We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you love Greece you will love this.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elounda Water Park Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elounda Water Park Residence
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you love Greece you will love this.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

if you want a "real Greek Hotel" (rather than a perfect, sterile hotel which all look the same and you could be anywhere in the world), then choose the Elounda Residence. Lots of guests have stayed at the Hotel before,which speaks for itself! Positives: spectacular views, friendly helpful staff, great food - particularly the fish. Negative: the steep location. We stayed for 2 weeks in the top block and so it is quite a hike just to go back to your room from the restaurant. but the views are spectacular. I will never forget sitting in bed in the morning, looking out over the bay to Spinalonga as the sun is coming up. And sitting having lunch looking over the whole bay - breathtaking. The only sounds are of goats bleeting or maybe the crowing of a cockerel. The back road takes you right into Elounda gently sloping with a great view of Elounda, until the last part which is extremely steep. The road from the front of the Hotel is very steep at first and then winds more gently through olive groves and takes you to the main road a bit further out of the town. We walked into the town and got a taxi back for 5 euros. After reading The Island, our holiday in Elounda did not disappoint in any way. You can get a bus to Plaka and Agios Nikolaos from the town square. Would recommend walking over the causeway to see the old church and having lunch at the restaurant there, great fresh fish and look at the wonderful old photos of the causeway bridge and windmills on the menu.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    252
    150
    82
    68
See reviews for
306
372
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Arrived about 2am on the Wednesday morning, given room 50. We did have a sea view on awakening the next morning, however, the aircon was not working effectively. Complained and were moved the next day to room 9 (in the main block of the building). This time the seaview was stunning. The rooms are all very basic, to varying degrees. This room was better than room 50! by far. The rooms were cleaned daily, but at no point were the towels changed in our week stay. The cleaning staff came knocking one day by 9.45am, not really acceptable, but were ok on been turned away, though wanted to return the following day, no. Went B & B only, for which I was very grateful. I had fruit every morning with yoghurt, which meant water melon, a little green melon and a couple of grapes. There was also cheese, tomatoe, cucumber, bread, soggy bacon, not very appealing looking eggs and cereal on offer. The staff were generally helpful, smiley and friendly. There was a dangerous bolt sticking up between the patio door and balcony. For a late check out we switched rooms and were given room 11, directly opposite. If you were given this room for a week, you would be seriously depressed!!!!! It was shocking and I can't believe that they had the nerve to charge us 25 euro for this privelege! They originally wanted 30 euros!
The bar at the hotel is a rip off at 3.90 euros for a large beer (when in the town you can get it easily for 3) and then, even worse, on the last night we ate at the restaurant just above the main resort, clearly also run by the hotel. In this establishment we were charged 3 euros for the bread that was presented with the starters (for 4 slices), then 2.90 euros for a small bottle of Mythos!!!!!!!! Be warned, do not eat or drink here! If the food had been good, fair enough, but far from good, adequate at the very best.
The rooms are basic, very and simply vary as to which category of basic you will get. It is a steep hill, but that's well known. We are hill walkers, so not a big deal on that front.

Room Tip: Room 9 for a nice sea view, but watch the dodgy step out to the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockysgirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

If you arrive in the night ring 0033 28410 41 912 from UK mobile and a van will collect you and save you the walk up the hill! The hotel has lovely views over Elounda and the bay, and the walk down to the town is lovely - even coming back! You will have to like a walk though as the hill is quite steep but on a good metalled track. The hotel is family run and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived at midnight and the owner and staff went out of their way to ensure we had some food and drinks. The hotel is set in a lovely location, very peaceful and quiet. Lovely pool, apartments basic but clean (maid service daily) and spacious. Would not hesitate to go back. Elounda itself is a beautiful place with lots of lovely restaurants by the sea. Thanks to Yiannis and the staff for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryfromManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in a Villa at the Elounda Residence, which had it's own pool, the maid service was excellent, the food was plentiful and the hotel staff very keen to assist in any way they could. The hotel is located up a really steep hill, so bear this in mind, a car is really essential.

Room Tip: Villa 7 gets ALL the afternoon sun, whereas the others are in the shade by 5pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scottiedog20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We arrived on 9th September - fortunately by taxi as the hotel is around 1000 metres up a long winding road -definately not for anyone with any health issues.
The rooms are again a bit of a hike from the main reception once again uphill.
Staff are very friendly and food is okay-although we only had breakfast apart from one lunch in the Taverna which was fine.
Pool and views are lovely.
The room although basic was spacious and adequate and again a magnificent view.
Towels were changed 3 times during our weeks stay also the bed laundry.
Courtesy bus only runs down to the main road (not town) at 10am and returns only at 3pm which is not really sufficient.
We walked most evenings into the square down a track at the back of the hotel and it is around 1200 metres and downhill.
To get back we took a taxi for €5 - All the taxis are Mercedes are are spotless.
In my oponion the hotel was good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose if possible a low number to avoid an uphill walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

This is a very nice hotel set on the hillside high above the little town of Elounda. After a very trying transfer by a less than agreeable bus driver, the superb hotel staff swung into action to ensure that their part of our holiday was provided to the highest of standards and could not be faulted.

Rooms are basic, have all the necessary facilities and are kept very clean with maid service every day. We stayed on an all inclusive deal as the price charged was very competitive and we weren’t too worried if we had to eat out some nights. The food proved to be very good, not the choice you may get in other parts of the world on all inclusive but more than adequate and prepared to a high standard. It didn’t affect us but we did notice that vegetarian options were not high on the agenda. When we did eat out it was through choice and certainly not due to any shortfall on the part of the kitchen or waiting staff.

The all inclusive bar rules are strictly adhered to but the excellent bar staff are innovative within these rules to provide just the drink that suits you and there is ample scope to expand on them at reasonable prices for that special evening.

For once in a hotel I actually enjoyed the evening entertainment. There is no sequence of untalented mediocrity trooped out every night that you often find in Mediterranean hotels; instead there are a few nights through the week where talented individuals perform Greek and Cretan music and dance to a high standard, moving into more general music as the evening progresses. For those who wish to participate fully in the dance there is ample room inside while those of us of a less energetic mind could fully appreciate the music from the comfort of tables and chairs set round the pool.

In this hotel location is everything and also it’s one restriction. It is important that no-one underestimate the hills as this is not a hotel for anyone who has walking difficulties. The walk from town to the hotel by either route is steep and challenging and even getting from the main part of the hotel to rooms involves relatively steep climbs. This is not a place for ladies to wear high heels. The plus is that the views are superb with most rooms looking across the town and out to sea and at €5 the taxi fare from town is reasonable.

Others have commented on the sun beds being screwed down and umbrellas being fixed in place. Having experienced some windy days, I would suggest this is a sensible precaution and probably prevents injury as a few gusts could easily have blown these items about.

An excellent holiday in a very comfortable hotel but their greatest asset is the staff. At every level and in every area they performed their duties to the highest of standards were pleasant at all times and did everything they could to make each individual’s stay special.

Room Tip: A few rooms do not look out to sea and give views of open country side. They will try to relocate gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelScot94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed in apartment no.14 during early September. We did book a sea view room , if you squinted through bushes then, yes , the sea was there but you also had to stand up. Another problem was a service road which ran in front of the apartment. Vehicles parked outside on most days, including hotel vehicles. So really the view didn't exist. We asked to be moved but were told that they were fully booked.
The size of the apartment was good, separate bedroom, shower room, living area with sink, two hot rings and a fridge. Another plus was the free air con, which was good. The safe deposit box was also reasonably priced, €10 a week.
However the apartment was woefully equipped for self catering.

No, can opener, bottle opener, cork screw, chopping board, washing up bowl, kettle. What compounded our dissatisfaction was that you couldn’t use the sink to wash up because there was no plug in the kitchen sink or the bath. The built in plug in the bathroom sink didn’t work. We washed up using one of our two cooking pans. I did ask for a plug but was told, with a smile, “We don’t do those.” Well if they don’t do plugs why do they stress on the literature handed out that water was in short supply and you must use it wisely ?
I’ll give you a tip Elounda Residence management, use plugs and your water consumption is cut by at least 30%. That would cost around €3 per apartment. I think that about sums it up really, the potential for the place to be good is there but it seems everything is done on the cheap.

Going back ten years it was something of a joke that Greek apartments were badly equipped, it was all part of the fun , washing up in a pan etc. Wake up and smell the coffee, times have changed. In May we went self catering to Skiathos . The kitchen was equipped with microwave, toaster, electric kettle, oven, hobs, fridge and can opener etc. It cost much less than Elounda Residence.

We used the pool once but the sun beds were so close together you couldn’t get down the sides of some, we thought they must have some elaborate pulley system to lower you onto the beds ! The crazy paving around the pool looked dirty, probably from lotion off peoples feet. It needs cleaning.

The room cleaning staff were good, always ready with a smile and a greeting. The rooms were kept clean and bedding and towels changed every three days or so.

The on site shop sold water at €4.45 for six x 2litre bottles. It cost €1.85 in town.

It masquerades as 4* more like 2*

I did notice a Trip Advisor certificate for 2012 in reception along with one more certificate from some other organisation dated 1992 …………… that’s twenty years ago, it’s embarrassing, no one is interested in how good or bad you were 20 years ago, take it down and improve for today’s customers.

We were aware of the location and the notorious hill so we can’t complain about that but coupled with the poor facilities, non existent sea view and lack of equipment we wouldn’t go there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stainsbyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
0.9 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#10 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hersonissos Village Hotel
Hersonissos Village Hotel
#54 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.3 mi away
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
#4 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
24.4 mi away
Klio Apart Hotel
Klio Apart Hotel
#18 of 38 in Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Water Park Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Water Park Residence

Property: Elounda Water Park Residence
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece (Formerly Elounda Residence)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#16 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Water Park Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the surrounding mountains and the sea, Elounda Residence offers self-catered accommodation. Its public areas offer free Wi-Fi and include a large pool with hydromassage jets, 2 restaurants and a tavern with live music.The complex consists of spacious apartments with seating room, and fully furnished villas with private pool. All rooms are air-conditioned and have a balcony with sea view.The restaurant serves a daily breakfast and dinner buffet. Taverna serves a variety of Greek dishes for lunch and dinner. Drinks are available at the main bar and pool bar. Children’s menus are available.Elounda Residence features a computer room and a games room. Sports and leisure facilities include a tennis court, mini golf, table tennis and table football. There is also a separate pool for children, and 3 playgrounds.The hotel offers free shuttle service to the village and harbour of Elounda, where you will find wonderful beaches, local stores and frequent boats' departures to the famous Spinalonga island. Free private on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Elounda Water Park Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Residence Hotel
Elounda Water Park Residence Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing