We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problems with hot water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elounda Water Park Residence
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We arrived at 1:00AM and were given accommodation at up the hill. What was very nice we were given some sandwiches, fruits and water at the arrival. When we got to our accommodation find out there is not hot water and telephone doesn't work so that was awful after long journey we could not have a shower. They could not fix this problem and we moved to another accommodation but for two days we stayed without hot water. Even then, we find out that the hotel have hot water only at specific time so you have to catch it up. Another thing which let us down is cleanness of the hotel. They change towels and bedding but floor was full of dust and fluffs even when we just arrived at the hotel. Location a bit far from the beach, village and shops but very beautiful view. Also there is a free hotel bus. The most of accommodation has beautiful sea view. Food is OK, especially dinner. Free afternoon meal for children at the hotel tavern, plus drinks and ice cream at bar with voucher you will receive at reception.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaJandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We went to crete for a family holiday as oyr cousin went to get married out there, we chose to stay at the elounda residence hotel. We arrived at night and couldn't see much at all and one of the drivers who took us to our room we thought wad rude and wrnt to to sleep on bad impressions of the hotel.

Upon waking up the next morning were utterly gobsmacked by the breath-taking sea view, looking right down onto the beach and sea and the mountaineous scenery.
As other reviews have said this isn't really a place for those who struggle with walking but if you dont it is well worth staying here.
Our stay was all the more worth the while after meeting Ilas the waiter and Dimitrie the chef of the 'ARGO' A La Carte Restaurant just up from where the pool is. If you want sensational greek food at reasonable price, somebody to have a laugh with then this is the place to go. Both have exellent local knowledge of the town and are always willing to help.
If i am to go back again they will be the reason why, went as customers left as very good friends. All in all a very good holiday had, my advice, dont listen to the bad reviews, go and make up your own mind and i can guarantee you won't regret it. Thanks for a great holiday Ilas & dimitrie (the 'ARGO' staff)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just returned from our third visit to Elounda Residence.

This hotel really feels like home: all staff go out of their way to ensure that you have a relaxing, enjoyable holiday; the food is simply amazing (would love to bring the cook home with us). To the people who complain about the food: you wouldn't go to a sushi bar and expect to get roast beef and yorkshire pudding, so why would you expect the same in a greek restaurant? Elounda Residence offers fantastic Greek home cooking, and you can eat as much or as little as you like.

The room itself was simple but amply big enough, always clean and there is adequate provision for those who want to self cater. In all three rooms we have stayed, the view has been simply spectacular (we would go back time and time again just for this) and we have never had disturbed sleep.

The pool area is really pleasant, again with beautiful views. There are always spare sunbeds, and shaded areas if you want to keep out of the hot sun. The pool bar staff are attentive and friendly. Enjoyed the updated music this year!

Evening entertainment varies dramatically from bingo to karaoke to traditional Greek dancing - something for everyone, and always a great laugh. Lovely to see the staff enjoying themselves too, since they work so hard.

We hired a car from the airport as the transfer is quite tedious, but the shuttle bus run by the hotel makes transport to and from Elounda easier if you're not a walker. Ample bars, restaurants and cafes in Elounda if you want a change. Cocktails in Friends bar were great!

All in all, a fantastic hotel with breathtaking views, friendly staff, and scrummy food! Looking forward to returning ASAP!

Room Tip: High rooms may be a bit of a walk up hill but worth it for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Myself and my girlfriend visited the Elounda Residence mid May 2014. We had a fantastic stay at the hotel. The staff really made a huge effort with us. The food was lovely and just what we wanted. There wasn't a huge selection but kept us well fed.
The town of Elounda was only a short walk from the hotel. We would go in each day and there was a great selection of shops and restaurants to enjoy. The view from the walks down the hill were spectacular. Would would recommend a taxi back though. Only 5 euros and in the afternoon heat it made sense.
The hotel would put on entertainment each night. We had a great time with other couples. George the barman was very friendly and would serve you drinks but also chat and give very useful advice for things to do and places to visit.
Only tiny minor point of the hotel was that in our late twenties we did feel very young but that still didn't particularly matter. We made some great friends and would stay up late and chat and have a dance.
Pool was lovely and could always get a sun lounger. The Mrs thought it was a bit cold but I was happy with the temperature.
Great value for money. We were half board and drinks weren't included but they were cheap. Room was lovely for the price. Amazing views and cleaned every day. Mattress was a tiny bit hard for me but the Mrs loved it.
Would recommend to anyone young or old.

Room Tip: Be careful of the bars in Elounda. We were stung by some of the drink prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Andrewpeterwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you are in a wheelchair or in any way mobility impaired, you should probably not stay at this hotel. It is located at the top of a very steep hill and many of the rooms are also at sharp inclines. I would describe the hotel as 3 star, not 4, although the food is good. The only means of getting to and from the nearest town is via the hotels bus which has been known not to go/ leave at the exact times published, so be prepared for that.
To describe this as sea view is a bit sneaky as you can see the sea, but it is almost a kilometre away! The staff are ok, sometimes the bar is suddenly unmanned and it does not open until 11.30am. There is no food provision at all outside of mealtimes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I seriously can not praise this hotel enough, was deeply contemplating looking for work within the town so we would not have to leave.

Every meal we had was just fantastic, it really is a testimony to the quality of a breakfast when I am willing to wake up before 9am with a hangover to go and get it. The rest of the meals through out the day are equally as enjoyable, fresh Greek salads, grilled fish, meatballs, lamb kofta the list was endless, we stayed here for a week and never ate the same meal twice.

The evening that we had over looking the endless rolling hills and mesmerizingly blue seas of Crete are ones that will forever be sketched within my memory, the views from here are just spell binding, the vantage point of this hotel probably makes it the best view in Elounda, there is not an inch of the town you can not see from here, I happily sat for hours with my girlfriend on our balcony enjoying this view.

The rooms are more than adequate the only fault I genuinely could find with our room (room 35) was that the shower head did not fit the hook so we had to have a few stand up showers. But the views, the bed even the simplistic kitchen was all above adequate for us.

Every member of staff in this hotel are an absolute credit to its success, they made our stay unforgettable. The restaurant staff were always ready and waiting for us a meal time with a big smile and to attend to every request, always friendly and cheerful. The bar staff George, Tracy and Maria were fantastic, always willing to talk and had a extremely good knowledge of the area. out of all the staff though Georgios was one who stood out the most to us he was incredible. Every night we spent at the hotel was great from acting as stand in bingo hosts, to the dancing around the hotel bar, lobby and restaurant with the staff on the Cretean evening.


Over all I can not speak highly enough of this hotel, every aspect of it is so well done you just feel too at home and too relaxed to find anything bad, the hill may also seem daunting but literally is not that bad, plus there is a less step hill around the back of the hotel providing quick access to the harbour. Plus with the hotel providing a bus that will take you up and down it through out the day it really is not an issue.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel. It has still retained the 'Greek' charm and character that many bigger Hotels have lost. If you like authentic Greeks food you will love the food here, if you don't you might be disappointed as there is not a huge amount of choice but what there is is delicious. The views are sensational and the staff are very friendly and genuine.
There were a couple of things that prevented me giving this hotel an excellent rating but I did have a lovely holiday and would definitely return for a weeks chill out.
We booked a superior room but the room we were given (22) wasn't my idea of superior there was no DVD player or hair dryer as advertised and the furniture was basic, the view however was to die for. We went to reception and they offered us another room (35) but this was the same standard but the view wasn't as nice so we stayed where we were and a man arrived with a portable telly and DVD player. The bathroom was lovely and clean but you had to hold the shower by hand and there was no plug for the bath. There was air con in the apartment and the bedroom but it was very noisy so ear plugs came in handy. This said the room was comfortable and had everything we needed and the view made up for the lack of luxury.
The only other things that disappointed us was the fact we were AI but this finished at 12:00 on day of departure, also AI guests could only eat in the main restaurant unless they paid for meals in the taverna with a 10% discount and there was a Greek bar-b-que night in the Taverna on the Thursday but this was 16 euros per person even for AI guests. On our day of departure we asked if we could have lunch as we had paid for the bar b que and not had our dinner that night and they kindly agreed which was a lovely gesture.
Lots of people have moaned about the hill up to the hotel, however we didn't find it too bad taking about 15 mins to walk from the village with only the last 200 yards being steep. On a positive note the hills help prevent putting on any holiday pounds so we didn't mind.
All in all a lovely hotel, lovely people and a lovely holiday.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank MissBuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 35 in Elounda
271 reviews
33.5 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#16 of 35 in Elounda
626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
0.6 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Water Park Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Water Park Residence

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece (Formerly Elounda Residence)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Elounda
#14 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £40 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Water Park Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the surrounding mountains and the sea, Elounda Residence offers self-catered accommodation. Its public areas offer free Wi-Fi and include a large pool with hydromassage jets, 2 restaurants and a tavern with live music.The complex consists of spacious apartments with seating room, and fully furnished villas with private pool. All rooms are air-conditioned and have a balcony with sea view.The restaurant serves a daily breakfast and dinner buffet. Taverna serves a variety of Greek dishes for lunch and dinner. Drinks are available at the main bar and pool bar. Children’s menus are available.Elounda Residence features a computer room and a games room. Sports and leisure facilities include a tennis court, mini golf, table tennis and table football. There is also a separate pool for children, and 3 playgrounds.The hotel offers free shuttle service to the village and harbour of Elounda, where you will find wonderful beaches, local stores and frequent boats' departures to the famous Spinalonga island. Free private on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elounda Water Park Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Residence Hotel
Elounda Water Park Residence Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing