We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday”
Review of Elounda Palm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elounda Palm Hotel
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We returned from a relaxing stay at the Elounda Palm just over 2 weeks ago. It was our first stay on Crete although we have stayed on several other Greek Islands before.
Our stay got off to an inauspicious start, after a long wait on the coach at the airport and a long journey (we were the second last hotel drop off) we arrived at around 22.30. The receptionist was troubled that we did not have an accommodation voucher, we showed her our only piece of paperwork from Cosmos an e mail that clearly stated "you will not receive an accommodation voucher", I said I would speak to our rep in the morning, she then made to take us to our room. I was walking with a stick and could not manage a case down the two sets of steps (2x10 steps) my husband struggled with both cases, there was clearly no one on duty to help with arrivals. The first thing we were aware of was the loud music coming from the bar, it was deafening maybe techno, not an expert, but was awful! We left the cases in the room which was OK and made for the bar we were desperate for a cold drink, the music was so loud we couldn't actually hear each other speak or communicate with the bar man, husband sent me to sit down, he came back with 2 beers, I have no idea how he managed to make himself heard, I was almost in tears by now, all I could think was how are we going to get through 2 weeks here. THE MUSIC WAS NEVER THIS LOUD AGAIN, I DONT KNOW WHAT WAS GOING ON OUR FIRST NIGHT.
We were in bungalow 595 with a sea view in the distance, the room was a reasonable size, colour theme orange, strange orange plastic light shade, king size bed with a very firm mattress (thank goodness our mattress wasn't on the floor, it does look as if it is in some rooms, I'd never have been able to get down to it or up from it), bedside drawers with reading lights, a large coffee table, 2 pointless pouffes, largish wardrobe with a couple of tiny drawers within (only big enough for underwear, we didn't actually use them) usual problem with wardrobes, it didn't offer a high enough drop to hang dresses up in unless you are less than 5 foot, mine all sat in a heap at the bottom. I was glad I'd packed some coat hangers because there weren't enough for two of us and I'm not a fashionista! There is a safe within the wardrobe, you have to pay an extra €2 per day for this, I think it's incredibly grasping of them, a room safe really should be standard in a hotel of this calibre. Dressing table and Perspex chair, TV and fridge, bathroom was the best we have ever had in Greece, our own hot water supply (tank in top of wardrobe) great shower cubicle in the corner with a terrific shower, the cubicle is small, we are not big people, we did wonder how a few other guests managed! The bathroom was cleaned everyday there was always a bit of a loo whiff, but it wasn't dreadful, the towels were changed every day, there are no free pool towels here, the hotel will supply them but at a cost. The air conditioning worked well, our fridge did not work, but we reported it the first morning and it was replaced later the same day. The veranda/patio area out side the bungalow could have done with a jet wash and a pair of comfortable chairs to relax in, what you get is a pair of uncomfortable narrow wooden arm chair, if you are chubby, you might not fit in it! I took a plastic stacking chair from the poolside down to use and the staff left it on our patio. You can sling your swimsuits and towels over the walls separating the bungalows to dry, these are around 6' tall and offer decent privacy.
The pool area is really nice and well tended, the pool is a decent size and is "salt water", there is a poolside shower for a quick post swim rinse, the loungers looked a bit shabby on arrival, but they all had their padded topper replaced half way through our stay, they are arranged on the far side of the pool under fixed umbrellas, there is a fair amount of lawn with trees over offering shade and extra loungers are stacked nearby. It was not terribly busy the first week, busier the second, there was a shortage of loungers on the final Sunday, I do wonder what happens in August. I think a lot of guests must have used the beach, there were couples & families we saw at mealtimes but never in the pool area.
Breakfast and evening meal are served buffet style. The ladies who work in the restaurant are delightful, really sweet and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was my favourite meal of the day, a huge amount of cooked and cold food to choose from, I loved the fresh fruit, Greek yoghurt & honey, there were savoury & sweet pastries, bacon, eggs etc in bain maries, cheeses, some cold meat, different breads, butter, honey, jam, dried fruits, I'm sure to have left something out! The tea is disappointing, but I think the water wasn't always hot enough and although the oranges were sweet & juicy the fruit juice was long life squashy stuff. Evening meals were interesting, lots to choose from, you'd have to be a real fuss pot to not find something to eat, all clearly home cooked, signage of vegetarian food could be better, husband found himself eating what he thought was an eggy vegetable flan a couple of times and then discovered there was also ham or bacon in it. Lots of salads to choose from, we often found we had plates full of curious combinations and to make us feel at home brussell sprouts were available a couple of times! They offered a range of flans, gateauxy cheesecakes, fruit, Greek honey soaked cakes and ice cream. The staff worked hard clearing crockery and making sure tables were cleared and made available quickly. It would have been nice if there could have been a barbeque once a week, but generally the food was very good. The pool bar was fairly quiet in the evening, we went back to our room to read after dinner and usually went to bed fairly early.
Elounda centre is approx 30 minutes walk from the hotel, we ate at Okeanis on the far side of the harbour one evening, food was amazing, well worth a visit. The town beach is just across the road and is OK, loungers & umbrellas for hire. We visited Spinalonga island the scene of Victoria Hislop's novel, a really interesting visit, it's just a shame that all the buildings that made up the leper community were knocked down in the 70s, the authorities didn't feel it fit in with the tourist experience they wanted to offer, now post novel, it was my main reason for wanting to visit! Elounda is pleasant and typically Greek, but I didn't find it particularly memorable. We had a relaxing peaceful holiday which is just what we had gone for, ideally I wish the hotel had been a little closer to the town, but it was not expensive to get a taxi. We hired a car for a few days exploring, we really enjoyed Knossos (busy, get there early) and lovely Mochlos to the East, last restaurant on far side of the village - food super!
Ps Excellent Wi-fi

Room Tip: Bungalow Room 595, we were very happy there, for us preferable to main hotel, more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aganju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    190
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
90
297
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked a one night stay at this hotel, it was enough! We travelled down to Elounda from Chania to make the trip across to Spinalonga. The trip was an emotional one for us, as my two well educated friends ( all of us in our forties and well travelled) were making the trip as a tribute to a woman we loved dearly who passed away and who should also have been on this holiday. Our stay was very disappointing: - we reported the AC not working before we went out for dinner. On our return we were advised it had been fixed, it hadn't. We tried to put up with the heat, we put our bedding on the tile floor, three women in our 40's on the floor, we couldn't open the windows due to the amount of Mosquitos , we suffered until 3am when the room became so unbearable we went to reception. The night reception/porter made it clear he had no responsibility, he couldn't change a room, he couldn't turn the computer on, he couldn't get a fan, basically he couldn't do anything. In the event of an emergency I would have extreme concerns and feel he was more inclined to be left on the sofa sleeping where we found him, rather than supposedly being in charge of paying clients in a hotel! Ultimately after much procrastination and being told there were no other rooms available we made him call a senior member of staff. We were not willing to let this go only being there one night. Ultimately around an hour and half later ...amazing but true we were told there was accommodation and we could move to one of the villas. These villas, the unhelpful porter/night man told us in a condescending way were around €500 euros a night, like we should have been grateful. My only comment to him was does the AC work ..end of story. We managed to get four and a half hours sleep. In the morning I spoke to the manager Poppy and advised her that the issue could have easily been rectified it they had had a free standing fan, or mobile AC unit. I was advised they didn't need these as the rooms had AC! My answer machinery breaks down, have a back up. The management have no consideration whatsoever for their customers and are short sighted. We were glad to drive back to Chania.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireholiday01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff, comfortable rooms with nice view, cosy and peaceful hotel with endless breakfast. Apart from the swimming pool you will see beautiful gardens and comfortable playground for the small kids. I would recommend it for sure to couples and families.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fetihis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great room, gardens and view. All the staff were very friendly and efficient but Sotiros( A.K.A Leonardo ) is best barman ever! You will never taste a better Apple Mojito ANYWHERE! So easy to get around on local buses and the trip to Spinalonga was amazing and very humbling. Sea perfect for all day swimming..

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our first trip to Greece and after lots of research so glad we opted for the Elounda Palm. From the moment we arrived to when we left we found all staff helpful and friendly. Very clean and tidy all round. We had room 564 with fab views and nice large balcony. For us it was the perfect place to relax and chill out as it was so quiet. There is a back road that takes you into Elounda which took us approx 20/25 mins to walk, something we did most days (sometimes twice a day) with a slight incline on the last bit coming back. Breakfast was a mix of fried, continental, cereal etc enough to set you up for the day. Had an evening meal twice which was buffet type with starter, choice of 3/4 mains and then pudding/fruit, which was ok but typical hotel prices hence we used to walk into Elounda most nights for something more substantial and experience the local life/cuisine. There is a local bus service that will take you into a few neighbouring towns, typical cost 1.70 euros. Air conditioning in room was fairly quiet compared to other places we have stayed and so had better nights sleep. Pool area kept clean and plenty of loungers around. Like other comments previously barman made excellent cocktails. Had late flight home but was able to leave bags in lobby and still use facilities after a day out, even able to use shower facilities with towels and shampoo provided before heading home. Would have no hesitation in returning to Elounda Palm. Our transfer from airport was an hour and a half.

Room Tip: We had superior bungalow second floor, room 564. Excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

After the second time coming back here, it's as if I come back home.
The staff is super friendly and greeted us back with joy.

The biggest reason for our coming back was natural for the Coctailbarman Sortirs who makes the best cocktails I've tasted. Ever

Great praise for him.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christof D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and i stayed here and it has been our best holiday! The hotel was amazing, the staff were so lovely and the pool and garden area were very well kept daily! Nobody did the annoying 'reserve a sunbed' thing which was really good to actually get a sunbed during the day! The resort is lovely and quiet, perfect for those wanting a relaxing holiday. We'll defiantly be here again, miss it already!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
1.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
685 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#14 of 35 in Elounda
590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Palm Hotel

Property: Elounda Palm Hotel
Address: Katevati 1, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elounda Palm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Palm Hotel is a small family run hotel located in the most beautiful area of Lasithi, the Mirabello Gulf, in Crete. Just a few minutes from the quiet fishing village of Elounda and approx. 7km away from the lively town of Aghios Nikolaos. Set in attractive gardens the Elounda Palm Hotel offers lovely and spacious sea view rooms, bungalows and suites with sharing pool. New entry is the Mellow cocktail Bar by the main swimming pool and the open air lounge cinema. Enjoy your holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Elounda Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Palm Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing