We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delivered 100% what was expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elounda Palm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elounda Palm Hotel
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delivered 100% what was expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 in the Senior Villa with its own private pool. Having stayed at various villas over the years in several resorts, this was the nicest villa we have ever had. True, it's more expensive than our usual villa but, when compared to others in Elounda, it was actually good value.

The internal space was huge, 2 big bedrooms, large comfortable beds, massive marble tiled bathrooms and plenty of storage space. It also had the benefit of air con throughout. Plus, the pool area on the terrace was fantastic, plenty of space, lots of seating and sun loungers, shade when you needed and brilliant views all around. The infinity pool was lovely and fresh, easily big enough for 4 of us. Slightly annoying was a 'buzzing' sound from the pool filter room located just below the villa - mainly because the door didn't close properly (a very minor point in all truth).

The villa was well appointed, the kitchen was small but modern but, in truth, we never had to cook once. Part of the hotel offer was to include half board for free so we had a massive breakfast each day (loads of choice) plus the option to eat in the evening as well. This took a lot of the usual additional hassle of previous villa holidays away - the search for supermarkets and the effort of cooking. It also allowed our budget to stretch to trying some of the restaurants in town for some variety. The bar area near the pool and dining area was also a very pleasant place to recline to after a meal. A relaxed atmosphere for families and couples.

In fact this had all the benefits of a villa holiday but with the bonus of hotel facilities. Rooms and pool were cleaned daily. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating, they really helped make our stay one of the most enjoyable holidays we've had, and our first in Crete. They always went the extra mile. Unexpectedly they allowed us a late check out which was a really nice gesture as we had a late evening flight so we were given use of the villa until 7pm at night - which was in effect an extra day's holiday.

We would happily return and recommend this hotel very highly.

Room Tip: Senior pool villa - pricey but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186220Dam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    178
    47
    18
    10
See reviews for
76
271
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Like most of the reviews on this site, we also found this to be a lovely little hotel. We arrived at midnight and were informed that there was water, fruit and a salad plate in the fridge in our room, which was most welcome. This attention to detail carried on throughout the holiday. The staff are professional and very helpful. The hotel is spotlessly clean. We upgraded to a "bungalow". This is hard to describe but its a row of rooms, set aside from the main hotel, a bottom row with private terraces leading out to the garden at the side of the pool. We were in the "upstairs" row above and had a very large private sun roof with sunbeds, chairs and coffee table. Be aware that Cretan beds are not your usual beds. Ours was a wooden base about a foot high with a mattress on top. The bathroom was small but had a large walk in shower which was great. The hotel has a seawater pool surrounded by sunbeds and an area to have lunch. Breakfast and dinner can be eaten either inside in the air con or outside on the terrace overlooking the pool. The food was plentiful and always fresh, lots to choose from, both at breakfast and dinner. The hotel is about a 25 minute walk from town. We always walked in but got a taxi back which was 5 Euros. If you decide to hire a car while on holiday, there is a good hire car company a few minutes walk down the lane at the side of the hotel. They will deliver the car to the hotel and pick it up at the end of the hire. They are very reasonable and its an all in price, no extras. We had a great holiday at the Elounda Palm.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annmac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Have stayed at the Elounda Palm on many occasions. I love everything about the place.
Poppy and her staff are extremely nice and very helpful.
Have recommended this to friends and family, all who have been equally happy here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We returned home last week from this lovely hotel. It is spotlessly clean, modern and the staff are really really good. It's not a luxury hotel but the service is personable and attentive. The food was really good. Your not in England so expect a European style breakfast, evening meal varied each night and was good. the dining area is outside around the pool overlooking the sea in the distance with candle light and really romantic. local wine in 9 euroes and recommended. We also has a salad each lunch time at the pool bar which are fresh, delicious and huge!! Served by the lovely ladies. The evening bar man is a little slow, although his cocktails are delicious with lots of alcohol. 7 euros seems expensive at first but well worth it! I think he needs an extra pair of hands. The only downside of the lovely hotel is its location to elounda and the beach. It's only a twenty minute walk but it's so hot during the day to walk. We didn't bother going to the beach but opted for evening strolls when its sliightly cooler. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return, just next time we will take our driving licence . This side of Crete is so beautiful just wish we had a car to explore all the little villages and coves. You will not be disappointed. Good value for the money we paid. I'm not sure if there is a fitness centre, the website says there is but we didn't find it. Although we didn't ask. Cosmos rep didn't turn up for welcome meeting despite us waiting 40 minutes. She left us a note saying sorry we decided not to attend which was slightly annoying!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We splashed out for 2 nights in a junior suite with sharing pool, at the end of a 2-week trip to Crete. Unfortunately, our stay was not as we had hoped. Firstly, our request for twin beds was not honoured, although this was not critical. Secondly, the room was a long way from the car-park and there was nobody to help with our luggage, which we had to drag up steps. Thirdly, our bathroom door would not shut. On trying to shut it from the inside, my husband got locked in and we had to request somebody to come and let him out! So we didn't try to shut it again! Finally, the sharing pool. BEWARE the sharing pools are 5 foot deep, with no shallow end. For myself (at 5 foot 1 inches) and son (5 foot 3 inches) who are non-swimmers, this was totally useless - and certainly would be dangerous for small children.
On a positive note - the hotel grounds were lovely and the restaurant food was very good. It was an easy drive into Elounda to take the boat to Spinalonga and the staff were friendly. I would not, however, choose to stay at the Elounda Palm if I were visiting Elounda again.

Room Tip: Junior suite sharing pools are DEEP! Not safe for non-swimmers or young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moo_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

A bad experience ...

It beginned with the absence of road sign when arriving from Elounda (we then spent 30 min to find the place, far from all the other hotels of Elounda),
Then the fact we had to carry our luggages in all the multiple stairs when we arrived (no staff in the afternoon).
The breakfast is not good, example with the terrible Orange Juice (keep in mind the prince, approx 100€/night !).
The smell in the bathroom (like in a boat, pbbly due to the use of salted water).
The lack of bed base ...
Bad value for money. Skip the place, go to Selena for example, a little further north.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peatraveladvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

My husband and I have just come back from this wonderful hotel and are in complete agreement with the review from 'noiretti' - ignore any negative review you find on this or any other website - elounda palm hotel really is special - it's small size and family run attitude mean the service is second to none! From the moment we arrived (even at 2 am) we were greated by a friendly smiling night reception staff who took us to our beautiful room, they had even left a plate of meze in the fridge in our room incase we were hungry.

We stayed half board and every meal was delicious with plenty of choice and lots of lovely local dishes. We have stayed in many hotels around the world from 5* to camping and have to say this is the best, most relaxing hotel we have ever stayed at. Even the other guests were nice and quiet.

The views from the rooms and communal areas are to die for and make sure you request an apple mojito from sotos the barman - who's attention to detail is second to none!

All in all our week was perfect made so by this great find of a hotel - we will definitely be returning soon and have started to recommend it to all our friends and family - says it all really - thank you Elounda Palm Hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 792J_T2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
0.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#10 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#14 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#11 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
4.8 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Palm Hotel

Property: Elounda Palm Hotel
Address: Katevati 1, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elounda Palm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Palm Hotel is a small family run hotel located in the most beautiful area of Lasithi, the Mirabello Gulf, in Crete. Just a few minutes from the quiet fishing village of Elounda and approx. 7km away from the lively town of Aghios Nikolaos. Set in attractive gardens the Elounda Palm Hotel offers lovely and spacious sea view rooms, bungalows and suites with sharing pool. New entry is the Mellow cocktail Bar by the main swimming pool and the open air lounge cinema. Enjoy your holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elounda Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Palm Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing