We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location couldn't be better”
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Akti Olous Hotel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Aberystwyth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location couldn't be better”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Agree with the other comments made here. It's a good hotel in a great location and the staff were all very helpful and cheerful. Rooms are kept very clean and made up every day. Room 432 is at the back of the hotel but is a large room with a large balcony overlooking the other buildings nearby so gives a view of the sea and mountains, Cool and shady in the early part of the day with the sun for late afternoon and evening. Loved the 'Sky bar' and pool. Handy for walking over the causeway for some good snorkelling around the ancient village and a meal at Kanali.

Room Tip: 432 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jony46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    221
    66
    21
    15
See reviews for
73
402
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is our second visit to The Akti Olous, once again we were made to feel so welcome from all the staff.
We were lucky to get a sea view room which looked over to Spinalonga, the room had tea making facility, TV, Hair dryer, fridge, (air con and safe which had a extra cost) some might say the balcony is a bit small and we could not open the fridge door wide open as it hit the bed, but it didn't bother us.
The breakfast's were out standing, plenty to choose from and very nice to eat on the pier and watch the fish, we were on half board and found the evening meals very nice.
As all the other reviews say, this Hotel is in a lovely position, nice and quite and only 5 minutes from all the restaurants and bars in Elounda.
Once again a big thanks to all the staff, cleaners and management for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Fabulous holiday & this hotel lives up to it's reviews. Great location. Restaurants all around, 5 mins walk to centre & peaceful picturesque walk in the other direction. Great welcome, & place was spotlessly clean. Room better than expectation, a good standard of décor & again spotless.
Probably the best hotel bar we have encountered, great views & fantastic service from Monica. Loved the pool(just right size for me & never crowded). All the staff were very pleasant & helpful.
Stayed b&b so we enjoyed all the lovely restaurants/tavernas in the area(never had a bad meal).
Elounda is lovely, laid back with plenty of bars & places to eat, & boats available from the harbour.
Another excellent holiday in Greece & very reasonably priced. Thanks to everyone at the Akti Olous.

Room Tip: Just had a basic room & very good. Balcony a little small but we never used it anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

1st visit to Crete for a family wedding & a very nice time was had by all in this really very good hotel - excellent staff & spotlessly clean - good food, the resturaunt area on the pier & beach is very Greek & eating the very nice breakfast there is a lovely start to the day.
The rooms are pleasant & well equipped (softer pillows would be nice!) & the rooftop pool & bar area is brilliant with the lady running all deserving speial praise for her service. The position of the hotel could not be better, at the side of its own beach & a very short walk past a lot of good resturants to the centre of Elounda - all level walking.
Altogeher a very good experience to be repeated

Room Tip: We stopped in 3 rooms on the ground floor of the annexe - rooms are fine but no views - if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is spotless clean and all of the staff are friendly and helpful. It is well located and only a shirt walk from the town centre where there are plenty of good restaurants, bars and shops. All in all a very nice 1st visit to Elounda, Crete

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A warm welcome back from all the staff. This was our fourth visit to this lovely hotel and certainly not the last. Hotel is perfectly situated between the harbour and the causeway. It is very well maintained to a good standard, clean and comfortable. The roof top pool is lovely and you can actually swim in it as it is a good depth throughout. However it is not suitable for children unless they can swim well. For me this is a definite plus!Breakfast is excellent with a great choice and there are lots of good restaurants/tavernas nearby as well as the Blue Sea Restaurant belonging to the hotel. An excellent hotel in the most beautiful village.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazeldallimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed for a week in this hotel.Food was great,room lovely,Very comfy bed,with a fridge kettle & hairdryer.I would go back in a heart beat.Short walk from centre.friendly staff,very nice wine.Fab views!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.4 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
227 reviews
1.4 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#19 of 35 in Elounda
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.7 mi away
Elounda Palm Hotel
Elounda Palm Hotel
#14 of 35 in Elounda
462 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#15 of 35 in Elounda
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Property: Akti Olous Hotel
Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#15 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing