We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing, not much atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2008

My partner and I have just returned from a week's holiday staying in Suite Andromeda.

We arrived via private transfer very late at night to find a welcome pack in our room consisting of a lovely bottle of red wine, with various cold meats and cheeses. The suite was a perfect size for the two of us, large flat screen tv, jacuzzi bath and probably the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. As it was dark we werent quite sure what view we would get from our balcony until the morning.

We awoke to find lovely sea and mountain views and headed off to breakfast. As others have mentioned the continental breakfast was ok, however I've yet to be bowled by french bread and pain au chocolat wherever I have been so that could just be me ! We did however opt for a cooked breakfast on 2 occasions which was well worth it.

The main pool area although appearing to be at full capacity, was very quiet, almost to the point of making you very conscious of enjoying yourself, which is where I agree with previous comments on the unfortunate lack of atmosphere around the pool and bar area which is a real shame, more so in the evening, as we would have liked to have stayed around the bar after our meal, but we would have always been the only couple.

With regards to the main pool view ( or lack of it) We did find the photos from another guest useful showing the other hotels and buildings as it did prepare us in advance. We weren't concerned about telegraph poles, however the pool photos on their website could be viewed as quite misleading as none show the main pool in daylight only the Villa pools.

We ate at Argo 4 nights and on all occasions had the most fantastic food we have ever eaten. We did venture out to eat in Elounda, Ag Nic, and Plaka however were very dissapointed and couldnt wait to get back to eat by the pool.

As all others have mentioned, the staff are fantastic, especailly Theodore at reception, nothing was too much trouble, exactly what you would expect from a resort of this standard.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fletcher137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2008

We have just returned from an outstanding holiday at Elounda Villas, and are now home and very depressed, wishing we had booked a two week stay instead of just the week!!

On arrival we were greeted at the airport and driven back to the hotel in a Mercedes, where we were met by 3 staff waiting to take us straight up to our villa [Superior Spa] named (Zakros) to start our holiday.

We were expecting seclusion but we were surprised to find that our pool and outside area could not be seen from anywhere else either in the resort or indeed outside from the roads. The views from our pool area were absolutley stunning overlooking the sea and mountains, which seemed to change thoughout the day and evening, we got up early one morning to watch the sun rise which was well worth the effort. The Villa was extremely well furnished, spacious and comfortable both in the living/kitchen area and also the bedroom. We also had a mini gym, sauna, steam room and two bathrooms, which were all well used.

The first morning we went down to the main pool area for breakfast, we had the continental, o.k but not great. For the rest of the week we ordered breakfast to be brought to our villa off the menu, which was varied depending on if you wanted something healthy, greek etc., plenty to choose from and all very nice and well presented on our outside dining table at a time we requested, by friendly and efficient staff.

We ate at both restaurants and were not dissapointed in either, the menu's were I felt more international than typcially Greek with the exception of a few dishes. However, if you get chance to go to the upstairs restaurant (only open a few days a week) the views are loveley and the restaurant a little more intimate and well designed. The bar area is a great place to have a drink, chill out and unwind on some big comfy sofas, after a busy day relaxing by the pool, if you can drag yourself away!

Although you are staying in a hotel with all the service and attention, because you are staying in a villa you also have the freedom of going to the shop (just about 100 yards away up the hill) and keeping things you like in the fridge/kitchen, be it food, alcohol or water so its all to hand when you want it. The main town is a bit of a walk away especially when it is hot, probabley best to get a taxi down, so you still feel like having a wonder when you get there.

Angela arranged a private boat trip for us on an old fishing boat, and arranged for our picnic (whatever you want you can have). This was a great afternoon out and we absolutley loved the secluded cove we were taken to where we could swim and sunbathe, we also popped onto Spinalonga for half an hour to have a quick look which seemed quite interesting.

Everyone here was cheerful and happy to help with whatever you may need or want to make your stay more pleasurable.

We had a fantastic weeks holiday here and found it hard to drag ourselves away, we will definately be returning next year.

P.S With reference to one of the previous reports regarding the view of the telegraph poles at the main pool, we really did think this a little petty and sad if the only thing you can focus on with such amazing scenery, is the one thing that I guess, is just Greece, some things cant be changed.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MKBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a 10th anniversary indulgence at the Elounda Gulf Villas and Suites. We may never recover from the sheer beauty of the hotel and the efficiency of service. We would go back in a flash. We had initially booked a suite, hoping for a sea view. When we arrived close to twilight, we were taken to an upgraded suite, a lovely two-bedroom unit, beautifully furnished with 2 large bathrooms, tasteful details, and a welome tray of wine and fresh fruit. We were happy, but somewhat concerned about the less than efficient air conditioning that didn't seem to offset the punishing Greek sun. We discovered the next day that we had set the air conditioning incorrectly. Our first morning at the communal pool--well designed, set in front of the bar and restaurant at the end of a large patio--the manager approached to greet us. Asking if we were happy we eagerly said yes, and then inquired where the best beaches in the area might be. He then offered to upgrade us yet again, this time to one of their superior spa villas, with its own private pool. His point was that once ensconced we would never desire to leave for a beach. He was right. Staggered by this gesture of hospitality, we moved up the hill. Our two-story villa included a steam room, gym, large open bathroom, jacuzzi, sauna, lovely furnishings, and so on. The pool area itself was nothing short of spectacular--overlooking the gulf and the Elounda coastline, with the sun and sea spread out before us as if we were the gods themselves. Service was impeccable. We ate our breakfast outdoors every morning on a beautifully prepared table by our pool--white linens, fresh roses, lovely stemware, baskets of fresh pastries, juices, a newspaper delivered daily... every conceivable need was met with grace and courtesy. We felt pampered, lucky, and deeply appreciative of the opportunity to celebrate our happiness in such surrounds. We dined at the poolside restaurant three times, each time being treated with superb food and gracious service by the charming wait staff. We travel a fair bit and like to pamper ourselves, but this Cretan visit was by far the most luxurious and wonderful of all our experiences to date. One visitor on this site has complained about the view from the communal pool. Although the view is somewhat marred by a relatively unattractive hotel below, as well as by telephone poles, the setting is still wonderful, and the sea quite in evidence. Best of all is that everywhere on the grounds you can feel a quiet, elegant dignity that calms you right down. Thanks to all the staff and especially to Aris Moustakis, the hotel manager, for overseeing our visit with such generosity. You are running a great destination and we hope to return sometime soon.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank Raisinbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

We stayed here for one week. We had booked a suite, but were quite disappointed that it had no sea view, even though the furnishing and equipment were first class, We did look at another suite but were then offered a villa at a further 100 euros per day. We took this and did not regret it. The accommodation had a brilliant view over the bay and a super small pool.

As has been said before the staff were excellent and could not have done more to make our stay comfortable. The service at breakfast and the quality of the food was very good,.

The buggies to take one up the steep hill to our villa were always available and the staff at reception were always very helpful and professional.

Taxis were always needed to visit the town and this could sometimes be a bit of a pain. We did like the town which was quite lively and had good restaurants. We preferred it to 'Ag Nic'.

Really the summing up says that this is top-class accommodation but you must spend enough to experience the villas rather than the suites.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lacolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Why 2 stars?

If you like to be secluded with some friends in a beautiful villa, this place could be for you. The villas are placed high on the hill with beautiful views. Room Service and food are OK, but not great.

If you want to be part of the group scene at the community pool, I would think again. The community pool is much lower with views that leave one speechless with shock. The view features telephone poles with lots of wiring, an average hotel in front and a construction site on the side (check out the photos that we posted). If pristine views are important to you, I wouldn't recommend it. Of course, their brochure only shows the view from the villas and not the nightmare below.

For my wife and I, this holiday was an expensive disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ac838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

We booked these villas as we wanted something special which was 'child friendly' as we travelled with our 4 year old daughter and baby of 8-months. The write-ups and brochures were misleading in that the villa we received was what I would class as shabby chic. The smallbone kitchen that I read in one article might be in one of their villas, but it certainly wasn't in ours... think more caravan kitchen!

The outside area was great and the pool perfect for gazing to sea, however we had a very excitable 4 year old who was singing in the pool and our not very nice neighbor shouted very rudely to shut her up. No pre-warning just a deluge of abuse (couldn't see him). She stopped when we asked her to be a little quieter, but we then got a call from reception to keep the children 'quite'... NOT A CHILD FRIENDLY PLACE. Our daughter then asked if it was ok to speak as the yelling had frightened her.

The bedrooms were again visably ok to look at but distressed. The one thing that really annoyed me was that there was no blackout blinds in our bedroom, therefore if we were not woken by the baby it was the bright sun shining through the flimsy curtains.

The bathroom had a hand held shower over the bath but no wall attachment so that you could shower comfortably.

The restaurant is small and although the waiters were pleasant they constantly needed reminding of things we'd ordered. We therefore opted for a lot of room service and on two occasions the waiters dropped things, leaving shards of glass around the pool area and in the living area... not good when you have little ones running around bare feet.

These villas are on a hill and you can be ferried up the hill to your villa via golf buggies from reception / restaurant. Taxi into town is only 5 mins but all the drivers we got were rude. The grocery store was packed with tourists (and locals) and in the extreme heat with 2 children it was NOT fun. Not a lot to do in the town of Elounda and it's quite basic, not glam. The beach was ok.

I am not usually one to complain about much but for the money paid for a week I expect a lot more from a small luxury hotel.
The one saving grace of this hotel was the views, and yes you get what you see in the brochure.

I wrote a complaint letter to the manager but no reply, just goes to show you how much they want your money but don't want to give you anything in return.

Won't be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mandy-must-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2007

This is a little gem. Small, relaxed and the staff are very professional and pleasant. Strongly recommended, it really is a place to just sit back and relax. Enjoy.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank cresswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.5 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
0.8 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
3.7 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Elounda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £200 - £760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Gulf Villas Hotel Elounda
Elounda Gulf Hotel
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing