We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would go back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elounda Water Park Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elounda Water Park Residence
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

OK, so we were a group of 5 guys, split across 2 rooms. More of a 30 – 50’s, as opposed to an 18 – 20’s. We went in September 2013.

Initial impressions, were good. We arrived at midnight, checked in, and were offered a few drinks at the bar. The night receptionist, who was also the driver who picked us up from the bottom of the hill (after the coach drop-off) was very pleasant, and spoke good English. We were a bit surprised when he said he would keep the suitcases in the minibus whilst we drank, but thought nothing of it. Anyway, a few beers later (well, ahem, 4 to be honest) and we asked to be shown to our room, which required another trip in the minibus  This was only a short journey, but up a steep’ish hill, which would have otherwise been difficult with suitcases in the dark! We thought it was rather funny.

The hotel is in a beautiful setting, with great views of the sea. Most rooms are staggered up the hill, as it is so steep, so are separated by land, as opposed to being part of a huge hotel complex. But this is part of the attraction. Our room was up the hill, and was ok. It was spacious, and the air-conditioning worked well, perfectly adequate. The only negative was the balcony. This was very small. Considering this was a room for 3 people, the balcony was too small. However, that wasn’t the main problem; the air-conditioning unit’s external unit was on the inside of the balcony, facing inwards, making it impossible to use the balcony without getting blasted with warm air! Seriously, if you walked onto the balcony, you got blasted with hot air. A shame, as the views were outstanding. I do not understand why the unit wasn’t placed on the roof, or the external wall.

The above aside, the hotel was great. The pool was just the right size. There was good entertainment most nights, although we ventured in to the square mostly. The staff were fantastic, friendly, chatty, even to the point of playing table-tennis with us at 2 a.m. Also, the cleaning staff were excellent, doing a great job in our messy boys room. On the occasion that we slept in, they were so polite; they visited each day and were thorough. It may sound odd that I am commenting upon this, but, you do not always get this level of service for this price.

In short, I would not hesitate to go to this hotel again, although I may check the room out before I go this time. I can not comment on the hotel food, as we were on a self-catering basis, so ate out each day.

One thing that I did like was that the hotel was multi-cultural. It was a good mix of English, German, Spanish & Italian.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgtracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    252
    150
    82
    68
See reviews for
306
372
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Visited October 2013
Elounda Residence is rather isolated with a very steep hill from the village.
The setting and facilities are very good...views are amazing.
Food was typical Cretan and we loved it.
On arrival we were told they had not got a room for us!!! we were eventually given a one room apartment with a sofa bed (we were 3 adults sharing) so not ideal although this was for only one night..we were given our allotted 2 bed apartment the next day which was great.
Not so great was the management not taking the responsibility for the mix up! I suspect this happens all the time as they were quite blase about it.
However we did enjoy our stay....the staff are well trained and seem to really enjoy their work and do their best to help you enjoy your time there.
The weather was not good first week in October...worth noting!!!
Not sure we would return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iducros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at the Residence in early June for ten days as we were unable to book into our usual hotel. Because of the previous reports about the hill, we decided to hire a car at the Airport and it was a wise choice as the hill is a killer. If you are elderly or infirm don't book this hotel unless you have a car and also the amount of steps to rooms etc will not suit you.
Having said all that we were quite happy with our one bedroom apartment with double bed (which we asked for), everything worked more or less and it was quite large with a decent balcony with stunning views of the area.
As a regular swimmer I loved the pool which is surrounded by ample sun beds with good access to the bar. We did not eat at the hotel as we had accommodation only and there are so many excellent restaurants in the village that we prefer to try different one each day.
I don't really like to repeat the phrase "you get what you pay for" but it does apply in this case, everything satisfactory but you need to take heed of the comments about it's position and if you do will, you will probably enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one above reception area, less steps and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrFailsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

good place to stay for relaxation no hassle,lovely restaurants and friendly people..beautiful views.The walk down the hill is not that bad really! Would return again.entertainment brill and the night porter was so nice and bar staff so helpful.you can get to elounda bay in ten minutes with more great restaurants and romantic beaches and ferry to the island of spinalonga..residents at hotel have a chance of winning a weeks holiday four nights a week through a raffle.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a 10 day holiday in this hotel and found it pleasant, picturesque everything else our research showed us.
The food was delightful.
The accomodation was spacious and had all we needed, including fantastic views.
The staff were friendly and very helpful.
The bar had our choice of drinks.

Overall we had a brilliant holiday and would go back, given the opportunity.

However, and I must emphasise,there was one drawback. Far too many English people complaining for complaining sake instead of enjoying their holiday .

Room Tip: Research would be useful . ie Google earth etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

just returned from a week having booked a week in a 4 star all inclusive hotel(allocation on arrival)Firstly we had a 3 hour transfer from airport so when taken to our apartment we could of cried when we opened the door to this very small basic self catering room 2 star at best. It is not a hotel. shower not attached to the wall, no hairdryer no water or soft drinks in the fridge.10 minute walk to the restaurant down a 1 in 3 gradient not suitable for the elderly or unfit. food limited choice the all inclusive drinks very poor. they did not have any low calorie drinks the tonic was flat I did not find a drink I enjoyed. The all inclusive finished at 11. A good 30 minute walk to the local town beach poor and very rocky. If I could say 1 nice thing about the place that would be the friendly staff I could not fault them but they have no choice they are just grateful to have a job . would not return for a free holiday!

Room Tip: look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jan-trim2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had fourteen nights in this establishment and on arrival we were told there was no room for us in the inn! Heard the story before? We were offered gin & tonics before being shipped to a disgusting establishment down the hill at 1.30am for one night (Elounda Princess) photos attached.
We were offered a meal and drinks by the owner as compensaton for the inconvenience.
We were eventually given a lovely room with fabulous views but very poor plumbing with a constant smell of excrement in the bathroom's open drains.
I was disappointed at the way our problems were handled and wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
0.9 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#11 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hersonissos Village Hotel
Hersonissos Village Hotel
#54 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.3 mi away
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
#4 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
24.4 mi away
Klio Apart Hotel
Klio Apart Hotel
#18 of 38 in Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Water Park Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Water Park Residence

Property: Elounda Water Park Residence
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece (Formerly Elounda Residence)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#16 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Water Park Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the surrounding mountains and the sea, Elounda Residence offers self-catered accommodation. Its public areas offer free Wi-Fi and include a large pool with hydromassage jets, 2 restaurants and a tavern with live music.The complex consists of spacious apartments with seating room, and fully furnished villas with private pool. All rooms are air-conditioned and have a balcony with sea view.The restaurant serves a daily breakfast and dinner buffet. Taverna serves a variety of Greek dishes for lunch and dinner. Drinks are available at the main bar and pool bar. Children’s menus are available.Elounda Residence features a computer room and a games room. Sports and leisure facilities include a tennis court, mini golf, table tennis and table football. There is also a separate pool for children, and 3 playgrounds.The hotel offers free shuttle service to the village and harbour of Elounda, where you will find wonderful beaches, local stores and frequent boats' departures to the famous Spinalonga island. Free private on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Elounda Water Park Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Residence Hotel
Elounda Water Park Residence Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing