We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not the best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good, but not the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

My husbent and I stayed at the Blue Palace on August, from 28/08 till 31/08
The first impression arriving at the hotel was very good. It is very big, and the view overlooking Spinaloga is unique.
I think it is the only hotel that has this magnificent view.
We decided to book an Island luxury suite with sea view( I think all island suites has sea view) after looking at the photos in the internet site of the hotel.
At check in the things were good, but not perfect. There is no personal contact , which you expect from this kind of hotel.
They knew the time of our arrival, because they organized our transportation from the airport to the hotel. There were no personal wellcoming. We went to the front desk, but there was no available staff to serve us, and we had to wait for about 2 minutes( no big deal).
They informed us about our room, that all our requests were fullfilled( we asked the room to be far away from the teleferik, the bathroom to have jacuzzi, and not simple bathtab, and to have umprellas at the patio).
They informed us about the facilites of the hotel, and they lead us to our suite.
In the room there was a big plate full of fruits ( which was renew every day), and a bottle of rakomelo (raki with honey) . The room was cleaned twice a day, and we had complimentary water in our room every day, 2 bottles.
The first dissapointment was the jacussi. It was a regular bath tab for one person with hydromassage.When they mention at the site jacuzzi you expect a big bath tab for two persons.
Second dissapointment the pool. It was very nice, big , but not the kind of pool shown at the internet site( they show infinity pools)
We expected to swim in our pool and to see the view at Spinaloga. We could’t because the pool wasn’t infinity, and all over the patio there was a wall. We could see the view only standing up, or if we sut in the chairs exactly next to the wall.
We asked to move to an island suite with infinity pool, but they informed us there was no availability. Ok, we understood.

The room was very big, with separate living room with tv, and a large bedroom with tv also.
The bathroom was ok, with separate shower. We noticed that the magnifying mirror couldn’t stay stedy.
The temprature of the pool was ok, 28oC, but if you want to use it at night, probable you will get cold. We could’t swim at night, we could not stand the cold.
We wondered why they make heated pools if you cannot use it anytime you want? They told us the temprature couldn’t raise more than 29oC.
We have stayed in another hotel , the previous time we stayed at Elounda and the pool temprature was at 35oC, so we could swim any time we wanted , even at 02-03 am .

We were surprised that at the afternoon the room service came, in order to fill the mini bar, which was half empty from the previous guests, even they informed us when we checked in that our room was ready.

The first night we ate at Flame restaurant. It was perfect , just perfect.
The atmosphere, the staff, the service and mostly the food. We were absolutely satisfied. Well done, and a bravo to all the personel, we reccomended.

The next day, before our breakfast, we informed the front desk about the problem we had with the magnifying, and they said they will take care.

The breakfast was very good, with big varity, good service and the staff always smiling.
We had book a treatment spa for couples later that day, and we decided to go earlier for a small explore of the spa.
The pool in the spa, was big enough, even we expected the temprature to be higher, it was at 29 c, We had a jacuzzi, which was good, and with a satisfactory size, with good water temprature.
The treatment we had “Traditional Cretan Experience “ was magnificent, the two ladies were real professionals, very kind.
From our spa experience we were very satisfied.
In the afternoon the room service game again to fill in again the mini bar , with food wich was not filled in the previous afternoon( We didn’t use anything from the mini bar)

The second night we booked at the Isola restaurant. It was a good experience, the staff was frienldy, the food good( not as good as the Flame) the service fast.

On 30/08 in the morning, before take our breakfast, we went again at the front desk, to informed them that the magnifying mirror was not fixed. They told us they will call maintenance. I didn’t see the girl to write down the problem or the room number , not the first and not even the second time.

At that day we wanted to take a private tour to near beaches. The staff from the ultimate guest service ( Alexandros ) was really helpful, and he informed us about all our options ( we could take the tour with a traditional kaiki, or with a yatch) but after talking with the captains, they infored us that they could not leave outside the gulf, because of a prohibition for all the boats due to windy weather.

In the afternoon the room service game again, to add a juice at the mini bar, and they charged it to us.We never took anything from the mini bar, it was all so expencive.
We went to inform front desk about that, and the staff called the room service department in order to be informed . She seemed hesitand at first, but because we insisted that we did not take anything from the mini Bar, and that from the moment we arrived in the room, the mini bar were not fully informed, and that every day someone come and add something, she finally informed us that they will remove it from our account. And they did.

Our last evening we ate at Asian blue. The service was not as expected. The waitress did not smiled even once. We ordered fried rice with vegetables, and they brought us Fried rice with eggs. We informed them for their mistake, the waitress took back the plate without apologize, and after some time they served us the same rice, just adding some vegetables inside. We did not want to make an issue , so we didn’t say anything else.
The dessert was the biggest disappointment. We ordered fried ice cream and cream brulle. We ate fried ice cream before, somewhere else, which from the inside is iced, hot from the outside. This is the magic of this dessert. BUT this dessert was just a big ball of ice cream from the inside and from the outside had a crust, which had a very strong taste of frying oils, without being hot.
The crème brulle also did not liked us , because it was frozen. Supposedly the creme first puts in the oven, baked, come out of the oven and burn with the flame machine and served while still hot. this was frozen, as if they had it ready in the fridge.
I do not know, mayby this is the way they serve these desserts in Asia Blue.
We do not reccoment Asia Blue.

On 31/08 we checked out. The magnifying mirror had not been fixed yet.

The general impression is that this is a good hotel, which should be improved, and to try to have a more personal relationship and contact with each client.

We give our highest rate at the restaurant Fame.

Tip: Do not leave anything unclear whem you make a reservation at this hotel. Be very specific about the things you want.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHRISA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your extensive review following your recent visit to the Blue Palace Resort & Spa.
As we have a great team that are dedicated to providing the highest levels of customer service and go out of their way to ensure all our guests have a truly memorable experience, I was truly surprised to read that you were not welcomed as expected and I apologize for that. However, although it is as shame that the Asia Blue restaurant was not to your liking it was a real pleasure to read that Flame was your favorite dining experience as well as your treatment at our Spa to have exceeded your expectations.
With regard to the pool temperature you mention, may I kindly note that it is set according to Starwood standards which requires the pool temperature to be 24⁰C.
I apologize for the areas we fell short of your expectations and I have taken on board your comments for future improvement.
I do hope that I will have the future opportunity and pleasure of welcoming you back to the Blue Palace.


Best regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    338
    140
    57
    41
See reviews for
312
952
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Hotel and resort are excellent. Great rooms, with suites that have thier own private pools. Stunning hilltop views and just the most excellent team of people working the hotel. Wonderful and well deserving of 5* rating

Room Tip: Suites with private pools and sea view. You'll never want to leave your room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your very kind words. As you pointed out we have a great team here and I have passed on your kind words to them. I was really glad that we met your expectations during your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We arrived here tired, stressed and hoping for some peace and quiet. We left relaxed, totally chilled and hoping to return again.
This hotel does not have 'entertainment' bar a couple of nights of piano or guitar in a restaurant. You can easily do a fve minte walk to Plaka and browse the three shops or eat there. Easily getting an 8 euro boat to Spinalonga ( well worth the 2 euro entry fee and a couple of hours of strolling). Above all else though you sit and read and watch the blue sky merge with blue sea and watch little boats ... You eat and sleep...you relax.
The restaurants are first class. Yes, he drinks are pricey but we ate twice in Plaka for lunch and were ripped off. Our tip, come out of the reception, past the sofas and lay on the beds there. The pool is the best there, nice and heated, easy access to the bar and the loo! Beautiful view from there and a buzzer on your bed to summon drinks or food. At lunch share a 14.50 euro club sandwich with fries, enough for two. Beautifully prepared and more than adequate for lunch.
Breakfasts are vast, all you could want and more. Didn't try the Italian but...Blue Door has the friendliest staff, wonderful location, enormous portions! Flame has amazing steaks, better than I have had or equal to some top London hotels. Asia Blue has two men and an older woman who seem to do little apart from chat but the other young girls are brilliant. Food again is excellent.
Evening turndown, forget choccies but you get a loely face mask every evening left for you.
We had a birthday cake left for us as a surprise for hubby, sadly totally melted when we opened the cover but a nice thought! Bottle of water each left every evening in your fridge foc.
Skip the managers drinks. The invte says 6 to 6.45. He shakes hands and then all the staff at the back of the table ignore you and do not mingle. Manager looks at watch several times, bang on 6.45 disappears in, table cleared. We had one drink and one small canape. Never passed round a secnd drnk or any morr canapes!! Everyone commented when manager went in, so clearly a duty thing and really should make an effort for staff to mingle or forget the whole thing!
Could do with a happy hour in the bars to get people in there, often empty asprices too high so people didn't mix much. A hoel minibus to Elounda would be a great idea, taxis easy to come by but inconsistent prices.
Spa was fab. Had a couples massage for 80 minutes, go you will love it!
Room spotless, comfy bed. Nice attention to detail. Tea and coffee in room would be a good idea.
A perfect place if you are tired and looking for a calm, spotless resort to chill in. Not for those looking for a great beach or nightlife.
We return happy and glad we went, would def recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the funicular. We were near the Asia Blue restaurant, very quiet and peaceful, love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HertfordshireMarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Blue Palace following your recent stay with us.
It was a delight to read that you enjoyed our service and the position of the property offered the relaxation you were seeking for.
I apologize for the birthday cake as we were aiming for a thoughtful and surprising gesture to your husband but apparently it was not completely successful and again I am really sorry for this.
I have taken on board your comments regarding the Managers cocktail party and please rest assured that we are always working on all comments made as the comfort and enjoyment of our guests is of outmost importance to us.
Once again, many thanks for recommending our hotel to other travelers and I look forward to welcoming you back for another totally relaxing holiday.

Best regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
393 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Myself and wife stayed here recently for 5 nights (we are both SPG Platinum members; staying on points). I was a little scared based on some of the reviews but we had a great visit. Is the hotel perfect, and similar to staying at a Four Seasons or Fairmont? ... No.
Was it a great hotel and would we return .. Yes.
Was it our favorite hotel experience during our 3 1/2 weeks in Greece on the islands ... Yes.
Location: The hotel is about 1 hour from the airport. We drove at night and it was a little hard to find as we couldn't see any of the signs and the location did not exist on our GPS ... lots of signs along the way in the daytime though. Once we found it, great location which is closer to Plaka than Elounda ... very quiet and remote. I would definitely recommend a car rental.
Check-in/Room: Great to have valet parking as you arrive ... though getting your car back does take a while. Very fast and friendly check-in process, our room was a suite with private pool (room 525). The room was fantastic .. two floors, two bathrooms with a private pool on the patio. Our patio only had sun until 12pm ... ask for a room that gets full sun if you plan on staying on the patio. Fantastic views of Spinalonga island. So nice, we didn't really want to leave the hotel to explore the island.The shower was fantastic and the soap/shampoo were every good. Only complaint of the whole stay was the bed ... VERY firm. I can sleep anywhere usually but I had a hard time sleeping in this bed. The cleaning team was fantastic ... the room was spotless, and check on twice a day yet we never saw them some how. As well, they ensured to keep everything stocked up. One thing my wife liked as at turn down each night, they left things on the bed (IE eye treatments, face masks, etc). As well, since we were here on our 5th anniversary, we came back one night to find a fantastic cake waiting for us ... very nice.
Restaurants: We did not try any of the restaurants as we prefer to eat locally in town (lots of good options in Elounda) but we did have the buffet breakfast included in our rate. Fantastic selection, enjoyed the French sparkling wine each morning. One of the best breakfast selections on the trip.
Pools: We didn't spend much time at the pool but it was very warm (and salt water). Overall a nice pool, nothing great but enough.
Beach: Yes, the beach is rocky and not sandy but we enjoyed it. The rocks are a fair size and easy to walk on. Plus the hotel has built a nice space between each lounger areas so that you don't have someone right next to you (which I hate). It was very windy during most of our stay so we only had a chance to swim in the sea a few days. The water was nice, warmer than expected ...
Spa: We did go to the spa ... we both found it to be very average and probably would not return.
Funicular: Yes, it is slow ... but different and we enjoyed it. I do agree with some comments about asking for a room away from the funicular otherwise you may have people looking at the patio all day.
Overall: Great hotel, fantastic location, nice rooms .. we would definitely return (hopefully when it is less windy).

Room Tip: Get a room away from the funicular Ask for a room there the patio gets full sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to post such a detailed review which I am sure will be very helpful to other travelers.
It is great to learn from each of our guest’s experiences and your review highlights in a very effective way the areas you truly enjoyed, as well as those we need to focus on improving.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Blue Palace It is great to know that you would consider visiting us again and hopefully you will give us that pleasure.

Best regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a week here. We were looking for a place where we could totally relax and do nothing other than swim, read, eat and sleep. This turned out to be a great choice.

The car collection service from the airport is excellent. Reception and check-in very efficient. We stayed in a villa with private pool on the far side of the hotel near the tennis courts. Having seen some of the other pool villas, particularly near the funicular, this proved to be the best location as it offered the most privacy. The room was excellent. Spotless, superb maid service. The view overlooking spinalonga was sublime and I spent most of my days in our pool - we didn't tend to venture down to the shingle beach or hotel pools at all. Room service for lunch again was excellent, served on your terrace overlooking the bay.

Facilities in the hotel can't be faulted. Shops should you need anything. The spa is excellent (or so my girlfriend tells me). We played tennis a few times and had no problems booking courts at the time of our choosing, the hotel provides raquets, balls and even bottles of iced water. A nice touch.

The breakfast is again, excellent, superb selection and generally attentive although when busy things did slow down a little and you needed to remind waiting staff of your order.

We ate in all the restaurants on site. Our favorite by a long long way was the blue door.a beautiful setting overlooking the sea, excellent food ( big portions!) and super service. Flame was number two - we ate there on lobster night for a themed lobster set menu, very good and a good wine selection. Isola number three, ok for a lunchtime snack of pasta/pizza but nothing to write home about. We were very disappointed with the Asian restaurant. The setting is ok but you get the feeling they are trying to offer far too many types of Asian food and not really getting any of them right. I would suggest you avoid it.

The bar terrace next to the reception is a great place to either relax in the afternoon or have a few drinks before or after dinner. A pianist most nights makes this a very romantic setting particular when spinalonga is lit up in the evening.

All in all, a great place. There were a few occasions when the service was a little inattentive. However I won't hold that against the hotel as they were far outweighed by the oversell highly positive experience. I will go back. A great place to unwind.

Room Tip: Pool villa at the far end of the complex near the tennis courts for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London1975_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us by posting such wonderful comments.
It is with great pleasure I read your review knowing that we have lived up to your expectations.
May I take this opportunity to thank you once again for choosing to stay at the Blue Palace and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another unforgettable experience.

Best regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

My wife & I have just returned from our second visit to this hotel - we came last year & loved it so much!
Almost everything is perfect & the staff generally are friendly & extremely helpful - special thanks to Haris Alexis in the Blue Door.
Housekeeping is top notch and any requests we made were dealt with immediately & efficiently.
The management seem to have their finger on the ball & everything runs smoothly. The girls in reception & guest services look amazingly smart and are very knowledgeable & helpful.
We had a fantastic room with a wonderfiul view of Spinalonga.
Restaurant food is very good with the Blue Door Taverna standing out. The Asia Blue was our second favourite with an extensive menu of Japanese, Thai, Chinese & Polynesian cuisine.
Flame restaurant we found to be average & overpriced for what you get. It was much better when it was L'Orangerie. The Isola restaurant is ok but only really if you like pasta & pizza - it also lacks atmosphere & the staff appeared less friendly than in the other restaurants.
As some other reviewers have mentioned, we were plagued with very strong winds for most of the week which made sitting on the beach somewhat uncomfortable at times.
A note to management:- please replace the sunbeds & pads on the beach as most of them are past their sell by date!
Some people have complained about the Funicular. It can be a bit of a nuisance as it is very slow & it is not straightforward trying to find a route to walk to the beach as an alternative. We did not have any issues with it's reliability however.
Don't let this put you off as this is a fantastic hotel in a superb location.

Room Tip: If you want privacy ask for a room which is not overlooked by the funicular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Guest,

It is always our pleasure to have you staying with us and thank you for your continued support. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and it is very motivating to know that we continue to exceed your expectations.
We have a very friendly, warm team who are always ready and willing to make any arrangements you may require and to make your stay as relaxing as possible so I am pleased that we took good care of you. I will share your wonderful feedback with them.
Your remark regarding the sun beds has been noted for future reference and will be reviewed during the winter time.
Once more, may I thank you for honoring us with a second visit and I truly hope I will get the chance to welcome you back to Blue Palace for another fantastic stay.

Best regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

One week at this outstandingly beautiful hotel was not enough, room and facilities excellent, from check in to leaving we had a really enjoyable week.
The service both in the rooms restaurants and bars was very good.Meal quality was also good with the exception of the Asian restaurant which was disappointing, we would love to return.

Room Tip: Superior sea view with pool,preferably in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandian_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is much appreciated by myself and all of our teams.
I am pleased that you liked the hotel and that you were well looked after and I do hope I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on a future visit to Elounda.

Best regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
2.2 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.2 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
3.8 mi away
Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
10.2 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete

Property: Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Address: | P.O. Box 38, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elounda
#2 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Family Hotel in Elounda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the wild beauty and unrivalled island style of a bohemian luxe resort with emblematic sea views, crystal clear waters, sparkling infinity pools, world class cuisine and bespoke services. All this combined with the resort's beach experience create a unique setting , where time seems to stand still. Blue Palace, a setting of wild grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palace Hotel Elounda
Blue Palace Resort And Spa
Blue Palace Resort & Spa
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing