We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ideal fopr self catering, below expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elounda Water Park Residence
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Chippenham
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not ideal fopr self catering, below expectations”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had wonderful views and some of the staff were friendly but not all. I agree with a previous reviewer that it is orientated to the all inclusive market. We love walking but travelling to and from town to eat difficult so we tended to stay out all dya. impossible to walk up steep hil;s after a meal so taxi costs were an unexpected extra. Our room wasa good size but very limited wardrobe space and virtually had to live out of a suitcase. The room was grubby.
We had to remind reception several times to arrange for our bags to be oicked up and taken to reception, eventually a kindly handyman took pity onj us and brought the bags to reception in a pick up truck. We had to ask about checking out rather than be told. It is not a good location for couples, pool was overcrowded.
Luckly I have been to Elounda many times and the town lived up to expectations

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    265
    161
    89
    75
See reviews for
332
392
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just home from a lovely holiday. Having never been to Greece before we were open-minded about the destination. It surpassed our expectations completely. The scenery is stunning and the hotel views breathtaking. The hotel food was amazing - so tasty and authentically Cretan. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Definitely want to go back next year. Be aware of the steep hill but easy to get a taxi from the centre of the town for 5 euros.

Room Tip: We chose a room higher up which gave amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuzz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

amanzing people incredible attention each one makes you feeld like Queen and King!!! the best views ,food, fun, attention and affection just perfect especial!!!.
recommendation: go to the hotel restaurant has a great view very spectacular food a unique romantic touch and above have to be attended by a great person "elias" one of the best people I've ever met!! OF ALL THE RESTAURANTS OF CRETE the elias is the best!!

Room Tip: my room was 47 you cant look all the island (spinalonga) !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muriel319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Excellent 14day stay we just had at this hotel, all staff are ace and so helpfull, apartments clean and tidy but we had no view so I'd ask for sea view next time we go, food and drink brill and the pool ace and views are stunning def be back

Room Tip: Sea view room best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

we read the reviews about the elounda residence and decided we would book here ,we arrived just after dinner and booked in. got an apartment[not the one we booked] and was then told we would be changing apartments at 8 o,clock in the morning,it seems that it is a common thing to double book rooms so that they overlap,so you are put into a room that is like a holding cell,so our holiday got put on hold ,we could not unpack our clothes or go and fill the fridge with drinks and food,we retreated to the bar and drowned our sorrows,bang on 8 o,clock next morning we gave them the key to the room we had been in ,we were told maybe 1 or 2 o,clock our apt would be ready,ballistic and heated were the words and atmosphere ,it would be 1 full day of our holiday lost before we could start to unpack,finally we get to the pool and i tried to line two sunbeds up with the sun ,no can do!!!!!!!!! they are bolted down,which would become more apparent as the holiday went on ,in all the reviews no body mentions the winds[,we have been to crete six times and find the light breezes refreshing ] but the elounda residennce is battered by winds because of its location hence the bolted down sunbeds so they cannot blow away,the night times are the worse with the wind whistling through the shutters,the apartments are very comfy and well furnished and the views are fantastic,the restaurant ,bar argo taverna are all very very good and staff are so friendly and helpful .it is geared up for being all inclusive so if you are going self catering be aware the on site supermarket will not get you more than tea/coffee/ yoghurt/ bread/ cheese / ham, it is mainly a gift shop the nearest supermarket is a 15minute walk down the hill and depending on what you buy beer water snacks ice milk juice and spirirts you need a taxi back,we both enjoy walking so the location of the elounda residence did not stop us from seeing the resort ,taxis are luxury mercedes and only 5euros we enjoyed our stay at the residence but would not return

Room Tip: higher floors in the 40s/50s/60s get all the wind buffering
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pierreveter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our holiday at Elounda Residence for a third year. The setting/views from this hotel are simply spectacular. Yes its on a very steep hill and possibly challenging for some, but it is easily walkable - unless you are elderly or have buggies etc. Taxis are cheap and there is a free shuttle bus into town on a daily basis. I would recommend hiring a car/quad bike to enable you to explore more of the surrounding beaches, villages.We stayed in Villa 2 . It was spacious and had a pool with stunning views across Spinalonga. I'd just like to thank Yannis, Maria and all the staff for making this holiday so wonderful. Can't wait to return Tracey and George!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traceynewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for a week at the hotel for my birthday at the end of June. The weather was marvellous, the welcome warm and the ambience of the hotel second to none.

We originally had a one bed apartment which was perfectly adequate but typically "old" Greek. By that I mean basic but with character (shutters, nice views, small kitchen). It was a little like staying in a village room. In fact the location, on top of a hill overlooking Elounda, makes you feel that the hotel is more like a village perched on high.

As it was my birthday we negotiated a villa with the wonderfully helpful Maria and the manager and spent the great part of our holiday in a beautiful, two bed villa with all mod cons AND its own swimming pool with the most fantastic views. It really was a slice of paradise, with uninterrupted views of the coast from our own poolside.

We stayed half board and really enjoyed the breakfasts and evening meal. Drinks were reasonably priced and the staff made you feel like long lost family.

Go. And if you can stretch the budget get a villa and live like a star for a week or two!

Room Tip: Go for a villa. They are fabulous, well equipped and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ichameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#13 of 35 in Elounda
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
673 reviews
17.4 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#118 of 171 in Hersonissos
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Water Park Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Water Park Residence

Property: Elounda Water Park Residence
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece (Formerly Elounda Residence)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#16 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Water Park Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the surrounding mountains and the sea, Elounda Residence offers self-catered accommodation. Its public areas offer free Wi-Fi and include a large pool with hydromassage jets, 2 restaurants and a tavern with live music.The complex consists of spacious apartments with seating room, and fully furnished villas with private pool. All rooms are air-conditioned and have a balcony with sea view.The restaurant serves a daily breakfast and dinner buffet. Taverna serves a variety of Greek dishes for lunch and dinner. Drinks are available at the main bar and pool bar. Children’s menus are available.Elounda Residence features a computer room and a games room. Sports and leisure facilities include a tennis court, mini golf, table tennis and table football. There is also a separate pool for children, and 3 playgrounds.The hotel offers free shuttle service to the village and harbour of Elounda, where you will find wonderful beaches, local stores and frequent boats' departures to the famous Spinalonga island. Free private on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Elounda Water Park Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Residence Hotel
Elounda Water Park Residence Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing