We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and service, beautiful location”
Review of Selena Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Selena Village
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Fantastic location on hill side looking across the bay towards Spinalonga.

We went for late sunshine 12-19 October and enjoyed blue skies and warm sea to swim in. We were on a B&B package with EasyJet flying to Heraklion - late Saturday. From the airport simply take E75 east until Agios Nikolaos, left at the lights, through Elounda and on the road to Plaka with clear signage.

After a long day driving around the island we got back late and they let us join in the full board buffet for 10 Euros each - which was fine. Lots of fruit for breakfast plus cooked buffet too.

Mainly we dined out - short walk to Despina with bay views was great value. In Plaka - need to drive or taxi - very good fish but more expensive.

Whole hotel seemed to be kept very neat and tidy. Pristine pools, lemon trees and flowering bushes. The little beach was a bit stony - take wet shoes and snorkel - saw lots of fish of various types - almost as many as at Vai beach.

For the price we paid this was excellent value.

Everybody seems to read Victoria Hislop book about Spinalonga which is set around the area.

Room Tip: On a hillside - if you are nimble as a mountain goat then fine to be up the top of the hill. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Enjoyed a week at the Selena Hotel at the end of September 2013. It was all it was made up to be and more. Fabulous setting, spotlessly clean rooms and extremely helpful staff. The sort of hotel you are happy to spend the day at relaxing by the pool, sitting on the terrace or private balcony looking down on the stunning seascape. Modern design combined with traditional Greek hospitality. A short but pleasant walk to Elounda Town or the small village of Plaka in the other direction. Hire car delivered to the hotel upon request. Only comment was there was no coffee etc upon arrival at midnight after long day travelling. Just a flask of hot water and a sachet of coffee or tea bag in reception would have been appreciated!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view. If you have a mobility issue, ask for rooms lower down the hill. Am sure staff wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We booked this hotel 4 days before travelling. I was very concerned about staying in a three star hotel, and was expecting to "rough it" for a week.
However this was a real budget priced treat. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help. The views from the balcony of our apartment were simply wonderful.
The hotel is out of town and a 15 minute walk from the nearest super market and it takes further 5 minutes to walk into the centre of town. There is a good footpath almost all of the way. We enjoyed watching the fish in the lovely clear sea, and sometimes spotting a Kingfisher fishing for his supper, whilst we made this trip.
The hotel is a 30 minute walk from the wonderful village of Plaka, with it's superb shops and delightful restaurants, a visit to Plaka is a must.
There are two fresh water swimming pools on site (very cold!) and a little gym.
Across the road from the main entrance is the hotels own little shingle beach.
Our apartment was kept beautifully clean and the towels were changed every day, even the unused ones. I would say that the bathroom does need a cosmetic upgrade, but everything worked as it should.
The hotel offers free wi-fi which we found almost impossible to connect too for a large part of the week and we were told this was because they were experiencing technical problems.
There was air conditioning in the bed room.
We stayed half board and the breakfasts were on the whole fine, but the suppers were a little hit and miss. If I return I would book just bed and breakfast.
It was a lovely quiet location which was just what we wanted, but I think younger people may find it a little too quiet and isolated.
Thank you all for making this a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Take a superior room and sit back and enjoy the magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caitlin4_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was here with 3 others at the beginning of September for nearly a week. We were all very sad to leave. My husband and I went on to two other parts of Crete but we did not experience such nice stays as in the beautiful Selena Hotel. We enjoyed it so much here for various reasons. Firstly the rooms were beautifully clean and quiet and looked out to lovely views. Importantly all the staff especially Eleni at the desk and Yannis in the bar were exceptional in their customer service and we all felt that this contributed to us having such a wonderful time. The photos of the hotel had shown beautiful views but until I was there I had not appreciated just how very lovely the setting was and I never tired of looking at the views from the hotel. This hotel was a perfect place to relax and I intend to go back there. We ate in Elounda a couple of times but we actually enjoyed the restaurants and the ambience in Plaka best. In particular we liked the 'Taverna Paliria' in Plaka where we had such good food that we returned there for our last evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RES99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

If your looking for a quiet clean friendly hotel Selena is for you.
The view is fantastic, staff go the extra mile, its very clean and just a great place to relax.
Easy walking to Elounda next to the sea.
Nice little private beach.
Would recommend the superior rooms to enjoy the sea view.
Thank you for making my holiday enjoyable defiantly would come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miniviv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We selected The Selena because we wanted an affordable hotel in this area which did not have entertainment or themed evenings. This hotel was perfect for our holiday. It is designed in such a way that you are not aware of your fellow guests. We had a basic, but pleasant room, with an area outside from which we could look at the most amazing view. It was so beautiful that we could not stop taking photographs! The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. There was plenty of space with enough sun beds round both pools (which were always spotlessly clean) and we never had to fight for a table in the bar. The breakfasts were good with a variety of food to suit all tastes. We didn't have full board but other guests indicated that the evening meals were also good.
It takes about twenty five minutes to walk to Elounda, but it is very easy, as apart from the first few yards, there is a good pavement all the way. We didn't want to hire a car, so got around by walking, taxis (the hotel has access to a very good firm), and local buses. We are in our 60's and in one week, we managed to visit Knossos/Iraklion, Chrissi Island, Agios Nikolais, Spinolonga and the peninsula on the other side of the Elounda causeway.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elizabethwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

the Selena lives up to it's billing as a comfortable and friendly hotel with some excellent views over the spectacular Bay of Elounda. A big thank you to all the staff - especially Manolis and Yanni, custodians of the pool bar - for making our stay such a memorable and happy one.

Due to it's position and gradient, the hotel is probably not a good choice for anyone with mobility problems. It's also worth remembering that if you are not staying on a full board / all inclusive basis, the nearest restaurant is a good 20 minute walk ( or five euro taxi ride) away. Despite these minor drawbacks the Selena is a great place to holiday and we score it an outstanding 10 out of 10.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Glyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
1.4 mi away
Elounda Heights
Elounda Heights
#3 of 35 in Elounda
519 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#16 of 35 in Elounda
626 reviews
2 mi away
Elounda Palm Hotel
Elounda Palm Hotel
#14 of 35 in Elounda
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
466 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#13 of 35 in Elounda
686 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stella Mare
Stella Mare
#1 of 1 in Plaka
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selena Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selena Village

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece (Formerly Elounda Garden Suites)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#17 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £41 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Selena Village 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selena Village Hotel is a family owned hideaway in the famous area of Elounda Crete. Located on a hillside, its’ 72 cozy rooms & suites offer views to the dazzling waters of the Mirabello Bay and the world famous Spinalonga island. Selena Hotel Village is the right choice for couples and families looking for a home away from home combining unique location and tranquil surroundings like being in a picturesque Cretan village. Just a few minutes away guests can also visit the typical greek tavernas or enjoy a cocktail during sunset.Elounda Hotel Selena Village is a boutique hotel that provides services to ensure a relaxing experience with comfort and quality: main restaurant, pool bar, three swimming pools, one tennis court, fitness center, sauna, church, beach, business corner, lounge corner, reception 24hrs/24hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Selena Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selena Village Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing