We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akti Olous Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

Beautiful location right on the bay in Elounda, beside restaurants and all amenities. Buffet breakfast- can bring tray over to the hotel's Blue Sea restaurant with seafront tables and a deck out into the bay. Staff were very helpful. Loved this location so much we extended our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank romavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    202
    62
    20
    13
See reviews for
69
369
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

If you're used to a 5 star lifestyle then this isn't for you. However if you want to stay in a friendly and comfortable hotel in a location to die for, then try the Akti Olous. We had booked bed and breakfast intending to try different restaurants each night but we enjoyed the food at the hotel's Blue Sea restaurant so much we only ate elsewhere twice! The food was good value, excellent, tasty and so fresh; and the staff accommodating and helpful. And did I mention the location? The restaurant is built out into the bay you can eat there at any time of the day - calm, brilliant blue seas; gentle breezes; turtles and fish swimming close by. Heaven!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobstod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

We visited as a family of 4 in 2007 and went back as a group of 25, yes 25 in 2008 we had such a great time, George (owner) and his daughters made us feel so special and took fantastic care of us. Adequate pool, pool bar and ten steps into the sea, seriously this is set in the perfect location, great restaurants 2 mins walk. Stroll 15 mins past bars and restaruants into the main square and see the fishing boats in the harbour. Small almost private beach 2 mins walk or 15 mins to the main beach. Great for all ages.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CretionAddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

We booked this hotel after doing a lot of internet research, including the reviews on Trip Advisor, and were really pleased with our choice.

I would urge you not to be out off by some of the poor reviews - the hotel is great value for money and of a very good standard compared to other Greek accommodation of a similar star rating. We found the staff friendly and efficient, and not at all gushing or intrusive, which I think is what has come across as abrupt to some other visitors. The breakfast had something for everybody, and the cleaning staff never entered our room whilst we were still in there.

The roof-top pool was desolate for the first half of our stay, with only us and one or two other couples using it, which was a real treat considering we visited during school holidays. Some children arrived in the second half of the week so the pool area got busier, but the beach to the right of the hotel was a really nice spot to relax as an alternative.

We wanted a quiet break in a location with good restaurants, and were not disappointed. There are a vast number of restaurants to choose from, some more pushy than others so we tended to browse the menus in the day for our evening choice. We returned most often to the Olondi, where the food was fantastic value (especially the fish platter for two!) and the staff really friendly without dragging you through the entrance. The hotel resaturant also served nice food. If you manage to make it past Katafigios, the next restaurant Thalassomylos was better value and the staff more friendly. Also Vritomartis at the far end of the harbour was great quality food. You could eat in a different venue every night and not be disappointed.

If you visit definitely take the 'Happy Train' up into the mountains - you will get to see some authentic Cretan villages with a really informative tour and enjoyable stop offs along the way, including an olive oil factory - it is really worth the money. Also the bus to Plaka is good value, and is a pretty place to visit. We also found a stunning white sand beach after a 40 minute walk to the right of the hotel (over the causeway).

The only warning we would give is to beware of the airport transfers - we booked with Thomas Cook and the coach was full of teenagers heading for Malia: we had expected this, but the Reps found it very difficult to control their rowdiness and foul language, so be prepared for it. Luckily Malia is quite close to the Airport so the coach is quiet for the majority of the journey!

Overall the holiday was really enjoyable, and we would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Highland_explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

We spent a great week in Elounda at the Atki Olous Hotel. Our room was basic, but no complaints. The bathroom was fine, shower was good, good fridge which we used heavily, and a small balcony with a limited view across the roof tops - no sea view but ok. We did not pay for air conditioning and suffered at night! We did b&b and we are glad we did as those who had half board were disappointed with the evening meal. Breakfast was not great, but there was enough there to start the day. What is special is being able to take your breakfast across the road and sit by the sea. The location is magnificent. The small gravel beach with a dozen sun beds is very convenient when you want to be close to your room. However the main beach beyond the harbour (2 euros) is great when you want to be on the beach for a few hours.
We tried four restaurants. Reading reviews of restaurants can be very confusing as it is not always clear what the writer looks for in a good restaurant. For us, good local food, simply cooked and well served is what we look for. The hotel's own Blue Sea restaurant (on a little jetty) was very good and came a good number 2 in our ratings. Number 1 was Katafygio's, the first restaurant you come to walking to Elounda - excellent. We were disappointed with the Lotus Eater and The Tryst.
The Akti Olous Hotel? Superb location, basic accommodation and breakfast, but good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somersetlad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

The holiday was great from start to finish .The flights were good we arrived late afternoon and were made very welcome as soon as we arrived, we had a lovely bedroom, very clean .The room was cleaned and beds made every day, towels changed daily, linen changed every other day. Breakfast was very good especially the yoghurt and honey.Just a shame we couldnt sit out on the pontoon for breakfast, We have been to this hotel two years ago and we have only had b and b, and have eaten out locally, but this year we thought aswell as eating out we would try the hotel evening dinners and we found them excellant. The family and staff are all really lovely and very friendly. We would recommend this hotel to anyone the location is perfect with fab views .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank caravanners1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

Unhappy with room on arrival as it was extremely small with view of unatractive roof top of adjoining property. The main hotel has a newley built property on the right hand side which basically had ruined the views from the hotel unless you are near the front and high up.I had booked for triple/larger garden view room so got moved the following day into lovely room not in the main block of the hotel but the back building which was what was advertised on the internet. You must be on second floor for decent view and on the right side of this building overlooking the olive grove with views on Spinalonga in the distance and the bay of Elunda. On your tranfer day ,if it is later in the day check out is at 12pm or you have the option of paying 30 euros to keep it longer, which is a lot of money for a few extra hours! ask to use a courtesy room though take your towels with you so you can have a shower etc. Not a hotel suitable for children windows on stairs lethal, roof top pool has no shallow end and no lifeguard and at times nobody but yourself. What was lovely was being able to eat on the pontoon named the Blue Sea Resturant. We were half board and though they are keener for paying customers to sit here because it was later in the season and quiet we had every evening meal here and found the food plentiful but unexciting. Staff pleasant and the pool area on top of the hotel quiet and you are left to your own devices. Another bonus is that all the rooms have fridges for you to use as you please so we bought cheese and bread for lunch and Cretan wine which was resonable and suprisingly good and sat on the balcony. Go to Spinalonga on the boat for 10 euros each and pay an additional 2 euros on the island for a good day out. Go early morning or mid afternoon to beat the heat. A walk to Plaka and back 6 miles was most enjoyable, you will pass a beach just beyond Elunda square which is lovely. The Happy Train 3 hour mountain tour is good. We also went on the bus to Agios Nicolas and had a walk around, pick up a map in the travel information office when you get off the bus and make sure you see the lake and look out for the kingfishers and the ducks. Transfer about an hour and half from airport and drop off and collection from the Europe Market behind hotel. Cats and dogs in the area seem to be in fairly good shape and PAWSCRETE.com do alot to help the animals. A great holiday all in all!
Ruth & Terry

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyFeralcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#12 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.4 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#20 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.6 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.5 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Property: Akti Olous Hotel
Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#15 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing