through the flimsy curtains.

The bathroom had a hand held shower over the bath but no wall attachment so that you could shower comfortably.

The restaurant is small and although the waiters were pleasant they constantly needed reminding of things we'd ordered. We therefore opted for a lot of room service and on two occasions the waiters dropped things, leaving shards of glass around the pool area and in the living area... not good when you have little ones running around bare feet.

These villas are on a hill and you can be ferried up the hill to your villa via golf buggies from reception / restaurant. Taxi into town is only 5 mins but all the drivers we got were rude. The grocery store was packed with tourists (and locals) and in the extreme heat with 2 children it was NOT fun. Not a lot to do in the town of Elounda and it's quite basic, not glam. The beach was ok.

I am not usually one to complain about much but for the money paid for a week I expect a lot more from a small luxury hotel.
The one saving grace of this hotel was the views, and yes you get what you see in the brochure.

I wrote a complaint letter to the manager but no reply, just goes to show you how much they want your money but don't want to give you anything in return.

Won't be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mandy-must-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2007

This is a little gem. Small, relaxed and the staff are very professional and pleasant. Strongly recommended, it really is a place to just sit back and relax. Enjoy.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank cresswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2007

Back from our trip to Crete, we really enjoyed the Villas. Actually, because we are now the lucky parents of a 13-month old girl, we found this real escape from all the tourists area (even if Crete seems to be no longer "touristy" in the Fall).
The hotel staff is just great and always (I mean always) helpful and willing to insure you a pleasant stay. As we had some specific needs for our daughter, such as stair-doors specific meals some protections from the pool, everything was organized to make us feel comfortable.
The villas are very comfortable even if the furnishes are just average: tv, sofa, kitchen, bedroom... Nevertheless, the quality-price ratio is just great and, despite the real lack of access to a beach, we'll definitely stay there next time we fly to Crete.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank florent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2007

If like me, you regularly travel to out of the way places in Greece, stay ing in small b&bs or renting a room, this is a complete but welcome contrast (though of course you pay, accordingly!)

You get a choice of either a suite or villa. Travelling on my own, I chose a suite, which was probably about the same size as my small flat in London! It had a good size living/dining room with a 3 seater sofa, round table and dining chairs, TV, CD and DVD players (DVDs are available from reception). A really good feature was the small and discrete (hidden in a sort of cupboard/dresser) kitchenette with fridge, microwave and basic crockery and cutlery. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable. Off the bedroom was a dressing room, which incorporated plenty of clothes storage and an iron/ironing board, spare pillows, drying rack and luggage storage space. Really well thought out and I now want one at home too!. The bathroom was up a couple of steps at one end of the bedroom - fine for me on my own but a shy couple or friends who don't want to know each other that intimately might find it necessary to negotiate turns when the other party is in the living room! That said the bathroom facilities were about as complete as you could want - a bath with whirlpool feature, separate walk-in and very spacious shower, WC and two hand basins. Lots of fluffy white towels, plus robes and slippers and nice (and generous amounts) of shampoo, shower gel etc. Finally I had a lovely private terrace though some upper floor suites just had balconies which were smaller. The villas are set higher up on the hill and each have their own infinity pool and jacuzzi. Committed smokers should note that you are not allowed to smoke in the suites or villas though you can on the terrace/balcony.

The hotel has a lovely infinity pool, though the view down into the Bay of Mirabello is partially obscured by the hotel down the hill. There are comfortable loungers and a ready supply of towels and the pool area is backed by the bar and restaurant The restaurant menu has a wide range of choices though it is largely "international" cuisine rather than Greek. I didn't have a bad meal but neither did I have an outstanding one. Room service was particularly good; they quote 20-30 minutes but I never waited more than 15 and not only do they bring your food but proper linen tablecloths and napkins and will lay up your dining table if you wish to eat formally.

As to the hotel itself it is located a few kilometres outside and above Elounda, amongst a cluster of similarly upmarket but much larger hotels. It's about 20 minutes walk down into Elounda, though rather more back as it is uphill some of the way! Taxis charge a reasonable and fixed price though and are plentiful from the taxi rank in the centre of the town. There is also a bus service with a stop just above the hotel (ask for Porto Elounda stop).

The area itself is not the best of Crete, with some over-developed resorts along the coast and the consequent loss of "Greekness". The scenery is also less interesting than the western side of the island. However, this hotel is well worth the trip if you want a little touch of luxury but don't want to be a number in a larger and more impersonal place.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Greekophile13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.5 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
0.8 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
3.7 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Elounda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £200 - £760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Gulf Villas Hotel Elounda
Elounda Gulf Hotel
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing