We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not excellent......”
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akti Olous Hotel
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I would like to point out that this hotel has the best location of anywhere I have ever stayed. It was 5 min walk to all bars and shops. On the beach front and just that bit far enough away that it was quiet at night. Our room was a good size. Shower wasn't great but it did the job for the 5 mins I used it per day. The hotel is absolutely spotless and the maids seem to work all the time! The balcony in our room was tiny and you could hardly swing a cat which I was disappointed about. Overall it is a great wee hotel but if you like a few pre-dinner drinks on the terrace then pay for an upgraded room or suite.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room if you want a good view/terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmartCar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed 12 nights in this hotel in July and we were very pleased. The staff are very friendly and could not do enough for us. Great location, walking distance to the charming little village of Elounda. The restaurants on the way to the village are excellent, great service and again the staff and people we met were really helpful and friendly. Great holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

just had a great weeks relaxing holiday , hotel was brilliant , kept very clean and the staff very pleasant. In a good location away from hustle and bustle , but 5 Mins walk to town . would recommend anyone to go and stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a week . Wonderfully located , clean rooms and good service . Roof top pool adequate . Beach is man made and disappointing but the water is clear and refreshing to swim in.
Hotel rooms ok , you have to pay extra for safe & air conditioning . Shower not fabulous as it's small with a curtain so floor floods , but really not a problem for the cost of the week .
Hotel perfectly located to all the restaurants and bars .
Much a couples resort , classy and not rowdy.
Really impressed with the whole package and would come again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greece201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed 2 weeks in this hotel in July and were very pleased. The location is perfect… 5 min. away from the center of the very charming village of Elounda with lots of tavernas and shops. The room was perfect with a balcony and a sea view. The breakfast choice was excellent with the Greek yoghurt and honey… We ate also several times in the hotel restaurant the Blue Sea and the food was always very good and well presented.

The hotel has its own little beach across the street with crystal clear waters.

All the staff was very pleasant and friendly but in particular the morning and afternoon receptionist, the waitress and waiter at the restaurant, Monique at the Sky bar and our maid which did a great job in cleaning our room during those 2 weeks.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to our family and others and would return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ASMKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks and had a wonderful, relaxing time! Elounda is charming, picturesque and quiet/laidback. All the locals we met in shops, tavernas etc were really friendly.

The hotel was great - we had a decent sized room on the 2nd floor at the side of the hotel and could see the sea and Olous peninsula from the balcony which was a lovely bonus as, after reading some other reviews, I was prepared for a small room with no view - I guess this is just the luck of the draw. Staff were helpful and friendly, especially the morning receptionist and the hotel was kept spotlessly clean. You do have to pay extra for air con and the safe, (for 2 weeks came to around 110 Euros - pay when you check out) but was well worth it as it was so hot!
Breakfast had a good choice of cooked options, Greek yoghurt, honey, fruit, cheese, meats, croissants, cake etc. and was a lovely start to the day to be able to take it across the road to the floating restaurant and watch the fish in the crystal clear water.
We liked the fact that the hotel was a little walk away from the main harbour of Elounda but there are still plenty of tavernas close by to choose from, (Poppies a few doors away was a favourite of ours for mezzes).
The hotel beach is pebble-y and on the small size - it looked difficult to get a sunbed 1st thing although we did use it later on some afternoons and swimming amongst the fish was good fun and great for snorkelling. The rooftop pool is also lovely with great views over to Spinalonga - we used it a few times although there are only a limited amount of sunbeds.
We spent most of our lazy days on Elounda's municipal beach just past the harbour - 2 sunbeds and a shade were 7 Euros a day (I think the smaller beach turning right from the hotel was slightly cheaper). Really sheltered bay with a lifeguard on duty and you can hire boats/pedalos or have a ride on inflatables. The beach is pebbly underfoot once you walk into the sea with really beautifully clear water so you can see fish, small crabs etc even without a snorkel!
We hired a car for a few days (we got ours from Olous Travel in the square - really friendly and helpful - we also booked a 2 day trip to Santorini through them and they do other excursions on Crete too). Once you get used to some of the twisty cliff roads and drive as far right as you dare (over the line so Greeks can overtake!) then most of the roads are really good. We drove to Knossos (I would suggest getting a tour guide as she really brought it to life - otherwise we probably would have wandered around not really knowing what we were looking at!) and loved Voulisma beach, a little further on from Aghios Nickolaus. We also drove further on to Mochlos which had some very twisty, mountain roads with amazing views!
Didn't have a bad meal in any of the many tavernas that we tried out - favourites were The Hope (gorgeous views to watch the sun go down and really relaxed atmosphere with a cat that steals the show! Mezze type food and really reasonable prices. Well worth the walk up to Mavrikiano! Book a table right next to the view if you can), Katafygio (the photos of food on the menu had put us off but we ate there for their Greek night and were really impressed with the food & service and went back a few times), and the Mediterranean snack bar was great for lunch or a light snack, as was Ellies place opposite the beach/children's playground for amazing gyros for lunch!
Our favourite place for cocktails was Alyggos opposite the boats for Spinalonga - we went there most nights after our meal and were really looked after by Illias and all the other staff. Loved the free snack with drinks too!
All in all, a great, relaxing holiday and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank operagav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is ideally located a 5 min walk into the centre of Elounda and at the start of the causeway across to the windmills. Most staff are very friendly, especially on reception, the waitress and in the Sky Bar. Most rooms have a view of the sea but some are facing the wall of a neighbouring hotel. To avoid a poor view, ask for a hotel on the south side as this avoids the wall of the neighbouring hotel which is on the north side (Elounda side). From our experience, we know that rooms 209, 210, 309, 310 which are all on the north side do have good views across Elounda and towards Spinslonga. We stayed half board and the food was varied and very good. We had been concerned by previous reviews but we found the half board meals to be of a high standard; a mixture of hot meals (meat, fish, veg and cold salads) and the menu changed every night. The arrangement whereby half board guests can only eat in the restaurant and not across the road by the sea is a bit draconian and not in keeping with a hotel of a high standard. We saw them quite forcefully sending some guests back inside who had strayed towards the door with their food. A better arrangement would be to allow half board guests to take their food over to the Blue Sea Restaurant between 7.30 and 9 and then reserve for a la carte for later guests. Hotel is very clean with bright decor. Drink prices are standard for the area (e.g. €3 for glass of wine / large beer). Breakfast variety is excellent. Air conditioning is an extra charge of €6 per day which we felt for a higher standard hotel should be included. The room safe is also charged at a daily rate. Nice small beach across the road and the roof pool is very pleasant but a little tight on space. Car park nearby has capacity for most if not all cars. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would return in the future,

Room Tip: Specify 'sea view' and avoid central rooms on the north side as these face the wall of a hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidRHaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
1.4 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#21 of 35 in Elounda
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#16 of 35 in Elounda
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#15 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £46 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing