We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views are priceless....”
Review of Tasmania Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tasmania Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed hear for my 50th birthday with my 70 year old mother and 80 year old friend. We had number 23 1st apartment passed pool.one bedroom with queen bed and 2single beds in the kitchen area. That was fine however the bedroom does not have a window so got very hot and had to sleep with the door open all night which did not give any privacy. Also the only wardrobes and drawers were in the bedroom which was akward when my friend and mother were in and out of the room every 5 minutes. The apartment was self catering however there was no kettle, no toaster and no microwave, limited utilities so cooking even basic breakfast was a struggle! I can live with these issues but my main gripe was the hospitality of the proprietor Anna. She didn't introduce herself on our arrival and everything seamed too much trouble. I know many of the reviews are good all I can say is our faces obviously didn't fit. Elounda was stunning and I fell in love with the place. We ate out every night and didn't have one bad meal. In fact the only meal I could complain about was my birthday breakfast of beans on toast at Tasmania. The thick white bread was hard and unbuttered and the beans luke warm. On the last day i ordered taksiki and was brought just that, no bread or anything to dip in it, when I asked Anna if it came with anything she said "you never asked". This was true however I naturally assumed when ordering a dip it would come with something to actually dip in it, besides we were given complimentary breads in all the restaurants we had been in all week. Despite Anna knowing it was my 50th there was no special fuss made unlike the many fantastic restaurants that bent over backwards with cake and complimentary drinks to make my birthday special and memorable. The pool was clean but small with one side very shallow so was difficult to swim in as you could feel the floor before you reached the end. All in all the apartments were a good base and did the job at a reasonable price. We had a fabulous time in Elounda and will certainly be going back but not to tasmania. Be warned the hill is more like a mountain, I was glad of the exercise but my mum and friend had to have a taxi every night which some refused to go up the hill so make sure if you need a taxi they will take you to the top before you book.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debbiefrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Lovely pool area. The host Anna will make you very welcome indeed. Our apartment is lovely and clean and suites our needs. The views are stunning across the bay , it really does have that wow factor. It's a 20 to 25 min walk to the restaurants/ elounda square which is along a lit footpath.
Note...... some apartments are up a bit of a slope and the climb may not suit everyone but there are some rooms lower down which you can request via Anna if available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartH330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks with our 8 year old daughter and 15 year old son and we all loved it . We would wake up early just to see the sunrise , it was truly amazing . Anna is a star , she was always available to help in any way she could . The hotel is on a bank so if you struggle to walk this wont suit you , but we did not mind one bit .
The walk into Elounda is amazing! even with 2 kids it only takes 20 minutes .
Missing the views and Anna's breakfast tea .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalton6970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for two weeks July/August with our 13 year old daughter and 14 year old Niece. We were immediately astounded by the incredible views across the bay and over to Spinalonga. Our appartment was large and immaculately clean with regular changes of bed linen and towels (Sharon is a star!). We were fortunate to meet all of the owners, Maria and George for our first week and then Anna took over for our second week. We were treated like old friends by all of them and nothing was too much trouble, we can understand perfectly why so many people return here again and again. When we did not feel like the 20 minute walk into town to eat (although it is a lovely walk along the water's edge) the meals cooked by Maria and Anna were superb! Only been home a week and want to go back already.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at Tasmania Village for 4 nights after being unable to find our booked accommodation in Agios Nikolaos and giving up in frustration, we drove to Elounda and found Tasmania Village, so happy we did! We had a spacious apartment with a separate bedroom, a private balcony with views on either side of the building in front of us, lovely breezes and peace and quiet (apart from the hotel next door playing loud music one night, the following nights were fine). Yes no kettle, but there was a billy to boil the water, two electric hobs and a great fridge, plus spacious bathroom. Although basic it was one of the most comfortable places we have stayed in our 7 weeks of travel and together with the views, privacy and quiet we were more than happy and miss the place already (now that we are on western crete). Hope to return one day and would definitely choose to stay here again. We did a lovely walk every night on a pedestrian path along the water, and as we had a car, no problem driving into town to the supermarket etc. We felt lucky to have found this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerhardina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Let's get the only negative out of the way first....The Tasmania Village is built up a steep Hill.....but you would know that anyway because all the information i could pick up on the Apartments tells you so.

The Positives...
Maria and George , the owners...Maria is there for you whatever you need...an Australian/Greek she is always sat around the pool side ready to fulfill all your requirements...George is your typical Cretan...a lot quieter than Maria but what a charmer.....the pair of them put long long hours in to make sure your stay is trouble free.

The Accomodation ( we stayed in the "Penthouse" ) Apt 36 and it was absolutely Fantastic...massive for two but equally big enough for a Family with 2 children.Brand new ..spotless...Superb

TheSetting...a pleasant 20 minute walk from the centre of Elounda but only a few minutes away from three Beaches...very little road noise due to the raised elevation...Perfect for us both .

The Pool...almost an infinity pool ...as you relax in the freshwater your views..well I will come to them shortly..Spotless...warm....Perfect
.
Pool bar/snack bar....Maria and George produce a wide range of food options...all at very reasonable prices...from Toasties/full English and Cretan staples.....Delicious.....The bar prices are on par with the prices in the centre so full marks. Really pleasant place to chill out

Comfort...the Apartment we stayed in had an adequate Kitchen unit...two hobs..basin and fridge.spotless bathroom with a shower not a bath..great size rooms...lovely terrace and balcony....Very comfortable large double bed ...Yes VERY comfortable Apartment...but you may want to pay for the Air Con. as it was very hot during June,

Cleaners...totally unobtrusive....regular change of towels and bedding...didn't notice them so that must be good !

The View......TOTALLY GOBSMACKING ! glorious breathtaking......unbelievable....
the first morning of our stay we dragged our heads off the comfortable pillows and watched the sun rise between our toes ! Amazing..and repeated many times during our stay.
Glance to the left and you feel you could reach out and touch Spinalonga !

The Cost....believe me...having been to Crete many times...and always to this area...we have not come across such good accommodation at such a reasonable price.We stayed for two weeks and enjoyed every minute and will certainly return to the Tasmania Village Apartments.
Many thanks Maria and George..we had a GREAT time :)
Simon and Michelle Eason-Brookes .

Room Tip: well worth the small upgrade fee to an Apartment from a studio if you are a couple....but only if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon-Gtr-Mancheste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Just spent 2 fantastic weeks at Tasmania Village!! Scenery Beautiful, especially from our apartment balcony, even glimpsed the giant turtles in the sea. Apartments very clean and adequate for self catering. Very comfy beds! And what lovely people. Thank you Maria, George and Sharon for such a welcome. You'll be seeing us same time, same place, next year. God willing? Cretans are such lovely warm people and the food was yummy. A must have is a Gyros!!
Would recommend having a car so you could see more of the Island, but not a must.

Room Tip: If you can get rooms 6,8,9,or 10,you'll have such beautiful views. On the whole the resort is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welshprincess1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
1.8 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
725 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#13 of 35 in Elounda
686 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
461 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#16 of 35 in Elounda
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasmania Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasmania Village

Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Elounda
Price Range: £23 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tasmania Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tasmania Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasmania Village Elounda, Crete
Tasmania Village Hotel Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing