We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, excellent location”
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akti Olous Hotel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Your impression of this hotel will depend very much on which room you are allocated on arrival. We were given Room 108 which, to be honest, was not good. The bathroom was tiny and the shower curtain simply didn't function so when we took a shower the bathroom flooded. The biggest disappointment was the balcony/terrace which was also tiny (not enough room for two people to sit on the chairs with the table between them!!) and which looked over a messy piece of land and no view. We asked to move and the management arranged this very quickly and put us in a much nicer room, but that doesn't alter the fact that someone will always have to stay in that room.

Everything else, though, was really good. Breakfast on the jetty was just lovely, and we really loved the rooftop pool and Skybar where the service and cocktails were faultless. The hotel was right by the sea, in a lovely spot, surrounded by some lovely restaurants and bars, and within a short walk of the centre of Elounda. If you get a good room, you'll love it. And if you don't get a good room, make sure you get moved, and you'll still love it!

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jainpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Akti Olous in the last two weeks of June, stayed in room 210 in the main building with a roof top/partial seaview, to be honest our room suited us well, very fresh and clean. our balcony while small was adequate for our needs, caught the sun in the late afternoon and early evening, perfect for a pre dinner drink.
The room was cleaned daily, towels and sheets changed every second day, special thanks to the maid who seemed to work non stop. Breakfast was good and varied slightly on a daily basis, the small beach in front of the hotel was popular and you had to be early to beat the sunbed baggers.
We mainly used the beach near the causeway, generally sunbeds available at 7 euros for two beds and a brolly.
We enjoyed our stay, well done to all the staff we met who contributed to our happy holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Latchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I have just come back from a 2 week holiday with my wife and 4 friends the rooms where spotless cleaned everyday the selection for breakfast was amazing from cereal to cooked breakfast and anything in between there is a small private shale beach across the road and roof top pool the staff are amazing , polite and will do anything you want

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sirigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Just arrived after a long journey from the UK. We were greeted by the lovely hotel manager who was more than polite. After the usual rig moral of form filling we were shown to our room.

Well...nice and clean, looks hygienic. Tea and coffee facilities without tea or coffee. A double room booked but 2 single beds pushed together. A view that reminds me of my time spent in Afghanistan. Also be advised that air con is charged at 6 euros a day and the safe is a 2 euro a day charge. Wifi, though is free, which is a thumbs up.

Be mindful that we haven't slept and the views in this will reflect that slightly.

The exterior of the hotel looks beautiful and I'm hoping that by playing outside it will distract me from this terribly small, stuffy, prison of a room. (I should have done my research more thoroughly). More updates to follow this. Hoping there is room for me to upgrade to.....

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJ9169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have enjoyed the experience of staying at the Akti Olous ,
The staff were amazing, friendly and helpful from the point of checking in to our departure check out,
As for cleanliness...... Look no further the room was kept absolutely clean from day one, bedding changed on a 2 day basis and the room itself cleaned daily
As for the staff, Sula, Nikos, Monika, Ellie, Irenie, ivann, and the cleaners, and all the management.
You were all Brilliant !!!!! if we have forgotten to mention names I apologise but all we can say is good luck for the rest of the season and we will see you soon ,
Thank you for a brilliant holiday

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely holiday at the akti olous the hotel is spotless clean friendly staff and very good food. The rooms are comfortable nicely furnished with kettle and TV although a set of drawers would have been useful the hotel is in a perfect position right on sea front few minutes stroll to elounda town with seafront restaurants and bars the local people mix in with the tourists and are very friendly all in all a lovely place to visit. Plaka is also a lovely little place 4km from elounda the island of spinalonga is worth a visit especially if you ve read the book The Island

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank k_hepburn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Lovely small hotel perfectly located 5 minutes from the bars and restaurants of Elounda - perfect for our group of 9 friends. No need to walk anywhere if you prefer as the hotel food is great and the service excellent. All credit to the Management of this hotel who are always around ensuring the staff deliver the standard they set. There is a lovely jetty style restaurant over the water or landside overlooking the bay. There is also a sky bar for drinks or for those who prefer to watch sports etc. and also on this level is the pool with seating for drinks etc. As we swam in the beautiful clear sea we didn't use this facility but it looked very clean and well maintained. There are sunbeds on both the small pebble beach in front of the hotel or around the pool. When the hotel got busier during the week more sunbeds appeared on the beach to cope with demand- perfect!
The rooms are comfortable, very clean with good linen and we had a sea facing room with balcony to catch the breeze although the air con worked perfectly on the warmest nights. The bathroom is basic and quite small but this is not a 5star hotel and was exactly what we expected to have.
Breakfast is very good - constantly replenished and slightly varied every day on the hot food selection and delicious yoghurt and fruit, fresh breads etc.
Definately on the would return list for us! Thank you owners and Staffa at Atki Olous for making our celebration holiday a success!!

Room Tip: Rooms with front or side sea view are great - pay the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elounda Heights
Elounda Heights
#2 of 35 in Elounda
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#17 of 35 in Elounda
624 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £46 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing