We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed for 2 weeks at EGV and we were originally upgraded from a 2 bed Villa to an Aegean 3 bed villa with pool etc. The villa was lovely but didn't have a shower at all and with 2 kid's 8 & 12 and my dislike of baths we asked if we could be moved which they accomodated us very nicely. The pool then broke down (Pump) with about 3 nights left but they appologised and upgraded us again to a 2 bed Spa Villa which again was very nice. The villas are very nice and the staff are excellent, they couldn't do too much for you and we have no complaints on this front. The only critisism from us was the cost of the food in the only Restaurant on the premises 'Argo', we thought we were paying London Michelin Starred prices for very good quality but average food. As an example we were on the Complimentary Continental Breakfast but one morning my wife and I had 2 poached eggs each and the boys had pancakes and they charged us just under 40 euros, I neally fell of my chair. If you want to eat go into Elounda and eat at Lotus Eaters, Vitromartes or Kalypso which are expensive but great food.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2009

We spent 10 nights of our honeymoon in a suite here and were unimpressed to say the least. Our ferry was 2 hours late leaving Santorini and it was after 11pm when we arrived at the hotel. We incorrectly assumed that we would be able to get something to eat when we got there, I would have thought any hotel in this price/rating bracket would have some sort of 24 hr room service. No such luck, and seeing as we didnt know where we were in relation to the town (we were shown to our suite by security guard, no check in til reception opened next morning), we had to wait til breakfast to eat although we hadnt eaten since 1pm that day. I should point out that they kindly left a bottle of champagne in the suite to welcome us, but lack of food was our problem!
The room itself was lovely but the noise from upstairs was pretty loud, not loud guests but we could hear if they dropped a pin up there.
Our terrace was on the walkway down to the pool so no privacy.
The manager opened personal mail that was addressed to me instead of checking the guest list to see whether they had someone by that name on it. The receptionist apologised for him opening it and was clearly embarrassed but the manager never mentioned it to us, in fact didnt ever even say hello although we saw him a couple of times every day.
On our second last day the cleaners took a dirty plate out of our room and left it sitting on the wall outside our suite, it was still there 24 hours later when we were checking out.
After dinner the first night, I looked at the cocktail list and although it wasnt listed, I asked the barman could he make a sex on the beach. He looked horrified and said no. Clearly that would have been lowering the tone of the place.
The food in the restaurant (Argo's) in the evenings was only middling, the pork was never fully cooked, in my mind there shouldnt be blood coming out of a pork chop. Yet when my husband left his on the plate, barely touched, the staff were so concerned about what side to clear the plates from, and keeping one arm behind their back when they were pouring the drinks, they didnt even ask if everything had been ok when they saw the meal untouched.

We just felt like there was a lot of running around trying to look fancy but not really looking after the small things, though as a previous poster said it may only be that way for people staying in the suites. Maybe you have to stay in a villa to get a good service. This place is expensive even for the suites and we have paid a lot less for much better service in the past.

On a positive note, Theodora at reception and all the daytime staff at Argos and the bar were very helpful and friendly, and Elounda itself is a beautiful town with lovely people. We ate at the restaurants in the town almost every night although we had half board in the hotel. We felt it was worth paying for a bit of atmosphere. We also hired a car for a few days and got out and about on the island

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monkey2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Spent 1 week here celebrating our wedding anniversary and left with a feeling of dissapointment. We didnt hire one of the villas which is why in our opinion we didnt get the attention & service the villa occupants did. The whole feel of this place was of complete pretentiousness, from the manager especially. Our suite was fine and clean, oh apart from the ants crawling all over our bed from the flowers they laid on it! When i rang them to say we had ants crawling on our bed, their reply was 'oh they will have just come from the flowers' and it wasnt until i said well what are you gong to do about it, that they eventually sent someone who seemed to have no interest in it, and had the same 'whats the big deal' attitude about him! The food was fine (as there was nowhere else decent to eat) as long as you enjoyed eating veal & lamb, otherwise you were eating the same meal everynight. (much to my disbelief I found the room service menu more appetising.) Their car hire prices are a complete rip off too, if you take the time to go into the village you will hire the same car for a fraction of their prices. The most enjoyable day we had was hiring a little boat and sailing around spinalonga. I had a massage which was not what i expected, the room was tiny, very bright and no soothing music & spa feel to it whatsoever, it felt more like an appointment at your local hospital physiotherapist! If i recall correctly they charged about 80 euros for it too! Just another rip off in my view. Oh and their fitness centre is nothing special, just large enough for 2 people at a time, and the outside jacuzzi and sun lounge which looked fabuous on their website, was out of order and full of dirty leaves etc and the wooden sun lounge had been thoroughly worn through and had split wooden bits all over it. Finally the thing that amused us the most was when they had a greek night and put on finger buffet food, they expected you to pay for this entertainment? I have never experienced having to pay for entertainment like this before and found it most bizarre. I think this is the best the area has to offer but staying in the suites is absolutely not worth the money, i my opinion you will only enjoy this place if you hire one of their villas, and i think for the money they charge there are much better villas in the world to hire. We would never recommend staying in the suites as you are treat as second class (shockingly!)

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PDLMillSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We were in Elounda and stayed at the Elounda gulf villas for a week. Perfect for a family and two friends to the kids. We had a large lovely villa with a lots of space for all of us. The kids loved to hang around the pool and twice the elder ones went to the beach for some watersports. Excellent service, excellent food, excellent living. We will surely be back.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
Thank mikajonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

This is a lovely oasis of calm relaxation, and as long as you realise that this is a place to do absolutely nothing then you will be very happy here.

You should not come here if you want any liveliness day or night as it is very quiet. As it is mainly villas with their own pools, those who stay in them rarely venture out, so the main pool is only likely to be used by the 10 suites – we had it to ourselves a lot of the time. It is a lovely large infinity pool, with a current machine to swim against, but what a shame an ugly convention centre has been built in front which totally spoils the view from the pool area. If this may matter to you, look at the pics on other reviews so you won’t be disappointed. The lovely views on the website are entirely from the higher pricier villas and not from the suites or pool area. The hotel is on a very steep hill so the views are a great deal better the higher you get. The steep layout means the top villas are extremely secluded, and you wouldn’t know if celebs were staying, as they do here for the privacy it offers.

The location is not ideal if you want to explore without a car. Walking out from the hotel isn’t really an option. You can walk to Elounda village in 30 mins but the walk isn’t pleasant and the village is small and a bit tacky. Worth doing once to take a boat trip to spinalonga. There aren’t any local dining options other than a few other hotels in the vicinity. There is a basic local shop for essentials which is handy.

However the suites are beautifully furnished and very relaxing, with big bathrooms and separate showers, flat TV with decent channel selection, DVD player, and they all have a balcony or terrace. We were very happy with our initial suite, on the ground floor, presumably the most basic type they have. It was very quiet, so after 3 days they offered to upgrade us to a larger 2 bed suite which was terrific, with 2 terraces, better view of the sea, and 2 bathrooms. We were very pleased with it. Alas water leaked through the ceiling after first use of the upper floor bathroom, so the next morning we had to be moved again! Full marks for effort to the management, as they moved us to a much bigger 3 bed villa, though sadly it had been left vacant for awhile and there was no water in its pool and it felt a bit musty and unused. If it had had a full pool it would have been great. The view from the terrace was much better!

I would like to compliment the manager of the hotel who made the effort to be there when we checked out to talk to us, knowing we had been inconvenienced by the second room change. She was keen to hear our (very minor) gripes and comments, and has made a nice offer of a further week’s stay in the future which is much appreciated. This personal attention to customer satisfaction is seen too rarely, and should be the norm in hotels which aim at the luxury end of the market. Well done!

Times are hard currently for luxury hotels, hence the good value package we took through Sovereign which gave 7 nights for 5 and free half board upgrade. As there is nowhere local to eat, it suited us to eat in each night. The shortage of other guests did mean there wasn’t really much atmosphere in the restaurant, though eating out by the pool is lovely (beware of mozzies though; they are a bit of a nuisance here at dusk). The bar was too quiet to have any atmosphere and the music choices were eccentric
( eg Dire Straits live album? Bad choice! We suggested to the manager she should think about the music selections!)
The food was always decent, though you get a limited fixed menu choice on half board (the a la carte menu was fairly pricy). If you ask nicely you can have ice cream if you don’t fancy the fixed dessert offering some nights! The staff were lovely throughout, and the head of the restaurant offered us a free choice from the main menu on the last night which was much appreciated.

Breakfast is served at your table, no self service buffet here. Hams, cheeses, breads, fruit etc. This means it is identical every day so gets boring by the end of a week. I’d prefer some self service choices for more variety over a week. Lovely chirpy breakfast waitress. All staff here are pleasant and helpful.

There is small gym with a jacuzzi ( not kept warm enough to be worth using really) and sauna. Waking up and down to the villas will keep you fit anyway. They do have golf buggies if you can’t cope with the steep walks to and from your room to the restaurant and reception.

In summary, if you want to escape and unwind you will have a lovely relaxing time here in good quality accommodation (especially if you can afford a villa with private pool), but the isolated position may not suit everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

we stayed here first week in june 09.
we chose this hotel because of the free half board upgrade via Sovereign.
the food was poor,only two choices on the half board menu per night and dessert was mainly fruit or icecream.
on one occassion my husband's dinner was returned to the kitchen four times before it was acceptable,my own dinner on more than one occassion returned.
the main problem with this small hotel is that too much attention is given to the villas.
the staff would dissapear during dinner service and leave a young inexperienced waiter in charge.
breakfast was the same every day,dry stale bread most days and margarine.not what you would expect of 5star.
to be fair ,the restaurant manager did apologise for all these problems,but on complaining to Sovereign ,they just said the food was a "subjective matter"
the suite we stayed in was very spacious and clean,no complaints there,but the food choice and quality combined with the bad service let the hotel down badly

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernlass52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Just returned. This is lovely destination. The rooms all appear to be a very high standard (we had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite with a large living/dining room that was very nicely furnished and decorated). Although we were told that the property was almost full, it never appeared that way and we rarely saw more than 6 people around the main pool. Of course many guests in their own villas probably never ventured out as meals can be delivered to the villas. The level of service was also very professional, friendly and relaxed.

The property is on a fairly steep slope and some way outside of Elounda. however it is only a €7 taxi into the town where there are some very nice traditional Tavernas.

All in all a very peaceful place to relax.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david1234Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.5 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
0.8 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
3.7 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Elounda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £154 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Gulf Villas Hotel Elounda
Elounda Gulf Hotel
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing