We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday at the Palm”
Review of Elounda Palm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elounda Palm Hotel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Like most of the reviews on this site, we also found this to be a lovely little hotel. We arrived at midnight and were informed that there was water, fruit and a salad plate in the fridge in our room, which was most welcome. This attention to detail carried on throughout the holiday. The staff are professional and very helpful. The hotel is spotlessly clean. We upgraded to a "bungalow". This is hard to describe but its a row of rooms, set aside from the main hotel, a bottom row with private terraces leading out to the garden at the side of the pool. We were in the "upstairs" row above and had a very large private sun roof with sunbeds, chairs and coffee table. Be aware that Cretan beds are not your usual beds. Ours was a wooden base about a foot high with a mattress on top. The bathroom was small but had a large walk in shower which was great. The hotel has a seawater pool surrounded by sunbeds and an area to have lunch. Breakfast and dinner can be eaten either inside in the air con or outside on the terrace overlooking the pool. The food was plentiful and always fresh, lots to choose from, both at breakfast and dinner. The hotel is about a 25 minute walk from town. We always walked in but got a taxi back which was 5 Euros. If you decide to hire a car while on holiday, there is a good hire car company a few minutes walk down the lane at the side of the hotel. They will deliver the car to the hotel and pick it up at the end of the hire. They are very reasonable and its an all in price, no extras. We had a great holiday at the Elounda Palm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annmac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Have stayed at the Elounda Palm on many occasions. I love everything about the place.
Poppy and her staff are extremely nice and very helpful.
Have recommended this to friends and family, all who have been equally happy here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We returned home last week from this lovely hotel. It is spotlessly clean, modern and the staff are really really good. It's not a luxury hotel but the service is personable and attentive. The food was really good. Your not in England so expect a European style breakfast, evening meal varied each night and was good. the dining area is outside around the pool overlooking the sea in the distance with candle light and really romantic. local wine in 9 euroes and recommended. We also has a salad each lunch time at the pool bar which are fresh, delicious and huge!! Served by the lovely ladies. The evening bar man is a little slow, although his cocktails are delicious with lots of alcohol. 7 euros seems expensive at first but well worth it! I think he needs an extra pair of hands. The only downside of the lovely hotel is its location to elounda and the beach. It's only a twenty minute walk but it's so hot during the day to walk. We didn't bother going to the beach but opted for evening strolls when its sliightly cooler. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return, just next time we will take our driving licence . This side of Crete is so beautiful just wish we had a car to explore all the little villages and coves. You will not be disappointed. Good value for the money we paid. I'm not sure if there is a fitness centre, the website says there is but we didn't find it. Although we didn't ask. Cosmos rep didn't turn up for welcome meeting despite us waiting 40 minutes. She left us a note saying sorry we decided not to attend which was slightly annoying!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We splashed out for 2 nights in a junior suite with sharing pool, at the end of a 2-week trip to Crete. Unfortunately, our stay was not as we had hoped. Firstly, our request for twin beds was not honoured, although this was not critical. Secondly, the room was a long way from the car-park and there was nobody to help with our luggage, which we had to drag up steps. Thirdly, our bathroom door would not shut. On trying to shut it from the inside, my husband got locked in and we had to request somebody to come and let him out! So we didn't try to shut it again! Finally, the sharing pool. BEWARE the sharing pools are 5 foot deep, with no shallow end. For myself (at 5 foot 1 inches) and son (5 foot 3 inches) who are non-swimmers, this was totally useless - and certainly would be dangerous for small children.
On a positive note - the hotel grounds were lovely and the restaurant food was very good. It was an easy drive into Elounda to take the boat to Spinalonga and the staff were friendly. I would not, however, choose to stay at the Elounda Palm if I were visiting Elounda again.

Room Tip: Junior suite sharing pools are DEEP! Not safe for non-swimmers or young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moo_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

A bad experience ...

It beginned with the absence of road sign when arriving from Elounda (we then spent 30 min to find the place, far from all the other hotels of Elounda),
Then the fact we had to carry our luggages in all the multiple stairs when we arrived (no staff in the afternoon).
The breakfast is not good, example with the terrible Orange Juice (keep in mind the prince, approx 100€/night !).
The smell in the bathroom (like in a boat, pbbly due to the use of salted water).
The lack of bed base ...
Bad value for money. Skip the place, go to Selena for example, a little further north.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peatraveladvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My husband and I have just come back from this wonderful hotel and are in complete agreement with the review from 'noiretti' - ignore any negative review you find on this or any other website - elounda palm hotel really is special - it's small size and family run attitude mean the service is second to none! From the moment we arrived (even at 2 am) we were greated by a friendly smiling night reception staff who took us to our beautiful room, they had even left a plate of meze in the fridge in our room incase we were hungry.

We stayed half board and every meal was delicious with plenty of choice and lots of lovely local dishes. We have stayed in many hotels around the world from 5* to camping and have to say this is the best, most relaxing hotel we have ever stayed at. Even the other guests were nice and quiet.

The views from the rooms and communal areas are to die for and make sure you request an apple mojito from sotos the barman - who's attention to detail is second to none!

All in all our week was perfect made so by this great find of a hotel - we will definitely be returning soon and have started to recommend it to all our friends and family - says it all really - thank you Elounda Palm Hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 792J_T2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed there for a wedding which was in Elounda Beach, next door.

Elounda Palm is a small well situated hotel to visit this region if your budget is tight, has a pool but no beach access.

Staff is great, facilities are clean.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are good, small terrace and no stairs to get too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KhalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
1.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
268 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#13 of 35 in Elounda
686 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#17 of 35 in Elounda
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Palm Hotel

Address: Katevati 1, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £71 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elounda Palm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Palm Hotel is a small family run hotel located in the most beautiful area of Lasithi, the Mirabello Gulf, in Crete. Just a few minutes from the quiet fishing village of Elounda and approx. 7km away from the lively town of Aghios Nikolaos. Set in attractive gardens the Elounda Palm Hotel offers lovely and spacious sea view rooms, bungalows and suites with sharing pool. New entry is the Mellow cocktail Bar by the main swimming pool and the open air lounge cinema. Enjoy your holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Elounda Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Palm Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing