We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I gather that garden-view room cost me about €50 per day with half-pansion (part of packaged tour). At this price it was definitely value-for-money. I used hotel only as base camp and mainly drove around the eastern part of Crete.
Notes:
Rooms are air-conditioned, with mini-bar fridge where you can stuck a couple of beers or wine bottles that you can by from the grocery shop which is ca 2 min walk down the road. There you can also get water, ice-cream, beer, fruits, etc for reasonable prices.
Safe rent - €10/week
Beach towel - €2
Breakfast - I usually fixed a greek salad and sometimes took bacon and eggs. You also get muesly, cookies/cakes , tea/coffee.
Dinner - selection of salads and meats, occasionally pasta. (Water)melon, cheese, cakes, baklava. With half-pansion you have to pay for the drinks at dinner - water €1.8, beer/tea ca €2.5, wine €3..4 per glass.
To sum up during 14 days there was always a choice (several dishes at the same time) and variety (from day to day) of food at dinner and only choice at breakfast.
Hotel "beach" is just rocky spot where you can get in and out of the water, not suitable for elderly folks.
Car rental - at reception rented old Renault Clio for €380 for 14 days from the firm called Taleos. Compare cars and prices with Elounda Ren A Car. Both firms are 5 min walk down the road.
WiFi - works only at bar / reception.
Walk to Elounda - about 2km, takes 30 min, which makes it not worth to go there for lunch/dinner in the heat.
If you want to go to Chrissi Island, then make you trip with Nautilos Cruises, otherwise you may be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 92 with a garden view is OK. If not for the air-vent of the hotel opposite the street, you coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dmitri58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just returned from a trip to this hotel and was extremely disappointed. The hotel is situated 30 mins walk from Elounda and is not for the faint hearted particularly in 30 degrees heat. The general service in the hotel was poor and the food just awful, so much so that we only ate in the hotel once even though we were half board. Definitley not a 4 star but the manager does her best to try and resolve problems that arise.

Room Tip: Not room 18. We asked to be moved because when we showered the whole bathroom was flooded. We were m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed in June 2012 and had a lovely relaxing stay. The selling point for us on the website pictures was the pool and the hotel's wonderful views and they don't disappoint. The air conditioned room with frigde also had a fantastic 180 degree sea view. We usually bought wine etc at the little shop 200 metres away. Although the hotel is a 40 min walk from Elounda, the local bus stop is just up the hill behind the hotel. The food was excellent - we stayed half board. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and the balcony restaurant above the pool also has great views. Evening meals were very tasty with many choices of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes - I don't think we had the same dish offered throughout the week.
The hotel had a very small rock "beach" by the sea down a 200m path but we just used the pool. I think in high season you may have trouble getting a shading umbrella spot by the pool, some people were already laying towels on sunbeds before breakfast. The hotel is set on a steep hill hence the great views so some people may not like the walk up to the pool/restaurant area.
I recommend the daytrip to Spinalonga Island - we booked it with the rep as a boat trip and beach barbeque day out. Elounda is a very pretty fishing port with plenty of bars and tavernas and Ag Nic is similar, but a bit bigger. Both well worth a visit. The hotel aslo held a Cretian dancing evening by the pool which was excellent.
Overall a very relaxing holiday, lovely hotel and very helpful friendly staff. Recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiffy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I have just returned from this fabulous hotel. The rooms are basic but ok and cleaned daily, a few minor repairs are required in the bathroom but overall was clean and satisfactory. The view from the pool area is amazing and the pool clean and not too cold. The food was very good with a different variety served daily and plenty to choose from, both breakfast and dinner was brilliant and more than satisfactory. The town is about 30 min walk and is managable, we did this twice a day for 9 days and didn't feel the need to get a taxi, although there are plenty around if you need one. The hotel staff could not do enough for you, they really do wait on you and are extremely frendly, they even showed the euro football, all games where shown in the conference room on large screen which was an added bonus. Overall elounda is a fabulous place, the sea was warm the beach was lovely and the town very beautiful, plenty of tavernas and shops. This is the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hcmpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have just enjoyed our sixth stay at the Ilion in seven years and having reviewed the hotel several time previously we are running out of new things to say, so have updated one from a couple of years ago. We usually visit in May or October when it is not too busy.

The Ilion is situated on a hillside about 2km from the very attractive small town of Elounda. The hotel is on several levels and consists mainly of small units recreating the appearance of traditional Cretan homes. The units are separated by gardens, which give the whole place a feeling of being small and individual unlike so many big hotels. The fact that it is on several levels will make it more difficult for disabled or those with difficulty walking.

The whole atmosphere is relaxing. The bar and bar terrace area are arranged in such a way that if you so wish it is easy to get to know and talk to fellow guests, but if you want peace and quiet, that is readily available. The pool area and sun deck are very attractive and served by a bar during the daytime.

The room was comfortable, well looked after, and had everything we needed. The food was brilliant and the range and quality offered carries on improving. There was always something we liked and more importantly it was all freshly prepared with plenty of salads and fresh fruit. Some evenings we were really spoilt for choice. One thing that has not changed is the standard of management and the 5 star reception from all of the staff who are so welcoming, friendly, considerate and helpful that we feel that we are staying with friends in our second home.

The hotel faces east and watching the sunrise is a wonderful experience. Every morning we wake up to the glorious view of the bays, islands and surroundings. We then have a short walk through the attractive gardens to breakfast.

There is a small rock beach belonging to the hotel about 10 minutes walk away but if you need a sandy beach, then Elounda is the nearest.

Crete is a beautiful island and the Ilion is in an ideal spot for peace and quiet. If you want to explore, then you will need a car but you can’t have it both ways. To have peace and tranquillity in Crete, keep away from the large towns! Having said that both Elounda and Aghios Nikolaos are attractive places with a good range of restaurants, bars and shops.

We certainly have no complaints and next year hope to come back for a month. We always regret having to come home.

Two tips for guests:
1. Avoid Kritsa, or if you do go, keep your wits about you and make sure you have checked prices elsewhere before you go! It is a popular tourist spot and is very attractive where everyone has something to sell. We thought that the inflated prices and “conman ship” in Kritsa had disappeared over the years. We discovered to our cost that it has not - our own fault for not checking prices before we went. You have been warned!

2. Pay a visit to the Cicada Gallery. The workshop is on the right hand side as you go into Elounda at the start of the main part of the village. There is also a showroom on the left just as you start the descent into the square. There is a superb collection of original art by the artist to be seen (and bought).

As you will gather we love Crete and the Ilion and have no wish to stay anywhere else in this area of Crete. We hope your experience is as good as ours.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The area is beautiful, but I would stay elsewhere. Their reception staff failed to accommodate most of our requests. The rooms look like they have been remodeled recently, but they cut all corners. Mold in the shower, the comforters are out dated and gross. The pool is beautiful as is the view, but they need to work on their customer service. It is one thing not to be able to provide a service, but it is another to leave guests completely clueless when they need something. I would have gladly paid a little bit more to stay at a place that looks like they advertise. Also wifi only works at reception.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at the Elounda Ilion 2 - 12 May 2012. We were among the first guests of the season. Hotel staff were very friendly - particularly Dimitri (barman) and the young girl who works in the poolside bar/cafe. Our room was basic and a little dated but it was fine for what we needed - somewhere to put our heads down at night. The location was fantastic - perched above the other nearby 5* hotels so you had a wonderful view out to sea which was unobstructed (from our balcony in any event). The hotel was very clean and tidy, as was the pool area. The buffet breakfast was nice - needs to be topped up a little more often so guests are not left waiting for some items of breakfast. Dinner was nice too - occassional traditional greek dishes (moussaka, calamari, kleftiko) - calamari was amazing. The pool bar served lovely food - chips are to die for! The price averaged about €15 for 2 people with soft drinks for something like omellete and chips/chicken salad/pork souvlagi and chips. Portions are very generous too. Walk into Elounda takes about 30 minutes - do not even attempt this at night as part of the way will be pitch black and cars drive down the dirt track road. Overall we thought this hotel was very good value for money and we would stay again.

Room Tip: We were in room 47 - lovely view but up the steep hill to side of reception (we are 29 and 33 so fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonLoopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
1.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#14 of 35 in Elounda
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
724 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Ilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Ilion Hotel

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Elounda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#16 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £34 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Ilion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elounda Ilion Hotel in Crete was built in 1990 and since then has undergone many renovations and extensions with the final being in 2015. The hotel is built on a hill side offering a panoramic view to the bay of Elounda and the island of Spinaloga with its medieval castle. It is situated 10 kilometres from the city of Agios Nikolaos and 2 kilometres from the village of Elounda. The facilities of the hotel include a main restaurant, a snack bar, a central bar, satellite television room, billiard, children's playground, tennis court, mini golf and ping - pong. Also you can enjoy the hotel's swimming pool and your children the separate children's swimming pool. The hotel offers its own parking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Splitty, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Elounda Ilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Ilion Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing