We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our holiday”
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Akti Olous Hotel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Our holiday”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have enjoyed the experience of staying at the Akti Olous ,
The staff were amazing, friendly and helpful from the point of checking in to our departure check out,
As for cleanliness...... Look no further the room was kept absolutely clean from day one, bedding changed on a 2 day basis and the room itself cleaned daily
As for the staff, Sula, Nikos, Monika, Ellie, Irenie, ivann, and the cleaners, and all the management.
You were all Brilliant !!!!! if we have forgotten to mention names I apologise but all we can say is good luck for the rest of the season and we will see you soon ,
Thank you for a brilliant holiday

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    216
    66
    21
    14
See reviews for
72
394
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely holiday at the akti olous the hotel is spotless clean friendly staff and very good food. The rooms are comfortable nicely furnished with kettle and TV although a set of drawers would have been useful the hotel is in a perfect position right on sea front few minutes stroll to elounda town with seafront restaurants and bars the local people mix in with the tourists and are very friendly all in all a lovely place to visit. Plaka is also a lovely little place 4km from elounda the island of spinalonga is worth a visit especially if you ve read the book The Island

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank k_hepburn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Lovely small hotel perfectly located 5 minutes from the bars and restaurants of Elounda - perfect for our group of 9 friends. No need to walk anywhere if you prefer as the hotel food is great and the service excellent. All credit to the Management of this hotel who are always around ensuring the staff deliver the standard they set. There is a lovely jetty style restaurant over the water or landside overlooking the bay. There is also a sky bar for drinks or for those who prefer to watch sports etc. and also on this level is the pool with seating for drinks etc. As we swam in the beautiful clear sea we didn't use this facility but it looked very clean and well maintained. There are sunbeds on both the small pebble beach in front of the hotel or around the pool. When the hotel got busier during the week more sunbeds appeared on the beach to cope with demand- perfect!
The rooms are comfortable, very clean with good linen and we had a sea facing room with balcony to catch the breeze although the air con worked perfectly on the warmest nights. The bathroom is basic and quite small but this is not a 5star hotel and was exactly what we expected to have.
Breakfast is very good - constantly replenished and slightly varied every day on the hot food selection and delicious yoghurt and fruit, fresh breads etc.
Definately on the would return list for us! Thank you owners and Staffa at Atki Olous for making our celebration holiday a success!!

Room Tip: Rooms with front or side sea view are great - pay the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Met friends who were staying in this hotel, at the hotel's rooftop bar. Great location.Fabulous view of Spinalonga island, and the bay. Friendly service at the rooftop bar. Small pool also, near the bar. Great restaurant, with genuine Greek cuisine, which we have visited a few times, and always had beautiful food. Fabulous views out over the sea, from the restaurant. Friendly and welcoming staff. Great place to chill.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatB186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbys
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel lovely and positioned in a lovely area,although very tiny balcony. staff very nice and helpfull, lovely breakfast by the sea feeding the fish, great roof top pool with lovely bar and bar staff.just a word of warning when choosing your travel company. We booked flights through On the Beach flying with EasyJet. It was not easy!! We arrived at the airport 3 hours early to be told our flight had gone. Easy jet had changed the time and apparently informed Onthebeach who had failed to let us know. After looking like we were appearing on an episode of Come fly with me we got moved to a flight the following day from Gatwick, bearing in mind we had already travelled to Manchester for 2 hours!! This was at more expense to our party of four petrol,hotel,car parking taxis loss of a day and night holiday, they have so far failed to respond to me regards my complaint I have put into the company. Easy jet said they use false email addresses so you would never know if your holiday has changed at all. Lesson learnt you get what you pay for and will always check live flight schedules in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view you will get a larger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank honeybeeDerbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crete
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had an excellent weekend at Akti Olous Hotel in June 2014. The hotel is situated at the most beautiful area of Elounda, on a quiet and charming road BY THE SEA, on the way to Alykes and Kolokytha. There is a safe parking lot for the hotel, a few meters before the hotel.
The hotel is recently renovated and the elevator, stairs and hallways give the feeling of spotless cleanliness. Our room was nice and cosy, with a flat TV with satellite programs, free WIFI (with very good signal), soft towels and a nice little balcony with a set of table and chairs, ideal for the evening relaxation. The bathroom was very clean and also had a small bathtub, which i ve rarely found in greek hotelsl
In the morning we had the nicest breakfast ever, we had a table at the "Blue Sea" restaurant which belongs to the hotel , by the blue sea as its name suggests, and there we had our coffee and our plates full of cheese, yoghurt, jam, fruits, toasted bread etc..
The staff was very friendly and pleasant, always smiling and willing to help. Especially the night auditor was most helpful, answering all our questions.
I definitely suggest this hotel for its marvelous breakfast by the sea, its location, its friendly staff and its reasonable prices !!! I hope i will be there again soon!

Room Tip: Most rooms have view of the sea, but those at the front have a full view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank psixitaxidiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Back here after a 5 year gap , neither Elounda nor the Akti Olous has changed very much ( which is a good thing ) . The rooms are good with more than the usual basic stuff for a 3 star Greek Island hotel ( kettles ,fridge ,flat screen tv ,free wi fi ) . The higher floors are more likely to have a sea view though the best view is from the sky rooftop bar ,good for a cocktail at the end of the day .Air conditioning at 6 euros a day is probably essential from early June onwards if you want to sleep comfortably .

We were here on a B and B basis and the breakfasts seem to have improved since we were last year .You can eat bacon and eggs every day if you choose or get into the Greek yoghurt and honey or indeed both ! Just as well the hotel is ideally situated for walks around the resort or further afield to burn some of it off . Scenic splendours abound and the photo opportunities are plenty especially around the nearby causeway and Canal bar area .

The Canal bar itself is an ideal spot for chilling . A cold drink here is best savoured after a stiff walk to "paradise " beach on koliakotha island . It's a postage stamp but idyllic until about 11 am at which time the day trip boats arrive and you will share the sand with about 500 Eastern Europeans who kindly offered us some vodka ( declined ! Neat , from the bottle in that heat not good) .Luckily if you can face the further trek right ( as you face the sea) across a very rough and prickly planted headland you will get to another larger beach which if you don't have all to yourself as per a desert island it will be near to it .

We did not eat an evening meal at the hotel but did last time and it was good and those people on half board said the same now. Variety being the spice of life there are multiple choices for eating out in Elounda and we can particularly recommend the Melissos restaurant next door to the hotel and do ask for the lamb kleftiko if you go there .

All in all a very enjoyable stay and we will be back again in another few years no doubt .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pontylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
1.4 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#19 of 35 in Elounda
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#13 of 35 in Elounda
578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elounda Palm Hotel
Elounda Palm Hotel
#15 of 35 in Elounda
449 reviews
59.6 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Property: Akti Olous Hotel
Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#15 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing