We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This resort is absolutely lovely, and we had a lovely stay there last year.

You can't really go wrong staying at a 5 star resort in Crete, with it's own private beach, sun beds with table service...I mean, it really is paradise.

However there are a few things that could deter some travellers:
- it is a huge resort, like loads of people. So whilst breakfast is in a huge room and there is loads of delicious foods on offer, there are so many other people/families in there too, and is a little overwhelming! If you're there for a romantic break, order breakfast to your room
- because it's such a huge resort, be prepared to walk a little bit around the resort to get to reception or the 1 elevator to get to the pool/beach.
- the restaurants there aren't great, and much better food can be found in Crete, for much less
$
- the beds aren't all that great (well in our room anyway) - we had two single beds pushed together so had the dreaded gap in the middle.

Having said this, we still had an amazing time. The spa is absolutely wonderful, with loads of treatments that can be booked without too much notice. Outdoor pools are spotless and pristine. The rooms are well decked out, some with private pools, we had a private balcony with a gorgeous view. Bathtub with TV above and lovely face masks left each night for us. Plus some lovely local goodies left in our room too.

And when you're chilling by the water in 30 degrees reading a book, sipping a cocktail, how can you really not be enjoying yourself!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cazzburgler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,714)
There are newer reviews for Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel is incredible and we cannot wait to get back.

I am an SPG Platinum guest so my wife and I were upgraded to a corner suite with a private pool (I think all rooms have them), which went from our main room to the guestroom.

Elounda and Crete were fantastic, and this setting was unreal. Basically the rooms look out to the beach and an island about 1 mile away. The restaurant on premises was superb and the elevator that runs up and down the hill on the property was so cool.

It's a little bit of a drive from the airport/ferry terminal but totally manageable. Crete is a bigger than the other islands we visited (Mykonos, Santorini), but the placid feel at this resort was perfect. I believe during cocktail hour they brought out complimentary fresh hors deovres, which were great. They also have a high end jeweler boutique with great watches to take advantage of the VAT return (for international travelers).

Can't wait to come back for a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

TA hotel rankings for Elounda rate the Acquila Elounda Village Hotel higher than the Blue Palace. This is absurd and far from the truth. I ended up staying at both because the BP was closing for the winter in late Oct.

As an SPG member I was given a complimentary upgrade to a suite with a private pool at the BP. Check-in was pleasant and smooth. The room was huge, well maintained and appointed with a Nespresso machine, laptop friendly safe, dual rain showers and even a home entertainment system. The breakfast buffet was excellent and comes with spectacular views.

Private mini-pools are available with many room types (also a common feature at nearby hotels). The small size of these private pools limits their utility and rooms without private pools are situated above which limits privacy during periods of high occupancy. My private mini-pool was not heated making it a bit cool for Oct.

The hotel layout may be challenging for those with limited mobility, but the hotel's fleet of golf carts is widely employed to address this. The beach below the hotel is rocky and not very inviting, most guests seemed to favor the hotel's pool.

Room Tip: This resort is somewhat isolated so you need a car. The hotel rents cars and there are numerous gen...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FisRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed here for a week with my husband and two children (9 and 12 years old) last July and we had a lovely holiday. We were looking for a week of relaxation and sun and this did not disappoint. We were in a junior suite up at the top of the hotel on a corner, which was nice and quiet and had fantastic views of Spinalonga and the sea. The best thing for us was the private infinity pool outside our room - heaven! The kids played in the pool all day and my husband and I could sunbathe and read. Some days we didn't go out at all, we just ordered room service for lunch! We were on half board option which meant we ate in the hotel most nights. Flame (The steak restaurant) was our favourite and Isola (Italian) also the was fine. The Chinese restaurant was disappointing as was the Greek (Blue Door) surprisingly. There are lots more good Greek restaurants in the village of Plaka - a short stroll away which is very nice. Breakfast is good and all the staff are helpful and nice. Be warned the resort is not super child-friendly. It's not great for toddlers as it's built on a slope with lots of steep steps and pebbly beach with decking and there are not that many activities for older kids. My two were fine for a week as they love swimming and we had good family time. We also enjoyed a visit to Spinalonga island (the former leper colony). We only wanted a short trip so we took a small boat from the hotel which suited us fine. A lovely, stylish resort with stunning views - great for a relaxing week or a romantic break.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms which are overlooked by the Funicular which goes down from reception to the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed in a suite with a private endless pool. The design is luxurious and yet very clean and modest - greek style. The food was good but a bit expensive , and no need to go the Chinese restaurant ...
The spa is a league of its own !
The service was great , and the resort is very clean and easy - not to big and yet very private .
We will defiantly will come again

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tzahimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed at the blue palace for a week in September. We upgraded to a private pool suite and at350 euros extra for the week was worth every penny! We decided to go b&b so we had the option to eat out in the surrounding area, again I would highly recommend this as the only down side to this hotel is that the food is very expensive (example : 3course meal for 2 at Asian fusion restaurant with half a carafe of wine & two beers was 198 euros-nice but not that nice!) so get out either taxi or bus into Elounda (too far to walk at night) with plenty of options of bars and restaurants. Our favourite was the lovely little village of Plaka (made famous by Victoria his lops book "the island") is still traditionally Greek with lots of choice of beautiful restaurants and if fresh fish is your thing then don't miss it. Plaka is just a short 5minute walk from the hotel, we walked there at lunch and enjoyed a wine and beer whilst looking over the bay to the island. A visit to the former fortress and later the famous leper colony is also a must. Take a boat from Plaka it's 50% cheaper than taking a boat from the hotel and very easy, a boat leaves every hour from the small harbour. Whilst on the subject of Plaka the bar and restaurant with the best service, friendliest owners and stunning views is Thalassa. Very easy to find keep walking through the village and you'll see it on the right hand side opposite the island of Spinalonga. One more thing about the hotel, the staff are incredibly friendly the girls waitressing at the bar are lovely (so tip them!) but be aware this is not a hotel for children. There are no sandy beaches, decking and pebbles beautifully laid out but not child friendly. We traveled as a couple and there were some very young children other 5 in large family groups (mainly Israelis) there is not enough for older children to do, but very a beautiful, stylist adult resort with impeccable service you won't find better.

Room Tip: We booked the plunge pool room villa (much bigger than a plunge pool) set away from the hotel On a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Pippa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Very pretty hotel...Great views...plunge pool though not heated...very cold...could never go in....asked several times but never corrected,,,Rooms very nice,,nothing amazing...Great lunches at Greek restaurant on the water..food very good with great service

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrTodd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
3.2 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
3.0 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
19.3 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
3,104 reviews
2.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete

Address: | P.O. Box 38, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elounda
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#3 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Family Hotel in Elounda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £200 - £560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the wild beauty and unrivalled island style of a bohemian luxe resort with emblematic sea views, crystal clear waters, sparkling infinity pools, world class cuisine and bespoke services. All this combined with the resort's beach experience create a unique setting , where time seems to stand still. Blue Palace, a setting of wild grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palace Resort And Spa
Blue Palace Hotel Elounda
Blue Palace Resort & Spa
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing