We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely getaway - luxury location, top service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely getaway - luxury location, top service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

My husband stayed for five nites in September. Let me preface the review by saying that we stayed on a combination of free Starwood nights and points/ cash redemption. So we spent very little for a room (which they upgraded to a beautiful suite without any prompting). I'm thinking if I spent 700 euro/ nite I may be a bit more picky. But I can't find really any areas to complain about.

We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon in our dreadful little rental car (yes, although they assured me it was an upgrade, I was a bit sheepish pulling up to the swank entrance to have the Nissan micra valeted!). Right from the beginning, you could tell you were at a 5-star resort. The porter looked after our luggage. One of the concierge took us for a tour of the main building and then took us in the golf cart to the south building where our suite was located. I highly recommend this part of the property. If you're not going to shell out for a room that has a private pool (we never saw one person using theirs - why use your bathtub size private pool when there were beautiful pools and the oceans a short ride on the vernicular away?) In the south building is the free business centre, an extensive library (for cheesy reads by the pool) and it is sooo quiet here.

Our suite was breath-taking. Large space, great lounge area, huge balcony and the bathroom was so luxurious - heated floors, TV for the tub, rain shower. Very high end toiletries and great fluffy towels. They also gave us a bottle of wine and fresh fruit to greet us. The turn down service was very attentive - freshening of the bathroom, nite face masks, chocolate and the next day's weather report.

We ate in the hotel resto once (separate review). Excellent food and service but sooooo overpriced.

To get to the beach, there's a vernicular from the hotel - how luxurious is that? I can't imagine a more decadent hotel and don't know why this isn't #1 rated for Crete. Service was exceptional - a true concierge service, free valet parking, prompt pool service (I mean they walk you to your lounge chair with towels in hand!). Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mischivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theofra, director at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 3 November 2009
Dear Guests,

I am very glad to hear about how much you liked the Blue Palace. Starwood SPG guests are always welcome and offered the upgrade required,provided the hotel's availability allows it. I hope to have the chance to have yoiu again as a guest at the Hotel.

Yours Sincerely

Theodoros Frangos
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    340
    141
    58
    41
See reviews for
315
954
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

Not impressed. Besides being completely overpriced, it is not well kept, the restaurants are not good, and the rooms are ordinary. We even paid for the infinity pool in our room and what a disappointment. The resort is over an hour from the port and airport. Just not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeAgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theofra, director at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 3 November 2009
Dear Sir,

I am really sorry to read that you did not like the Blue Palace Resort & Spa. Every effort has been made to create a beautiful resort with comfortable rooms and a variety of food & beverage venues, the whole in an exquisite setting with spectacular views.I appreciate the fact that you did not like the end result and I am sorry about that. Just a small remark : the Blue palace is not that massive. We only have 250 rooms and we offer a very personal level of service.

Yoiurs Sincerely

Theodoros Frangos
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

I loved this hotel. The moment I arrived, it seemed as though the entire hotel staff came to your side. They are super nice, and attentive. The rooms were gorgeous, nice bathrooms, with a private plunge pool. The restaurant is pricey, we ate at the Italian restaurant, and my food was very bland. I wouldn't eat there again. Aside from that, it was great.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celeryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theofra, director at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 3 November 2009
Dear Guest,

i am really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Blue Palace and I am sory to learn about your bland meal at the Italian Restaurant.It seems that no matter how hard someone tries, the results are the expected.

Yours Sincerely

Theodoros Frangos
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

Was everything and more we could have wished. We were fortunate to be up-graded to one of the new bungalows at the far east of the resort. Very private our own pool and sun deck meant we did not need to spend time at the beach trying to find a sun lounger. Plaka is a lovely village and is better value than the resort when choosing dining options. Would recommend renting a car.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foolishlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theofra, director at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 3 November 2009
dear Guest,

Just a few words to thank you for the nice things you mention in your letter to the site of Trip Advisor about the Blue Palace. All the letters are given to the staff and they are always thrilled to know that our guests were happy

Yours Sincerely

Theodoros Frangos
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

We stayed at the Blue Palace in August. We had what they call a superior bungalow- nice average sized room, with a nice large bathroom and balcony. The beach and pool area is nice and the staff friendly. The two main things we will remember are the price of food and drink at the hotel and also the weather. We recognise that food and drink are going to be expensive in a 5 star hotel, but it really was ridiculous here. We had a meal in the Asian restaurant - veg spring rolls and then crispy duck. It was 128 euros inc a bottle of greek of wine and sparkling water! We went out after that. We would recommend Giorgios Taverna in Plaka - friendly and nice food. Elounda has some nice restaurants and we would recommend the Ferryman and also Zorbas for great pizza. We did find the food and particularly the wine much more expensive in general than on previous trips to Crete. Breakfast at the Blue Palace was outstanding however - lots of choice and even champagne! The other issue was the weather. This is a very windy spot - we had to use the stones on the beach to keep our towels from blowing off the sun bed! On one particularly windy afternoon a towel blew off someone's sun bed and flew over the pool like a flying carpet! It was that windy! Bad hair day every day! We also had torrential rain and many cloudy days. I think the weather was better along the coast. Aghios Nikaloas is a nice buzzing place to go. Visit the shop Danielle - beautiful stuff! All in all i don't think we will be going back. We went with Thomas Cook - flight delayed 2 hours from Iraklion (terrible airport) with minimal apology. We then had to wait 1 hour 25 minutes for our baggage - no apology at all for that. Hey ho...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesherholidays_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

First, this hotel is incredible. We loved it. I am a Starwood Gold member and we were on our honeymoon and they did a couple special things for us: upgraded the room, flowers on the bed, champagne on arrival in room, and "happy honeymoon" cake on 2nd night.

People who do not rate this hotel as 4.5 or 5 need a reality check. Great beach set up, beautiful views, amazing pools, friendly staff, awesome rooms, very close to neighbor towns of Plaka (1/2 mile) and Agios Nikolaos (5 min by car).

My only complaint is the price of food and drinks. $20+ for a club sandwich. $20 for a Mai Tai. Thus, we did not eat or drink a single thing during our 3-day stay. We ate all our meals at Plaka and Agios Nikolaos or on the road elsewhere in Crete. If I had money to burn, I suppose I would have paid the hotel prices for food.

General recommendations:
- Crete is a great island. Highly recommend it during your Greece travels
- Rent a car. Guy at the Iraklio port immediately on arrival has cars with full insurance for 40eu/day

* What do you want to do on your vacation in Crete? If you just like to hang at a hotel, the Blue Palace is the one. If you want to explore, then I would only recommend only staying at a place for one night and then moving on to a different part of the island. It's a big island and one central base will limit your ability to get around.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tstayin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theofra, director at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 3 November 2009
Dear friends,

Thank you very much for choosing the Blue Palace, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa for the begining of your new life. I am glad that you enjoyed our special Honeymoon surprises.
We realise we are not a cheap destination but we believe that our prices are comparable to the other properties in the area as well as the Luxurious accommodation in Greece.

Your Sincerely

Theodoros Frangos
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

I had an absolutely wonderful experience at the Blue Palace. The beaches were extraordinary and the hotel views were beautiful. I definitely recommend this hotel and hope to go back for another visit!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234TripAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theofra, director at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, 3 November 2009
Dear Guests,

Thyank you very much for using the Blue Palace for your visit to Crete.We are very happy that you had a nice expewrience and we hope to have the chance of welcoming you again.

Yours Sincerely

Theodoros Frangos
Director general
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
2.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
3.3 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
3.8 mi away
Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
10.2 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete

Property: Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Address: | P.O. Box 38, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elounda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#2 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Family Hotel in Elounda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the wild beauty and unrivalled island style of a bohemian luxe resort with emblematic sea views, crystal clear waters, sparkling infinity pools, world class cuisine and bespoke services. All this combined with the resort's beach experience create a unique setting , where time seems to stand still. Blue Palace, a setting of wild grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palace Hotel Elounda
Blue Palace Resort And Spa
Blue Palace Resort & Spa
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing