We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elounda Water Park Residence
Nearby Hotels
US$351
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$412
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$401
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elounda Garden Suites(Elounda)(Great Value!)
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$433
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elounda Bay Palace(Elounda)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$398
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$480
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel(Elounda)(Great Value!)
US$502
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elounda Ilion Hotel(Elounda)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elounda Krini Hotel(Elounda)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveller rating
362
300
185
96
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
300
185
96
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle bussteep hillhotel minibussuperior apartmentkaraoke nighthalf boardonsite shopfantastic viewsgreek dancinggames roomgreat holidaymobility issuesbbq nightblue trainhired a carstayed all inclusivehotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

What a wonderful place, great views, lovely staff, the best massage I have EVER had! Don't be put off by the hill, there's a hotel bus that takes you down to the town at 10am and brings you back at 3 or a taxi is 5 euros - however the walk down is fine for most people. The pool is large and there are plenty of sunbeds (that are only screwed down as it can be a bit windy in the evenings and it is to reduced damage). The taverna next to the pool is fantastic, friendly staff and delicious food. I stayed here with my daughter (14) and my mother and it was perfect, we will be back next year!

Room Tip: We needed a triple room and were in room 122 - which was fantastic!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaudieLayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Hotel is very good, clean, lively and very helpful staff. Location a bit annying as have to climb very steep hill to leave return to hotel. Lovely breeze that's welcomes you due to the height of the hotel. Great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed 2 weeks here July / Aug 2012 with kids aged 5 and 8. We got a poor first impression after being taken to a 1 bed appt when they knew it should have been 2 rooms. Despite protesting we had to stay in the 1 bed and move the next day to a 2 bed which was disruptive. (& I can see that someone else has had a similar experience below).

I'll start by saying we enjoyed our holiday overall - the village of Elounda is a pretty good spot with plenty of nice restaurants and the weather was great. Not much in the way of easy reach sandy beeches but with a car it's a good base. Staff were pretty pleasant and whenever we were in the bar people seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Our main gripe was the quality of the accomodation - it's not close to a formal 4 star grading.

We were in room 137 on the highest hill. The 2 rooms were small and basic and it wasn't possible to open the cupboards without moving the beds; No a/c in the bedrooms, only the kitchenette, so we had to crank the kitchen a/c up and hope for a draught; One of the bedroom's windows opened onto a corridor and hence had no privacy or natural light. Thin walls and ceiling - at times we thought our neighbours would come through the ceiling.

The bathroom was small - it wasn't possible to open the bathroom door without hitting the sink. The decor was tired (peeling paint, bulging tiles) with anything screwed to the wall being loose. The shower head was cracked and only handheld. It was very tired.

The kitchenette / living area was a tiny 2 x 3 m and had a 20 year old fridge, a travel kettle, a sandwich toaster and a portable 2 ring hob. There was 1 plug for all 4. There were no soft furnishings to sit comfortably (because there was no space) and the 12 inch tv was mounted at 5 feet high and pretty difficult to see. The reality is that our 'appartment' was really just 2 bedrooms.

Balcony - a stunning view which I think sways opinion in the hotel's favour for the various shortcomings.

Pool - was a salt rather than freshwater system. We didn't spot this before we came and whilst it wasn't quite as bad as we thought it would be, it wasn't as nice and the kids did grumble a bit.

Main restaurant - we had a freebie there for the disruption on the first night and were very glad we hadn't paid for all inclusive. I've seen plenty of buffets before and this was very low down the list. Narrow range and mediocre quality - think school dinners. We had a nosey at breakfast one morning and it wasn't very exciting but you could get chips.....

The taverna - kids ate free here for lunch. Mixed quality - a little too much being re-heated or going through the microwave. Kids free lunch was chicken nuggets, fish fingers or something re-heated from the prior nights buffet. Whilst my kids would have eaten the pizza second day running, it was so hard it couldn't be cut with a steak knife and was sent back. Pleasant waiter but the cooking was lazy.

The hill to town - we walked to town about 10 times and on only the first occasion did my 5 year old have 'shoulders'. It's a lovely walk in the evening as the sun goes down and takes about 15 minutes. We're fit but I can't think of anything worse than trying to walk back up after a nice meal. We got a taxi for 5 euros and they would drive us all the way to our room on the highest level of the hotel grounds - no problem.

Getting around the hotel the hill was steep but manageable.

Other facilities - kids outside play area and crazy golf - tired. Softplay in the hotel - fine. One bright spot - they've recently put in a spa room where we had a few massages - very good.

In conclusion, nothing approaching 4 out of 5 for a 4 star standard hotel. We saw 3 rooms and they were all the same standard, although some layouts differ. If the hotel didn't have the fantastic views then I think quite a lot of people would wonder why on earth they were staying there.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank OllyMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EloundaResidence, Manager at Elounda Water Park Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Mrs. or Mr.,

We could answer to every bad criticizing line of yours but we will not. You might stayed in our hotel or not, you might be motivated to write this review by a third person or not. It is safe to say that your review is obviously mischievous since we have NO apartment with number 137 and the highest apartment number is 122 so is impossible for you to have stayed in an apartment with such a number and furthermore possibly in our hotel.

We reported your review to Tripadvisor as a fake and we also proved with legal papers that we have not such an apartment number in our hotel.

This review it is very possible to be considered as a subject of discussion in our next meeting with our law partners in order to protect our business' reputation.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed at the Elounda Residence for 1 week in August.Well what can i say,that hill is really steep!! but well worth it for the stunning views.The hotel is basic,the staff are very helpful and work really hard,George in the resturant,Billy behind the bar and Maria at reception all excellent.
Our rooms were 66 and 64 and had spectacular views over Elounda breath taking.We had clean towels every day and our room was always cleaned.
The food is of a good standard,not lots of choice,but still enough.The pool area is nice but could do with a few more sun beds and take those fixed umbrellas down as they do block the sun from most of the beds,let people have the choice.Overall not bad!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiandGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Fantastic staff - professional, friendly and polite. Manager Yiannis couldn’t have been kinder. Special thanks to Karoula, George, Pavlos and Monolis. Set up high with an excellent panoramic view of Elounda, we found the accommodation at the Elounda Residence very comfortable. Being so high meant we benefitted from the mid-summer winds which make the August heat tolerable. Even in its isolated position, the pool, restaurant and bar were always lively. A good base for a family holiday.

Room Tip: I can highly recommend the 3 Bed Villa with own pool
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sidcup_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews