We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Location.FABULOUS Roof Top View. TRADITIONAL GREEK FOOD.”
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Akti Olous Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“GREAT Location.FABULOUS Roof Top View. TRADITIONAL GREEK FOOD.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Met friends who were staying in this hotel, at the hotel's rooftop bar. Great location.Fabulous view of Spinalonga island, and the bay. Friendly service at the rooftop bar. Small pool also, near the bar. Great restaurant, with genuine Greek cuisine, which we have visited a few times, and always had beautiful food. Fabulous views out over the sea, from the restaurant. Friendly and welcoming staff. Great place to chill.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatB186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    216
    66
    21
    14
See reviews for
72
394
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
derbys
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel lovely and positioned in a lovely area,although very tiny balcony. staff very nice and helpfull, lovely breakfast by the sea feeding the fish, great roof top pool with lovely bar and bar staff.just a word of warning when choosing your travel company. We booked flights through On the Beach flying with EasyJet. It was not easy!! We arrived at the airport 3 hours early to be told our flight had gone. Easy jet had changed the time and apparently informed Onthebeach who had failed to let us know. After looking like we were appearing on an episode of Come fly with me we got moved to a flight the following day from Gatwick, bearing in mind we had already travelled to Manchester for 2 hours!! This was at more expense to our party of four petrol,hotel,car parking taxis loss of a day and night holiday, they have so far failed to respond to me regards my complaint I have put into the company. Easy jet said they use false email addresses so you would never know if your holiday has changed at all. Lesson learnt you get what you pay for and will always check live flight schedules in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view you will get a larger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank honeybeeDerbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crete
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had an excellent weekend at Akti Olous Hotel in June 2014. The hotel is situated at the most beautiful area of Elounda, on a quiet and charming road BY THE SEA, on the way to Alykes and Kolokytha. There is a safe parking lot for the hotel, a few meters before the hotel.
The hotel is recently renovated and the elevator, stairs and hallways give the feeling of spotless cleanliness. Our room was nice and cosy, with a flat TV with satellite programs, free WIFI (with very good signal), soft towels and a nice little balcony with a set of table and chairs, ideal for the evening relaxation. The bathroom was very clean and also had a small bathtub, which i ve rarely found in greek hotelsl
In the morning we had the nicest breakfast ever, we had a table at the "Blue Sea" restaurant which belongs to the hotel , by the blue sea as its name suggests, and there we had our coffee and our plates full of cheese, yoghurt, jam, fruits, toasted bread etc..
The staff was very friendly and pleasant, always smiling and willing to help. Especially the night auditor was most helpful, answering all our questions.
I definitely suggest this hotel for its marvelous breakfast by the sea, its location, its friendly staff and its reasonable prices !!! I hope i will be there again soon!

Room Tip: Most rooms have view of the sea, but those at the front have a full view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank psixitaxidiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Back here after a 5 year gap , neither Elounda nor the Akti Olous has changed very much ( which is a good thing ) . The rooms are good with more than the usual basic stuff for a 3 star Greek Island hotel ( kettles ,fridge ,flat screen tv ,free wi fi ) . The higher floors are more likely to have a sea view though the best view is from the sky rooftop bar ,good for a cocktail at the end of the day .Air conditioning at 6 euros a day is probably essential from early June onwards if you want to sleep comfortably .

We were here on a B and B basis and the breakfasts seem to have improved since we were last year .You can eat bacon and eggs every day if you choose or get into the Greek yoghurt and honey or indeed both ! Just as well the hotel is ideally situated for walks around the resort or further afield to burn some of it off . Scenic splendours abound and the photo opportunities are plenty especially around the nearby causeway and Canal bar area .

The Canal bar itself is an ideal spot for chilling . A cold drink here is best savoured after a stiff walk to "paradise " beach on koliakotha island . It's a postage stamp but idyllic until about 11 am at which time the day trip boats arrive and you will share the sand with about 500 Eastern Europeans who kindly offered us some vodka ( declined ! Neat , from the bottle in that heat not good) .Luckily if you can face the further trek right ( as you face the sea) across a very rough and prickly planted headland you will get to another larger beach which if you don't have all to yourself as per a desert island it will be near to it .

We did not eat an evening meal at the hotel but did last time and it was good and those people on half board said the same now. Variety being the spice of life there are multiple choices for eating out in Elounda and we can particularly recommend the Melissos restaurant next door to the hotel and do ask for the lamb kleftiko if you go there .

All in all a very enjoyable stay and we will be back again in another few years no doubt .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pontylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had not been to Elounda before but was very pleased with our choice of hotel. The situation of the hotel is excellent with some really good restaurants within a few minutes walk. To my mind, the hotel is sitiated in the best end of Elounda.

The room was very clean with adequate wardrobe space. It was really nice to have a fridge to put cold drinks in and a good hair drier rather than the ones usually supplied in hotels. We had a good sea view (room 202) with a small balcony. All the staff seemed friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was fine with enough choice, though if I was picky I would say that there was a slowness to replenish scrambled/fried eggs.

For what we paid for to stay here, it was excellent value and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dartmoor15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Went for our Ruby Wedding, had an amazing time, peaceful, relaxing,magical.
One problem the Mosquito's, make sure you take a plug & loads of repellent. We went on Half Board basis, the food was great if your not fussy, I think vegetarians would struggle as there was nothing to say what the food was!The staff work very hard to make sure your stay is as you would want it to be.
The hotel is spotless, the staff are very pleasant & will do anything they can to help.
The transfer is the only downside it took nearly 3 hours!, if you can afford it get a private transfer.

Room Tip: We had a room looking out to Olive trees, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z and D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I had a wonderful time for the 2nd year running at this hotel right on the beach, how wonderful to have breakfast on a pontoon over the sea, watching the fish and the cat who has to catch his own breakfast. The hotel is spotless the food good the staff are only their to please you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
1.4 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#19 of 35 in Elounda
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#12 of 35 in Elounda
578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elounda Palm Hotel
Elounda Palm Hotel
#15 of 35 in Elounda
448 reviews
59.6 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Property: Akti Olous Hotel
Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#15 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing