We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

When we booked this hotel (via Sovereign Holidays) we thought it would be good but did not appreciate how good it turned out to be. Beautiful location overlooking Spinalonga Island, large well-equipped room, marvellous staff who all seemed keen to look after their guests, excellent buffet -style restaurant with lots of Greek food choices. The only complaint was the hotel was so good and relaxing and the private beach so appealing that we became very lazy and failed to do some of things we planned to do. Well. we can always go back for another holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 288Eurotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    338
    140
    57
    41
See reviews for
312
952
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have recently returned from an amazing ten day stay at the Blue Palace and we will certainly be looking to return.
The hotel itself is beautiful from the minute you walk into the beautiful reception all the way through to the Bungalows and restaurants. We were very happy with the location of our Sea view Bungalow and the room was immaculate. The turn down service was good and I liked the daily weather card on your bed each evening... a nice touch. The only thing I was a little disappointed with was not coffee or tea making facilities in the rooms but it is a very small negative.
The breakfast choice was good and eggs done every way and fresh omelettes cooked to your liking or pancakes or waffles too. The sparkling white or rose wine was a lovely touch too which went lovely with my fresh fruit, Cretan honey and Greek Yogurt breakfasts! The service second to none with such friendly and helpful staff in all the restaurants. In fact this goes for all areas of the hotel from reception to beach service and room service.
The restaurants were lovely although we didnt get to try The Blue Door as it was quite windy during our stay but we did try the Asia Blue, Olea, Isola and Flame which was our favourite. We had the half board Dine around plan which was a great option too.
The bar staff in the Arsenali Bar was second to none no matter what time of day you were there whether for coffee, cocktails or after dinner drinks. Especially Vavara, Despina and the Bar Manager Nektarious gave an exceptional and friendly service.
All areas of the hotel were really well kept and the beach area is lovely and well designed with the decked area enabling you to walk on the pebbled beach and a jetty to get into the sea. There is also a pool area down at the beach too as well as two other pool areas outside and an indoor pool too. I also used the hotel gym that was quite well equipped.
Plaka is only a 5 minute walk away and very traditional which is lovely and we loved Giorgos Giavannis for fresh fish dishes and traditional Greek cuisine. We also took a taxi to Elounda and walked back which took around 35 minutes and a lovely walk. We found an amazing restaurant there called the Ferryman where Akis and his beautiful wife Sophia look after you so well and the food is outstanding and cooked by a top chef in Crete.
We went across to Spinalonga from Plaka as it was more reasonable than from the hotel. This was worth a visit especially for me who had ready The Island.
I have one small negative regarding wifi and that although available in the reception and over by the Asia Blue you have to pay 50 Euros to have access in your room and all areas for a week.
All in all we cant wait to return to the Blue Palace and the area surrounding it and next time we will hire a car too to explore more of the beautiful island of Crete.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Funicular as these rooms are all overlooked from everyone travelling up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K72Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This Is a large and beautiful property. We had a bungalow suite with a private pool and the bungalow suites offer stunning views of the beach. This hotel is hi tech in terms of the application to access various information needs and your billing on the TV screen itself. The cable car that connects the reception to the beach is a joyful ride. The views from all over are stunning. The service is efficient. But somewhere one gets a feeling that the personalised touch is missing in this vast expanse. There are a few things you expect would be available in the room like tea/ coffee making facilities etc but r not there . Which is a bit unusual considering it is a luxury collection property. But to be fair once u ask for something they make it available. We had a meal in the Asia blue restaurant and there was a a small billing goof up. Frankly not such a big thing but the restaurant did not charge us for the next meal ! So there are some good parts to the property.

One thing which is a sore point is the service charge of 4.5 euro on any room service. That is steep and apparently hotel policy which is nit correct . It is being justified on account of the large property but that is a hollow justification as the room rents r high and frankly for that rent one feels there should be better value.

Overall service is efficient but having stayed in several Starwood and luxury collection properties somewhere feel the warmth and at home feeling is missing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GANESHSNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

When you arrive at the resort the first impression of the lobby is just amazing. It has a huge ceiling and is a perfect replica of the Venetian Arsenali.
The check-in was quick and while somebody accompany you to your room, they explain the most important things of the hotel.

Even the smallest rooms are quite spacious. The decor is kept simple and in bright colors. The view to the Spinalonga Island is just amazing.
Everything was clean.

Wherever you are in the resort, the staff is very friendly and very obliging. I thing the view and location is the hotels USP. You cannot get enough to looking the Spinalonga Island and just enjoy the great view with a cocktail/drink.

Drinks and food is quite expensive actually, even for a 5* hotel. The food we enjoyed was not bad, but the value for money is a bit low. You can get the same standard of food in one of the restaurants in Plaka or Elounda for the half of the price.

Breakfast choice is huge but they do not offer an a la carte breakfast/supplements. The only negative thing about breakfast ist, that they do not have a variety during a week. There is everyday the same cold and warm breakfast. A bit of changing variety would have been lovely. But this is complaining on a high level.

A week at this resorts feels like two weeks of holidays. Just get there, enjoy and relax.. you don't need more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiomca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have just arrived back from the blue palace and I echo many of the comments made by other reviewers, especially around service and the kids club - Maria is a diamond. The spa facilities are excellent - although the mens hot tub and womens steam room were both out of action at various times.

a couple of small negatives - We had a superior bungalow booked and despite having SPG membership and a couple of emails where they indicated they would upgrade if they could, this was not forthcoming…and the hotel was mainly empty…they called and offered us an upgrade for 40 euros a night which was the standard cost for the next level room!

The room was spotless and the turndown and cleaning was top class. Only small gripe on the room was that they said there would be a music player and there wasn't, also for a hotel of this class and type it would be great to have coffee and tea making facilities in room - I'm amazed that quite a few of the big chains don't offer this in 5 star hotels nowadays. Also internet is charged in the room - only free in the bar and reception areas. Beds are big but quite hard - there is a pillow menu but none of them were that comfy. View is amazing across to Spinalonga.

It was warm enough to swim in the sea as well as the unheated pools. Once again very clean, plenty of towels.

Food - breakfast is pretty standard buffet - although the omelettes, pancakes and waffles freshly cooked were the stars of the show - along with the greek yoghurt and honey! Nice to be able to have sparkling wine for breakfast too! The restaurant manager George deserves a special mention for his great rapport with our 3 year old daughter - he really helped us handle her in terms of not running around etc but in such a kind and gentle way.

Dinner - mainly standard salads and european style. Highlights were the puddings every night - an amazing pastry chef - and the japanese night - the sushi was fantastic! Our daughter wasn't a big fan of most of the food so its worth asking if you want something plain..

Wine wise expect to spend around 7 euros for a glass and from 24 euros for a bottle - fairly reasonable. Beer is around 5 euros for 330ml…water 4 euros for a large bottle.

I will do the plaka restaurants separately but the lunches we had were all very good and came in around 20 euros including drinks..

We would definitely consider another stay - although we did get a fair amount of added value with a free child stay and free upgrade to half board which made it pretty cost effective (although it was booked a few months ago and was early season also).

Overall I would highly recommend the blue palace - and I hope people don't think I am nit picking but I always think its worth highlighting small things that make a difference to your stay - especially for 5 star hotels.

Room Tip: all have a great view. Don't expect an upgrade if you are SPG unless you have elevated membershi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bchapmanLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The blue palace should be on everyone's bucket list.
Not only is this resort on Crete, renowned for hospitality but the place has elegance and style mixed with the most magnificent views you could wish for.
As I write this , Iam looking at the caldera in Santorini, and although the views are magnificent, the package at Elounda is far superior. I have read the Greek Islands are far too commercial and have too many tourists.
Go to Crete and go to the Blue palace. Less tourists, the Greek Islands as you have dreamed of, and a resort that has everything.
From breakfast to the 5 restaurants you could pick for dinner to the short walk onto Plaka, and a host of tavernas to dine at , right on the waters edge but without the prices, seriously, this is heaven and leaves so many other destinations in the shade.

Room Tip: Every room has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raffster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Blue Place is located about 1 hour by car from Heraklion airport in Crete, Greece. It's a Satrwood luxury collection hotel, and Grace a our Starwood VIP status, we were upgraded to an Island Luxury suite for our late april/early may holiday with a toddler.

Location
1 hour from Heraklion airport, which has good connections to the UK, Athens and somewhat less convenient connections with the rest of the continent. The highway towards Elounda, which is the nearest large town, has been recently upgraded thanks to EU funds. it's still a work in progress, though\, and we got a little lost due to the roadworks and diversions initially. To the north of the resort, there is a little village of Plaka, which was abandoned after the closure of the leper colony on spinalonga, but now rejuvenated with families who work for the local tourist industry. To the south there is Elounda, which is a decent tourist-oriented town with shops selling the essentials and swimming equipment.

The welcome
Driving up the slope towards the reception, we were stopped and checked by security, which is reassuring. The reception at midnight (our flight landed at 10pm) was warm and efficient.

The Room
We had a seaview island luxury suite, with its own good-sized 10m length private heated pool. The weather was chilly the first day but the pool was warm enough to allow us to swim. The second day temperatures rose and it was actually really enjoyable to swim there. The other communal pools and the sea were really too cold to swim in for any period of time.

The suite has a small sitting room with TV and DVD player, a nice sea-facing bedroom and a huge bathroom. There are four showers in total - two in the bathroom, one in the mini-bathroom at the entrance and one outdoors next to the pool. The furnishings are modern, well-maintained and clean. There is plentiful hot water, a good extraction fan system and air conditioning.

Service
Impeccable. The only other place that we have ever had such a warm, efficient and sincere level of service is in Thailand. Additionally, here the staff seem really to have pride in their jobs. Requests were dealt with perfectly, though our SPG preferences were not noted and we had to ask for the items that we usually require at each stay.

F&B
The breakfast is OK, but served in a stunning setting looking out towards the bay. The restaurants that we have tried - Flame and Blue Bay - were excellent. Flame is more formal, serving steaks and lamb chops, and the quality of the food was really exceptional, for a very reasonable price. Blue Bay, the Greek Taverna at the end of the beach, is only 10-20% more expensive than outside, yet offers a superior level of service and outstanding food. The chicken soup counts amongst the best we have ever had, and this is us coming from southeast china, where we are used to exceptional soups. Wines are reasonably priced unless you go for French Grand Crus, with a good local selection. It's a very child-friendly environment without feeling like too much of a playground.

Spa
My wife tried the spa, which was very good (she is used to excellent chinese masseuses and usually finds european spa massages a bit lacklustre). Also worth noting is that the prices stated in the spa menu are what you pay at the end - no nasty surprises like "service charges" or "taxes" to add on.

Any problems?
A few niggles, like how there was a bedside lamp that was broken and had wires exposed and the cable car down to the beach that came close to crushing my daughter!

Our bedroom looked straight into a corner of the neighbouring suite's terrace/swimming pool area, which reduces privacy. Above our suite there are two smaller sized rooms which were unoccupied, but I can imagine that if they were, they would be rather noisy. The whole property has 250 rooms and I wonder what the experience would be like in real high season.

A special mention
the kid's corner, which is a fully-equipped playroom with great toys, slides, TV room etc is amazing. Maria, who is in charge of the kids, exudes confidence and got along very well with our toddler. An excellent feature that is present in very few hotels that gives parents a few hours of rest.

Overall
A well-balanced, well-thought-out resort with outstanding F&B. An example to all mediterranean resorts.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the bay as long as I can discern. Avoid those near the cable car or the road down be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stinkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
2.2 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.2 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
3.8 mi away
Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
10.2 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete

Property: Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Address: | P.O. Box 38, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elounda
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#2 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Family Hotel in Elounda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the wild beauty and unrivalled island style of a bohemian luxe resort with emblematic sea views, crystal clear waters, sparkling infinity pools, world class cuisine and bespoke services. All this combined with the resort's beach experience create a unique setting , where time seems to stand still. Blue Palace, a setting of wild grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palace Hotel Elounda
Blue Palace Resort And Spa
Blue Palace Resort & Spa
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing